Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Nawiliwili Kauai, Hawaii, US or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Grand Canyon of the Pacific

Grand Canyon of the Pacific

Experience one of Kauai’s most popular attractions, Waimea Canyon—often called the Grand Canyon of the Pacific. From the lookout at 3,400 feet, you’ll enjoy an unsurpassed view of the 2,857-foot-deep canyon and the surrounding countryside. The canyon’s dramatic size combined with the reds and browns of exposed volcanic rock and the blues and greens of lush tropical vegetation truly create a magnificent sight. You’ll also stop at Kauai’s Spouting Horn blowhole before your return to the ship. After the tour, there is an optional drop-off at Hilo Hattie’s for shopping.
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Grand Canyon of the Pacific
Review 1 for Grand Canyon of the Pacific
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Grand Canyon of the Pacific magnificent!

Date:December 5, 2013
JOfromLasVegas
Location:Las Vegas, Nevada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very enjoyable excursion and well worth the money. The Waimea Canyon was an amazing sight to see and the roaming chickens were fun to watch. I found the bus trip there tolerable and did not seem as long as others as our bus driver/tour guide was very knowledgeable and provided interesting historical information and taught us several Hawaiian words and their origins. There was an initial stop at a gift shop for a bathroom break but it was only 15 minutes and the stop at the Spouting Horn blowhole and the drive through a tree tunnel made up for it. If you are not a fan of helicopters like myself, this is a great excursion with many wonderful sights to see.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Grand Canyon of the Pacific
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2012
Dolphin74
Location:Victoria, BC
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tour was interesting and we did see a lot of the island. The views of the canyon were beautiful. The only complaints we have would be the bus was very cramped for a 5 hour tour, and we stopped for almost half an hour at a gift shop which reduced the amount of time we had at the actual canyon. We had drove all the way to the canyon only to have about 20 minutes there.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Grand Canyon of the Pacific
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An absolute must!

Date:April 4, 2012
jevr
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a fantastic tour and I would highly recommend it if you have time for only one tour. The Waimea Canyon is awesome. Altho smaller than our Grand Canyon, it is absolutely beautiful with the array of different colors and also all the greenry, unlike our Grand Canyon. Great tour for the money too.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Grand Canyon of the Pacific
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful!

Date:December 12, 2011
jezzyebelle
Location:Lancaster, OH
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is not the excursion for you if you do not enjoy LONG bus rides up a very steep, winding road. ... But if that kind of thing doesn't bother you, then you are in for a treat.
The sites are amazing. Our tour guide/driver, Lisa, was very good and knowledgeble even though was wasn't native to Hawaii.
It is very windy up at the lookout point so don't wear a hat!
Overall a great day in Kauai
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Grand Canyon of the Pacific
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Waimea Canyon, etc.

Date:November 30, 2011
Mikey
Location:We are retirees from Columbus, Ohio
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tour was another highlight of visit to the Hawaiian Islands. We had a fantastic bus driver named Patty that took us to visit the Spouting Blowhole first and then on to Waimea Canyon. We did have a bit of a glitch with the bus as we began the trek up to the "lookout point" at the canyon but the driver and company could not have been more professional. Our 2nd driver was Lisa who took us up the mountain and Mr. Willy brought us back to the ship, all very enjoyable and professional. The canyon was a site to see and I'm glad we continued on our trip for the day. We have seen the Grand Canyon in Arizona which is a beauty in itself but Waimea was breathtaking. All in all it was a very enjoyable trip.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Grand Canyon of the Pacific
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Canyon

Date:May 17, 2011
mogirl
Location:Missouri
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've visited the Grand Canyon in Arizona, Copper Canyon in Mexico and now I have visited the Grand Canyon of the Pacific. What a delightful tour! Our driver was very proud of his home and his comments and stories were delightful. The view at the rim did not disappoint either. It was beautiful with the sun causing different colors to appear on the rugged landscape. A souring beautiful white, long tailed bird added to the enjoyment. Don't miss this experience.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
13out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Grand Canyon of the Pacific
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very interesting

Date:April 19, 2011
Moose
Location:Rochester NY
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grand Canyon of the West is a must see. Trip had several stops and all were very interesting.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Grand Canyon of the Pacific
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

" The great Canyon of the Pacific " Kauai

Date:April 14, 2011
cruzelove
Location:Vancouver
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I can recommend this excursion with all my heart. The places we stopped on our way were very interesting and the nice weather help
as well. I enjoyed the chickens running free- real " free run " with little chicks . The turtle in the bay was a bonus - real movie star.
The bus driver had very good stories to tell and a sense of humour as well. Loved his Kauai ! The Canyon is impressive always . Have been there before by car - very long time on realy bad road that time.
Have to come back again !
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Grand Canyon of the Pacific
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Grand Canyon of the Pacific

Date:February 9, 2011
Beaner
Location:Chilliwack, BC
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the moment we boarded the bus to getting to the "canyon" we were appreciative of the tour guide, her knowledge, sense of humour, and professionalism. The views at the canyon were awesome and provided great photo ops. Watching helicopters go past seemed like watching flies buzzing around. Stopping at the blow holes was amazing as well as checking out the markets. A must see!!
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Grand Canyon of the Pacific
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Waimea Canyon

Date:January 5, 2011
linna
Location:Kirkland, WA
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just returned from the holiday cruise on the Zaandam and enjoyed this excursion. The tour guide Alicia was excellant! Her historical knowledge & local stories made it really interesting. The only drawback was fog at the canyon lookout point driftling in & out.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Grand Canyon of the Pacific
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Could have been better

Date:November 24, 2010
Mahalo
Location:Calif
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This excursion would've gotten a better rating if we had been sitting on the opposite side of the bus......most of what the guide pointed out along the route was visible from the right side of the bus but not the left. The two main stops, though, were worth the trip.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Grand Canyon of the Pacific
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Interesting if you have seen Kauai

Date:November 15, 2010
SuzieQ
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
While the canyon is dramatic, it is on the dryside of the island and it had been dry for a while when we visited so we didn't see the lush foliage or waterfalls that are sometimes there. It was a long bus ride. The blow hole was great. I just wish we had toured on the wet side of the island and seen the waterfalls or lush gardens of Kauai. The tour director was really great and I learned a lot about Hawaii and its customs.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Grand Canyon of the Pacific
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Grand Canyon of the Pacific

Date:October 24, 2010
DaveDude
Location:Duluth, MN
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Who knew there was such a fantastic sight such as this in Hawaii ? The bus driver, a native Hawaiian named Darwin, provided excellent commentary.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.