Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Hilo, Hawaii, US or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 'Circle of Fire' Volcano Helicopter Experience

'Circle of Fire' Volcano Helicopter Experience

From a helicopter you will take in absolutely phenomenal aerial views of the most geologically active environment on earth—the famous Kilauea Volcano, which has been erupting continually since 1983. This tour emphasizes the most current areas of volcanic activity. You’ll fly over lava flows, black sand beaches, tropical rain forests and small cascading waterfalls as you learn about the history and culture of Hawaii. Notes:Guests weighing more than 260 lbs will pay an additional surcharge up to 50% over the published fare. In accordance with FAA regulations, all passengers will weigh in at the heliport.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 'Circle of Fire' Volcano Helicopter Experience
Review 1 for 'Circle of Fire' Volcano Helicopter Experience
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Helicopter

Date:May 10, 2015
Location:San Antonio
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had the best time on this ride. I was impressed by the way they treated me and my niece. I have a bad back and can not walk or stand for a long period of time. The crew took me out to the helicopter in a golf cart and made sure I was comfortable the time I was with them. The helicopter pilot was the best and was a fun and informative person. The helicopter was the best that I saw. it was like riding in a limo compared to the other helicopter that looked like a pinto. Well worth the money!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 'Circle of Fire' Volcano Helicopter Experience
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

wait was long

Date:February 2, 2015
Location:Massachusetts
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was by far the most amazing excursion we took in Hawaii. The helicopter pilot was so professional and we were completely in awe of the lava. The waterfalls were amazing seeing them from the air too.
The only problem was the time span. It had said a 2 1/2 hour day but it turned into almost 7....we were one of the last ones to get back on the ship at 4:30 to leave Hilo.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 'Circle of Fire' Volcano Helicopter Experience
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

'Circle of Fire' Volcano Helicopter Experience

Date:January 28, 2015
Location:Regina, SK
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a wonderful experience. The "vog" (volcano fog) was quite thick but our pilot did his best to make our experience the best that he could. He also provided us with history and information that was a valuable part of the tour.
The waterfalls were spectacular from the air. Unfortunately, my picture taking did not do them justice. I also had difficulty getting a good picture of the "red" lava. As a result of my poor photography abilities, I purchased the dvd of our tour and found it to be "well worth the price I paid!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 'Circle of Fire' Volcano Helicopter Experience
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best helicopter flights ever

Date:November 28, 2014
Location:The Netherlands
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have taken quite a few helicopter flights during my trips but this was one of the best ever. The volcano was sending lots of steam up in the air, of course it would have been great if it had really spewed things but you cannot have it all. We saw trees and bushes catch fire beneath us. The lava almost looked like a brownish mud slide but then the pilot found a crack in the field and was able to show us the glowing orange red molted lava beneath it. It was interesting and breathtaking. Our pilot made sure we all got the best possible views. He did take us over the rain forrest in the end and even flew us back over the bay so we could have a good look at our ship. I would recommend this to everybody even though it is an expensive one. I have no regrets and would do it any time again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 'Circle of Fire' Volcano Helicopter Experience
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lots to See

Date:December 26, 2012
Location:Slidell, LA
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic! We saw fire and smoke in two different areas and waterfalls. Both sides saw as the he circled several times over each area. Very good narative and he answered questions as they were asked. Special accomidations for my husband who had a walker. Smooth take off, ride, and landing.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 'Circle of Fire' Volcano Helicopter Experience
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

Date:December 12, 2012
Location:Tampa, Florida
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had never been in a helicopter. What a treat! The pilot spent a lot of time circling the volcano to be sure we saw it all. Afterwards, we flew over waterfalls and lush green valleys. I would do it again for sure!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 'Circle of Fire' Volcano Helicopter Experience
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Volcano, yes-molten lava, no

Date:November 24, 2011
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The tour operator was organized. The helicopter itself was crowded and at times it was difficult to see what was going on. We saw smoking lava but because it was a sunny day, the pilot said we could not see the red, molten lava. Because there was not much activity at the time we also did not see the lava pouring into the ocean. This was not the tours fault, but natures. If you want to see that check the conditions before you book. Also I had an afternoon tour and had to take a cab back to the ship because the tour operator was selling videos of the flight and it took time to put it together.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 'Circle of Fire' Volcano Helicopter Experience
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful trip very well presented

Date:April 24, 2011
Location:Las Vegas, Nevada
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was relaxed and felt safe and comfortable.
Best Ride I have ever been on.
Would do it again for sure.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 'Circle of Fire' Volcano Helicopter Experience
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Decent

Date:December 31, 2010
Location:Arizona
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We had a great pilot, and the helicopter ride was great, but... We saw some red hot lava, and lots of steam, but was expecting more. Would have loved to have a longer ride to see some waterfalls as well. That would have made the trip worthwhile.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+5points
12out of 19found this review helpful.