Holland America Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Island Drive & Anne of Green Gables

Island Drive & Anne of Green Gables

Explore PEI—Canada’s tiniest and arguably most charming province, famous for its red earth and white beaches. A panoramic drive takes you through the historic streets of the Charlottetown Conference that led to Confederation of Canada. Enjoy picturesque views of the rolling hills in the countryside as you head to the North Shore. You’ll stop at Green Gables—the farmstead that inspired the setting for L.M. Montgomery to create her beloved tale of a red-haired orphan, Anne of Green Gables. Visit Cavendish Beach to capture incredible scenery and you will pass through pastoral farmland en route back the ship in Charlottetown.
Average Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
16 out of 18(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Island Drive & Anne of Green Gables
Review 1 for Island Drive & Anne of Green Gables
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable

Date:October 15, 2013
CrusingLinda
Location:Illinois
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The drive to the Anne of Green Gables house was close to an hour but the tour guide gave plenty of info along the way to keep it interesting. It was very crowded at the house (the tour company can't help that) so we didn't have as much time there as I would have liked but I enjoyed what I could see. The drive along the coast was beautiful. You get to see a lot of the island on this tour. when we got back we still had time to walk around town
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Island Drive & Anne of Green Gables
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Interesting

Date:September 2, 2013
66Canadian
Location:Western Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:August
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tour was one of the better ones we have been on. I thought only my wife would enjoy Ann of Green Gables but I was wrong. The tour guides, Pam and Dale, were very knowledgeable about the history of the Island and its people. Jokes included free. Of course you get the ignorant people who don’t know how to shut-up while the tour guide is talking but Pam was able to keep them in check. Great tour.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Island Drive & Anne of Green Gables
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Loved Green Gables

Date:July 21, 2013
smulkearns
Location:Virginia
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
We had just the right amount of time at Green Gables, but not nearly enough at the beach. The tour guide was OK, but had an annoying habit of constantly clearing his throat into the microphone. I would do this one again, but would hope for a different guide.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Island Drive & Anne of Green Gables
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Island Drive & Anne of Greene Gables

Date:July 12, 2013
Pookie
Location:Tennessee
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The drive up to the homestead is 45-minutes to 1-hr, the guide did give a nice historical overview of the area while in transit. Now that we've done this tour, if you aren't interested in Anne of Green Gables, skip the tour. The grounds are kept up beautifully but once you've gone through the house there isn't anything else to do and you drive about an hour back to the port. It's priced too high for what you get.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Island Drive & Anne of Green Gables
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful ride and the house was fun to see.

Date:July 6, 2013
purplelady
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed seeing the house L.M. Montgomery used as a setting for the book. Anne of Green Gables has always been one of my favorite books. The guide was very interesting on the bus and seeing the beach and ocean were also interesting.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Island Drive & Anne of Green Gables
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Tour

Date:June 18, 2013
DebLeg
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our guide "Elizabeth" was very informative. (The feedback from her mike though made her speech fuzzy, often difficult to understand). She gave us island history and was patient with everyone, even the two who were late coming back to bus. We had about an hour at Anne of Green Gables grounds. Beautiful, well kept grounds. (If you're NOT familiar with/interested in Anne of Green Gables, skip this tour).
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Island Drive & Anne of Green Gables
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not enough for Anne of Green Gable fans

Date:May 21, 2013
Fiona
Location:New Zealand
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall this was a good tour, with a friendly and knowledgeable guide. To be more true with the name of the tour, it should be extended to allow more time to explore the surrounding grounds and areas as they relate to the Anne of Green Gable stories. Even another 30 minutes would do. They would not even stop at the gravesite of Lucy Maud Montgomery & her husband which was only a short distance from the well preserved farmhouse. The historical display and movie was small but interesting and well laid out. There is a giftshop, restrooms and a small cafe there as well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Island Drive & Anne of Green Gables
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

If you love Anne...

Date:May 21, 2013
qatluvr
Location:Orange County, CA
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Definitely for fans of the Anne of Green Gables story. The house was darling, however, we were there when the number of guests were few, I can't imagine touring with masses of people, which judging by the other reviews, happens. As previous reviewers have stated, not enough time to explore the grounds or walk very far in the Haunted Woods or Lovers' Lane. The "tour" of the island was a stop off at a beach area...beautiful, but the rest of the "tour" was pretty much just the bus ride to and from the Anne house while the guide pointed a few buildings out on the way. Knowledgable guide was enjoyable.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Island Drive & Anne of Green Gables
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2013
RichardTHV
Location:Fort Lauderdale
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great tour. A beautiful sunny day on PEI. Tour guide was just fantastic. Enjoyed every minute. Tour guide was extremely informative. You won't be disappointed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Island Drive & Anne of Green Gables
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Island drive and Anne of Green Gables

Date:November 6, 2012
Debi
Location:Carson City, NV
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I enjoyed the drive across the Island and I especially enjoyed the information shared by the guide about Prince Edward Island!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Island Drive & Anne of Green Gables
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lovely Drive and Enough Time at Green Gables

Date:October 18, 2012
seaotter
Location:Tucson AZ
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very nice drive along the coast. There were no stops at any preserve shops (guess that is no more). Lots of interesting information and plenty of time at Green Gables.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Island Drive & Anne of Green Gables
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2012
Bullseye
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
A nice ride out to the shore , the nat'l park and Anne of Green Gables house. Guide was pleasant and informed. Had a somewhat irritating style of halting and repeating herself which bothered me although maybe not anyone else. As always, these tours are overpriced for the value offered
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Island Drive & Anne of Green Gables
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A good combination

Date:October 1, 2012
Buzzy
Location:A
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bus tour took us on a nice tour where we saw the type of homes and farms on the island. We had an enjoyable stop on the northern coast line.
The highlight was visiting the home of "Ann of the Green Gables." It was just the way the book described it and the wooded pathways were also beautiful.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Island Drive & Anne of Green Gables
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pleasant Ride

Date:October 29, 2011
EastTexan
Location:Holly Lake Ranch, Texas
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The right tour guide will make this a memorable trip. The lady we had did just that she was a native (Scotch descent) and married to one (French descent) know and communicated the history and life of the island well. We enjoyed the beauty of the island and the stops we made. The beach stop was quick and a better spot could have been choosen, but it was ok. Could have used a little more time at the "Anne of Green Gables" homestead for walking the trails. Enjoyed the preserve shop an their Ice Cream...mmmm
Overall for the time alloted and cost it was what we expected.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Island Drive & Anne of Green Gables
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointing

Date:June 22, 2011
Traf
Location:Montreal QC
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We were annoyed when our tour stopped at the Prince Island Preserves company for a full half hour- the same time spent at the Beach. The shop was ordinary with no reason to stop other than to sell the company's jams and coffee mugs. At a counter small sytrofoam cups were offered so that the teas on sale could be tasted, along with samples of the jam they were selling - this on broken cracker pieces as people stood around.
This wasted time could have been added to the brief stop we made at the Anne of Green Gables site.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Island Drive & Anne of Green Gables
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Prince Edward Island is simply a beautiful place.

Date:May 24, 2011
Granjan
Location:Kentucky
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this seven hour tour which included a delightful lobster lunch at Fisherman's Wharf. The highlight for us was visiting Green Gables in Cavendish, the setting of Lucy Maude Montgomery's books. Even though it was rather cool (after all it was in May), it was a wonderful experience. Also enjoyable was learning about the lobster industry and going to Cow's Creamery. Our guide was excellent.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Island Drive & Anne of Green Gables
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

variety and spirituality

Date:October 26, 2010
LindaC
Location:Woodbury, MN
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this tour took us across the island for a scenic drive of the island. along the way to Green Gables we stopped at a darling little preserves company and met the Scottish owner who delitefully told us of his beginings and welcomed us to his shop. we spent some time in the gardens there and then traveled on to Green Gables passing by the grave of the auther enroute. the Green Gables homestead was actually a very spiritual place for me as I have read the books and could see how the place would inspire the imagination of a young girl. after our visit there we boarded the bus and were taken to the north shore of the island and could walk along the rocks and sand dunes to explore the coast line for a short glorious time. then it was back to town taking in the sights of the island for very enjoyable tour. the tour guide was Elizabeth and as she was a former teacher. she made it most entertaining.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Island Drive & Anne of Green Gables
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a beautiful place

Date:October 25, 2010
earthman
Location:Willis, TX
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Charlottetown and the surrounding area of Prince Edward Island was so beautiful. The time of year and weather was near perfect. I had no idea what we would find. It was wonderful. The guide did a great job of telling about PEI.
I wish I could return someday and spend more time there.
The excursion was under time restraints and I wish it could have been a little less hurried.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.