Holland America Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Acadia National Park

Acadia National Park

Featuring one of the most scenic drives on the east coast, Acadia National Park is one of the most visited National Parks in the United States. Journey along the 27-mile Park Loop Road, which will take you along the ocean’s edge past Sand Beach, Schooner Head Overlook, and the High Seas mansion built by a wealthy gentleman whose wife perished on the Titanic. Keep an eye out for moose, black bear and white-tail deer. Travel through pine forests and past the Jordan Pond House with a beautiful view of the Penobscot Mountains and Bubbles Hill. Continue past Otter Cliffs and the Gulf of Maine with beautiful views of the offshore islands. Your tour includes (weather permitting) a photo stop atop the 1,530-foot Cadillac Mountain, offering a 360-degree panoramic view of granite cliffs, coastal mountains, forests, lakes, and valleys. Pass through the quaint town of Bar Harbor to view some of the charming Victorian mansions built by America’s rich and famous at the turn of the 20th century. Notes:Visibility at Cadillac Mountain is weather permitting.
Average Customer Rating:
3.333 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
2
12 out of 18(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Acadia National Park
Review 1 for Acadia National Park
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not worth the cost

Date:September 15, 2014
CathyTampa
Location:Tampa FL
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This tour consisted of a bus ride thru the woods. We made on stop on Cadillac Mountain then back to town.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Acadia National Park
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Mt Cadillac view superb, but little else

Date:September 6, 2014
ChongTien
Location:Australia
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:August
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The 20 mins or so at the top of Mt Cadillac allowed us to enjoy the magnificent view. We were disappointed that this otherwise dull tour stopped nowhere else.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Acadia National Park
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Bus tour to Cadillac MT & Lobster Lunch

Date:August 30, 2014
katt
Location:San Antonio
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:August
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The bus drive was long and not much variety of sights along the way. Beautiful countryside and ocean views. The lobster lunch was a big disappointment. Everyone left the tables still hungry. For the price we should have been allowed 2 lobsters as they were so small I doubt there was more than 3 oz meat One could rent a car to make the drive and had a fantastic lobster lunch in town for less than what this tour cost.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Acadia National Park
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bar Harbor

Date:July 31, 2014
ExplorerSue
Location:Texas
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful bus trip up to Cadillac Mountain; awesome scenery, and an amazing view of the area (including the ship) from the top! You only get about 20 - 25 minutes at the top, but that's okay. (I think this excursion is kept purposefully short, because they conduct two tours per day.) We had an awesome tour guide, and we really enjoyed this trip. Definitely recommend!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Acadia National Park
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Spectacular views

Date:May 29, 2014
Ruthie67
Location:Oregon
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Being on the first cruise in May, I think we were extremely lucky with the weather. Since the free buses were not yet running & we wanted to see the park, we took this excursion. We saw lots of pretty spots & our guide was very knowledgeable & friendly. I realize you can't know the weather in advance, but we thought the excursion was worth it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Acadia National Park
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice scenery

Date:October 5, 2013
BlackHawk
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We went on the 8 am tour and had clear weather and great views while on Cadillac Mtn. The tours later in the day, didn't even go up the mountain, due to fog. Our guide was very informative and made the trip fun. It rained most of the day, so it was a good thing to be doing. Our photos were nice, but affected by the rain and hazy weather. Plenty of time was allowed at each stop. We got off the bus in town and enjoyed wandering around. During our return visit to Bar Harbor (did a back to back cruise), we walked the Shore Path, which I highly recommend (rain or shine and even if only have a short amount of time). During that trip we did the LuLu Lobster boat, which was very enjoyable and educational. The kids aboard seemed to really enjoy the interaction. We also had wonderful lobster stew at cafe on one of the side streets (that we heard about from a fellow cruiser on the tender ride during our first visit). OMG, I'm still thinking about it, and I'm not that crazy about lobster.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Acadia National Park
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointed

Date:July 15, 2013
BethM
Location:New Jersey
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The day of our excursion it was foggy and raining. We feel our excursion should of been canceled. What a waste of money. On the other hand, I'm sure if the weather was better it would of been great.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Acadia National Park
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Bus too hot

Date:June 9, 2013
Songheim
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This tour would have been alright but the bus was incredibly hot the whole time which it made it nearly impossible to enjoy, many on the bus were feeling sick due to the heat and the winding roads. When we asked to turn the AC up they said that there wasn't much they could do, this problem needs to be fixed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Acadia National Park
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Panoramic tour was great!

Date:May 20, 2013
Vickir
Location:Wisconsin
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We loved this tour...everyone was so helpful as my husband uses a walker and needs help onto the bus! The pictures are lovely!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Acadia National Park
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Acadia National Park

Date:April 16, 2013
Oorch
Location:Arizona
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
If you book an excursion to Acadia National Park, I would suggest you take the afternoon tour. We took the morning tour and it was so foggy you couldn’t see anything. The afternoon tour was, I understand it, was awesome.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Acadia National Park
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Overview of Park

Date:October 30, 2012
Aubepine
Location:southern California
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were here in mid-September. Though there was fog like pea soup on the tender, it cleared as we headed into the park and up the mountain. One of the people in our party has a bit of a hard time walking, so this was a great overview to the park. You can see quite a bit from the windows, especially as the bus goes around the switchbacks. No autumn colors (except one lone red tree) but the beauty is still everywhere you look. The guide and bus driver were friendly. As an introductory tour to a wonderful national treasure, this excursion was perfect. We hope to do this cruise again some day and now have an idea of other things to try in the park.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Acadia National Park
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Panoramic Arcadia National Park

Date:October 5, 2012
JuliesDream
Location:Carmel, IN
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Doesn't offer much to see to tourists. View at the top of Cadillac Mountain was not impressive.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Acadia National Park
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Bar Harbor

Date:September 22, 2012
jaysea
Location:New York
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
With the short time that the ship had in Bar Harbor, we felt that this tour of the park was a good value. Unfortunately, it was a rainy day so we could not stop for photo ops until we reached the top of Cadillac mountain. The guide was well prepared and we were content to stay dry and enjoy the views from the bus.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Acadia National Park
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

The wheels on the bus go round -round -round

Date:June 14, 2012
gloworm
Location:Fresno california
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
This is exactly how I felt - a captive on a bus that didn't stop! I am from California where we fortunately have beautiful national parks and majestic mountains. The disappointment comes in when I realized the bus wasn't going to stop and let us take in the views we just swished past with the guide saying look to the left and ooooh look to the right. Cadillac mountain was the biggest disappointment it wasn't even a hill at 1,300 feet the one stop where we were alowed out of the bus for a minimal amount of time. A huge disappointment would have been better off saving the money and buying a post card.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+11points
15out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Acadia National Park
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful Views

Date:October 29, 2011
EastTexan
Location:Holly Lake Ranch, Texas
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We enjoyed this tour very much. Learning the history of Bar Harbor and Acadia NP was fascinating. The views from the top of Cadillac Mtn. were spectacular. Could have used more time there. The road was twisty and slow going up and down which took a lot of the time. The drive around the coastal area was a waste because we could not stop and take pictures. So if you want pictures of waves crashing on the rocks take another type of tour. Overall the trip was worth it. The stop at Bar Harbor and the tour of Acadia NP were the best of the trip.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Acadia National Park
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great views

Date:October 7, 2011
Sandie
Location:Maryland
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We really enjoyed this excursion. Great veiws. It also allowed plenty of time in the afternoon to explore the town.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Acadia National Park
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Acadia National Park and Cadillac Mountain

Date:June 5, 2011
Shirl
Location:South Carolina
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A true value shore excursion. Comfortable tour coach, wonderful narrator, and magnificent scenery. Unfortunately Mother Nature was not kind to us, but we did have a fabulous tour. We highly recommend this tour.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Acadia National Park
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Drive through of Acadia

Date:May 30, 2011
Proverbs3
Location:Springfield, Illinois
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This shore excursion is an informative and enoyable drive through Acadia National Park. The guide was very informative and interesting and a good public speaker. We enjoyed ourselves very much. Note that this is only a drive. The only place you are allowed to get out of the bus is one stop only. Not so convenient for picture taking (you will be taking pictures through the bus windows) but very good to get an overview of the park. Would do it again, just to catch any highlights we may have missed.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.