Holland America Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dominica's Favorites

Dominica's Favorites

For a bird’s-eye view of Roseau, travel up the side of Morne Bruce and look out over the lovely vista. At the Botanic Gardens to see Dominica’s native Jaco and Sisserou parrots. View the top of Trafalgar Falls, cascading side-by-side out of the deep gorges which they have carved, and take a 20-minute walk up a trail, past ginger plants and vanilla orchids, to the viewpoint above the river. Pass fern-covered hillsides en route to Trois Pitons National Park, and the small Emerald Pool. The trail leading to the pool is through tropical rain forest. The Emerald Pool is fed by a delicate cascade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
10 out of 12(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dominica's Favorites
Review 1 for Dominica's Favorites
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2014
wedge
Location:chicago
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great tour of all the high spots on Dominica. We have been to the island before and just walked around and there is not much to do or see. This tour showed us the beauty and natural wonders on Dominica.
A must do if you haven't seen the falls or the pond.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dominica's Favorites
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

OK tour

Date:February 16, 2014
Sandra52
Location:Ontario
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Emerald Pool was the high light of this tour. My husband and I were lucky enough to get to the pool 5 minutes before the rest of out tour and we got some great shots. Wonderful experience. The Trafalgar Falls was not worth the hike. The look out deck was very crowded and it was hard to even get one shot without someone in the way and we didn't get anywhere near the falls. Disappointing. We were not shown any birds at the Botanical Gardens at all. The tour guide took us on a walk across a lawn that was wet and muddy from the tropical rain and it was very slippery. One lady went right down and I almost slipped myself. Be prepared to clean shoes after this stop.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dominica's Favorites
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Worth the experience of the rain forest

Date:January 30, 2014
Chippie
Location:Pennsylvania
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Our tour guide was excellent, as she was proud of her country and filled in the time between stops with a running commentary about history and life of the country. Although this excursion is marked with a two-level difficulty, be aware that there are high steps, tree roots, and rocks on the paths and the walker should be sure-footed to navigate the trails. We did not take our swimsuits to dip in the Emerald Pool, but there was a facility to change out of the suit. That was unclear in the description. Overall, this excursion was a positive experience. This was done in 2014, but could not enter the correct year in the dropdown.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dominica's Favorites
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tropical RAIN forest

Date:September 9, 2013
cheshirekitten
Location:Kelowna BC Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The view from Morne Bruce is beautiful with the ship in the distance and the vegetation along the drive there is spectacular. It is a nice easy walk to the Trafalgar Falls. When we headed out to see the Emerald Pool it rained really, really hard and I got drenched to the skin but it was still a lovely walk through the forest to get there. I had wanted to take a dip in the pool when we got there but didn't think there would be time, however, about half of the passengers on the excursion went in regardless of the rain. A very worthwhile trip - even in the rain!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dominica's Favorites
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My favorite

Date:March 30, 2013
LAlady
Location:Louisiana
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a beautiful island and this excursion showed it off well. Our guide, Laura, was very informative and friendly. You had plenty of time at each stop to take pictures and view the scenery. I was a little disappointed that we didn't get to see as much of the Botanical Gardens but the Emerald Pool made up for that. Beautiful tropical jungles!. Bought a basket from a Caribe woman at Emerald Pool at a bargain price. Best port to buy authentic souvenirs (go up one block from the dock and then to the right under the tents to find more shopping).
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dominica's Favorites
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My favorite excursion on our cruise

Date:December 15, 2012
Blueeyez58
Location:Kansas City, Missouri
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an excellent excursion and we got some wonderful photos as a result. I've been through several rainforests, but none as lush and beautiful as the one we went through at Trois Pitons National Park. The unspoiled beauty of this island is magnicent.
Our tour guide and bus driver were well versed in the English language and did a great job of pointing out various fruit trees and plants as we made our way to each stop. The driver even slowed down or stopped the bus for pictures as we drove along if someone asked him to. Also the tour operator didn't use the dreaded "jump" seats in the aisle of the bus for seating; they provided enough buses for everyone on the tour so we could be comfortable and have our own seat.
Highlights of the excursion were the Trafalgar Falls waterfall, the stop at Morne Bruce to view the scenery and our ship and do a little shopping, and the waterfall and Emerald Pool at Trois Pitons National Park. The walk through the pristine rain forest at Trois Pitons to get to the waterfall and pool was about a 10 minute walk, but very well worth it. It was absolutely gorgeous! We also stopped at a botanical gardens, but I really think we could have done without that and spent more time at either of the waterfalls (most of us have probably seen botanical gardens, and the one we went to was pretty sparse). You definitely need to wear good walking shoes for this trip, as you will be walking over stones and tree roots. We were given a ticket for a free drink at one of the stops. A very worthwhile excursion and highly recommended.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dominica's Favorites
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dominica's Favorites

Date:February 27, 2012
Schatzi
Location:Pennsylvania
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was our third time in Dominica, but our first time we took a tour out into the country. Dpominica is very scenic. We enjoyed the drive and the walk to the waterfall, even though it was raining on and of. We highly recommend this tour.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dominica's Favorites
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unforgettable...

Date:February 9, 2012
Mel75
Location:Switzerland
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An amazing, wonderful, unforgettable trip to the rainforest, Emerald Pool, the Twinfalls and the Botanic Garden!! I am happy that I could join this happening and would love to return to Dominica!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dominica's Favorites
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Amazing place

Date:January 20, 2012
Sandro
Location:Italy
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Emerald Pool and rainforest are pieces of heaven of earth. Only a remark about a misunderstanding between guide and few turists regarding tickets that didn't enable them to access Trafalgar Falls site. In my opinion, Dominica is anyway the most beautiful island of Caribbean from the natural point of view..
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dominica's Favorites
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dominica's Favorites

Date:March 29, 2011
shotgun
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This excursion was wonderful. A very knowledgable tour guide helped to make it enjoyable. Beautiful scenery and landscape. We highly recommend this one, and definitely worth your money. Decima, was our guide.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dominica's Favorites
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

The quality of the tour guide makes the difference

Date:February 28, 2011
Anonymous
Location:Tampa, Fl
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
We chose this tour as it seemed to give us a good overview of the Island. The bus was old and very tight for everyone who was squeezed onto it. The guide was extremely difficult to understand and several guests had to ask her to repeat things until they just gave up. The stop at the Botanical Gardens was fairly quick and again, difficult to understand the explanations of various plants. We were constantly asked if the driver was doing a good job, in an effort to encourage tips at the end. The guide did not point out anything on the walk to the Trafalgar Falls although we managed to hear some of the other guides there, pointing out some wildlife. The island is beautiful and there isn't anything near the pier, so a tour is essential, but the quality of the guide most definitely makes a difference to the overall experience.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dominica's Favorites
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Overview of Dominica

Date:January 30, 2011
Loreto
Location:Victorville, California
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We took the early tour. We had a driver ( amazingly skillful on winding roads!) and knowledgable guide . Transport was in a comfortable "coaster bus." The tour lasted 5 hours and took us to all the "must see" sites. Be prepared to do a lot of walking . We saw lots of wildlife, breathtaking scenery, trees and flowers. The walk through the Botanical Gardens was informative, and our guide provided lots of information about Roseau and island life. The hike to Trafalgar Falls was strenuous and the path wet, but if you chose not to go, there were craft stands and a restaurant. Our guide went with us and pointed out things in the rain forest along the way, including a land crab. The walk to the Emerald Pool was peaceful and pleasant. It could be viewed from above, or you could continue to hike down to the pool for a closer look and a swim . The final path was challenging. There was a visitor center with information, a small restaurant and craft stalls. We had a refreshment stop to view the trois pitons before heading back along the coast . The entire tour was fascinating and non commercial. We covered a lot of the island on this tour.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.