Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Komodo Island, Indonesia or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Komodo Island Trek

Komodo Island Trek

Komodo National Park lies within an area known as the Wallacea—the domain of a fierce and rare species of reptile that looks like a dinosaur, but is called a Komodo dragon and, of course, is not even remotely related to either a dinosaur or a dragon. Instead, the Komodo dragon is the remnant of a once widespread ancient order of monitor lizards that today survives on only a handful of these islands. Approximately 1,100 of this protected species remain on Komodo Island. This giant reptile often measures up to 11 feet in length and can weigh more than 300 pounds. Like other monitor lizards, the head is tapered, the ear-openings are visible, and the neck is long and slender. The Komodo dragon is a carnivore, and preys on the deer and wild pigs that inhabit the island. They also sometimes eat their own young. It is a good swimmer and, for short distances, quite swift on land. The island of Komodo itself is about 60 squares miles in area and is volcanic in origin, with dramatic landscapes of 2,000-foot craggy mountains, deep arroyos, canyons, savannahs and monsoon rain forests. Fresh water is scarce on the island, collected during the monsoon season in a few isolated areas. Human habitation is therefore limited to only one settlement in Slawi Bay. Once ashore, you will be escorted on foot to Komodo National Park for a walking tour in search of the Komodo dragon. Accompanied by park rangers and an English-speaking guide you will walk about one mile (roughly 1½ hours) to the fenced area near Banunggulung to look for the dragons. You’ll have a chance to take some photos here. Guests with less walking ability can walk partway or just stay at the ranger station where Komodo dragons are occasionally seen. An open bar with soft drinks and mineral water is available to you at the ranger station and reception area. The monsoon forests of Komodo teem with activity of other wildlife, particularly in the morning before the sun is at its peak. Squawking cockatoos flock in often leafless trees, disturbing large green imperial pigeons, black-napped orioles, sun birds, flowerpeckers, and noisy friarbirds, while shiny black dragoons and enormous crows soar nearby. Finally, you will reach the finish point and have some free time for local souvenir shopping.Notes: Wildlife sightings are likely but are not guaranteed. The Komodo dragon is wild and is not artificially fed by the local authorities. The park rangers accompanying the tour will decide which route the trek will follow. Weather conditions can be extremely hot and shade is limited; dress accordingly, wear sunscreen and a hat, and bring bottled water.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
14 out of 15(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Komodo Island Trek
Review 1 for Komodo Island Trek
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A magical place

Date:February 2, 2016
Location:Newcastle ,England
Cruise Date Year:2016
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The first amazing thing is the island itself .Take time to walk around the deck and take in the beautiful volcanic structures and colours of the island , non of my pictures did it justice !!
The tender journey across to the island was fantastic ,once on the island the magic continued.
Everyone is so kind and helpful ,the rangers take really good care of each party ,and make sure you see and understand as much as possible about the dragons and their habitat ,and the working of the reserve itself .
There is also the inevitable market at the end ,pearls wood carving ,batik !
TOP TIPS
Listen to the bird song in the island !
Choose good time for your trip ,dragons more active early morning and evening when it is cooler .However ,in the heat if the day they are sleepy and lots of them around to see .
Take advantage of any water offered ,stock up.
The walking is fabulous ,wear good shoes ( little bits if coral can get stuck in sandal shoes !)
Enjoy x it was wonderful
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Komodo Island Trek
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

So so walk with great dragons

Date:December 19, 2015
Location:connecticut
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Having read the previous reviews, I would say we were pretty lucky on our walk. We had a great group of guides and they were knowledgeable and we saw Komodo Dragons right from the start. One was seriously stalking a deer which would probably be dinner in a couple of days. We also saw various birds, boars, more deer, orchids and a few Dragons wandering around in the wild including one tiny one. When we got to the watering hole, we saw even more dragons. One female did not seem to appreciate us being there but did not really attack. The one negative aspect was the souvenir stands at the end of the tour. Or should I say the gauntlet. I wanted to buy something but the stand owners were so aggressive that I just left. I felt like I was abused and felt really bad because they really could have used the money. Every child I went by also had their hands out. I wish someone could explain that for most people, if they were less aggressive, they could probably sell more and make more. The tour provided 2 bottles of water and frequent stops where everyone was encouraged to drink. It was not outrageously hot that day but if it had been hotter, we would have needed the extra water we brought with us. I also enjoyed learning the legend of the twins of Kamodo in the National Park Center. The walk itself was not strenuous, a couple of hills but in the hotter weather may have been tough. We were on the longer version but could have been fine with the smaller version as they saw the dragons around the water hole also. A private company did offer a tour and some friends I knew did that tour. It was for the whole day and included snorkeling at a nearby pink sands beach. It was more money but good value but we were happy with this tour. We were able to stay on the island as long as we wanted. Some friends of ours went swimming near the tender dock until one young boy pointed out a dragon under the dock. Overall it was a good day.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Komodo Island Trek
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A pleasant walk to see the Dragons

Date:March 9, 2015
Location:Australia
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was something on my "BUCKET LIST" and I was totally happy I went to Komodo.
Its a pretty easy trek actually, not much in the way of serious hill climbs (we had a couple of small sharp climbs of around 15 metres or so). The walk itself was mostly in shade which was very good considering the heat (around 35C or 95F along with very high humidity). All up it was the long trek that we took which was some 2 hours in total.
Animals spotted were wild boar, wild pig, deer, wild chickens and various bird species.
The Komodos themselves were all lazying around a man made waterhole about 10 minutes walk from the Ranger Station. The Dragons are big but very much like well fed large dogs, they just lay around and slept. A couple of Dragons did move around and we got to within 10 metres of them at times. Beautiful animals and you can see just how powerful these Dragons are when you are that close to them.
Word of Warning, make sure you are properly HYDRATED and TAKE Water with you. We had an elderly lady collapse from the heat just after seeing the Dragons, excellent response by the Rangers, the lady concerned was back to the ship well before we were and made a full recovery. You can't drink enough water in this type of environment.
Finally the only real low point was having to endure the "market" run, where our trek took us through various local market stalls. T Shirts, wooden Komodos of all sizes etc for sale not to mention having either very young children or the elderly begging for dollars (not Rupiah). You really must ignore them and just focus on either buying a present for the folks at home or just walking on by to get back to the ship tender.
All up it was an excellent couple of hours very well spent.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Komodo Island Trek
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Big Mothers!

Date:December 5, 2014
Location:Georgia
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Yep, they really exist though we didn't see them until the end of the walk. We set out with our guides who carry these forked sticks to fight off the feared Komodo dragon, which is just a monitor lizard. Up hills and down dusty paths we walked and saw only the occasional deer – not even a snake to hold my interest. I was convinced that the Komodo dragon was a promotional stunt to lure unsuspecting tourists to the island.
Then, at the final watering hole, there they were; some big lazy ones, and some smaller active ones! Here’s the word on these lizards: they are carnivores; as reptiles, they lay eggs – Mama leaves and they have to fend for themselves when they emerge. They climb trees to survive until they are big enough. It’s dog eat dog in the lizard world (or dragon eat dragon). Mom doesn’t know her kids so she might eat them. Mama lays 15 to 20 eggs – only 5% survive, it that. These big, ugly lizards eat the deer and wild boar on the island. Here’s how: they have 60 different kinds of bacteria in their saliva. When they bite their victim, an infection starts. The deer die in five days and the boar in seven. Then, and only then, do they get devoured. In the group before us, a dragon bit a deer on the tail. You know what that means! Yummy!
The only downside was the gauntlet of locals selling trash and trinkets at the end. There is a path around it but you have to look for it. Otherwise a great experience to see these large creatures.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Komodo Island Trek
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Unique, but disappointing experience

Date:March 26, 2014
Location:London UK
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You must get off the ship at Komodo Island as you cannot see the 'dragons' in the wild elsewhere (not the same as seeing them in a zoo cage). Unless you have managed to arrange a private tour with a ranger in advance (almost impossible to do) then you cannot disembark the ship unless you are on a tour (nothing to do with HAL, but it is to protect the wildlife). The 'long' trek (more like a Sunday afternoon stroll) takes you through pretty unremarkable scenery and at the end you encounter the animals. If these are all you want to see (as we did), then you might as well go on the shorter walk, since the animals are obviously always at the same place, just a few yards away from the end. The chances of seeing them elsewhere are pretty remote, especially if you are in a group. Having done other nature treks elsewhere, we were disappointed and I found the walk pretty boring, until the last 10-15 mins when we got to where the animals were.
To get back to the ship you have to run the gauntlet of a large market with children begging. Shame. If someone could just advise the islanders that a large number of stalls selling the same items is counter-productive and having children overtly asking for money in a somewhat aggressive way id offputting, then they would doubtless sell far more.
To sum up: you must get off to see the animals, but don't have high expectations. However, you MUST be on deck for the lengthy sail away as the scenery is magnificent. This really was one of the highlights of the trip.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Komodo Island Trek
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good to see dragons and other wildlife

Date:March 20, 2014
Location:Launceston, UK
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a good excursion. Our ranger was knowledgeable and provided a very good guided tour. We saw deer, a wild boar, a flying lizard and several Golden Orioles. We saw the dragons only near the end of the trek where they (I counted nine) were congregating round a waterhole. This water hole is also on the short trail, so if it is only dragons you wish to see, this may be a better option as it is very hot. Seeing these creatures is a wonderful experience and not to be missed. At the end of the trail, you follow a roped path which forces you through a series of local souvenir stalls with fairly aggressive hawkers and young children tugging at the heart strings. This excursion or the shorter version is thoroughly recommended.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Komodo Island Trek
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Visiting the Dragons at home!

Date:February 22, 2014
Location:USA, Los Alamitos, California
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This hike was exciting and educational. On booking the tour, I was a bit worried (unnecessarily) that the hike might be too strenuous or perhaps dangerous. The path is in a level forest area and not too long, and the guides are well trained and numerous. The dragons seemed to be interested in us too, and want to come over to look! A couple of times the guides just decided to pull a dragon back away from the group, when one seemed to be getting too close for the guide's comfort. No problems, just great photos, and now I have seen them up close!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Komodo Island Trek
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unique Experience

Date:August 6, 2013
Location:Australia
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
This experirnce can not be seen anywhere else in the world and is a must for anyone visiting this area. From the desert like kandscape in the ocean to the unique animal life. A must
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Komodo Island Trek
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This was amazing to view

Date:December 12, 2012
Location:Columbus Ms
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was one of the highlights of the entire cruise. You really do get up close and personal with the dragons. One walked within 10 feet us us. Do not miss this.You cannot go ashore without an excursion.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Komodo Island Trek
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The are "Really Big"

Date:November 26, 2012
Location:Texas
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice trip to see the "dragons." It was very, very hot.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Komodo Island Trek
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The dragons and more

Date:May 4, 2012
Location:Canada
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delightful tour in an exotic location !
We got to see the dragons (a lot of them) and we were even attacked (closely followed) by a racing dragon. Fortunately (their bite is lethal), our knowledgeable guide and 2 assistants had long prong to keep them at bay. It is a very special tour, something that cannot be duplicated anywhere else in the world. This tour is for everyone but there is a long walk involved...not for mobility challenged persons.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+36points
36out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Komodo Island Trek
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Extremely overpriced

Date:February 6, 2012
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A short walk with a sweet but not knowledgeable guide. some people got to do snorkeling and other activities for half the price by booking ahead of time on their own.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+9points
17out of 25found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Komodo Island Trek
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5