Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Stockholm, Sweden or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Sensational Rooftop Walk & Stockholm's Old Town

Sensational Rooftop Walk & Stockholm's Old Town

Try something sensational and unique—a guided walk conducted along a historic rooftop in Stockholm. Begin with a drive from the pier to Riddarholmen, the small island in the Old Town of Sweden’s capital. During the 13th century, Franciscan monks built a monastery here, parts of which still remains in the cellar vaults of the many impressive buildings that stand here today. Riddarholmen Church is the final resting place of most Swedish Kings. Next to the church is the Old Parliament Building which you'll enter and take the elevator up to the top floor and, via the attic, step out into the open. Buckle up with your safety harness and take your first steps along the narrow rooftop path offering fantastic views and fascinating stories that your guide will share en route. This rooftop tour is conducted according to rigorous safety standards. Even though the height (up to 130 feet) may be a challenge to some, this is the perfect starting point to learn of the history of Stockholm and take in some breathtaking views. With your feet back on the ground, continue to the Old Town for a ground-level walking tour through Gamla Stan—a living historical monument of international renown. Take in the historic elegance of the exterior of the dominating Royal Palace, combined with the narrow streets packed with a wide variety of smart boutiques, handicraft workshops, art galleries and antique shops. See Stortorget (the Great Square)—the hub of the Old Town, where the Stockholm Blood Bath occurred in 1520—and the former Stock Exchange, now the home of the Swedish Academy that meets each year to decide the laureate of the Nobel Prize for Literature. Re-join your coach and relax for a panoramic sightseeing drive through Stockholm, passing the Parliament Building, the Royal Opera, the city center with Sergels Torg, and the Concert Hall. Notes:Minimum age is 15 years; maximum weight is 250 lbs; minimum height is 4’11". Guests with a history of cardiovascular problems, fear of heights or a tendency to faint are not permitted on this tour. It is strictly prohibited to be under the influence of drugs or alcohol when participating. Wear walking shoes; slides, sandals and high-heeled shoes are not allowed. Wear shorts or long pants; skirts or dresses are not allowed. Safety harness and helmet are provided.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sensational Rooftop Walk & Stockholm's Old Town
Review 1 for Sensational Rooftop Walk & Stockholm's Old Town
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting tour!

Date:July 20, 2014
ikke
Location:Amersfoort, NL
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our guided evening tour started with a walk through the old town. You can learn everything that you should know about the city and the habits of the residents. After an hour, we went up on the roof of the old parliament house for a 360° panoramic view. Above, we got our safety equipment and went for "a walk with the dog". The view is amazing!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sensational Rooftop Walk & Stockholm's Old Town
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Rooftop walk in Stockholm

Date:July 23, 2013
parkdirector
Location:Ahwahnee, California
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I loved this tour up on the roof. It was not as long as I would have liked but it was pretty good. Great tour guide who was helpful above and beyond. He arranged a massage for me with a local spa afterwards.
I made one suggestion regarding the walk. They should play the song "UP ON THE ROOF" by the Drifters.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sensational Rooftop Walk & Stockholm's Old Town
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Extrordinary opportunity!

Date:July 17, 2013
TheShadowKnows
Location:Milwaukee
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We loved seeing Stockholm from this vantage point! The day we went was glorious, but they do provide rain gear when necessary. Two guides with each group of 10, both very professional, well-experienced, and knowledgeable, covering basic history, pointing out sites, and even taking photos of people with their cameras. Only if you have a problem with heights should you miss this tour--otherwise, it is perfectly safe. You can get tickets it on your own, but you must plan many months in advance--HAL secures limited spots, so grab yours right away. We opted not to take the bus back to the ship (4.5 hours before all-aboard), but rather walked across the bridge to watch the changing of the guards, had lunch, shopped, took the ferry to see the Vasa--and still had time to walk back to the ship (be sure to grab a map at disembarkation in the morning!). This tour was a highlight of our trip.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sensational Rooftop Walk & Stockholm's Old Town
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sensational Rooftop Walk & Stockholm's Old Town

Date:June 10, 2013
FarmGrandma
Location:Minnesota
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Stockholm is a very pretty city. Very good tour and guide. Guide Pointed out many interesting facts and buildings. During the walk around the city and while we were at the Royal Place the Queen drove in. We were able to view the preparation for her arrival and the changing of the guard and see her waving. This was a rare instance. The rooftop walk was also very interesting but also more challenging if one isn't stable on their feet. We are in our mid-50's and live on a farm so had no trouble but others may find it more difficult. Felt very safe at all times. Well worth it. We were done with the city walk and rooftop walk by noon so wish we had stayed in the city to spend some free time instead of taking the bus back to the ship. We were not aware that it would have only been a 20 minute walk back to the ship.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sensational Rooftop Walk & Stockholm's Old Town
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Unique Experience

Date:June 10, 2013
Bert3rd
Location:Indiana
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This excursion sold out quickly. When we boarded the ship, it was not even on the list of possibles for Stockholm. It had sold out months before. It was spectacular!! A wonderful, unique experience for both men and women. It is a challenge for someone without decent balance. You walk a narrow metal ramp around the roof of a five or six story building. Truly exhilarating!! Wonderful views of the surrounding city islands.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sensational Rooftop Walk & Stockholm's Old Town
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Seeing Stockholm from a different Vista

Date:December 11, 2012
PaulR8989
Location:England
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely brilliant tour!!!! The views were outstanding and the tour guides commentary was informative. The excursion was professionally run: with a full health and safety briefing and equipment check made before the tour commences. Safety is paramount so there was no pressure on anyone to rush around but toi enjoy the moment. The tour was at a pace that suited everybody and there was plenty of time to take numerous photographs taking in the outstanding sites and views. This is one HAL tour that I most strongly recommend taking because if you wish to take it independently you may be disappointed as it is usually booked up well I advance. Well done HAL spot on with this tour.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sensational Rooftop Walk & Stockholm's Old Town
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2012
Rzazzle
Location:Australia
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great excursion! We were a little worried, booking, that it might be more strenuous than we would be able to manage, but it was EASY! We had no problems with the level of difficulty and boy, was it worth it. The view was fantastic and the tour commentary was very interesting. We saw Stockholm's buildings and heard a lot about the city's history from a unique viewpoint. The excursion was very professionally run: I felt safe at all times. I have no hesitation in recommending it to others. Thanks to Holland America for making it available on their cruise as it would have been impossible to get into privately because it is always booked out well in advance.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sensational Rooftop Walk & Stockholm's Old Town
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So unique!

Date:July 29, 2010
TravelGal
Location:Seattle
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Effectiveness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I had a great time - what a unique opportunity to walk on the rooftop of a centuries old buildling in the middle of Stockholm. We had a view of the city from every angle, and learned a lot about the history of Stockholm. It was the perfect mix of sightseeing and adrenaline!
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.