Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Copenhagen, Denmark or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for A Glimpse of Copenhagen & Tivoli Gardens

A Glimpse of Copenhagen & Tivoli Gardens

On a panoramic drive through the streets of Copenhagen, travel through the city to see the Stock Exchange, Christiansborg Palace, the Danish Parliament, City Hall Square, the main shopping area, the Strøget and Rosenborg Castle. Don’t miss Copenhagen’s famous Gefion Fountain—depicting the Nordic legend of the goddess Gefion, Amalienborg Palace, and the colorful and lively Nyhavn waterfront district lined with 500-year-old gabled houses, sidewalk cafés and bars. Next, head to Tivoli Gardens—at the top of everyone’s list of places to visit in Copenhagen. Founded in 1843, Tivoli is a beautiful, romantic park with lanterns in the trees that create a magical atmosphere. More than 160 years old, this magical park has inspired many people: Hans Christian Andersen took the idea for his fairy tale, The Nightingale, from Tivoli, and Walt Disney drew inspiration for Disneyland from the garden during several visits in the 1950s. Stroll through Tivoli to see blooming flowers and the all-important amusements and enjoy the old-fashioned style of lighting that makes Tivoli a time warp—neon lights are banned here! You will also see the Little Mermaid sculpture modeled on the fairytale creation of Hans Christian Andersen.Notes:This tour is only available to guests returning to the ship. This tour is not suitable for wheelchairs. Participants must be able to negotiate uneven gravel surfaces and cobblestone courtyards.
Average Customer Rating:
3.375 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
3 out of 8(38%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Glimpse of Copenhagen & Tivoli Gardens
Review 1 for A Glimpse of Copenhagen & Tivoli Gardens
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Too much Tivoli & not enough Copenhagen

Date:July 5, 2014
Albertagrandma
Location:Alberta, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
While there was nothing actually wrong with this tour and many really enjoyed it, we were disappointed with the size of the gardens vs the amusement park. We had a tour of the gardens themselves and then 2 hours on our own to wander around. While interesting it was too much time for us there as we were not interested in going on any rides. The city tour was good and our guide was excellent and gave lots of interesting facts but it was a bit disappointing to not have seen more of the city. It would have been wonderful to have seen the park at night though as we could see the appeal for family days out especially.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for A Glimpse of Copenhagen & Tivoli Gardens
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Glimpse of Copenhagen & Tivoli Gardens

Date:June 26, 2013
Nuisance
Location:Regina, SK
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was quite disappointed in this tour. The city tour was okay but we spent way too long in Tivoli Gardens! Tivoli Gardens is like an amusement park. It is supposed to be where Walt Disney got his inspiration for Disneyland. That may be true, but it doesn't light a candle to the Disney accomplishment! Everything in the park has a charge connected.....the gift shops are expensive.....All in all, my husband and I were disappointed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for A Glimpse of Copenhagen & Tivoli Gardens
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good glimpse of Copenhage and Tivoli

Date:August 17, 2012
2ndtimers
Location:Orange, CA
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I booked this trip at the last minute because of a negative review I had read. However, we were quite pleased with our glimpse (it IS a glimpse), and enjoyed our time at Tivoli--which reminded me of the California Disneyland when it first opened.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for A Glimpse of Copenhagen & Tivoli Gardens
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great overview of the city and visit toTivoli

Date:August 15, 2012
cheshirekitten
Location:Kelowna BC Canada
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had an excellent guide who explained many interesting facts about Copenhagen as we saw the main areas. The visit to Tivoli Gardens took about half of the time and was just right for us to see everything and take lots of photos without feeling rushed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for A Glimpse of Copenhagen & Tivoli Gardens
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good orientation of Copenhagen and Tivoli Garden

Date:July 4, 2012
Ricky
Location:Statesboro, GA
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Time in Tivoli was more than needed. We would have enjoyed more driving around Copenhagem. Changing of the guard at the Royal Palace was a nice bonus from our guide.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for A Glimpse of Copenhagen & Tivoli Gardens
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

this bustour could be organized better

Date:July 22, 2011
elsy
Location:Holland
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am sorry to say, I agree with another review that says that one can better take the hop-on/hop-of bus to have a glimpse of Copenhagen. Moreover, the free time we had in Tivoli, after a short introduction and walk with the guide, was in our opinion too long. The description of the excursion makes you expect more than you get.
The other shore excursions of this cruise were all good. You got what you could expect from the description.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 7 for A Glimpse of Copenhagen & Tivoli Gardens
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Copenhagen

Date:July 17, 2011
Wally
Location:santa clara, california
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I thought the tour was good. The description did not mention a photo stop at the Little Mermaid, so I hiked the mile from the ship on arrival to make sure I had a photo. Then it was our first tour stop. The guide (Englishman) was excellent and stayed with us the entire afternoon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for A Glimpse of Copenhagen & Tivoli Gardens
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not the best way to get Glimpse

Date:July 2, 2011
TheMaestro
Location:Texas
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Tivoli Gardens portion is really "on your own" after brief intro to the park by guide. Park is worth seeing for a few hours. The quick bus tour of the city is a bustout. Busses are closed and hard to see sights from inside the bus. Better option is take the "Hop on Hop off" bus which stops right at the ship. It has naration of sights and you can stop off at Tivoli Gardens on the tour.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.