Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Venice, Italy or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Venice Sightseeing

Venice Sightseeing

Transfer by motor launch to St Mark’s Square—the heart and soul of Venice, with palatial arcades and charming cafés. Your guided walking tour passes the Byzantine façade of St Mark’s Cathedral, originally constructed in the 9th century, with domes and bronze horses. At the exquisite Doges’ Palace, the former residence of the Dukes of Venice and the seat of the Venetian government for 800 years, climb the Golden Staircase to marvel at the paintings of Tintoretto and Veronese. Cross the famous Bridge of Sighs to reach the prison and view the cells. In the square are small workshops of glass manufacturers and you will stop here for shopping before returning to the ship by motor launch.Notes: Guides are not allowed to provide commentary inside the church. An introduction will be given outside and you will view the inside on your own. Only one group may enter at a time, so there may be a considerable wait outside. The visit to the Doges’ Palace involves a lot of stair climbing. Guests who have difficulty with stairs can wait in the lobby. Modest attire is required; knees, shoulders and midriffs must be covered. Bags/backpacks are not permitted in the Doges’ Palace. Use of an audio headset (included) will enhance your tour experience.
Average Customer Rating:
3.636 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
8 out of 11(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Venice Sightseeing
Review 1 for Venice Sightseeing
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2013
2travellers
Location:Ontario Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The potential for a good tour was there but unfortunately this did not happen. The first guide that met us at the dock was very slow in getting the group off the launch and into St. Mark's Square. The second guide who actually did the tour was extremely knowledgeable ... but ... was totally unaware of how to move a group through crowded areas and talk so everyone could hear - he also gave TMO(too much historical information for the common tourist). Consequently, there was very little "free" time. As our ship stayed in port that night, the next day we took the people mover into a square and walked the "back streets" to St. Mark's and back. That was very worthwhile!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Venice Sightseeing
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Venice Sightseeing

Date:June 8, 2013
ljgb
Location:Colorado
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As we were going to St. Mark's Square on the water taxi, the windows were so high up that we couldn't see out as our tour guide was mentioning all the sights. After seeing the Doge's Palace, we were directed to a glass factory when we asked where the restrooms were. We had to sit through a dissertation on glass making before we were directed to the restrooms.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Venice Sightseeing
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Venice sightseeing

Date:May 30, 2013
Elena
Location:Los Angeles, Ca
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The lady that took us to the first vehicle was moving too fast and 6 of us lost her; finally we found the place, and after that was a very nice tour. Very interesting and educational. The tour of the Doge's Palace was excellent - the tour guide we had explained the history and the architecture of the Palace. I love the entire tour, and I will come back again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Venice Sightseeing
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Venice Sightseeing

Date:October 19, 2012
snap12
Location:Ontario Canada
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:August
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a good tour to take if this is your first time in Venice. The tour guide we had on the ride over to St. Mark's Square was not very good. Her English was heavily accented and she was hard to understand. That being the case the tour of the Doge's Palace was excellent - the tour guide we had explained the history and the architecture of the Palace. We didn't have time to into St. Mark's as the line ups were very long. The glass blowing demonstration was interesting. Afterwards we did walk around on our own. Once back at the meeting place was very disorganized trying to get on the water taxis - we were shuttled back and forth for about 30 minutes until the water taxi could dock. The tour guide kept on losing people so she had to run around looking for them. It would have been better if there were 2 one at the front and one at the back. Be aware that there is a lot of walking over bridges and lots of people especially on the bridges as there are plenty of photo opportunites.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Venice Sightseeing
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Venice sightseeing

Date:July 30, 2012
egorl
Location:New Jersey
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Would have preferred a morning tour in Venice instead of afternoon.
The tour ran late to begin with and we were shuttled back and forth on the pier before we could even get on the boat to St. Marks Square. Our guide didn't seem to know what she was doing.
The tour of the Doge's palace and our guide at the palace, Andrea, were both excellent. Since we were late in arriving there was no time for a visit to the cathedral, which was disappointing.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Venice Sightseeing
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Venice in the rain

Date:June 17, 2012
gunner
Location:Australia
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Holland America delivered what they promised, we had an excellent guide who provided good information. However it absolutely poured with rain and i felt that i had missed the Venice experience. I would need to look at other excursions to see if they provided more free time, perhaps a transfer would be better.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Venice Sightseeing
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Venice experience

Date:May 30, 2012
teach
Location:Seattle, Washington, USA
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was very crowded on the Sunday afternoon we were in Venice. Glad we were with a tour that could guide us to important sites. A fun ride on a water bus from the ship - amazing there aren't accidents on the water with all the boats manuvering around! It was difficult walking over the bridges because of all the people stopping to take pictures and some actually sitting down on the bridge. Our guide in the Doge's Palace was wonderful - great commentary and history! We had some time to explore on our own, but St. Mark's was closed by the time the glassblower demonstrationt was finished. Would have loved to have had time to climb the clocktower but all in all a good overview of Venice's St. Mark's Square.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Venice Sightseeing
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Exploring History!!

Date:March 18, 2012
Alvareal
Location:San Diego,CA
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:August
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tour was perfect, it allowed for enough time to see all of that main area. Holland America did a splendid job on timing for immediately entering Doge's Palace, since afterwards there was a long line that stretched towards the water. After the tour of Doge's Palace, you have the option of watching the art of glass blowing, or exploring on your own. Luckily, I had plenty of time for both!! A tour of the bell tower would've been nice, but being on the ship and sailing from Venice is just the same if not better.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Venice Sightseeing
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2011
lasar
Location:North Carolina
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We booked this tour at the end of our cruise. Glad we did, the tour guide presented a nice history of Venice and how it came to be. The Doges Palace was awesome and the guide explained details of the art work, and the purpose of the Council. The Glass factory could be skipped. But we left with a sense of Venice and a way to manage the City on our own after the Cruise. Wear good shoes, bring water and beware of all the other tourist groups.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Venice Sightseeing
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Doges' Palace

Date:May 6, 2011
JEPagan
Location:Ponce , Puerto Rico
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very datail explanation of the Doges Palace, his paintings and the history of this place. The guide takes very good care of evreting including the entrance tikets and the hearing aids for evreybody.
Cruise Date Year:2008
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Venice Sightseeing
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5