Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Castries, St. Lucia or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Aerial Tram Adventure

Aerial Tram Adventure

Flirtatious hummingbirds, impressive buttress root systems, and persistent ficus stranglers are your companions on your rain forest aerial tram ride. The Aerial Tram transports you up and away from the heat and bustle of the lowlands to an ecological park located in the heights of St Lucia’s forest reserve. The open-air gondola ascends quietly through the rain forest, offering a magical view of nature in all its majesty—towering gommiers, impressive chatanniers, and the remarkable phenomenon of the strangler ficus. Playful hummingbirds and bananaquits are everywhere. An experienced naturalist interpreter will point out giant ferns and magnificent heliconia, and identify the calls and the plumage of the birdlife that calls the Caribbean oceanic forest home. The descent affords a bird’s-eye view of the forest and a spectacular panoramic vista of the north of the island. With much to see and hear, the tram ride is a celebration of color and life—a restorative retreat to invigorate the senses. Disembark at the community of Chassin, some 2,000 feet above sea level, nestled at the base of La Sorcière Volcano. From here, it is just a half-hour drive back to Castries. Notes:The tram park premises are non-smoking. Maximum weight is 350 lbs. A café and souvenir shop is located at base station. Closed-toe walking and/or hiking shoes are mandatory (no high heels, sandals or flip flops) for guests who wish to walk the Fern Nature Trail (optional).
Average Customer Rating:
3.923 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
11 out of 13(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Aerial Tram Adventure
Review 1 for Aerial Tram Adventure
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Excursion

Date:March 11, 2014
Maggie7667
Location:Ocean City, MD
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
The rain corset is lovely and our guide, Lyndon was very knowledgeable. We saw many different types of trees, lovely flowers and some birds. While we enjoyed the rain forest, we felt the price was a bit steep for what we got.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Aerial Tram Adventure
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice quiet tour for 2014

Date:February 9, 2014
Chiller
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I enjoyed this tour, guide was very informative, beautiful greenery, no insects, and beautiful plant life. Perfect tour for a senior. As for myself, I would do the zip lining at this location next time as it just moved a little too slow for my pace.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Aerial Tram Adventure
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Little wildlife

Date:January 14, 2014
ecmcd
Location:Branson.MO
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Trip to tram very educational, through many neighborhoods of St. Lucia. Had to wait for our turn, guide pointed out birds and plants in area, very knowledgeable, with good English. Trip up did go thorough many plant zones, well described by guide, very few birds or insects. Trip down beautiful views of the island and both Caribbean and Atlantic sides. Nature walk at end was on steep trails, difficult if you had trouble walking. Great gift shop at end.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Aerial Tram Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic trip

Date:January 7, 2014
Mishy
Location:Australia
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Definitely value for money, fantastic tram-ride in a 8 seat Gondola thru the top of the rainforest. Guide was very informative and friendly.
Optional nature walk also worth taking but the ground is uneven and slippery when wet.
Drive to tram-ride in mini bus was alittle bumpy and drive up to rainforest was along some very narrow, winding roads.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Aerial Tram Adventure
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

no "wildlife" but great to see the rainforest

Date:January 6, 2014
inmy30s
Location:Victoria, BC Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I liked the drive to and from the rainforest as you go to see where people lived. The island isn't rich so you're not going to pass by any fancy buildings or monuments. As in another review the zipliners are below the tram so you're not going to see any wild pigs or monkeys as people are yelling occasionally. Our guide in our cage wasn't overly bubbly but told us a lot about the different kinds of plants. We saw some birds and more flowers near the bottom including a very cool purple hummingbird. Note- you'll want some bug spray with deet for this tour as St Lucia has Dengue Fever. The ship didn't sell any repellent with Deet strangely so bought some at another port. Optional 15-20 minute walk at the end that I didn't do. Tram is a great option for those that can't do a lot of walking.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Aerial Tram Adventure
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poor value for the high cost.

Date:January 1, 2014
oldguy1
Location:Oshawa,Ontario,Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The views were ok and guide was knowledgeable.However there were no birds or animals .The guide said this was due to the zip lines that were installed under the tram line. Talking to those who took the zip line tour,they also did not see any wild life. Also, 30 min. bus ride each way was not scenic.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Aerial Tram Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great View

Date:December 15, 2013
JodyW
Location:Huntsville, TX
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The tram was great and the views were awesome. Great for people with a walking disability - would recommend this for the young and the old.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Aerial Tram Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2013
Racergirl24
Location:Fresno, California
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved this excursion! Spectacular views from above, great guides and nature nature nature. The bus ride was not so great, but well worth it. My children loved "flying over the trees". I reccomend this excursion for the cruiser who wants something "different".
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Aerial Tram Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic

Date:March 19, 2013
Liftman
Location:Saint John NB Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent trip. Lovely drive to and from the ride. Excellent beautiful trip through the rain forest with an experienced knowledgeable interpreter explaining what we are seeing as we'll as a lot of other very interesting information
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Aerial Tram Adventure
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

On top of the canopy

Date:January 19, 2013
Kenosue
Location:Golden Valley Az. USA
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What can a person say about perfection? We have been to several Rain Forest, this is one of the best. We didn't see any wildlife but the vegatation was breath taking. Our guide was very knowledgable and told us how a lot of the plants could be used. The walk after was very strenuous and the path was very very steep and uneven, but very worth while if you are fit enought. Several people had to turn back less than half way through the walk. I loved it all. Free rum punch at the end.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Aerial Tram Adventure
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable, except for the "jump" seat on the bus

Date:December 14, 2012
Blueeyez58
Location:Kansas City, Missouri
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was an enjoyable excursion overall, especially if you're interested in the rain forest. We had about a 30 minute ride, each way, on a cramped bus to get to the tram site, and if you were the unfortunate person who got on the bus last, you were forced to use what they called a "jump" seat. This type of seat is a small, uncomfortable (I know from experience!) seat that folds down, so you are sitting in the actual aisle of the bus, between the left and right sides of the bus and the people in those seats. You have nothing much to hold on to while you are in this seat, and with the fast paced traffic and hair pin turns to get to the rain forest, it was cramped and difficult not to end up leaning on the passengers on either side of you. It was NOT fun. This obviously is a cost-saving measure to allow the company to transport more passengers to and from the tram site, but take my advice and make sure you're not one of the last people to board the bus on the trip there or back.
The arial tram itself was great. We had about a 40 minute wait to board the tram, but it was a gorgeous day and well worth it. We saw at least 10-15 hummingbirds, several other birds, and a lot of trees, plants and other vegetation. Our guide was excellent and conveyed all kinds of information about plants and animals we were looking at. The tram ride itself lasted approximately 1 hour and 15 minutes. When we got back, we were offered a 15-20 minute hike into the rainforest if we so desired, where we received more information about the rain forest. Then we received a complimentary beverage and allowed to shop in their gift shop. Overall--except for the jump seat!!--it was a nice trip and well worth the cost and time. Just do your best to avoid being the last individuals on the bus and being forced to sit in the "jump seat!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Aerial Tram Adventure
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Relaxing but lots of wait time

Date:November 18, 2012
fobisque
Location:Apple Valley MN
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is apparently a very popular excursion and the destination is shared with those who go on the zip line. As a result, there is a lot of waiting, as both excursions use the same aerial tram. The guides and other personnel are very nice and overall, we enjoyed ourselves. However, we didn't really see much on the tram. The ride up was quiet and uneventful; the ride back provided a brief but spectacular view of the north side of the island. Overall, we saw one hummingbird, two flowers in bloom and lots and lots of leaves.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Aerial Tram Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Breathtaking!

Date:March 16, 2012
Cruisepen
Location:Montreal, Quebec
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This excursion was one of the best we have ever taken in 9 cruises with HAL. Our guide met us right at the bus and ushered us to the embarkation area. Although the wait was long since there were other ships also in port, it was well worth it. Once in the gondola, we were joined by our guide (one in each gondola) who was knowledgeable, courteous and helpful. the views of the vegetation and the island were really breathtaking. I did not want it to end! Date wer were there Feb 17/12
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.