Holland America Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Maui Whale Watching

Maui Whale Watching

On Maui, the Hawaiian Islands’ Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary is dedicated to protecting the endangered humpback whale and its habitat. While in one of the world’s great whale-watch locations, famous for its resident and majestic humpback whales, join this excursion to view the whales’ dramatic mating competition and reproductive behaviors. Your tour leaves directly from the Lahaina pier on board a Trilogy Catamaran, offering a wide, comfortable, stable viewing platform that makes this ocean experience pleasant for the whole family. On-board naturalists also make this trip educational and entertaining and will present many interesting details about these magnificent underwater creatures. During whale watch season (between mid-Dec and mid-Apr) you have a chance of seeing the humpback whales that migrate to Hawaiian waters. They exhibit fascinating natural behaviors. Taking in the beauty of Maui from sea level is enticing in itself, but your first sighting of a spinner dolphin, flying fish or a breaching whale is cause for great excitement. When you consider that these animals migrate as far as 3,000 miles, from the Bering Sea (between Alaska and Siberia), to Hawaii, it adds to the awe you feel when you spot one lifting nearly 40% of its body mass out of the water in an action called a ‘breach.’ Hawaii is the only state in the United States where humpback whales mate, calve, and nurse their young. Few sights are more endearing than seeing a mother whale with her tiny calf swimming alongside. This two-hour Maui sunset sail is relaxing and fun for the whole family.Notes:Tour operates approximately December through April. Wear sunscreen and sunglasses. Wildlife sightings are likely but are not guaranteed. Voted by the Maui Community as the number-one water based activity, Trilogy is a well-respected family owned and operated sailing company operating in Maui for more than 40 years.
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
11 out of 12(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Maui Whale Watching
Review 1 for Maui Whale Watching
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Whale watching

Date:January 31, 2015
SteelerFans
Location:Daytona Beach, FL
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
January a great time to see many whales. Our captain and crew very informative and entertaining. We couldn't count the total number of whales sighted but two came right alongside the catamaran. More fun than we expected.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Maui Whale Watching
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great location, whales, guide

Date:January 23, 2015
Mikeu
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Whales almost came to the boat. Our boat operator/guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. Everyone had a great view. Great views of three islands in addition. January is a great time to see whales. I would do it again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Maui Whale Watching
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Whale Watching Ever

Date:January 16, 2015
bill99
Location:Texas
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We expected some attempt at getting near whales. What we got was a boat ride out in a straight line - nearest whales were over a mile away. No attempts made to get near the whales. Then a straight line back to the dock. Refreshments were a glass of water and nothing else. Do not go on this excursion or with any Trilogy Catamaran outing.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Maui Whale Watching
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Where's My Drink?

Date:June 30, 2013
2013hunahe
Location:Auburn, CA
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good tour but really needed something other than juice for refreshments. Saw a few breaches but nothing like the picture and the seas were very rough. The tender ride from ship was very llooonngg and rough due to traffic in the harbor. So we did not have a good start to the day. Crew was knowledgeable and we did see some whales. Personally we would not do this one again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Maui Whale Watching
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

BEST PART OF THE WHOLE TRIP!

Date:April 8, 2013
JanW
Location:Colorado, USA
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an amazing experience that we will cherish forever. The tour guides on the whaleboat were exceptional, enthusiastic and FUN. They shared so much interesting information about the whales. We were surrounded by the whales, they jumped and "logged" and were such a joy to watch. Worth every minute of it. My husband said he wants to go back and schedule back-to-back excursions for the same day!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Maui Whale Watching
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2013
Pops
Location:Cape Coral Florida.
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding. My wife and I and all the people on the tour and the crew said the had never saw so many wail's breaching and so close to our catamaran. The crew was outstanding. Well worth the money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Maui Whale Watching
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mother Nature - and Whale - at her best

Date:July 24, 2012
Victoria
Location:Prescott, AZ
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This excursion gets an A+ ... the catamaran, the crew and the whale sightings were just awesome. The crew is so knowledgeable they seem to know what you're about to ask - and respond with all the answers. You won't be disappointed.
Make sure you explore the town - what a lovely old port it must have been in its prime.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Maui Whale Watching
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding!

Date:April 8, 2012
catlady
Location:Toronto, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had been whale watching in Honolulu, but hadn't had much luck, so our hopes were high for Lahaina. We weren't disappointed. We followed a mother, calf and escort for quite some time. The escort even came and checked out our boat a couple of times. We also got to litsen to the song of some distant whales. I've been whale watching several times, but that was a first for me. A great trip!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Maui Whale Watching
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best trip ever

Date:April 2, 2012
Diana
Location:Austin, Texas
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our catamaran, booked through H.A., took us to a place where a mother, baby and escort found us and circled us for about 1 hour. Truly amazing and most enjoyable. Don't miss out on seeing these magnificent mammals. I believe the whales enjoyed us as much as we enjoyed them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Maui Whale Watching
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Don't miss this trip.

Date:March 7, 2012
MAP1
Location:Atlanta, GA
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wonderful excursion. If you have never been whale watching don't miss this one. Saw a lot of whales and saw three breach. Captain of the Trilogy was very knowledgeable.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Maui Whale Watching
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2012
missyed
Location:Oregon
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
This was a great trip, much too short! We saw amazing whales and the boat's captain knew exactly where we could find them. We could have spent more time observing these incredible creatures.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Maui Whale Watching
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

whales are magnificent animals

Date:March 19, 2011
rollinglane
Location:New Orleans
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the second time we took this tour. Although they will not guarantee whale sightings, we saw them both times. The last time we were here was the peak of whale season (first week in March). The whales were just about everywhere we looked. Beautiful, magnificent, majestic, incredible whales.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.