Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Skagway, Alaska, US or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Ghosts & Goodtime Girls Walking Tour

Ghosts & Goodtime Girls Walking Tour

Step back in time with one of the funny and informative madams of the Red Onion Saloon. Lavishly costumed and highly entertaining, she will greet you at your ship with a souvenir garter and guide you on a walking tour through the back alleys and former red light districts of Skagway, where women of the evening brushed shoulders with notorious characters such as Soapy Smith and Frank Reid. Stories of Klondike Kate, Cad Wilson & Diamond Lil depict the lusty, adventurous and sometimes tragic stories of the women who stampeded north. You will pass historic and haunted Gold Rush buildings as you learn of Skagway's rich history. Your experience culminates with a stop at the world famous Red Onion Saloon's restored Brothel Museum. Here, join in a champagne toast and explore the hallways and bedrooms of this celebrated brothel, observing original relics and images of the ladies who worked there. You may even catch a glimpse of the resident ghost—Lydia.Notes:Minimum age is 16 years.
Average Customer Rating:
4.529 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
16 out of 17(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ghosts & Goodtime Girls Walking Tour
Review 1 for Ghosts & Goodtime Girls Walking Tour
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Entertaining and Informative

Date:September 26, 2014
Delta2
Location:Delta,BC
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We loved this tour. The weather was just perfect for walking around Skagway and listening to the stories and history of this town back in the goldrush era. Our tour guide was very entertaining and knowledgeable. Her witty remarks made it even more fun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ghosts & Goodtime Girls Walking Tour
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Time Girls & Ghosts

Date:May 23, 2014
rosiebee
Location:Victoria, B. C.
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great tour from beginning to end, our "hostess" fun and informative, made the "good old days " ( ? ) really come to life - - and what a life those poor ladies had to endure ! Have told my friends if coming to Skagway this is one tour to take !
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ghosts & Goodtime Girls Walking Tour
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun and informative

Date:August 5, 2013
GLS1
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Madame Dee Flower was our guide. She did an excellent job, making the tour fun and interesting at the same time. Really enjoyed it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ghosts & Goodtime Girls Walking Tour
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lots of fun

Date:August 2, 2013
Oden
Location:Vancouver, B .C.
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interesting and informative about the good old days. Tour guide was excellent and lots of laughs. Enjoyed hearing about the gold rush days and what it was like for the street walkers. Red Onion was fascinating and interesting viewing items from the past. The history was the best, hearing and seeing what the girls had to contend with and how the system worked.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ghosts & Goodtime Girls Walking Tour
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lots of historic stories

Date:June 28, 2013
Albertagrandma
Location:Alberta, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We had been to Skagway before on taken other tours so thought we would try this one and it was very entertaining. Nice walk around the town and actually more history than other tours provided. Our hostess (in costume) was very informative and easily heard as she stopped at the different points and gathered people around. The final stop at the Red Onion had a hot Irish coffee or champagne and a private tour of the upper story. All in all, well worth the money and a pleasant way to spend the morning if you have done the other sights.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ghosts & Goodtime Girls Walking Tour
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Better tours avaliable.

Date:June 10, 2013
wzawza
Location:California
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Find another tour or save your money. Took several tours during our Alaskan cruise and this one was by far the worst. My wife and I and another couple left the tour after about 30 minutes. Got tired of only hearing about Brothel's & Hookers. I suppose if we had stuck it out it may have improved. However, we spoke to several people that were on the same tour and they related it never got much better. Filed a complaint at the excursion desk aboard ship and was basically told, "Too bad you did'nt like it". As I said before, find another tour!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-5points
2out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ghosts & Goodtime Girls Walking Tour
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Fun!

Date:June 1, 2013
angied
Location:Benicia, CA
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tour guide was dressed in "good time girl" costume and was quite informative about the gold rush days.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ghosts & Goodtime Girls Walking Tour
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great way to get a feel for the Gold Rush era

Date:September 24, 2012
crystald
Location:England
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A great way to blow away the cobwebs after being cooped up on the ship!
Our guide Miss Dee Flower was enthusiastic & knowledgeable. She looked fabulous despite the bitter cold.
We got a great feel for how the prospectors & the very limited number of women in Skagway lived during the Gold Rush.
There was definitely more of an emphasis on the goodtime girls than the ghosts but that was fine.
We enjoyed our complimentary glass of Mimosa back at the Red Onion.
A very pleasant way to spend a couple of hours.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ghosts & Goodtime Girls Walking Tour
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good times indeed!

Date:September 14, 2012
DocWatson
Location:Australia
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The hostess of the tour Mistress Ophelia was brilliant. She bought the gold rush town of Skagway to life. Even the wind and cold could not deter her from making the tour funny.
The sight of all the girls sashaying across main street was unforgetable. I recommend that if you are in Skagway don't miss this tour.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ghosts & Goodtime Girls Walking Tour
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Real life in Skagway in 1899

Date:July 2, 2012
Philips
Location:South Florida
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a fun excursion. Our guide, dressed as a "Lady of the Night", gave us the lowdown on the town during the gold rush. She had plenty of double entendres and come-ons to passers by, so there were lots of laughs. The ghost was a big stretch, but who cared? Ending up at the Red Onion Saloon was the best, because the building is so well preserved. Upstairs you see the rooms where the girls received their "guests" in 15-minute visits. You see layers of wallpaper because each girl could have her room redecorated with her choice of wallpaper. You see negligees and other relics from that time. You see the "money holes" where the girls dropped their earnings down to the madam below. Rollicking good times were
had and you can imagine how it was, thanks to this tour.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ghosts & Goodtime Girls Walking Tour
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finally a worth while excursion..

Date:June 7, 2012
NonSeniorCruisers
Location:Orange County, CA
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We loved, loved this tour. It was one of the few excursions that was reasonably priced in all of the ports. Well worth the time and money. Our guide made our time in Skagway both fun and memorable. In fact, we had such a good time, we forgot to take pictures of the town.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ghosts & Goodtime Girls Walking Tour
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Raunchy Rolicking Fun

Date:February 12, 2012
FalconWhump
Location:Victoria, BC
Cruise Date Year:2008
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Today's first excursion is the Ghost n Good Time Girls walking tour. At the end of the pier, the team is greeted by Madam Shirley Worthitt who adorns each of the fledgling Streetwalkers with a Red Onion Garter Belt. After reach the starting point of our walk, training is first provided on how to walk like streetwalkers. Apparently this involves repetition of Heel to Toe, Swish, Heel to Toe, Swish, etc. Upon satisfying the Madam, the team engaged on the waling tour where there saw original crib's (solo streetwalker "house", the original 1998 bordello house and the store of "Soapy Smith" amongst other sites. This was followed up by Champagne in the upper reaches of the Red Onion Brothel where artefacts abounded. On the journey we also encountered Shirley's friend, Madam Bette Humper (I'm not making this up).
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ghosts & Goodtime Girls Walking Tour
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very entertaining

Date:September 11, 2011
seancgi
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:August
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this tour was very interesting and entertaining learning about the old Skagway history, Madame" Cherry Poppins" really made the tour fun and informative, lots of history in Skagway, that's where all the action was during the gold rush, not for kids, but not raunchy at all, just enough adult humor, very nice tour !!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ghosts & Goodtime Girls Walking Tour
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great value for money

Date:July 21, 2011
TheGeelans
Location:Sydney, Australia
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Whilst this nwas the cheapest of all our shore excursion, it was also one of the best. Our guide, Madam Ella (Elleva goodtime), was terrific and this was a very funny tour to do, also was a great way to learn the seamier side of history of Skagway.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ghosts & Goodtime Girls Walking Tour
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun

Date:July 21, 2011
Cuddles
Location:Western Australia
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed this tour. It was different to the usual. Our guide was a great entertainer & I think the success of this tour is based largely on her personality. She imparted information about the Gold Rush from a different perspective - a history lesson with a difference. It was both interesting & informative. It was also nice to do something on foot instead of on a bus.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ghosts & Goodtime Girls Walking Tour
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The most fun of all on a wonderful 2-week cruise!

Date:August 18, 2010
Cissy
Location:Small Town, PA
Cruise Date Month:August
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We laughed till our ribs ached. Enough serious information to educate you about the times and lives of the really unfortunate girls and women in early Alaska, but a delightfully fun adventure to boot! Our "Madam" was a professional actress and very very entertaining. Lots of surprises and extras. Not sure how it would work in the rain, and DEFINITELY NOT for the under-16 crowd.
..
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Ghosts & Goodtime Girls Walking Tour
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5