Holland America Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for A Taste of Mexico & Puerto Vallarta Sights

A Taste of Mexico & Puerto Vallarta Sights

Have you always wanted to know the secret ingredients of your favorite Mexican dish? Here’s your chance to find out. With hundreds of places to eat in Puerto Vallarta, there is something to satisfy everyone’s taste, as the chef creates dishes from every culture imaginable. So, come spice up your cooking skills! Board a motor coach that will whisk you away to the center of Puerto Vallarta. There, you will take a guided walking tour through the highlights of this charming and exciting resort town situated on the Bay of Banderas. You will see the always-popular Malecon (the main boardwalk area), the sea horse sculpture, incredible oceanside views and the breathtaking cathedral, Our Lady of Guadalupe. While in the downtown area, you will be given the chance to shop along the way and purchase souvenirs and mementos of your time in Mexico. Then, it’s on to River Cuale Island, where you will be enchanted by the sights and sounds of this small island nestled in the heart of downtown Puerto Vallarta, with shops, statues and history—all yours to enjoy. You’ll then take a short walk to the main road where your motor coach will be waiting to take you to your cooking lesson. At the restaurant the chef will be waiting to tantalize your palate with authentic Mexican fare that you will learn to prepare yourself. Bring your appetite and have fun becoming the next Mexican chef du jour! Notes:For hygiene reasons, please wear a short-sleeved shirt and leave your hand jewelry in a safe place on the ship.
Average Customer Rating:
3.636 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
1
7 out of 11(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Taste of Mexico & Puerto Vallarta Sights
Review 1 for A Taste of Mexico & Puerto Vallarta Sights
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The cooking lessons were so much fun!

Date:May 22, 2013
Braums
Location:Quarryville, PA
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We really enjoyed this tour. The guide was excellent although we did feel there was a little too much shopping. The first shop was highly over priced and I felt he took advantage of us. But overall, a lot of fun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for A Taste of Mexico & Puerto Vallarta Sights
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Such FUN! The cooking lessons were amazing!

Date:December 1, 2012
oregonman2
Location:Forest Grove, Oregon
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We certainly enjoyed the bus tour of the town. We really liked the walking tour. We saw all the sights of the town and learned about the history. The movie Night of the Iguana was filmed here. After we returned home, we rented the DVD -- interesting movie.
The cooking and preparation of the Mexican food was the most fun! We had a delightful time. This was a really good excursion.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for A Taste of Mexico & Puerto Vallarta Sights
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Average excursion

Date:May 20, 2012
LoveTravel
Location:Fresno, CA
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We thought the cooking portion of the tour was lots of fun. I am not sure if it was authentic or not, but we enjoyed it. What was very disappointing was we did not get to go to the Malecon or River Cuale Island at all. There was too much time just standing around near the church. If it weren't for the cooking part (which I highly recommend), I would say the tour was about the most boring thing we could have done. The only shopping we did was at some jewelry stores and the pottery place.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for A Taste of Mexico & Puerto Vallarta Sights
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Dishes from every culture imaginable?

Date:April 26, 2011
BigMama
Location:San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Hardly. The salsa, guacamole, tostada and enchilada were ordinary, but perhaps I am biased, coming from California. The
meal stretched on and on and on.
The boardwalk is not wheelchair friendly.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 5 for A Taste of Mexico & Puerto Vallarta Sights
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Taste of Mexico was tasty!

Date:April 18, 2011
ctrfamof4
Location:Utah
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We enjoyed the walking tour of a small area of Puerta Vallarta. Our tour guide, Rosy, was very likable and gave lots of great information about what we were seeing. We loved walking the Malecon and seeing the sand sculptures and flying guys (pantanels?).
Our favorite part was the restaurant. We enjoy cooking as a family so the salsa, guacamole, tostada and enchilada were really fun. We each got to participate and we left feeling full and satisfied. Our 14 & 16 year old sons also loved the restaurant. Everyone was very helpful and accommodating and made sure we had plenty of everything. We were very happy with this excursion!
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for A Taste of Mexico & Puerto Vallarta Sights
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great way to experience Puerto Vallarta.

Date:April 18, 2011
Catwoman
Location:Auburn, PA
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There is just enough sightseeing, walking and shopping time in this excursion. You are off and on the bus several times, which breaks up any monotony and walking.. After you've seen the highlights, you get to the restaurant and learn the basics to make your own Mexican treats. This was worth the time and a good value. You still have time later in the evening to do another excursion.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for A Taste of Mexico & Puerto Vallarta Sights
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun Experience

Date:March 28, 2011
Traveler2
Location:Colorado
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The tour of Puerto Vallarta (old town) was ok, but the highlight was the Taste of Mexico food experience. We enjoyed making Salsa, Guacamole and our Tostada. It was relaxing and fun to share with others and the food though simple was quite good. Would recommend this tour as a unique way to sample Mexico.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for A Taste of Mexico & Puerto Vallarta Sights
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2011
Travelr70
Location:Tempe, AZ
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We had a very good time. It was fun!!
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for A Taste of Mexico & Puerto Vallarta Sights
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Satisfied customers

Date:December 16, 2010
TheTimeTravellers
Location:UK
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We'd pre-booked this excursion before reading some of the other reviews so we set off with some trepidation. However we needn't have worried, and we understood from discussion with the Shorex desk on the ship that the tour operator may have made some changes to this tour recently.
First we drove to the boardwalk area and looked at some of the sculptures although we would have liked a little more time to look at the statues and also the sand sculptures along the seafront. There were some Papantal flyers performing in this area. Our guide was very knowledgable about the town and included lots of the history of the area. Then on to look at the church followed by a short walk to the island area - this was very interesting with many different types of plant on view. On the way out of this area in the coach we paused for a photo stop where there were some iguanas in the trees. Next stop was the shopping area - the pottery/tile place is to be recommended as a zero pressure store unlike some of the gem merchants in the area! Last stop was the restaurant for the cooking lesson - this was on the edge of the downtown area. We prepared salsa, guacamole, beef tostadas and a local variant of chicken enchiladas. We thought this was a reasonable session given the relatively short time available and have come away with some ideas to try at home.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for A Taste of Mexico & Puerto Vallarta Sights
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not quite good enough

Date:October 25, 2010
TPGulch
Location:Arizona
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The bus tour guide was not elaborate in describing the sights of Puerto Vallarta. We were promised a margarita which was after we were escorted through a jewelry store that sells opals. Saw a church, then went to the restaurant where we made some salsa and ate a tostada. Taco Bell would have been better. The walk along the River Cuale was interesting but not worth the tour. Sorry.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for A Taste of Mexico & Puerto Vallarta Sights
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Need A Refund

Date:October 15, 2010
Disappointed
Location:Arizona
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The description DID NOT fit the tour. The part of the description that sold us was "At the restaurant the chef will be waiting to tantzlize your palate with authentic Mexican fare that you will learn to prepare yourself. Bring your appetite and have fun becoming the next Mexican chef du jour!" What we got was a mess. First we walked about 2 miles in heat and humidity. Got on a bus to the outback. The road was NOT paved, with hugh potholes to cut a tomato, onion, serrano pepper, and mash an avacado with salt. We made SALSA. We walk in the HEAT to make salsa. A NON COOK could slice all of those ingredients. I guess you could say... I did not have to bring my appetite and have fun becoming the next Mexican chef ju jour!. I would like a refund.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.