Holland America Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Land & Sea Excursion

Land & Sea Excursion

Experience the highlights of Fort Lauderdale, including the Arts & Sciences District, and the Riverwalk and Las Olas Boulevard, with its boutiques, cafes, and galleries. Then, you will board a double-decker yacht or paddlewheeler-style boat for a 90-minute journey down the New River, out into the Intracoastal Waterway to Port Everglades. Pass by the historic Stranahan House, luxury homes, mega-yachts and sailboats, Navy ships and submarines, and Burt Reynolds' restaurant. See why the city is known as the "Venice of America." Bring your camera and sunscreen for the upper deck!Notes:This tour is only available to guests who are returning to the ship.
Average Customer Rating:
4.222 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 out of 9(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Land & Sea Excursion
Review 1 for Land & Sea Excursion
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Boat ride is fun, tour not so much

Date:March 11, 2014
Mike66
Location:Rhode Island
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The bus tour is fairly boring, although we saw some pretty homes. The boat tour gives a view of even prettier homes and yachts, with a running commentary of who owns what. If lives of the rich and famous is your thing, then the excursion is okay. A cab ride up to the beach would have made more sense.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Land & Sea Excursion
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Land and Sea in Ft. Lauderdale

Date:January 13, 2014
Norbert
Location:Virginia
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very enjoyable way to spend part of the day in Ft. Lauderdale. Pleasant and informative coach ride, and just plain fun on the paddle wheeler touring the various waterways of the city. Easy and informative way to spend the day while waiting for the in-transit process to complete on the ship.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Land & Sea Excursion
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2012
sealion
Location:Ontario, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The excursion was led by a very knowledgeable guide who told us all about the history of Ft. Lauderdale. The cruise part was very good. We got to see a lot of the mansions on the water complete with their yachts.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Land & Sea Excursion
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great insight to Ft. lauderdale

Date:December 8, 2012
goldenspring
Location:Weeki Wachee, Florida
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would have rated this tour 5 stars if we had gone on any day other than Sunday. The shops were not open so our land part of the tour was informative due to the great guide but we did not get to walk along the shops. The boat ride was fabulous. The boat was comfortable and we cruised along to the port area and saw tons of beautiful homes and mega yachts. We saw many movie star homes and their $200 million dollar toys docked along side. The tour guide on the boat was great and everyone could see and hear her. Worth the money for this one!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Land & Sea Excursion
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ideal tour if returning to the ship

Date:April 22, 2012
SmIsler
Location:Calgary
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We needed to pass the day before returning to the ship and this tour fit the bill perfectly.
The guide was perfect, providing historical and current information about the city while on the bus AND during the short walking porition of the tour.
The paddle-wheel portion of the tour was a great way to get a feel for the "Venice of America" although the guide for this portion sounded as though she was just "going through the paces"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Land & Sea Excursion
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good tour

Date:March 3, 2012
Cruiser1
Location:Calgary
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this excursion! There were a couple of negatives however. My flight was at 2:30 and on the ship they said that this was safe for international flights after 1:30. I questioned them on it but they said it was ok. I got to the airport at 1:00. A bit tight.
The bus driver and guide were quite rude. We stopped at one spot that was quite pretty. She was talking a lot about the history and then they went on a walk. I chose to stay in that spot with a couple of other people and about 200 yards from the bus. All of a sudden the bus takes off and we were left there. Luckily we saw where the bus went but the guide and bus driver did not apologize and said we should have gone on the walk.
The tour was really enjoyable and I would do it again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Land & Sea Excursion
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 15, 2011
Nanagg
Location:Onatario, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
For the walking section it would have been good to have our guide talk to us more about the various historic homes we passed.
The paddle boat ride was great.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Land & Sea Excursion
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not our cup of tea

Date:January 14, 2011
GrayGrammy
Location:Arizona
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The best we can say about this tour is: it was a beautiful winter day and, since we had to disembark anyway, it was nice to be outdoors.
That said, we do not recommend this tour. The land part of the tour, done by bus, is one long Chamber of Commerce sales pitch to get you to make Ft. Lauderdale a vacation destination. The water part, by boat, is one long gush over "the houses of the Rich and Famous" (people most of us had never heard of or cared about) along the waterways. For those who are into gawking at front yards and parked boats, who want to know just how much each house sold for, and who don't mind a guide full of envy and never-ending local gossip, this tour might fill the bill. Otherwise, skip it!
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Land & Sea Excursion
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1