Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Ultimate Snorkeling

Ultimate Snorkeling

Board a motor launch at the pier to embark on the snorkeling experience of a lifetime. Once you are on deck, your knowledgeable guide will provide you with snorkel gear and you’ll hear a safety briefing. Then, you are off to your first destination—pristine Horseshoe Reef—to snorkel among the amazing colorful fish that live in the reefs surrounding Grand Turk. During your exploration, the crew will lead you through the reef system helping you to identify various tropical fish and coral species, answering any questions you may have. Fish identification cards will also be provided to help you learn the various species of fish as you go. After experiencing the shallow reefs, you will re-board the boat to make the short trip to your second stop on another reef near Round Cay. Here, you will see for yourself why Grand Turk is considered one of the world’s top diving destinations. Enjoy the warm azure waters and all that they have to offer before finally returning to the ship.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
27 out of 30(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ultimate Snorkeling
Review 1 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great experience

Date:April 15, 2014
Keahey1
Location:Lakeland, TN
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have snorkeled in many places and this was one of the most enjoyable. Captain John was definitely in charge and totally professional and knowledgeable. The captain spotted a sea turtle as we headed to the first reef and pointed it out to us. We had two vessels with about 64 people on board both but did not feel crowded at either reef. The mates were in the water and would move from one area to another feeding the fish and letting us know what they were doing. The fish were abundant at both reefs. Petting the shark at the 2nd stop was a definite highlight. One of the mates helped my wife dive down to accomplish this. Got a picture.
I definitely recommend this excursion. If we should be in Grand Turk again, we will do this one more time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ultimate Snorkeling

Date:April 6, 2014
djhp
Location:Pennsylvania
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The captain and crew did a very nice job of balancing fun and safety. Everyone was pleasant and we saw a huge variety of fish. There are two different stops, one in fairly deep water near a drop off and one in more shallow water. We are experienced swimmers, but the crew also worked with some folks who were virtual non-swimmers. We would recommend this trip.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What fun!!!

Date:March 13, 2014
cdolfin
Location:South Carolina
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great excursion. The good reviews I read prior to booking were very accurate.
Captain Dan was our boat captain and he and his crew were very cool. Jason dove into the first area where we were snorkeling and enticed a small nurse shark to eat out of his hand and come up closer to the surface while we stroked the animal's back. It was a very amazing experience. There were lots of other beautiful fish to see. The next place we went to was "The Wall" which was where the reef dropped off into an abyss that we couldn't see the bottom of -- what a sight! Vivid blue as far as the sun could penetrate and then darkness. Lots of fish hanging out on the edge - I expected to see Nemo swimming by! Even though the initial plunge into the water was chilly on March 3, the water was pleasant feeling after a minute or two. We were given a small life vest that aided in keeping afloat and great instructions for using the snorkel equipment. Just about the time I started to get chilled it was time to come out of the water. A great experience. There were several children on our trip & they appeared to be having a blast.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Too little, too quick

Date:March 1, 2014
Deborah
Location:California
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was our second time to Grand Turk and each time (winter) we 've encountered pretty strong winds. True again, making the snorkeling more difficult. It was also a really quick excursion with the two stops. Next time we're there, we'll try something else.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great easy snorkeling

Date:February 23, 2014
SuperDave
Location:MN
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was our first snorkel excursion in the Bahamas and we really enjoyed it. We had a large group ~50 which made me nervous as I thought it would be too crowded but the ocean is a pretty big place.
Our crew was excellent and we felt safe and well attended to the entire time. Round Cay was a nice calm snorkel with a number of fish, some on our tour saw a squid, some saw a barracuda even. While we didn't see either of those we did see plenty of fish.
Horseshoe Reef is a magnificent drop off from 30 feet to 700 and had a lot more fish. If you are a strong swimmer diving down below the drop off you could actually hear whales calling out as it echoed off the wall (incredible!)
They give you a vest that you must wear but only need to inflate if you needed it. If you are a decent swimmer I'd advise you do not inflate it so you can dive deeper.
There was water and punch available which was nice. All in all a great trip for people of all ages.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Yeah, Mon!

Date:January 26, 2014
Jack2014
Location:New York
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my 6th cruise, and I guess about my 12th shore excursion. And it was the BEST. Partly because I'm finally (at age 70) getting the hang of snorkeling. But I think that the main thing that made this work was the boat and Captain Dan - who wanted us to answer, "Yeah, mon!"
Dan was really cool, and he had a great crew. Add to which I lucked out with a fun group of fellow cruisers.
Fish???? Wow...did we see fish. It helped that the crew was throwing food into the water....but so what? I think I actually touched a few of the fish....we were that close.
The excursion was well-run from start to finish. We were told that we had to wear life jackets.....and I agree with that policy 100%. Otherwise, the captain and crew were out to make sure that we all had a good time. I loved the bit with feeding the shark (by then I was back on board and just watching).
Did I have a good time? Yeah, mon!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Face to Face With Fishes

Date:January 12, 2014
BobL
Location:Ottawa, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This excursion is well worth the price. We were met outside the reception area by Captain Dan and his crew, who led us on a short walk to the boat that carried us to the diving sites. Previous snorkling experience is not required. Snorkling gear and floatation vests are included, and safety instruction is given on its use. At the first snorkling site, crew members spread fish food under water to attract many varieties of colorful fish, including several varieties of parrotfish, close around the boat. (Swimmers who don’t snorkle will also enjoy this excursion, as water entry is directly from the boat with no long-distance swimming required.) The second snorkling site is closer to shore, where crew members coax “Harry” the four-foot nurse shark out of his cave for divers to touch and feel the roughness of his skin. There was a brief period of rain, but we didn’t notice because we were mainly underwater. We accidentally dropped our underwater camera overboard, but Captain Dan circled the boat around the vicinity until the camera was recovered by one of the crew. On the boat ride back to the dock, Captain Dan gave us a short tour of some of the features of the island, including shipwrecks, the Governor’s house and Governor’s beach. We finished our day at Margaritaville adjacent to the dock’s reception area, where we had a choice of ocean or pool bathing plus bar service. There is no charge for entry or lounge chairs. Palm trees give ample shade from sunburn (sunscreen recommended). The reception area also features many interesting shops for buying souvenirs, clothing and artwork.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2014
Jennifer
Location:Alabama
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great trip. Went to two awesome designations. The crew was great.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great fun

Date:January 8, 2014
MollyM
Location:North Carolina
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The crew, Capt Stumpy, Romeo, and Jose, were awesome. The put everyone at ease while explaining equipment and such. Romeo also played tour guide in the water, pointing out interesting coral, tons of different fish, nurse sharks, and even a sea turtle! The drop off was an amazing sight as well. We had an great holiday cruise overall, but this excursion was hands-down my 16 year old nephew's favorite thing about the whole week!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lovely locations for snorkeling

Date:January 7, 2014
Appeltaart
Location:Holland
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We really enjoyed this excursion. We saw at least 10 different kinds of fish and even a nurse shark. The sea was a little rough and that made snorkeling a bit more difficult than usual. But the staff was very professional and helped everybody that needed it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good experience

Date:January 1, 2014
Derek
Location:PEI, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I took my daughter and her friend on the first snorkeling excursion and they loved it. Friendly shark at 2nd location added significantly to their experience. Guides were great at engaging the guests.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Daniel, Best Captain in Grand Turk

Date:December 30, 2013
ArubaFirst
Location:Lititz PA
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fabulous sites, amazing fish, fantastic sailing!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ultimate snorkel was the best experience

Date:December 13, 2013
snorky
Location:Texas
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We did this snorkeling Nov 23 '13 and it was the best experience I have had with snorkeling. The staff is absolutely wonderful to help you and encourage you. I have snorkeled a little on other excursions where they refused to give you any help at all, but I can absolutely recommend this one for beginners. They are very patient and helpful. Good for you guys!! I will be back!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best ever experience!

Date:March 24, 2013
GreshamGirl
Location:Gresham, Oregon
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Holy Cow!! This was the best snorkeling experience we have EVER had - and we have snorkeled all over Mexico, Hawaii and the Caribbean! First we must shout out kudos to Capt. Dan, Stumpy, and Mitchie who were our crew. Very professional and helpful. Stumpy and Mitchie were in the water with us the whole time. And also Shawn from Green Flash Photography (who recorded our adventure) helped us find cool stuff to see.
We went to two locations. First we went to the famous "drop off" which was amazing! The water was crystal clear and that color of blue you only imagine could be real. The fish were abundant and of many different varieties. Most were quite friendly as they get fed when you first arrive! I saw several fish I'd never seen before - but was able to identify them quickly on the fish cards the guys had back on the boat. We were able to snorkel for a long time before we re-boarded and made our way to the next place.
Horseshoe reef is a bit more shallow and the corals were abundant and healthy. Purple and blue fans, tube corals, brain corals and amazing colorful stuff I'd never even seen before. Here again, we all snorkeled till we were tired and then re-boarded. No shortage of time.
There is a nurse shark that hangs out in Horseshoe reef and comes like a pet dog when the crew lures him with some food. Several adventuresome folks who could hold their breath for a free dive, were able to pet the shark. He later came to the surface and played around with Mitchie next to the boat. Shawn was there to capture it on film. Which I thought was pretty cool.
This is not a party boat - no booze, but water and fruit juice are available - this is for people who just want some great snorkeling. The boat was comfortable and held about 50 of us. Plenty of room to put on gear and stow your stuff. There is a small head if you gotta go, or want to change. The safety and equipment briefing made it easy for those who had never snorkeled before. This boat was perfect for those of us not in great shape with a ladder that is wide and strong and easy to maneuver. The helpful and patient crew got everyone fit with fins and masks.
You will want to stuff a few bucks in your bag for a tip. Believe me this crew deserves it. Ya' Mon!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Worth it and as advertised!

Date:February 10, 2013
ccdel
Location:Syracuse, NY
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Feb 5, 2013: We went to 2 snorkel spots. After about a 15 minute boat ride, we arrived at the first spot. The water was about 10-15 feet deep with the "wall". There was a big drop off that you couldn't see the bottom of the ocean anymore. There were plenty of fish to look at and they were literally in my face and all around me (I could reach out and touch them, if they weren't so fast). We spent about 45 minutes in the water at this first site. Then we got back into the boat and continued to the next spot. We spent about another 45 minutes in the water again. There were 3 nurse sharks that the guides brought to the surface for our viewing and touching. That was pretty cool! Again plenty of fish and coral to see in this now shallower 8-10 ft deep water. For me and my wife who simply enjoy the experience of snorkeling and swimming in the Caribbean in winter then this was a great excursion!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pretty good snorkeling

Date:February 3, 2012
Quizkid57
Location:Seattle, WA
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was pretty good snorkeling, though it didn’t have the variety of fish you find in places like Hawaii. Still, there were several species of colorful fish (goatfish, parrotfish), and some beautiful coral on the shallow reef. The crew were helpful and the equipment was in good shape. You don’t have to worry about being a skilled swimmer or snorkeler—you’re so buoyant in this water that you couldn’t sink if you tried. Also, they require you to wear an inflatable vest. This is reasonable for safety, but it does make it hard to dive down and get closer to the bottom. The crew lured out a couple of nurse sharks and my husband managed to dive down far enough to pet one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
14out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It was okay...

Date:January 23, 2012
Sandy57
Location:North Carolina
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We did this tour about 2 weeks ago, we went to two snorkeling sites. One of the sites was at the "wall" which is why we wanted to go. We wanted to see this famous wall. The snorkeling at this location was rather deep and the water visibility was okay but not great. There were not that many fish either. The second site was down the beach a ways, it was not at Round Cay like the description reads. We had to follow a guide through the water like sheep, the reefs were average at best and the fish were the usual you would see. One cool thing though was the nurse shark under a rock, the diver fed him and got him to come out from under the rock so we could take pictures. He also took some cameras down to take pics of the shark under the rock. It was a nice boat ride but would only recommend if you were not expecting much. The snorkeling was much better on other islands..
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
13out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Snorkeling in Turks & Caicos

Date:January 15, 2012
YoungCruisers
Location:New Orleans area
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We are experienced snorkelers and were looking forward to snorkeling in the 3rd largest barrier reef in the world. However, we were disappointed in this excursion. We went to two reefs - Horseshoe Reef & Library Drop-off Reef (which was supposed to be "another reef near Round Cay" according to the tour description), spending about 30 minutes at each. During the "safety briefing" there were no snorkeling signals given, which is important for beginning snorkelers. There was no warning about no stepping on or touching corals & no pictures of corals or fish shared with us. They did explain how to use their snorkeling equipment though. To their credit, they did locate a couple of nurse sharks hidden under some coral, pointed them out to us & drew them out with food. My husband & our friend were able to touch one of the sharks, which was a neat experience. We would have liked a little more time snorkeling - one hour total of snorkeling out of a 2 1/2 hour tour is not very much. Visability was excellent. We did not see any stingrays or turtles and the fish & coral were average compared with most snorkelling trips we have taken.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Ultimate Disappointment

Date:January 8, 2012
Caribbean3
Location:Ohio
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We were told to arrive at the meeting point at 11 am for an 11:15 departure. We arrived a few minutes early and were told to wait in a group. Our guides did arrive at 11:15, but they spent the next 15 minutes chatting with each other and with the girl at the booth while we continued to wait in the hot sun. Finally, at 11:30 our guides decided to gather our group and spent another 5 minutes giving us a pep talk. We were given a safety talk on the boat and issued moldy life vests. We did visit two snorkle sites, the first of which was in view of the cruise ship and the other slightly down the coast. The total time in the water was under an hour. The entire trip took just short of two hours, not the promised 2 1/2 hours. There was nothing ultimate about this trip. For a few dollars more, we could have had a private excursion. We'll know better next time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+22points
24out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ULTIMATE SNORKELING AT GRAND TURK

Date:November 13, 2011
CBMACM3
Location:ALBERTA, CANADA
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS WAS WELL DONE, WE WENT TO TWO LOCATIONS AND HAD AMPLE TIME TO SNORKEL, THE CAPTAIN AND CREW WERE KNOWLEDGEABLE AND FRIENDLY. TRULY ENJOYED THIS, WOULD DO THIS AGAIN!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>