Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Ultimate Snorkeling

Ultimate Snorkeling

Board a motor launch at the pier to embark on the snorkeling experience of a lifetime. Once you are on deck, your knowledgeable guide will provide you with snorkel gear and you’ll hear a safety briefing. Then, you are off to your first destination—pristine Horseshoe Reef—to snorkel among the amazing colorful fish that live in the reefs surrounding Grand Turk. During your exploration, the crew will lead you through the reef system helping you to identify various tropical fish and coral species, answering any questions you may have. Fish identification cards will also be provided to help you learn the various species of fish as you go. After experiencing the shallow reefs, you will re-board the boat to make the short trip to your second stop on another reef near Round Cay. Here, you will see for yourself why Grand Turk is considered one of the world’s top diving destinations. Enjoy the warm azure waters and all that they have to offer before finally returning to the ship. Notes:Minimum age is 8 years. Wear your swimsuit; bring a towel, sunscreen and a hat. Guests with heart problems are not allowed to participate. Waiver must be signed and medical conditions disclosed. You must climb a ladder to re-board the boat after snorkeling or beach time.
Average Customer Rating:
4.368 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
1
34 out of 38(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ultimate Snorkeling
Review 1 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great adventure!

Date:February 1, 2015
DrDale
Location:Troy, MI
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We signed up for this excursion "Ultimate Snorkeling" thru our cruise on the Holland America MS Westerdam. Captain Dan and his crew took us to two destinations for snorkeling. Background - both my wife and I are in our early 60s. I know how to swim, but it's been years since I've done much swimming. My wife doesn't really know how to swim. At first she was a bit panicky in the water, getting comfortable with the snorkeling equipment. After a few minutes she was fine. I had no issues, except when I'd inadvertently turn my head to the side and get a mouthful of sea water.
We visited 2 snorkel sites. First was at the edge of the "abyss" water was maybe 15-20 feet deep, then just dropped off, I guess to 2,000 feet. A lot of different fish and coral at this site, plus swimming over and along the abyss was pretty cool.
At the second site, there was less variety of fish, but some coral, unfortunately seemed like a lot of the coral was dead. Prior to diving at this site Captain Dan told us we might see sharks or a barracuda. Sure enough, after a few minutes in the water, I see two distinctive shapes - sharks about 6 feet long. Wow! Sharks in the water! Then, I see one of the guides dive down to the sharks. He has a bottle of some kind of food for the shark. Next thing I know, he brings the shark up near the surface - for us to pet. I'm petting a shark in the ocean - cool! The skin feels like real rough sandpaper. Then a bit later the guide hands the shark to me. I'm holding a shark in my hands! OK - I guess it was just a more-or-less harmless nurse shark - but nevertheless, I'm touching and holding a live 6' shark in the open ocean. Definitely a once in a lifetime experience.
And the adventure's not over. We get back on the boat from our second snorkel stop. Some of the folks on board start to "ohh and ahh." A whale is breaching - then dives and shows the flukes over the water. What an experience!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful snorkling experience

Date:January 18, 2015
Vonja
Location:Canada
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Captain Dan and his crew took great care of our group and led us through 2 beautiful snorkling sites. Even Captain Dan couldn't control the weather though - it was a bit choppy - "just keeping it real" but we still had a fantastic morning. I would highly recommend this excursion to anyone wanting to try snorkling to the advanced snorkler!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2015
Izzy
Location:Stuttgart, Germany
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grand Turk is a beautiful island. It rained when we got there, but it cleared up quickly.
Captain Dan is Jamaican and has that refreshing Jamaican attitude.
We stopped at two sites, which were beautiful. One of them has a nurse shark that you are allowed to pet, but I didn't want to crowd him/her. There were already so many people around. Which I guess is the only downside about this tour - there are several other tours doing the same thing at the same time. We even had a hard time getting all our snorkelers back on board with all others that were still in the water.
But we saw lots of marine life despite all the people.
The second site was where the reef drops into the ocean. Beautiful to look at. We enjoyed it.
They serve water and fruit punch on the boat - note: this is luckily no booze cruise (we had that experience with a similar trip).
The snorkeling gear (mask, snorkel, fins, life vest) is provided to you and the crew does a great job in helping you.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting snorkeling experience...

Date:January 18, 2015
Beave
Location:Stuttgart, Germany
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This tour was rather fun and definitely worthwhile if you enjoy being in the water and seeing fish and the reef. We disembarked the ship and walked to the meeting point, which was very easy to find. After the group was all together we walked to the boat which was a 2-3 minute walk from the meeting point. The boat (Captain Dan from Jamaica) took us to the first snorkeling spot which was about 10 feet of water. There was a lot of fish activity and the guide did find a shark which most folks did get to touch if they wanted. We spent a good 30+ minutes snorkeling here which was plenty of time. The boat crew offered fruit punch and water which was nice after being in the water. The trip to the second spot about 5-7 minutes. This spot was deeper water and you could swim a bit further out over where the reef drops several hundred feet. It was really interesting to see that view from under the surface. After 30 minutes of snorkeling we re-boarded the boat back to the pier. It was a nice tour and I would recommend this tour if you like snorkeling. I am sure it varies day to day as to how many fish you see, but it was fun when we were there,
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Snorkeling Falls Short of Ultimate

Date:December 31, 2014
SunshineSnorkeler
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The overall experience for snorkeling was average. I read all the reviews before selecting this excursion, but was not as impressed as other guests. Once you disembark at the port, it is crowded but easy to find your excursion group. The walk to the dock for the motor launch (a pontoon-like vessel) is only about 100 ft. The excursion was full, and you are required to wear an inflatable, yellow life vest even if you are a strong swimmer. The vest was awkward with one strap that ran between your legs; the vest got in the way of taking good underwater video. At each site another tour group on a catamaran were also snorkeling, making the already crowded area even tighter. The first snorkel site was 30 feet deep, so you can't see much unless you dive deep. One of the guides chummed the water to attract a few varieties of fish to the surface. We re-boarded after 30 minutes and it was only a short ride to the second site. Between the two sites, the guests asked for a fish guide, but there was only one to be shared among the approximately 40 guests. The second site was only about 10 feet deep and much more clear and colorful. It was crowded with our group and the other group. The guides chummed the water, attracting fish and a 4' nurse shark which we were all able to pet. There were many colorful fish, sea fans and other sea life to view during the 30 minutes at this site. Most of the guests had positive comments. However, as someone who has been snorkeling in many different Caribbean islands, the quality and value were somewhat disappointing.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not "ultimate," but good snorkeling

Date:May 17, 2014
JohnInNebraska
Location:Nebraska
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Snorkeling on this excursion was good, but was not "ultimate" or the "snorkeling experience of a lifetime." Unlike the description, no fish identification cards were offered and the staff did not lead us or help us identify fish. So, if that was your hope, look elsewhere. However, if you're an independent snorkeler, there is some really wonderful snorkeling at varying depths to see--anywhere from a few inches deep to 20-40 feet deep. Thus, you can be as close to the coral as you desire. Overall on this excursion, there were dozens to hundreds of pretty fish, but not thousands. A nice touch: one of the crew found and held a stingray for us to come and pet, if so desired.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Good snorkeling trip

Date:May 1, 2014
Harry
Location:Kansas City
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have snorkeled many times & this is one of the better snorkeling excusions we have been on. We saw several colorfull fish & coral at both sites. The crew did an excellent job of taking care of everybody & helping us out in the water if needed. As advertised, no refreshments are provided, but this is an excellent tour to take in Grand Turk.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT TRIP!!

Date:April 24, 2014
GOTTOGODONTYAKNOW
Location:CALIFORNIA
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WE WERE ON CASTAWAYGIRL SAIL BOAT CREW WAS GREAT SNORKELING ABOVE A SHIP WRECK WAS COOL IT RAINED WHILE SNORKELING THAT WAS ALSO VERY FUN, NOT ALOT OF FISH BUT VERY NICE COVE. THE RUM PUNCH WAS GREAT HAS A PUNCH TO IT! HATS OF TO THE CAPTAIN. NICE SAILING BACK QUIET SMOOTH SAILING. THANKS FOR A GREAT TRIP
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great experience

Date:April 15, 2014
Keahey1
Location:Lakeland, TN
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have snorkeled in many places and this was one of the most enjoyable. Captain John was definitely in charge and totally professional and knowledgeable. The captain spotted a sea turtle as we headed to the first reef and pointed it out to us. We had two vessels with about 64 people on board both but did not feel crowded at either reef. The mates were in the water and would move from one area to another feeding the fish and letting us know what they were doing. The fish were abundant at both reefs. Petting the shark at the 2nd stop was a definite highlight. One of the mates helped my wife dive down to accomplish this. Got a picture.
I definitely recommend this excursion. If we should be in Grand Turk again, we will do this one more time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ultimate Snorkeling

Date:April 6, 2014
djhp
Location:Pennsylvania
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The captain and crew did a very nice job of balancing fun and safety. Everyone was pleasant and we saw a huge variety of fish. There are two different stops, one in fairly deep water near a drop off and one in more shallow water. We are experienced swimmers, but the crew also worked with some folks who were virtual non-swimmers. We would recommend this trip.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What fun!!!

Date:March 13, 2014
cdolfin
Location:South Carolina
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great excursion. The good reviews I read prior to booking were very accurate.
Captain Dan was our boat captain and he and his crew were very cool. Jason dove into the first area where we were snorkeling and enticed a small nurse shark to eat out of his hand and come up closer to the surface while we stroked the animal's back. It was a very amazing experience. There were lots of other beautiful fish to see. The next place we went to was "The Wall" which was where the reef dropped off into an abyss that we couldn't see the bottom of -- what a sight! Vivid blue as far as the sun could penetrate and then darkness. Lots of fish hanging out on the edge - I expected to see Nemo swimming by! Even though the initial plunge into the water was chilly on March 3, the water was pleasant feeling after a minute or two. We were given a small life vest that aided in keeping afloat and great instructions for using the snorkel equipment. Just about the time I started to get chilled it was time to come out of the water. A great experience. There were several children on our trip & they appeared to be having a blast.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Too little, too quick

Date:March 1, 2014
Deborah
Location:California
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was our second time to Grand Turk and each time (winter) we 've encountered pretty strong winds. True again, making the snorkeling more difficult. It was also a really quick excursion with the two stops. Next time we're there, we'll try something else.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great easy snorkeling

Date:February 23, 2014
SuperDave
Location:MN
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was our first snorkel excursion in the Bahamas and we really enjoyed it. We had a large group ~50 which made me nervous as I thought it would be too crowded but the ocean is a pretty big place.
Our crew was excellent and we felt safe and well attended to the entire time. Round Cay was a nice calm snorkel with a number of fish, some on our tour saw a squid, some saw a barracuda even. While we didn't see either of those we did see plenty of fish.
Horseshoe Reef is a magnificent drop off from 30 feet to 700 and had a lot more fish. If you are a strong swimmer diving down below the drop off you could actually hear whales calling out as it echoed off the wall (incredible!)
They give you a vest that you must wear but only need to inflate if you needed it. If you are a decent swimmer I'd advise you do not inflate it so you can dive deeper.
There was water and punch available which was nice. All in all a great trip for people of all ages.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Yeah, Mon!

Date:January 26, 2014
Jack2014
Location:New York
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my 6th cruise, and I guess about my 12th shore excursion. And it was the BEST. Partly because I'm finally (at age 70) getting the hang of snorkeling. But I think that the main thing that made this work was the boat and Captain Dan - who wanted us to answer, "Yeah, mon!"
Dan was really cool, and he had a great crew. Add to which I lucked out with a fun group of fellow cruisers.
Fish???? Wow...did we see fish. It helped that the crew was throwing food into the water....but so what? I think I actually touched a few of the fish....we were that close.
The excursion was well-run from start to finish. We were told that we had to wear life jackets.....and I agree with that policy 100%. Otherwise, the captain and crew were out to make sure that we all had a good time. I loved the bit with feeding the shark (by then I was back on board and just watching).
Did I have a good time? Yeah, mon!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Face to Face With Fishes

Date:January 12, 2014
BobL
Location:Ottawa, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This excursion is well worth the price. We were met outside the reception area by Captain Dan and his crew, who led us on a short walk to the boat that carried us to the diving sites. Previous snorkling experience is not required. Snorkling gear and floatation vests are included, and safety instruction is given on its use. At the first snorkling site, crew members spread fish food under water to attract many varieties of colorful fish, including several varieties of parrotfish, close around the boat. (Swimmers who don’t snorkle will also enjoy this excursion, as water entry is directly from the boat with no long-distance swimming required.) The second snorkling site is closer to shore, where crew members coax “Harry” the four-foot nurse shark out of his cave for divers to touch and feel the roughness of his skin. There was a brief period of rain, but we didn’t notice because we were mainly underwater. We accidentally dropped our underwater camera overboard, but Captain Dan circled the boat around the vicinity until the camera was recovered by one of the crew. On the boat ride back to the dock, Captain Dan gave us a short tour of some of the features of the island, including shipwrecks, the Governor’s house and Governor’s beach. We finished our day at Margaritaville adjacent to the dock’s reception area, where we had a choice of ocean or pool bathing plus bar service. There is no charge for entry or lounge chairs. Palm trees give ample shade from sunburn (sunscreen recommended). The reception area also features many interesting shops for buying souvenirs, clothing and artwork.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2014
Jennifer
Location:Alabama
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great trip. Went to two awesome designations. The crew was great.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great fun

Date:January 8, 2014
MollyM
Location:North Carolina
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The crew, Capt Stumpy, Romeo, and Jose, were awesome. The put everyone at ease while explaining equipment and such. Romeo also played tour guide in the water, pointing out interesting coral, tons of different fish, nurse sharks, and even a sea turtle! The drop off was an amazing sight as well. We had an great holiday cruise overall, but this excursion was hands-down my 16 year old nephew's favorite thing about the whole week!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lovely locations for snorkeling

Date:January 7, 2014
Appeltaart
Location:Holland
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We really enjoyed this excursion. We saw at least 10 different kinds of fish and even a nurse shark. The sea was a little rough and that made snorkeling a bit more difficult than usual. But the staff was very professional and helped everybody that needed it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good experience

Date:January 1, 2014
Derek
Location:PEI, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I took my daughter and her friend on the first snorkeling excursion and they loved it. Friendly shark at 2nd location added significantly to their experience. Guides were great at engaging the guests.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ultimate Snorkeling
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Daniel, Best Captain in Grand Turk

Date:December 30, 2013
ArubaFirst
Location:Lititz PA
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fabulous sites, amazing fish, fantastic sailing!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>