Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Kusadasi (Ephesus), Turkey or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Ancient Ephesus & the Virgin Mary's House

Ancient Ephesus & the Virgin Mary's House

Begin your tour with a visit to the house where Jesus’ mother is said to have lived the last years of her life. The site, called the Virgin Mary’s House, has been officially declared a Catholic shrine and was visited by Pope Paul VI in 1967, Pope John Paul II in 1979, and Pope Benedict XVI in 2006. Next, continue to Ephesus for a visit to the Great Theatre, which dates back to the Hellenistic period. In the 1st century AD, the theatre was reconstructed and expanded by the Romans to a seating capacity of 25,000. This is also the place where St Paul preached to the Ephesians. It is still used for performances today, and the acoustics are excellent. The Marble Road, which runs between the theatre and the Celsus Library, is part of a sacred walkway that you will take to reach the Celsus Library and Hadrian’s Temple. The temple was dedicated in AD 118 to Hadrian, Artemis and the people of Ephesus. This impressive Corinthian-style temple has beautiful reliefs on the porch, and the Ephesians believed that the Medusa head on the porch would protect the city from its enemies. Return to Kusadasi to enjoy the traditional Turkish experience of sipping apple tea while watching a myriad of colors unfold before your eyes during a carpet demonstration. Those interested in purchasing a carpet can do so with confidence. Those not wishing to stay can walk directly back to the ship, or remain in town for browsing in the shops.Notes:Although this tour is designed not to involve uphill walking, there is extensive walking required at Ephesus. Wear comfortable non-skid shoes. The use of an audio headset (included) will enhance your tour experience.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ancient Ephesus & the Virgin Mary's House
Review 1 for Ancient Ephesus & the Virgin Mary's House
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A look at life Centuries ago!

Date:May 1, 2014
ckbirdy
Location:Newnan, GA
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Virgin Mary's house was set in the most beautiful serene place I've ever seen. After visiting the chapel and lighting a candle for your prayers, the bus takes you to the ruins of ancient Ephesus. This site is extensive, lots to see, and our tour guide was phenomenal. We learned much about the area and it's history. There is a lot of walking and the ground is uneven and uphill in many places so not a place for everyone. I'm so happy we chose this excursion!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ancient Ephesus & the Virgin Mary's House
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fascinating visit - excellent guide

Date:November 23, 2013
Hoya
Location:Maryland
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We generally prefer the "do it yourself" site visits as we like to go along at our own pace using information researched in advance. That was clearly not the best approach to visiting Mary's House or Ephesus so we signed up for the tour with fairly low expectations. We are so glad we did. Our guide, Mehmet, used the bus transport time well to orient us to the history and geography of the area. He certainly understood what we would want to know and understand. Mary's House had a very spiritual aura despite the crowds and buses. The crowds were quiet, respectful, and did not intrude. Ephesus was so much more than an archaeological site; it was a treasure offering a glimpse of life in a wealthy, privileged city 2000 years ago We had headsets to listen to Mehmet's explanations of the highlights which added greatly to the visit. It was a privilege to walk through this site without barriers and to be able to look so closely at everything. We took water and wide brimmed hats and were glad we did; even in late October it is warm with strong sunshine. Be sure to take extra camera batteries! You will need them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ancient Ephesus & the Virgin Mary's House
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Being part of history

Date:November 12, 2013
TonS
Location:Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Visiting Ancient Ephesus & the Virgin Mary's was very nice. It was a combination of a historical and a Christian trip.
The Virgin Mary's house was nice and gave nice inside of the Christian history. We arrived quite early. This meant that it was not that crowdie. By the time we left it was ten times more crowdie. So it was worth the early start.
Ancient Ephesus was very impressive. A very nice Roman city with lots of details still viewable. Walking over the ancient Roman road was very nice. Because the site is very well-known, is is quit busy. Good firm shoes are necessary because of the walking surface.
The Guide was very good and explained the way Ephesus was designed and build. Highlight where the remains of the Roman Library and the Theatre.
In Kusadasi we enjoyed a carpet demonstration, combined with a typical Turkish drink. They tried of course to sell us a carpet, but that was not done intrusive.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ancient Ephesus & the Virgin Mary's House
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ephuses Mary's House

Date:September 7, 2012
domer
Location:Chicago
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:August
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Wonderful tour. The tour of the ruins is long and hot but our guide, Haken was wonderful and helped keep us in the shade. The ruins were more wonderful than the Forum in Ropme. Mary's house was one of the more inspiring religious sites that I have been to. Rug demonstration was much more casual and easier to take than one we did in Morrocco.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
12out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ancient Ephesus & the Virgin Mary's House
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unexpected Gem

Date:July 11, 2012
HappyTraveler
Location:Laguna Beach, CA
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We loved this tour. We also knew very little about what we were going to see and that made it a great surprise when we arrived!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ancient Ephesus & the Virgin Mary's House
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

football grand final crowd

Date:June 25, 2012
walktheplank
Location:Australia
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Four large cruise ships in, on the same day same time within half an hour was a recipe for huge crowds everywhere we went except the carpet shop where most seemed to hike it back to the ship for a relieving cool comfort. Tour bus was very comfortable, guide Arif was a charming delightful man who gave us every opportunity to learn of the wonders of ancient times. The radio commentary devices where very good & helped to keep the group together, apart from the 4 ladies who decided to take an early mark & taxi's back to the ship, thereby causing delay in return after the long walk, where we waited to find out their whereabouts.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ancient Ephesus & the Virgin Mary's House
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a lovely day

Date:November 27, 2011
Jacky
Location:The Netherlands
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ephesus is simply breathtaking. I had no idea what to expect but especially the facade of the library took my breath away. The house of the virgin Mary was a bit disappointing, to many tour busses there at the same time so no time to take in the house because you were pushed through by the guards. It totally lacked the serene atmosphere I loved so much at the biblical places of the Holy Land. However Ephesus makes up for any disappointment there. What an excavation. Thanks to a great guide we managed to see so many things and still stayed together as a group. Be aware though of the rug demonstration at the end. It is hard to escape. If you really don't want to buy tell the guide up front and she will have to let you go.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ancient Ephesus & the Virgin Mary's House
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Amazing ancient sites

Date:June 5, 2011
NExplorer
Location:New Haven, Connecticut
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We've seen a lot of the Old World, but the quality and size of the ruins at Epheseus were awe-inspiring. House of Mary was clearly a sacred site to believers, of which there were many, and the place was mobbed. Our guide, who was a moslem, was very knowledgeable and sensitive. He knew a great deal of Turkish history and was proud to impart it. The PA system on the bus was weak, so try to sit toward the front if you want to hear it, or ask your questions face to face.
The rug display was interesting, but watch out for the sales pitches. The Turks will sell you an overpriced rug quicker than you can say, "No thanks."
The bus trip was comfortable, and we had enough time at both Mary's House and Epheseus to see what there was to see. Comfortable shoes, long pants and a light jacket are recommended. This was the most memorable of the shore excursions on our cruise.
Cruise Date Year:2009
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ancient Ephesus & the Virgin Mary's House
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

hard to believe

Date:September 20, 2010
Gerda
Location:Canada
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow there is a great deal to cover in Ephesus. I need to return. It's hard to believe all that you see on this tour. I'm a little skeptical about Mary's house. The ancient ruins don't disappoint. They are worth the crowds. The port is a stones throw from the Grand Bazar which is nice. Great shopping but you need to deal with aggressive merchants who want your business. Important to ensure you are buying authentic especially the 'real fake watches'. Best shopping for jewellery, handbags and leather shoes. I did not enjoy the carpet 'demonstration' at the end of the tour. This was a waste of my time since I was not buying carpets! Next time I'll just leave. Ended the day with an authentic turkish coffee -not nescafe overlooking the harbor.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.