Holland America Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Montmorency Falls & Island of Orleans

Montmorency Falls & Island of Orleans

Along the St Lawrence River, within minutes of the old walled city of Québec, you will discover the beautiful pastoral landscapes of the Island of Orléans and Montmorency Falls. Cross the bridge to the Isle of Orléans, where you will enjoy a scenic drive through the picturesque villages of traditional rural Québec—a veritable open-air museum boasting more than 600 heritage buildings. Visit an authentic sugar shack where you will learn about the production of maple syrup. You’ll also stop at Mauvide-Genest Manor, a rare and exceptional example of the island's French seigneurial past, and one of the oldest remaining manor houses in Québec, built in 1734. Pause to view the magnificent Montmorency Falls, 1½ times the height of Niagara Falls. Coffee, tea and pastries will be served at the elegant Montmorency Manor while you enjoy the breathtaking views and see the powerful forces of nature at work as the water of the Montmorency River roars down a 270-foot cliff to eventually meet the St Lawrence River.
Average Customer Rating:
3.1 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
7 out of 10(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Montmorency Falls & Island of Orleans
Review 1 for Montmorency Falls & Island of Orleans
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

NOT NIAGRA FALLS

Date:August 6, 2014
SCIFIFAN
Location:DES MOINES
Cruise Date Year:2010
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
THE MONTMORENCY FALLS ARE NOT VERY SENIC AND THE BUS RIDE IS PRETTY FAST AND YOU DON'T GET TO STOP MUCH. IT IS FUN TO SEE HOW MAPLE SYRUP IS MADE BUT DON'T PURCHASE ANY TO CARRY HOME BECAUSE THEY TAKE IT AWAY AT THE AIRPORT!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Montmorency Falls & Island of Orleans
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyed it immensely

Date:September 25, 2013
Nanros78
Location:Ontario, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our tour guide Renee was very knowledgeable, pleasant and humourous. The scenery on the island was beautiful and the manor very interesting with the period costumed guides. The sugar shack was very informative and the tasting absolutely delicious. We had ample time to walk to the top of the falls and enjoy the spectacular view.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Montmorency Falls & Island of Orleans
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Really?

Date:August 7, 2013
wspenncom
Location:A writer from Michigan
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Our guide was the worst we've had on any of two cruises. The fourth time he said, "I'll tell you more about that later," I said to my wife that he didn't have anything to say and that he would not tell us more later. I was right. Moreover, he was thoroughly disorganized, rambling into (but not finishing) some story about his daughter dating the rich kid on the island at age 7--which is too young to date, anyway. Montmorency Falls are amusingly sorry: they are only higher than Niagara IF you count every thirty foot drop of the water and they look out at one of the least attractive views I've ever encountered on a nature walk.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Montmorency Falls & Island of Orleans
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Three Wonderful Places to Visit in 1 Excursion

Date:July 6, 2013
Sandi
Location:Southern California
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This excursion was 3 rolled into one. We wanted to see the Montmorency Falls but other than biking there, the falls were bundled in with other stops. We weren't interested in seeing another church so we opted for this excursion which, according to the brochure, went to Isle of Orleans to the Mauvide-Genest Manor and a Sugar Shack where we learning about making maple syrup. We thought the Manor House might be interesting but didn't think Sugar Shack would be of interest to us. We were right about the Manor House but wrong about the Sugar Shack. Both were fascinating and we were very glad that we chose this excursion. Our tour guide was very informative and gave us a lot of history as we toured the sights along the way. The falls are magnificent but we could have used more time there. We had to walk very quickly to get up to the suspension bridge and walk across and take some photos and then return for a too quick perusal of Manoir Montmorency. We would have welcome additional time to climb the steps down to the bottom of the falls and explore the other side of the suspension bridge. (NOTE: people who are unable to walk quickly might find they do not have enough time to even get to the start of the suspension bridge.) We also felt the cost for this tour was excessive. However, despite these constructive comments it was an excellent tour. One other regret was not buying more hard maple candies at the Sugar Shack. They were delicious!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Montmorency Falls & Island of Orleans
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good guide makes this excursion

Date:January 17, 2013
Spokanites
Location:Spokane, WA
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We had an excellent guide who was a native of Quebec and loved his area. He was friendly, very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. We found the manor house quite interesting as well as the sugar shack. Montmorency falls is beautiful. All in all, a good experience and a good value.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Montmorency Falls & Island of Orleans
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

not well time-organized

Date:October 22, 2012
Bernie
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This could have been a good tour but was poorly managed for time. We went to the Island first and it was beautiful color and a very interesting stop at Historic home but spent too much time leaving not enough time for the Falls. The visit at the Sugar Shack was interesting but too many buses (people) at one time so spent too much time there - buses should have been sent in different directions to arrive at separate times. The main reason for going on the tour was to see the Falls and we did not have near enough time there - I ran down to the Falls to take a quick look but my husband any many others that could not run could not see the Falls. No time to stop at the Gift Shop or look around. They served a nice snack but no time to enjoy it.... if it can not be organized better maybe these should be two separate tours. As it was we were late getting back to the ship.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Montmorency Falls & Island of Orleans
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well worth it! Spectacular falls & beautiful views

Date:October 19, 2012
Judith
Location:New Zealand
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We thoroughly enjoyed this trip. Visiting the falls first we chose to walk to the top, then returned to have the provided coffee & cake (the others had already had there's). The bus then took us to the Island of Orleans where we had a well informed guided tour & a fresh apple. We then drove through the stunning fall colored country to the sugar shack for an interesting talk of how the maple syrup is harvested with tastings. Then returned to our ship. This was a morning well spent. The guide was knowledgeable and friendly without being full-on. The tour was well organized with enough time to see, shop at gift shops and enjoy the beauty of outer Quebec.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Montmorency Falls & Island of Orleans
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

So-so tour

Date:September 29, 2012
jjsr
Location:Kansas City
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very over priced for the tour offered. The stop at the Sugar Shack was very short but somewhat interesting. The tour to Charlottestown was cancelled due to rough seas so we took this tour instead. The most interesting part was totally separate from the tour - we just walked through the historic district of Quebec on our own. I was rather have down that then spend the money I did for this tour.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Montmorency Falls & Island of Orleans
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

No Tea Party

Date:July 31, 2011
kruzeohphile
Location:Indianapolis, Indiana
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall the tour was great; however, as with cruising shore excursions, time is limited. We did no have enough time at the Sugar Shack or the falls. What was irritating was the requirement that we had to attend a tea party. There was no time left to walk out the the head of the falls and be back on this bus for trip back to the cruise ship.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Montmorency Falls & Island of Orleans
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Isle of Orleans was truly a beautiful place.

Date:May 24, 2011
Granjan
Location:Kentucky
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I enjoyed our trip to Orleans. There was beautiful scenery throughout the tour. Our guide was very insightful in informing us of the French customs in the area. We were particularly impressed with the spectacular Montmarency Falls and the views from there. It was interesting going to a restored manor house and also the sugar shack.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.