Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop San Diego, California, US or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for San Diego Highlights

San Diego Highlights

Explore San Diego, heading out along the Embarcadaro towards downtown and the old Gas Lamp Quarter. You'll cross the bridge to Coronado Island, famous for the reputedly-haunted Hotel del Coronado, where you will pause to snap some photos before turning around. Back on the mainland, you'll drive through lovely Balboa Park, en route to La Jolla. The latter is a charming seaside town situated high atop the cliffs. After a brief stop here, you will visit Old Town San Diego for some free time to shop.
Average Customer Rating:
3.556 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
7 out of 9(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for San Diego Highlights
Review 1 for San Diego Highlights
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An impressive city

Date:May 17, 2014
Lizabet
Location:Kent WA
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Having never been to San Diego, we were glad to go on this highlights tour. It began with a stop at the Bob Hope and military salute, then proceeded through the Gas Lamp area and S.D. proper. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the history of this city - maybe a few too many dates.
For me, the highlight was beautiful Balboa Park where we spent quite a bit of time as we walked through the main areas. The time in Coronado was entirely from the bus, but at LaJolla, we went to some beautiful viewpoints where we could walk around a bit.
This tour made us want to return to San Diego!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for San Diego Highlights
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a beautiful city

Date:May 16, 2014
travelnan
Location:Australia
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this tour was a great way to see a beautiful city we had a great guide who shared her love of the city with us, plenty of time at each stop and extra time balboa park with it's beautiful Spanish architecture and gardens a bit of walking but at a nice easy pace and comfort stops a plenty a really excellent tour, the trip out to see the nesting water birds was a highlight and the huge colony of sea lions great entertainment.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for San Diego Highlights
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

San Diego tour

Date:March 28, 2013
Goldie
Location:Seattle
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Due to a variety of circumstances, a three hour tour lasted almost 5 hours. People going to the airport were almost late for their flights. Because we had some errands to run, we left the tour at the Airport and took a taxi to town.
I would not recommend this tour
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for San Diego Highlights
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This trip is not worth the cost.

Date:December 19, 2012
Tootie
Location:Lansing Michigan
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The trip was disappointing. We had to wait for 2 people to get off the ship so we were late leaving. People were booked with us that had 1:00 flights so we left late and ended early. Our tour guide was intimidated when anyone asking and intelligent question. It was way to expensive for what we received. We never get did get to La Jolla.
We do not recommend.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for San Diego Highlights
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great introduction to San Diego

Date:June 9, 2012
swdrau
Location:Drouin Victoria Austalia
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our tour ( City Highlights) assembled about 11:30a- took 15 mins to get to the bus and another 30 for a guide to arrive. The guide explained her situation, it seemed to us there had been a communication breakdown. Many passengers were annoyed with the delay, the guide defused a hostile situation. Tour went to Coronado Island, visited the Hotel there, recommend you find the chocolate shop in the basement area, you won't come out empty handed. Then to Balboa Park where there are several museums, didn't enter any, but walked and admired the buildings for 30 mins. Then to La Jolla, a beachside suburb, visited the childrens beach now taken over by seals. Then to the "old town", a recreation of San Diego in the 1850s, wandered for about 30 mins, could have enjoyed a little more time there. We did not know anything about San Diego before this tour, we enjoyed the 4 hours of the tour (it was not shortened due to the delay in starting) and it gave a great sample of the highlights of the city. We did 28 shore excursions on this holiday and this was the only excursion that made us think the city was worth a return visit . Our guide knowledgeable and quietly spoken, he commentary did not intrude, a change after the constant talk of the latin American guides.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for San Diego Highlights
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

BEAUTIFUL

Date:May 29, 2012
JMAC
Location:Vancouver
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very nice overview of major points of interest. Stop at Balboa Park was not necessary which would have allowed us more time to wander around Coronado Hotel and Old Town. Most of time of tour spent waiting for bus to leave and travelling on the bus. Trip should have been for longer time so we could spend more time at La Jolla, Coronado Hotel and Old Town.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for San Diego Highlights
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Hidden Gems of San Diego

Date:February 12, 2012
FalconWhump
Location:Victoria, BC
Cruise Date Year:2008
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We start the tour by driving through parts of new town, including past the bar where the bar scenes from "Top Gun" were filmed. As I understand it, Miramar is nearby. We travel across a massive bridge to the island or Coronado, largely military, where we stop at the Coronado Ferry station to look back across the bay at San Diego. Next we try and see the Hotel Coronado. This is where Marilyn Monroe and Jack Lemmon filmed "Some Like it Hot". Mrs. Wallace Simpson and Edward IV reportedly met here, which led to his eventual abdication. We are unable to park so no pictures are taken. Next we go to Balboa Park. I had been there to the Zoo in the past but was unaware of the majority of the park area. Housing 13 museums, we only make a 45 minute stop to walk the Prada. This includes seeing a status of El Cid, a fountain, and many "colonial" buildings. The Dead Sea Scrolls are on exhibit in one of the museums we pass. Next it is off to Old Town where we see the La Casa De Estudillo, an 1827 adobe dwelling from the then commander of Old Town. nearby is the Well Fargo bank and stage coast rest. On the return trip to the ship, we learn that the Avocado industry is big in San Diego and also see the SpaWar plant, which used to be the General Dynamics plant. Defintiely saw some beautiful new places this trip. Tour guide seemed a bit scattered.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-2points
4out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for San Diego Highlights
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great tour

Date:October 26, 2011
wanderer
Location:victoria bc canada
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
would highly recomment this city tour. Our guide was extremely knowledgable and funny. She showed us everything listed and then more. Such a great day out. We really enjoyed it. Only disappointment was no time for shopping at all.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for San Diego Highlights
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very Interesting and Informative

Date:October 22, 2010
Jones
Location:Vancouver, B.C.
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The female guide was very knowledgeable. La Jolla was beautiful as always but the bus should have pulled over more often so we could have absorbed everything as the guide was explaining points of interest. Personally I wouldn't have had the bus stop and let the people out for half an hour at the first stop over the bridge on the way to Coronado. The bus should have driven slowly past and that would have allowed us an extra half hour at the Coronado Hotel for photos, browsing, checking out the flowers, beach, shop,s etc. More time should have been allowed in Old Town to browse, take in the ambiance, etc. Good value for the cost.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.