Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Half Moon Cay, Bahamas or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Stingray Adventure

Stingray Adventure

Enjoy an educational encounter with the southern stingrays that make their home at Half Moon Cay. A short tram ride brings you to Stingray Cove where you'll learn about the stingrays' behaviors, habitat, feeding and breeding. After a safety briefing, grab your snorkel gear and enter the wading area with your guide to touch the rays' silky wings and feed these amazing creatures. A safety net ensures that other marine life remains outside the area. Return to the Fort San Salvador Welcome Center by tram.
Average Customer Rating:
4.589 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
54 out of 56(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stingray Adventure
Review 1 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful!

Date:April 8, 2014
LizCruise
Location:Memphis, TN
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Feeding the stingrays was an absolutely wonderful experience! I was a little hesitant at first because I'm not fond of the water so I was happy to see that there was a deck for me to stand on to watch everyone else if I didn't go in the water. Happily, I did go in because the water was shallow enough for me to stand up in (I'm very short) and it wasn't icy cold even though it was early April. You don't need to snorkel because the water is so clear you can just look down and see everything perfectly. We got to pet the rays as well as feed them. One of them took a liking to me and she kept rubbing against me just like a cat. The young man guiding us explained so much and answered all our questions. He truly loves his water babies!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

DO IT

Date:March 3, 2014
mocruiser
Location:missouri
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always wanted to do this and finaily talked Husband into it. We had look at doing it on several island but the price at Halfmoon was the best. There was also not a waist of time going to the site. The day we did it was rainy but we were getting wet anyway. Our instructor was very knowledgeable and helpful. We had a blast. The rays were awsome and loved to feed them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great excursion!

Date:March 1, 2014
ualaw2006
Location:USA
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This excursion was great fun! These stingrays are in a fenced off area and are used to being handled. Many people on our excursion did not seem to understand YOU GET IN THE WATER WITH THE STINGRAYS. It was not scary in the least and quite educational. Highly recommended.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun for all

Date:February 22, 2014
TheOldGuy
Location:South Carolina
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wasn't sure what to expect, but this was fun, educational and a great time. It was good for even those that were a bit afraid of being in the water. Everyone made them feel safe and comfortable. The rays were amazing. They would wind between your feet, rub up against you legs, almost like a kitten trying to get attention. They were gentle and fun to swim with. The star fish and sea cucumber were awesome! Definitely need to follow instructions on feeding the rays, or those hungry little fish will steal away your calamari! Great fun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

loved it!

Date:February 21, 2014
mjjden
Location:Ontario
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just a delightful excursion. The Stingrays are so gentle and literally vacuum the squid out of your hand. We also got to hold a starfish, sea cucumber and conch shell. We have booked a cruise for next year and want to do this excursion again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Just do it

Date:February 11, 2014
Ginnie17
Location:New Hampshire
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thought it would be scary or dangerous but it was neither. It was safe, fun, and educational.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Terrific Tour

Date:February 5, 2014
Ukoner
Location:Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The rays were like velvet and feeding them was incredible. Terrific value and not too long so that there was lots of time to do other exploration of the island. Tour was on Jan 29, 2014
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved the Rays

Date:January 24, 2014
alabamateddy
Location:Indiana
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had a great time. The guide did a great job. I felt very safe, especially once we were told that the stingrays had their barbs removed. The guide really seemed to love her job and the rays too. We had a very timid girl (12-year-old) in our group that got scared, so the guide took animals over to her on the stairs. It was a good value - cheaper than some of the other stingray excursions in other ports. Although the water was cold (January after all!), we had just enough in the water. We were also able to use the snorkel equipment to see other creatures. Overall, a great time. BTW, cruise was actually last week (Jan 2014), but the autofill wouldn't recognize 2014 . . .
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best hours during our cruise

Date:January 22, 2014
HeyBigGuy
Location:Highland Park, IL
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Without a doubt - whenever you do something you've never done before coupled with interacting with rays which you've seen on TV and in movies - it becomes an indelible memory. This excursion is just that - fun - fresh - participatory and unique. The cruise / food / people / entertainment and vacation was fun - but this excursion made it memorable.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I want to go again

Date:January 20, 2014
funfrog
Location:Idaho
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had a great time. Went to the first tour of the morning. The Rays were very playful. Guilds were humorous and educative.
Wished it would last longer. Did not want to leave.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Whole family loved it!

Date:January 8, 2014
FreezingInIllinois
Location:Illinois
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was one of our favorite activities from the whole week.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good but too many peaple at one time.

Date:December 28, 2013
Barf
Location:Saskatchewan
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would be better with less people in the water at one time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Experience!

Date:September 9, 2013
cheshirekitten
Location:Kelowna BC Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well organized, instructional and fun experience for anyone. There were only 5 people in our group so we got lots of time in the water with the stingrays, feeding them, touching them and meeting other creatures that share the ocean with them. Only a mask was needed to look underwater as the water is quite shallow and there is no swimming involved. I am so glad I chose this!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Stingrays

Date:May 13, 2013
Jaxgoldie
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was great fun. The rays are in a confined area, water is only waist high, so it is easy to interact and feeding them was interesting--they vacuum the food right out of your hand. I wish the trainer had told us she was going to show us and let us feel a sea urchin, starfish and several other sea creatures--I had used up all my film on the rays!
Easy getting into the water, and there is a place to change with locked lockers for your stuff.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wondereful Adventure

Date:April 30, 2013
Retired13
Location:Seattle
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I absolutely loved it. She is new to snorkeling. Easy, relaxed pace for a novice. Fed and patted the stingrays, saw a lot of small fish. I strongly urge any of you with beginning skills to take this excursion (and go even if you are very experienced) but be forewarned --- this was so much fun that you will go out and buy a complete snorkeling outfit.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disorganized but fun

Date:April 26, 2013
Laroo
Location:Colorado
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall fun experience but not special.
Tickets said to meet in the plaza on the island. Not much information in the plaza on what to do - went to info desk and they had a sign in sheet, said to wait for ride to leave. Finally figured out that tram loading off to the side was our tour, but no announcement or obvious signs.
Got to ray area and got canned speech on how things worked. They didn't have a good count on how many people, ran out of equipment, kept everybody waiting 20-30 minutes while they went back and forth counting and checking with people and finding more equipment.
Water was cold (late March). There were 8 rays swimming around in small fenced area of bay. Walked around and watched them and they occasionally brushed by and could be touched. 17 year old son got too cold and got out of the water after a few minutes.
After about 15-20 minutes we got in a circle and each got a piece of squid. They came around to us one at a time and held our hand while a ray came around and took it from us.
They said the rays had been getting fed all day and weren't that interested. Another group arrived as we were getting ready to leave.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I Got to Feed a Stingray!

Date:April 20, 2013
patpot
Location:Edmonton, AB, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was so much fun. There is a large covered deck above the stingray's pool so if you have someone who would like to come along but not go in the water this is perfect for them. We were in chest deep water with 9 or 10 stingrays. At first we just swam around looking at them, I brought an underwater camera so I got some good close up pictures. Then we all stood in a circle and fed the stingrays a small squid one at a time. The rest of the rays were swimming in and out of the circle going in between us or through our legs (what an unusual feeling!). We each also held a sea star, sea cucumber and prickly, spiny creature that I forget the name of.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Stingray Adventure

Date:April 18, 2013
CapeCruisers
Location:Cape Coral, FL
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was great value for the money. The guide provided a lot of information about the stingrays and the sea life in general. You were able to swim with these amazing creatures and pet them. Their skin felt like velvet! You were also given squid and shown how to feed them. Just be aware that the water may not be very warm. We cruised in February and the water temp was only 74 degrees and you are in the water at least 45 minutes. The guide wore a wet suit and a dry suit - but then she is doing this for many hours during the day. If you are cruising later in the year, the water will probably be a bit warmer. The facility is very clean and has lockers for valuables, toilet facility and a changing room. Easy to catch transportation back to the dining facilities. I would recommend this for anyone, but might not be appropriate for very small children as the water is pretty deep although you are provided with a floatation vest and snorkel and fins.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Up Close and Personal

Date:April 18, 2013
CannonFalls
Location:MN
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Generally, this was a very good excursion. There were essentially 7 of us and a trainer who was very knowledgeable and patient. There were 7 stingrays too I think withing the enclosure and you were able to touch and feed them. The trainer also talked about other marine life and had live examples. The down side was that there was a child whose parent did not go in the water so the trainer took the child and spent considerable time with her, leaving the rest of us on our own. My husband and I got bored and got out of the water. I think the trainer got the idea and got the group back together and went through more information, which we listened to from shore. Parents should be required to accompany their children...In this case, the parents were there (one a ship's officer), but did not get in the water.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply amazing

Date:April 15, 2013
Serena
Location:Victoria, BC. Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Being our first cruise, and being in half moon cay swimming with the stingrays was awesome. The handler, truly love these sea animals, she was fun, very informative about the stingrays and really wanted each individual to have a great experience. One down side a large family group that didn't purchase the excursion on the ship had to wait, because there was too many people and she wanted to assure the safety of the stingrays. Bu
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>