Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Half Moon Cay, Bahamas or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Stingray Adventure

Stingray Adventure

Enjoy an educational encounter with the southern stingrays that make their home at Half Moon Cay. A short tram ride brings you to Stingray Cove where you'll learn about the stingrays' behaviors, habitat, feeding and breeding. After a safety briefing, grab your snorkel gear and enter the wading area with your guide to touch the rays' silky wings and feed these amazing creatures. A safety net ensures that other marine life remains outside the area. Return to the Fort San Salvador Welcome Center by tram.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (72 reviews)
5 stars
53
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
1
67 out of 72(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stingray Adventure
Review 1 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Fun

Date:March 31, 2015
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This excursion is held on Half Moon Cay in a shallow backwater in the interior of the island. We booked this excursion to avoid the huge crowds in other ports of call and we were rewarded with a small group of just 10! They currently have 7 females that are kept in a very large enclosure. Along with the stingrays, we handled a sea slug and a starfish. We were also allowed to feed the stingrays some nice big juicy pieces of squid. We had an absolute blast, only drawback......not enough time. We highly recommend this excursion.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Stingray Adventure

Date:March 28, 2015
Location:Vancouver Island BC
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Went on this excursion Jan 2014 Love it. Plan to go again on our repeat cruise this Dec
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Just go to the beach

Date:March 28, 2015
Location:Baltimore
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Even though the stingrays were interesting I think I would have rather just gone to the beautiful beach to spend more time there. Since time is limited for the shore excursion more time on the beach would have been time better spent. We did not spend much time swimming with the stingrays.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not worth it

Date:March 27, 2015
Location:Denver, CO
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This excursion had great reviews, so I had very high expectations. However, we went into a fenced area where there were 6 stingrays and some other animals (starfish, sea cucumber, conch), but these animals were intentionally placed in the area. It felt like an exhibit at Sea World. I would recommend Stingray City in Grand Cayman over this, as it is a much more natural environment.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Be Adventurous, go to the beach later

Date:March 24, 2015
Location:Las Vegas
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amazing to walk and snorkel with these fascinating creatures. Life vest, mask and snorkel provided. Life vest required for all even if not snorkeling. the guide will provide informative facts about the Stingrays. You will get a chance to feed them and additionally hold a Star Fish and Sea Cucumber. The Stingrays will swim about your feet and legs, almost like an underwater cat. About 30 to 40 min in the water. Changing facility and restroom provided. Out side showers are there. Personal belongings are placed in a group locker that is locked.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Family Fun

Date:March 23, 2015
Location:Edmonton, AB
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was our first stop on the trip and it did not disappoint. We were traveling with a 3yr old and this excursion was was just the thing to get her engaged. We traveled with our own life jacket and sand shoes but they did have sizes there that fit her. Because of her age we opted out of the snorkel and mask for her however my wife thoroughly enjoyed the snorkeling. The group was the right size (~12) to make it an intimate adventure with the sea rays. We opted to not have our daughter feed the sting rays as her hands were a little too small however they did pass around other sea creatures that she was able to handle (star fish, sea cucumber, and conch). The guide was very helpful to everyone and was tentative to each individuals needs. If you plan to travel with a child I would highly recommend this adventure.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Very little time in the water with the Stingrays

Date:March 1, 2015
Location:Grande Prairie, Alberta Canada
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The excursion was a disappointment to me. While the explanation of the excursion says to bring your snorkel gear, there was very little time spent in the water. We were not invited to snorkel in the enclosure. We gathered around, touched the stingrays then fed 2 squid each to it. That was interesting. The guide was not very knowledgeable ... when asked questions he fumbled through some answers and then said that he was new there. I would not recommend this tour. Go on the Stingray City Sandbar excursion in Grand Caymans - absolutely wonderful!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You have to do this!

Date:February 11, 2015
Location:Canada
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was our favourite experience of the whole cruise! The price is right.
There were only five in our group and we were told there is often less, so it's a great opportunity to experience the rays with no crowds.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Stingray Adventure

Date:February 4, 2015
Location:Michigan
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A really fun time playing with and feeding the stingrays.And the two women who ran it were so helpful and fun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I'd do it again in a heartbeat!

Date:January 24, 2015
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was so entertaining and so much fun! I can't see without my glasses so didn't snorkel, but one doesn't really need to snorkel to get the full benefit. The stingrays gently brush you until you stand in a circle. Then they know feeding is about to commence and they get a little pushy. But the guide helps you and it's all fascinating. We also saw Sergeant Major fish, and fed them too, yellow-finned somethings (sorry, I forgot the name), minnows, and tiny transparent jellyfish - not a stinging kind. The staff were very focused on our safety, but also on teaching us about the fish and birds we saw. There's a fresh water shower to rinse off afterward. I HIGHLY recommend this one!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved every second! Must do!

Date:January 18, 2015
Location:Canada
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was one of my favourite things we did on the cruise. I would actually do this one again if given the chance. So fantastic!
You get to snorkel with the stingrays, who all have their barbs but are so docile they are almost like silky swimming puppies. You get to reach out and touch them as they swim by. Which is pretty cool. The best part is when you stand in a circle and feed them. They swim between your legs and for a lucky few they will jump up and sort of hug you. You get some food to hold and they will suck it out of your hand which is a bizarre feeling. It is such a fun and great time for all ages.
My only regret is that I did not have a water camera and the cruise photographer wasn't there taking pictures.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing

Date:January 7, 2015
Location:Williamsburg
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Needing to wear my glasses, I was not able to snorkel, but I thoroughly enjoyed the time in the water with the rays. Swimming was not necessary as we could stand on the sandy bottom in the calm, waist deep water while the rays swam among us. Life vests were provided and required. The guide was excellent as she helped us feed the rays and showed other sea creatures. This was an amazing experience!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful adventure!!

Date:January 4, 2015
Location:Summerfield, FL
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great excursion! Wasn't too sure it was a good idea when I first went in the water but once the guide joined us I quickly changed my mind. Our guide, Stephanie, was very informative and had a great way of putting you at ease with her gentleness and humor! The stingrays were very friendly and inquisitive and came right up to us. Will definitely do this excursion on my March cruise
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Value

Date:December 23, 2014
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you want to get in the water and experience wildlife this is the best excursion for the value. I did this excursion with my kids aged 14, 11, 8, and 6. My 6 year old had a meltdown because she was terrified of the stingrays. I still got to touch and feed the animals with her hanging on my like a scared baby monkey. My other children enjoyed it very much. It is also a good area to check out snorkeling if you've never done it before and see if it is something that you would want to book at another island. The water was chilly in December (I believe about 66 degrees on this shaded side of the island) but after my body adjusted it was fine. It was much warmer on the beach side. Overall it was a great excursion and you can't beat it for the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An amazing experience

Date:December 22, 2014
Location:Portland, OR
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a student of zoology I was very interested in any animal excursions. This was our first excursion and it was wonderful. We had never snorkeled before so having the chance to try it out in the enclosed area was a bonus, and gave you something to do while others were touching the rays.
The trainer was really great. While he didn't really give a speech or background on the stingrays, he was very knowledgeable and patiently answered any questions people had. Best value for the money of any excursion we did.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Priced right

Date:December 3, 2014
Location:Myrtle Beach, SC
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the least expensive excursions and worth every penny
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful!

Date:April 8, 2014
Location:Memphis, TN
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Feeding the stingrays was an absolutely wonderful experience! I was a little hesitant at first because I'm not fond of the water so I was happy to see that there was a deck for me to stand on to watch everyone else if I didn't go in the water. Happily, I did go in because the water was shallow enough for me to stand up in (I'm very short) and it wasn't icy cold even though it was early April. You don't need to snorkel because the water is so clear you can just look down and see everything perfectly. We got to pet the rays as well as feed them. One of them took a liking to me and she kept rubbing against me just like a cat. The young man guiding us explained so much and answered all our questions. He truly loves his water babies!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

DO IT

Date:March 3, 2014
Location:missouri
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always wanted to do this and finaily talked Husband into it. We had look at doing it on several island but the price at Halfmoon was the best. There was also not a waist of time going to the site. The day we did it was rainy but we were getting wet anyway. Our instructor was very knowledgeable and helpful. We had a blast. The rays were awsome and loved to feed them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great excursion!

Date:March 1, 2014
Location:USA
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This excursion was great fun! These stingrays are in a fenced off area and are used to being handled. Many people on our excursion did not seem to understand YOU GET IN THE WATER WITH THE STINGRAYS. It was not scary in the least and quite educational. Highly recommended.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Stingray Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun for all

Date:February 22, 2014
Location:South Carolina
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wasn't sure what to expect, but this was fun, educational and a great time. It was good for even those that were a bit afraid of being in the water. Everyone made them feel safe and comfortable. The rays were amazing. They would wind between your feet, rub up against you legs, almost like a kitten trying to get attention. They were gentle and fun to swim with. The star fish and sea cucumber were awesome! Definitely need to follow instructions on feeding the rays, or those hungry little fish will steal away your calamari! Great fun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>