Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Half Moon Cay, Bahamas or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea

Horseback Riding by Land & Sea

Saddle up for the horseback riding experience of a lifetime! After a short tram ride to the corral you'll receive an orientation before setting out on a ride along winding trails up to the highest point on the island for a panoramic view of Half Moon Cay and the surrounding islands before you continue along the bay, back to the corral. Enjoy a refreshment as your horse is "dressed" for swimming in a special saddle pad and a rope halter (no saddle), then you'll venture into the ocean for the sensation of riding a horse while it's swimming. Ride the tram back to the Welcome Center.
Average Customer Rating:
4.494 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (87 reviews)
5 stars
60
4 stars
20
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
79 out of 87(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Review 1 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thrilling!

Date:December 14, 2010
Location:Benton, MS
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Friendly, helpful guides and horses that knew their jobs and performed well. I was very impressed that the guides looked out so much for the riders' safety and had no problem letting me know when I wasn't following directions. Galloping in the ocean is thrilling even for the experienced land rider. The land ride begins in a large paddock area so one can get a feel for the horse and then you hit the trails. Another set of horses is used for the ocean gallop. If you are even thinking of doing this, just go ahead and do it.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+21points
41out of 61found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Horsebackriding in Half Moon Bay

Date:June 8, 2015
Location:California
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was a rainy day, but luckily it stopped raining for the start of our ride. the guides were helpful and relaxed. Then we got ready to go into the water. It started to rain and they wanted us to hurry. The photographer didn't get any good pictures of me, who knows how to ride and the people that didn't know anything were all over the place in the water and got good pictures. They had the horses bunched up together to much and that was my disappointment. I wanted a good picture! I wish I had done it the other times I had been at Half Moon Cay. It is a good excursion.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very disappointed!!!

Date:April 30, 2015
Location:Washington
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Having ridden for many years I was really looking forward to this excursion. Within minutes of mounting while walking around the padock area the guide was yelling do this and do that. Really Ican see it if I had been a novice, but 45 yrs. of riding is certainly not a beginner. We then went on a short trail ride thru sand which was too deep to be safe on the horses legs, the whole time the guide was yelling at me. Wow. Then came the water part of the ride, where we entered in groups of 10-12......TOO MANY IN THE WATER AT ONCE!!!! VERY UNSAFE!!!!! Once again the guides yelled at me to hang on to the flimsy saddle pad, I was holding onto the mane which was much safer. Also the guides whipping some of the other horses to get them to run thru the water. I did a similiar excursion years ago on another island and it was a lot of fun, I was very disappointed with this one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun With The Horses

Date:April 21, 2015
Location:Edmonton, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First two things to remember about this excursion. It is only ninety minutes long. And it has to cater to the passengers on a cruise ship--many of whom have never ridden horses before. So, if you are looking for a long and rigorous trail ride, book a weekend at a guest ranch.
But if you are looking for something a bit different from other shore excursions, this one is very good and well worth the money. Riding a horse as it gallops through the ocean is an experience like no other, even for an experienced equestrian like me. The land portion is an enjoyable ride too. The horses are well trained, so if you are new to horseback riding, you will do fine.
Bring your camera. One of the guides will take some good pictures of you on your horse for you. At least that happened when I was on this excursion. Don't worry if your camera is not waterproof. Taking pictures from the back of a horse while it is swimming is kind of impractical. So you will leave your camera in a locker ashore for this portion of the excursion.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Horses can swim?? Who knew?

Date:April 9, 2015
Location:Michigna
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
We have been to Half Moon Cay several times and love the beach day, but this time we rode the horses. Not only did we see parts of the island we have never seen before, but we went to the highest point of Half Moon Cay for a beautiful view of the ocean and our ship. We saw the gardens and animals that the locals who live on the island take care of, and the BEST, I mean BEST part, was taking the horses out into the water, and having them swim with us on their backs. They split us into small groups for this swim, and I would suggest that and someone in your party splits up, like, my husband and did, so they can take photos of you in the water. Second suggestion, it’s a lovely walk back to the beach, instead of taking the truck back. Try it….
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Done already?

Date:March 30, 2015
Location:Ontario
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was just too short. The land riding was a very tame trail ride, interesting but not real "riding". We changed horses to ride in the surf, and that was REALLY fun. But both segments were short for a couple of ladies that have done dude ranches. It made a nice diversion for a fairly long day that would otherwise have been hard to fill. But I have to tell you: the beach on this cay is the best I've ever seen or swam in! If money is tight, you might just do the beach.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Only 20 minutes of riding. Not worth the fee.

Date:February 22, 2015
Location:Chicago, IL
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The excursion sounds magical: horseback riding with beautiful views and time in the water. The excursion instead felt more transactional than an experience. We spent about 15 minutes on the horse on land. The staff constantly yelled at the horses and for the riders to speed up. One staff member even gave my brother a switch to use to hit his horse. We then dismounted from the horses and spent the remainder of the excursion waiting to go in the water in small groups. We made one quick lap up for about one minute then turned around and rode back for one minute. A photographer was supposed to be taking pictures of us, so I left my camera. He or she didn't show up. I went on the third outing of the day. The staff said that the photographer rarely shows up for the third ride.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

FUN, even if you are not a good swimmer

Date:February 19, 2015
Location:Maine
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’m not entirely comfortable in the water because I’m a very poor swimmer, so I was nervous about this activity – but I also really, really wanted to try it because I love horseback riding. Really glad I did!
The guides will pick your horse for you, and then you ride around the island some. This ride is fun and allows for some great shots of the scenery. Then you head down to the beach, where you ride along the beach for quite a while. The guides are more than happy to grab your camera and get some shots of you riding. When it’s time to get into the water, you switch to a different horse who loves the water. You don’t go any deeper than your thighs, so even if you are not a total water baby, you’ll be fine. Horses were healthy and seemed very relaxed and happy!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Horsebackriding in the water

Date:February 18, 2015
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have ridden a horse on a beach before, but you really ride in the ocean this time! First, you take a short land trail ride. Wear long pants over your swimsuit. Then, you take off your clothes (except your swimsuit), even your shoes, and put them in a locker on the beach. You get on a horse with just a saddle pad (no stirrups). As a group, you go out into the water until the horse is swimming!. I am a good rider and I found it hard to stay on. However, it is safe and the stable-hands are right there for you. The stable-hands are good at their jobs and make you feel very safe. It was exhilarating and quite fun!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great fun

Date:January 29, 2015
Location:Virginia
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The main guide, Richard, takes his responsibilities seriously and looks out for the guests and horses. Instructions are clear and straight forward. Never-before-riders were in our group and did well. We had a blast! They provided lockers for stuff you did not want to get wet. Plan to remove your shoes before the water ride..
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Quite the Ride

Date:January 28, 2015
Location:Stevensville, Ontario Canada
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being a first time horseback rider I was a little hesitant at first. The guides were very attentive and made this first experience a little easier. The land part of the ride was like a little tour and then there was a break in between and then we did the ocean part. All I can say is be prepared for the ocean ride it is something you must experience.
My husband and I enjoyed it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great to see the island, but not much photo time

Date:January 18, 2015
Location:Stuttgart, Germany
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked seeing the island by horseback. It was a slow steady ride, occasionally there was some trotting to catch up.
My one negative point is that I felt we didn't have enough time to take in the scenery to take photos - it felt a bit rushed.
Otherwise they have all kinds of different horses of different sizes to match different sized people. So don't worry, they are not the scrawny island horses you find on other islands sometimes.
A helpful note:
- The ride is done in two parts, so wear your bathing suit under your long pants and closed shoes, there will be a break with drinks in between where you can change and put the rest of your stuff in a locker before you go in the ocean in your swim stuff and barefoot
- so you can also bring your camera on the first half of the ride and then put it in the locker
- I don't think it is worth bringing an waterproof camera for the second half, since it is really quick so you won't get a chance for photos
I enjoyed the ride and hope you will too.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great fun!

Date:January 18, 2015
Location:Stuttgart, Germany
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was a fun way to see a small part of Half Moon Cay. We met up at the information booth and then got a short 5 minute transfer to the stables. Once at the stables we got a short chat about being safe and then we were off to ride. The horse was easy going and we had about 20-30 minutes on land before returning to the stables. We were provided a drink (water/soda) as the guides re-fit saddles for water riding. The water ride lasted all of 2-3 minutes but that was fun and the horses were all bunched together so it was enough time. Overall, if you have never rode a horse (or it has been a long time since a horse ride) this is a fun way to experience it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a ride!

Date:December 18, 2014
Location:Framingham, MA
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't ridden a horse in 20+ years, but doing so on a beach was on my bucket list. The staff did an excellent job of pairing up riders and horses. Venturing into the water was even better than I expected. This was a great excursion in a beautiful setting! Hats off to the team at Pegasus Ranch!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very different

Date:November 15, 2014
Location:Virginia
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
An awesome experience getting to ride horses in the water. The first part is trail riding. No running or trotting for those who are experienced but the water part makes up for that.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Horseback Riding!

Date:November 4, 2014
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only been on a horse maybe 3-5 times in my life but this excursion is a must do!! And no experience necessary!
The guides were very knowledgeable and professional and the first thing they did after fitting us with safety helmets was assign the horse to the rider. Looks like they have about 50 horses. Then we went on a 20 minute ride through the field, along the beach and up the hill. Nice view when we were up high. Was very hot especially wearing long pants. Then we returned to the sables on the beach and removed clothes to our bathing suits. I guess they have about 10 horses that love the water, so they divided our group into 3 smaller groups. This gave us the opportunity to give our cameras to other guests to get great pictures of ourselves riding in the ocean. In the ocean, I think we had about 5 guides with our 10 horses and they made the horses gallop in the deep water. It was a thrill of a lifetime!! Not much to hold on to with the water saddles but I felt safe. Wish that ocean ride was longer but I loved it!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
10out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A "must do"

Date:October 26, 2014
Location:Canada
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
This is not your ordinary horse back ride! This excursion starts with Rick giving you some safety tips and then pairing you up with your horse, so novices need not feel intimidated. The horses guide you on a 45 minute trail on the north side of the island, eventually going to the highest point of 75 feet before descending. The horses are good natured and well looked after. The guides, during this trail give you information on the island, the horses and how they got there, and how to ride the terrain. When you return to the stable, you are provided with refreshments and during this time they prepare new horses for the sea excursion, with water specific saddles. This excursion is about 15 minutes and the horses are taken into neck deep water where they "gallop" whilst you hold on for dear life!! This excursion was enjoyed by a wide range of ages and abilities. Keep in mind that lunch is available 11-1 and so best to book your excursion accordingly.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Safe riding

Date:April 30, 2014
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were apprehensive about being near such large animals but nobody was assigned a horse until helmets were fitted and buckled and safety rules understood by the guests. Plenty of supervisors riding along to deal with horses who wanted to stop or eat or go too fast. The water part was a real thrill.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Excursion

Date:April 12, 2014
Location:Kissimmee, FL
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This excursion is a lot of fun. You will really enjoy it. This was my 2nd time doing this excursion and would gladly do it again. The staff at the ranch are awesome. Ritchie is the best.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow what an experience

Date:March 7, 2014
Location:Derbyshire UK
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had never been on a horse in my life, and being in my mid sixties was quite nervous. The instructors were excellent and encouraging. We had a ride on land before changing to the horses that would take us into the sea. My horse was so enthusiastic and was soon up to his neck in the water, swimming amongst the other horses and thoroughly enjoy it. I was very disappointed that the ships photographers arrived late after a meeting and were not there to record the event. It was something I had looked forward to for ages, but now have no record of it. I found this experience really did live up to expectations and would recommend it to anyone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>