Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Half Moon Cay, Bahamas or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea

Horseback Riding by Land & Sea

Saddle up for the horseback riding experience of a lifetime! After a short tram ride to the corral you'll receive an orientation before setting out on a ride along winding trails up to the highest point on the island for a panoramic view of Half Moon Cay and the surrounding islands before you continue along the bay, back to the corral. Enjoy a refreshment as your horse is "dressed" for swimming in a special saddle pad and a rope halter (no saddle), then you'll venture into the ocean for the sensation of riding a horse while it's swimming. Ride the tram back to the Welcome Center.
Average Customer Rating:
4.549 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (71 reviews)
5 stars
50
4 stars
16
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
65 out of 71(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Review 1 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thrilling!

Date:December 14, 2010
Parrotfeathers
Location:Benton, MS
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Friendly, helpful guides and horses that knew their jobs and performed well. I was very impressed that the guides looked out so much for the riders' safety and had no problem letting me know when I wasn't following directions. Galloping in the ocean is thrilling even for the experienced land rider. The land ride begins in a large paddock area so one can get a feel for the horse and then you hit the trails. Another set of horses is used for the ocean gallop. If you are even thinking of doing this, just go ahead and do it.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+23points
36out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Safe riding

Date:April 30, 2014
Vamil
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were apprehensive about being near such large animals but nobody was assigned a horse until helmets were fitted and buckled and safety rules understood by the guests. Plenty of supervisors riding along to deal with horses who wanted to stop or eat or go too fast. The water part was a real thrill.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Excursion

Date:April 12, 2014
CEECEE
Location:Kissimmee, FL
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This excursion is a lot of fun. You will really enjoy it. This was my 2nd time doing this excursion and would gladly do it again. The staff at the ranch are awesome. Ritchie is the best.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow what an experience

Date:March 7, 2014
DerbyMaggie
Location:Derbyshire UK
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had never been on a horse in my life, and being in my mid sixties was quite nervous. The instructors were excellent and encouraging. We had a ride on land before changing to the horses that would take us into the sea. My horse was so enthusiastic and was soon up to his neck in the water, swimming amongst the other horses and thoroughly enjoy it. I was very disappointed that the ships photographers arrived late after a meeting and were not there to record the event. It was something I had looked forward to for ages, but now have no record of it. I found this experience really did live up to expectations and would recommend it to anyone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Leisure ride with beautiful views

Date:February 25, 2014
Wannago
Location:California
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The ride was picturesque and easy. The guides are friendly and the water part of the ride exhilarating . What fun! There are free lockers available where you begin the water portion of the ride.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Healthy horses and great fun

Date:February 23, 2014
SuperDave
Location:MN
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first thing I have to point out is how healthy the horses were. I'm not a horse expert but we were fortunate to have a few people on our excursion with us that were. They unanimously pointed out that the horses were obviously well taken care of, well groomed, well fed and in excellent health. Talking to staff it was clear that they went to great lengths to take care of their animals and ensure their safety and health.
As for the experience it was awesome. We started out with a nice walk on the beach and around the surrounding area. It was quite pleasant and relaxing. After a short break while they prepared another set of horses for the water we went into the ocean with them. The ocean portion was much more adventurous as the horses thundered through water up to the riders knees.
All in all it was a thrilling excursion that left us feeling great about the welfare of the animals and the skill of the people taking care of them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun filled activity for all

Date:February 9, 2014
Chiller
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Both my husband and I enjoyed this activity. Though we had not been riding in over 30 years, the staff was always there to keep us and our horse in line and provide assistance to everyone. The horses were mild mannered, staff were amazing and it! was a great way to start our day at Half Moon Cay
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Excursion!

Date:January 24, 2014
Ladyhawk85
Location:Waterloo, Iowa
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you think this is something you might want to do, go for it....you will not regret it! It is everything that it was advertised!! The guides were very friendly and made sure everyone had a good time!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Horseback ride - Land & Sea

Date:January 18, 2014
KimD
Location:NJ
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great fun but just a trail ride for most part (great views) and what seemed like a very short amount of time in the water. Still, I would say "do it". Guides were all very friendly. Horses well taken care of. ANYONE can do this as it is a slow, sedate pace and the guides stay with the beginners. Do bring your shoes with toes (water shoes ok but need ones with heels) and long pants. You can change there. Bring your camera. We did the afternoon ride and the ship photographer had already left so we didn't get any shots. Boo hoo. Ship take note: keep your photographer there for afternoon ride. There's planty of time to develope them back on the boat.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun!

Date:December 10, 2013
JosieVenture
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Being able to horseback ride along the beach of such a picturesque island was amazing. Once the horses took to the water, the thrill factor went through the roof...AMAZING, BEAUTIFUL, AND WORTH IT!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hang On!!

Date:November 24, 2013
hikerbuns
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a wonderful excursion that I took my 77 year old mom on, who also rides well. But riding well is not required. The horses walk first with not a whole lot to see. Apparently, the trail to the highest point was washed out or something, so we did a big circle. After that you undress to your bathing suit and go into the water. The water part is really short lived, but it is exciting, thrilling, and exhilarating!! If you have never been in the ocean with a horse and like being on a horse--there is no other feeling! The guides were VERY friendly and helpful. Safety is on their minds and even more so when you are in the water. There are a lot of them to watch like life guards, so to speak. The horses are well taken care of, too. And if you're wondering what you hang on to in the water, they have a pad strapped to the horse like a saddle with a handle on it that you hang on to with one hand and just hold the reins with the other. You are barefoot on the horse too. I only took this excursion to get the ocean feel!! Well worth it for both of us.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Horseback Ride in Ocean-Half Moon Cay.

Date:September 8, 2013
cruisintogether
Location:California/North Carolina
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome experience! The horses were very gentle and well trained. It's a must if you've created a bucket list. You'll talk about it for years to come, make sure to get pics.too. It's really a nice photo when the ship is in view in the back ground. Young-Old-Somewhere in the Middle-don't miss out on this experience if you can do it!!! Lots of fun!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Excursion

Date:September 5, 2013
marinemom
Location:Seattle
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a fantastic excursion. It was far more difficult riding a horse in water than I had expected but enjoyed every minute of it. The staff took great care of the horses and the guests to make sure we had a wonderful experience.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Sounds like fun - but isn't

Date:August 15, 2013
swampwitch
Location:Rutland, Massachusetts
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The ride on land was boring but we managed it. Looked forward to the sea portion, but that was not only not fun or thrilling or interesting, it was down-right unpleasant. I am an experienced rider, but would never recommend this to anyone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-5points
2out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great fun!

Date:May 17, 2013
cricket52
Location:Granite City Il
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The guides were very nice and helpful. One took my picture with my camera in order to get some really good shots along the shore. Great time and would definitely do it again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A well organized excursion for the whole family!

Date:April 1, 2013
teacher54
Location:NB, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I are in our forties and our two children are 12 & 14. We wore pants over our bathing suits and sneakers to begin this excursion. (If you did not have closed toe shoes, they had some to loan.) We rode in a fenced in area until everybody was assigned a horse, then we rode on a trail, then along the beach. I was able to carry my camera for this portion. One of the guides used it to take a photo of our family riding on the beach. I also took a nice shot of Half Moon Cay from the highest point of the island. My daughter was nervous on the horse, so the guide stayed right beside her on the trail and encouraged her. She did enjoy her time on the horse and is glad that she did this excursion. Next, we changed out of our pants and sneakers (There are small lockers to use at no extra charge.) while they took the saddles off the horses. They had bottles of water for us while they prepared the horses. I felt very unbalanced when I got on the horse this time since there is no where to put your feet. However, it was awesome when we took the horses in the water. They started to swim and it was a neat experience. The guide offered to hold the reins for my daughter's horse through the water. However, she felt too unbalanced without the saddle and sat this portion out. The group was divided in two for the water portion, so while my son and I rode, my husband stayed on the beach and took some photos, and vice versa. Once the ride was over, we chose to walk on the beautiful beach instead of taking the tram. It was a wonderful excursion.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Horsebacking the land then hitting the ocean

Date:March 23, 2013
Thomas
Location:Fort Lauderdale, FL
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The horses are very well cared for and are well trained. The guides are somewhat respectful, but a little rough and annoying when they kept screaming out the horses name to get you to fill in any gap between you and another rider, it felt like they assumed everyone was a rider, I surely am not. You do about a 40 min ride on land, which was nice, theres not much to see due to the private island being so small. Then you will dismount and switch to another horse with a different saddle and get in a straight line and go riding in the ocean for about 500meters down and 500 meters back then the riding is over. I would say if you love horses and riding no matter what then go for it, if you dont then dont waste your money. There isnt really anything else to do on the island other than the ships BBQ on the island, the stingray excursion and the private cabanas.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

For Younger People

Date:March 15, 2013
Bluenose47
Location:Nova Scotia, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This sounded like an exciting adventure, and it was to a certain extent. My wife and I are in our 60's and it appeared within our capabilities. We enjoyed the land portion of the ride fairly well,but I found the guides gruff and belittled people who were not experienced riders. But in the surf I felt very uncomfortable and kept sliding off my wet saddle. Worse, another rider came up beside my horse and nearly pushed me off. The guides did nothing. I suffered some minor scrapes as a result. I do not recommend this excursion unless you are an experienced rider or younger than 60 and in good physical condition.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

riding in the sand

Date:March 14, 2013
cindybob
Location:New Orleans
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
even though it was too rough for the horses to go into the water, this was still a good experience. the guides were fun and entertaining and the walk on the beach and up to the top of the island was a good experience. The horses were obviously well cared for and the stables were clean and neat.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Horseback Riding by Land & Sea
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great experience!

Date:March 9, 2013
vetgrrl
Location:Ontario
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The staff were fantastic, it really shows that they love what they do, actually said that they "have the privilege" of looking after the horses. The horses look happy and very well tended (and I'm a veterinarian).
The ride itself was good though a little shorter than advertised - maybe because there were only two of us in the group and we were on the last ride of the day - but beautiful scenery, friendly guide, plenty of photo ops. We actually ran in the water which was a thrill (definitely need strong thigh muscles to hold on though)!
Will do it again next time we visit.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>