Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Half Moon Cay, Bahamas or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)

Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)

Relax under your very own clamshell on the beautiful and aptly named beach at Half Moon Cay—a crescent-shaped stretch of powdery white sand and inviting turquoise water.
Average Customer Rating:
4.525 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(99 Reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (99 reviews)
5 stars
70
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
2
92 out of 99(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Review 61 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Idea

Date:May 12, 2012
Location:seattle
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very much worth while, Excellent way to enjoy beautiful beach,& avoid gettiing sun burned, pleanty of room. Book early & get to shore soon to claim unit,before they run out.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great if you need shade!

Date:May 1, 2012
Location:Raleigh, NC
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased the shell in advance and ending up using it to store our bags out of the sun. It was a great day and I ending up never using it! Nice to have if you need it!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Book early for a clam shell

Date:April 25, 2012
Location:New Orleans, Louisiana
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The beach and water are lovely and it was nice to have a lounge chair under the clam shell to get out of the sun. We were at the far left end of the beach which was nice and quiet. The bar is very busy if you need a drink expect to wait a few minutes, and don't bother to shop at the straw market area.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book this first! And get on shore early to pick

Date:April 9, 2012
Location:St. Louis, MO
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These do sell out and the sun is a killer without the shade. Also get on shore early and stake your spot - the left side is where the kids are, but if you rent the snorkel equipment that is the shore that has all the fish. The guest that visit the Hal Club will toss bread into the water and you can snorkel right up and get surrounded by fish as they eat. Really fun!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Half Moon Cay Clamshell

Date:April 6, 2012
Location:St Albert
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I certainly understand how this island has won so many awards. We just came back from an Eastern Caribbean Cruise with our 8 year old grandson. The last stop was this island it is absolutely beautiful and as the one bar say "I WISH I NEVER HAD TO LEAVE". Our grandson thoroughly enjoyed the slides and with the water being so clear he was trying to "hand catch" fish most of our visit. The clamshell was excellent as it gave us a bit of privacy as the chairs are very close together. It also gave us shade form the sun. Overall our entire cruise was awesome.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Clamshell covering

Date:March 19, 2012
Location:Clearwater, FL
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a necessity if you want any shade on this island. We reserved two by mistake and was notified by the ship upon arrival and given a refund for one. We didn't realize until too late that we could have requested a clamshell at another location on the beach. We were not given a choice when we turned in our ticket.
This is one of the most beautiful places I have visited. If you love walking along the beach, this is an excellent opportunity. We also walked the walking path around the island, although you could take a tram, too. Very clean, lots of amenities, wonderful barbeque and facilities. Our favorite stop on the cruise!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Clam shell just right for the 2 of us!

Date:March 11, 2012
Location:Wichita, Kansas
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Found the clam shell provided lots of shade and cover from the sun that day. Just present your ticket to the person on the beach who is setting up the clam shells. They will unstack the chairs and wipe them down and set up the clam shell for you. You just pick which clam shell you want but get down the beach early to have first pick.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Book early - get to Half Moon Cay early

Date:March 6, 2012
Location:Los Angeles
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you arrive late, you'll be a couple of blocks away from the snorkeling area, which discourages numerous dips into the water.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Clam Shell was perfect!! Book early!!

Date:February 26, 2012
Location:Tallahassee, FL
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There is a small "town square" area when you first get onto the island, where they have souveniers for sale and "straw market" type things. They have a first aid station and lots of friendly staff to assit you. This was our first time on Half Moon Cay, it was very nice and it was so clean, that just struck me right away. We had originally asked for a Cabana, but were waitlisted and when that did not come through we asked for a clam shell, and we were very pleased with that. It was perfect for spending hours relaxing on this beautiful piece of paradise. I was not familiar with clam shells but they are huge and easily cover two large beach lounge chairs fully. No sun worries at all. It was very nice to have the wait staff from the ship there. The island is small, but very well laid out and the amenities are plentiful. I was glad to see so many restrooms and shower areas for rinsing off the sea water. The beach is beautiful and pure white sand, no shells to speak of, but fish to see if your snorkel. There are no worries for rocks or anything to hurt your feet. I was barefoot most all day and never had a problem. The BBQ lunch was excellent and there was plenty of water/tea/leamonade to drink. Of course you could purchase any type of alcoholic beverage like on board, so that was nice. They actually bring them to you on the beach, so you don't have to leave your recliner. You can walk around the island our ride a tram if you don't want to walk. The ferry boat "tender" comes regularly, so there is no waiting to speak of when you are ready to get back on ship.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pleasantly surprised with Half Moon Cay.

Date:February 20, 2012
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although plenty of amenities, location did not have that "overdeveloped" feel. Head and shoulders above a competitor's location (Labadee).
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sun, Shade, and White Fish

Date:February 13, 2012
Location:Victoria, BC
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having taken occupancy of our clamshell sun shade, we were well aware of the rule - two chairs per clamshell of course the trio next door tried to make theirs fit three. First they jostled Random, then kicked sand on him during their machinations and at one point managed to knock out the shell's struts causing the shell to collapse on him, all without a single sorry or oops escaping from their lips. Random's patience was pushed to the limit once again - Falcon fixed the shell on his return from parasailing.
Today is a beach day - unusual for Falcon who can rarely sit still for any period of time. The sand is a beautiful pure white with an extremely fine consistency (dust like). The team swims and Falcon remember standing on the beach in New Zealand, wiggling his toes to dig himself into the surf. In doing so here, curious fish appear to see if any food is being kicked up. There are three varieties; a white fish looking fish, a white angel fish looking fish and a white, Stick fish looking fish, or various sizes. Falcon teaches Random the wiggling trick and each received fish 'nibbles' as they take mini bites at the team legs in search of nutrition. Captain Morgans' Ship on the Rocks is less impressive, being a barn with a very busy bar, however, rum drinks are consumed. The nearby barbecue dinner is decent and some good pictures of small birds and lizards are attained. Overall, a very nice little island to spend the day. The clamshell is a necessity in the sun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-3points
4out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book Early

Date:January 16, 2012
Location:Birmingham, AL
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Half Moon Cay was our favorite stop on this cruise! We were so glad we booked our Clamshell early, there is very little shade on the beach. It was so nice to have a place to retreat from the sun for awhile. The beach is very beautiful, but when you get out of the water there is no place to get out of the sun and lay back and relax. The clamshell gave some much needed shade and it was also nice to have someplace to leave your belongings when you're enjoying the beach. If you don't reserve your clamshell early your name goes on a waiting list and your chances of being able to obtain one are very slim. So as soon as you book your cruise go ahead and reserve a clamshell, you'll be glad you did!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Clam Shell

Date:January 15, 2012
Location:tucson az
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We recently were at Half Moon Cay and rented the Clam shell. Glad we did as it protected us from the sun, gave us a cozy spot, semi private to stash our stuff ,and made us feel special on the beach. Identified and set up efficiently, it was typical of that GREAT Holland American service that we have come to expect on now our third cruise.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Shade

Date:January 3, 2012
Location:Maryland
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Beach is very open with not much shade. Traveled with 74-year old mother, so was very glad to have booked one. Limited number available. Staff set up upon showing them our ticket. No problems with leaving our items there while walking around other areas of the island.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

provides great shade and privacy...

Date:December 11, 2011
Location:Avondale Estates, Ga
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would advise getting one renting one ahead of time online or on the ship and then having it opened while you stroll or swim. We put our Holland bag and towels on it, so everyone knew it was taken. It was well worth the money to get out of the bright sun and just to relax.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Yes!

Date:November 27, 2011
Location:TX
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Half Moon Cay beach offers no umbrellas at all. If there's a cloudless sky, it would be very uncomfortable -- and dangerous -- to spend much time without some kind of shelter. We were glad we rented a clamshell, even though it turned out that the day we were there, there was not constant sunshine. Be aware, however, that the clamshells do not have air circulation so they can get hot inside. Still, we'd get one again if we were to go back there.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must if you want to spend time on the beach!

Date:October 30, 2011
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you intend to spend more than a few hours on the beach, you really need to have some shade from time to time. Since there is no shade other than the clamshells, this is a must have. We loved it. We spent at least 4 hours on the beach and the clamshell afforded us a break from the sun as needed. Of course, we were extremely lucky to have an absolutely gorgeous day!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Is the clamshell worth it?

Date:August 26, 2011
Location:Lancaster, PA
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Depending on what you plan on doing all day, the clamshell may or may not be worth the expense. If you're going to be in the water and only plan on getting out when you go for the buffet that's included, and is fantastic, then I say skip it. If anyone in your party plans on simply relaxing on the beach and enjoying the view, then it's probably a wise investment. There aren't any shaded spots along the water unless you plan on visiting the pirate ship pub which is quite a walk down the beach. We had two clamshells since there were four of us, but we really only needed one. There are plenty of chairs laid out along the beach which are free to use and would have been fine for my sister (23 y/o) and me (25 y/o). My parents liked having the clamshell though. The water here was great (hardly any waves, so it's great for kids and relaxing)--warm, blue and clear. There are buoys out in the water (I'm assuming that swimmers are not to go beyond them, but it really wasn't that deep--maybe 9 feet or so) which seemed unnecessary and had me a bit disappointed. I recommend swimming out to them and looking for marine life which may have made a temporary home around the ropes and buoys (hint, hint). I should also mention that the sand here is great (it’s got pink speckles in it and is soft). I really enjoyed this last excursion on our cruise.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Beach Ever!!!

Date:April 21, 2011
Location:Minnesota
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
The HollandAmerica line does the best job on this stop. The beach is lovely but you will require shade. I suggest that you purchase a clam shell for this reason. Beautiful sand, beautiful water and a lovely staff passing by frequently to attend to your drink needs. What could be better?
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Half Moon Cay

Date:April 18, 2011
Location:Ontario, Canada
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A very relaxing place to spend a few hours. A clam shell is definitely a must if you are going to spend a lot of time on the beach. The BBQ that was served was excellent. A nice way to start off the cruise.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>