Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Half Moon Cay, Bahamas or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Shore Excursions

Customer Reviews for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)

Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)

Relax under your very own clamshell on the beautiful and aptly named beach at Half Moon Cay—a crescent-shaped stretch of powdery white sand and inviting turquoise water.
Average Customer Rating:
4.563 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (87 reviews)
5 stars
62
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
1
82 out of 87(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Review 61 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sun, Shade, and White Fish

Date:February 13, 2012
FalconWhump
Location:Victoria, BC
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having taken occupancy of our clamshell sun shade, we were well aware of the rule - two chairs per clamshell of course the trio next door tried to make theirs fit three. First they jostled Random, then kicked sand on him during their machinations and at one point managed to knock out the shell's struts causing the shell to collapse on him, all without a single sorry or oops escaping from their lips. Random's patience was pushed to the limit once again - Falcon fixed the shell on his return from parasailing.
Today is a beach day - unusual for Falcon who can rarely sit still for any period of time. The sand is a beautiful pure white with an extremely fine consistency (dust like). The team swims and Falcon remember standing on the beach in New Zealand, wiggling his toes to dig himself into the surf. In doing so here, curious fish appear to see if any food is being kicked up. There are three varieties; a white fish looking fish, a white angel fish looking fish and a white, Stick fish looking fish, or various sizes. Falcon teaches Random the wiggling trick and each received fish 'nibbles' as they take mini bites at the team legs in search of nutrition. Captain Morgans' Ship on the Rocks is less impressive, being a barn with a very busy bar, however, rum drinks are consumed. The nearby barbecue dinner is decent and some good pictures of small birds and lizards are attained. Overall, a very nice little island to spend the day. The clamshell is a necessity in the sun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-3points
4out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book Early

Date:January 16, 2012
Tigerfan
Location:Birmingham, AL
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Half Moon Cay was our favorite stop on this cruise! We were so glad we booked our Clamshell early, there is very little shade on the beach. It was so nice to have a place to retreat from the sun for awhile. The beach is very beautiful, but when you get out of the water there is no place to get out of the sun and lay back and relax. The clamshell gave some much needed shade and it was also nice to have someplace to leave your belongings when you're enjoying the beach. If you don't reserve your clamshell early your name goes on a waiting list and your chances of being able to obtain one are very slim. So as soon as you book your cruise go ahead and reserve a clamshell, you'll be glad you did!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Clam Shell

Date:January 15, 2012
Jerry
Location:tucson az
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We recently were at Half Moon Cay and rented the Clam shell. Glad we did as it protected us from the sun, gave us a cozy spot, semi private to stash our stuff ,and made us feel special on the beach. Identified and set up efficiently, it was typical of that GREAT Holland American service that we have come to expect on now our third cruise.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Shade

Date:January 3, 2012
Lukey11
Location:Maryland
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Beach is very open with not much shade. Traveled with 74-year old mother, so was very glad to have booked one. Limited number available. Staff set up upon showing them our ticket. No problems with leaving our items there while walking around other areas of the island.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

provides great shade and privacy...

Date:December 11, 2011
wolfatlga
Location:Avondale Estates, Ga
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would advise getting one renting one ahead of time online or on the ship and then having it opened while you stroll or swim. We put our Holland bag and towels on it, so everyone knew it was taken. It was well worth the money to get out of the bright sun and just to relax.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Yes!

Date:November 27, 2011
Traveler66
Location:TX
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Half Moon Cay beach offers no umbrellas at all. If there's a cloudless sky, it would be very uncomfortable -- and dangerous -- to spend much time without some kind of shelter. We were glad we rented a clamshell, even though it turned out that the day we were there, there was not constant sunshine. Be aware, however, that the clamshells do not have air circulation so they can get hot inside. Still, we'd get one again if we were to go back there.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must if you want to spend time on the beach!

Date:October 30, 2011
wallah
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you intend to spend more than a few hours on the beach, you really need to have some shade from time to time. Since there is no shade other than the clamshells, this is a must have. We loved it. We spent at least 4 hours on the beach and the clamshell afforded us a break from the sun as needed. Of course, we were extremely lucky to have an absolutely gorgeous day!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Is the clamshell worth it?

Date:August 26, 2011
PAJetSetter
Location:Lancaster, PA
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Depending on what you plan on doing all day, the clamshell may or may not be worth the expense. If you're going to be in the water and only plan on getting out when you go for the buffet that's included, and is fantastic, then I say skip it. If anyone in your party plans on simply relaxing on the beach and enjoying the view, then it's probably a wise investment. There aren't any shaded spots along the water unless you plan on visiting the pirate ship pub which is quite a walk down the beach. We had two clamshells since there were four of us, but we really only needed one. There are plenty of chairs laid out along the beach which are free to use and would have been fine for my sister (23 y/o) and me (25 y/o). My parents liked having the clamshell though. The water here was great (hardly any waves, so it's great for kids and relaxing)--warm, blue and clear. There are buoys out in the water (I'm assuming that swimmers are not to go beyond them, but it really wasn't that deep--maybe 9 feet or so) which seemed unnecessary and had me a bit disappointed. I recommend swimming out to them and looking for marine life which may have made a temporary home around the ropes and buoys (hint, hint). I should also mention that the sand here is great (it’s got pink speckles in it and is soft). I really enjoyed this last excursion on our cruise.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Beach Ever!!!

Date:April 21, 2011
kal1025
Location:Minnesota
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
The HollandAmerica line does the best job on this stop. The beach is lovely but you will require shade. I suggest that you purchase a clam shell for this reason. Beautiful sand, beautiful water and a lovely staff passing by frequently to attend to your drink needs. What could be better?
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Half Moon Cay

Date:April 18, 2011
CruiserDFH
Location:Ontario, Canada
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A very relaxing place to spend a few hours. A clam shell is definitely a must if you are going to spend a lot of time on the beach. The BBQ that was served was excellent. A nice way to start off the cruise.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Clamshell

Date:April 18, 2011
Dixiedi
Location:Philadelphia
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I heard they were very nice. We didn't get to use ours, I wasn't feeling very well the day we were there.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-7points
0out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

nice shady spot

Date:March 25, 2011
TNlnp
Location:Maryville, TN
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The description doesn't tell you that each clamshell is really a canvas half-tent designed for two lounge chairs. We had 3 people in our party and brought along a canvas sling chair which fit nicely between the lounge chairs. It is very nice to have a shelter from the sun, and there are plenty of waiters coming buy to bring you beverages and drinks from the bar. A great investment for the day!
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Half Moon Cay

Date:March 23, 2011
Nicci
Location:Denver Colorado
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Beautiful beach! But beware if you are there at the same time another ship is also anchored. It was a disaster waiting to happen. Don't get off the ship. The day we stopped there were 2 ships. Approx. 4000 people (not that everyone gets off) but close. You couldn't even find a piece of sand to sit on. Getting to the lunch provided was almost impossible, so many people, it did not make for a pleasurable or relaxing experience.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You have to have one of these!!

Date:March 8, 2011
tinikini
Location:Colorado
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You will need one of these on Half Moon Cay if you want to stay out of the sun. I was traveling with my mom and dad, 72 and 80. They do not like to be in the sun all day. This was perfect for the two of them!!! We had no problems getting it set up, just had to wait our turn, and the staff was friendly. Pay attention to where yours is at, they all look the same. We were waitlisted for this, as it was a last minute thought, and was sold out when I tried to buy it. Was so glad when we were able to get it. So book this item early if you want one!!
It is really crazy when everyone arrives all at once. Be Patient!!! Thank you Debbie in the Information Hut for being helpful and kind. I would also like to thank Mike the Medic from the Maasdam for opening my dive camera, I have some great photos thanks to YOU!!!!
Our snorkle tour was cancelled, due to weather, but I am sure it would have been great!!!! But it gave us more time at the beach so it was not a problem...there is plenty to do or just relax.
My only suggestion/complaint is that you can not prove that the clamshell is yours after they take your ticket. They need to let you keep your ticket or give you something in exchange for your ticket. Or better yet give you two tickets, they take one and you keep one. The only reason I say this is, some rude couple who thought that they owned the beach, moved into our clamshell when we took one of our shore trips. I guess they thought that since there was nothing in the clamshell it had been abandoned. When we arrived back to our clamshell all of their belongings were in it but they were not. When I informed the staff that someone had overtaken our clamshell they said they could not help me out, but not because they did not want to. They were afraid to move the intruders items in fear that they would be accused of stealing or going through the items and lose their jobs. So, I went back to the clamshell and threw their items out and we moved back in, of course, only to have a huge fight with them when they returned. We won and they backed down, only because they knew they were in the wrong, but we really had no way of proving it was ours. I am not upset with the staff for not wanting to get involved, who wants to lose their job over a stupid clamshell. Was Holland America not going to let me board the ship because I re-claimed my clamshell, probably not. I had nothing to lose and the staff had everything to lose, so I just took care of the situation. I am sure this probably does not happen every time the ship visits here, but I am sure it has happened before, so HAL needs to address the situation so their employees are not put in the position as they have to either risk their job or their customer service when someone complains about them. They are in a no win situation. So come on HAL help them out and help me out so I do not have to be a crab fighting for my shell!!! (-: Other than that, we had a fantastic day on the Cay!!!!!!!! Would love to return to this island and sail with HAL again!!!
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Have

Date:February 22, 2011
Sweetpea
Location:Washington D.C.
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Definitely worth the money. Remember it comes with 2 chairs. The sun was very hot and a shaded spot was welcome. The only other shaded areas you can find are under the trellis enclosures for lunch at the picnic tables. They are popular so reserve one. You come down to the beach area and there are several staff members setting them up. You just wait your turn and find a spot where you want to be. Then sit back and enjoy looking out onto the beautiful blue water,
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Visit to Half Moon Cay/Clamshell Rental

Date:February 20, 2011
MRTJR
Location:Pennsylvania
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been there several times over the years and am amazed at the work and many upgrades over the years. The Ships Crew service and hospitality on the island is impecable but the regular island staff is less friendly and helpfull. We always rent a Clamshell and on our most recent visit twice in January 2011 we waited for help and finally set-up the Clamshell ourselves. Bravo Zulu to the Ships Crew.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Shade Provider

Date:January 31, 2011
Mrsbo
Location:California
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Signed up for private cabanas, on a wait list so reserved clamshell. Glad we ended up with this instead of cabana. A little difficult to find someone to set it up and the first one we had was a little ripped, but all in all it served it's purpose and provided us with shade.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

bahamas not as friendly

Date:January 30, 2011
cwrite
Location:Idaho
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
I have been a handful of times. The workers there are often sullen and slow to help. We and others stood and stood and waited and waited for someone to be willing to set up our prepaid clamshell. No choosing where you would like to be and absolutely no smiling. Is it a law perhaps?
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Island

Date:December 13, 2010
SunLover
Location:Minnesota
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed the island very much - clamshell was good although we used the regular sand chairs most of the time.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

If you don't like direct sun ...

Date:November 30, 2010
uncalum1
Location:Charlotte, NC
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rent a clamshell if you or a family member don't like to sit in direct sun!! There isn't a ton of shade on the beach. My husband sat under the clamshell and loved it. It was a tad hot inside b/c of the low ventilation but he was happy.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>