Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Half Moon Cay, Bahamas or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)

Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)

Relax under your very own clamshell on the beautiful and aptly named beach at Half Moon Cay -- a crescent-shaped stretch of powdery white sand and inviting turquoise water. Notes:Rate shown is for one clamshell, which covers two lounge chairs. The departure is listed as 12:07 AM so it does not conflict with booking tours at HMC. The Clamshell is an all-day rental.
Average Customer Rating:
4.451 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(111 Reviews) 105
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (111 reviews)
5 stars
75
4 stars
22
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
4
102 out of 111(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Review 1 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lifesaver

Date:June 14, 2016
Location:Winterville, NC
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 lounge chairs and protection from sun and rain! In between splashing in the water, gave us relief from the sun, we relaxed with a cold drink, kept our "stuff" dry from the rain. Right on the beach, we were in and out of it several times.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Clamshell

Date:May 3, 2016
Location:Memphis, TN
Cruise Date Year:2016
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took the advice of another cruiser. Got it as a "just in case" and was pleased. for a low cost it was worth it in case we spent less time in the water than we did. We paid ahead of time on the ship which made it smoother than paying at the island. It was a great place to go hide after a few hours in the sun and water.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Relaxing

Date:April 29, 2016
Location:Wytheville, VA
Cruise Date Year:2016
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great way to start our cruise! The beach was beautiful and the pristine.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Even if you have no plan, plan this much!

Date:April 11, 2016
Location:Glendale, AZ
Cruise Date Year:2016
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had other excursions planned but knowing we had a shady spot to sit and enjoy the beach at our leisure was priceless! We walked along the beach, and through neat pathways and followed simple signs around the island. The beach here is fantastic, beautiful white sand and the temperatures were perfect. Side note:: There is an adorable Bohemian style church along the beach where we hoped to renew our vows after 30 years, however...after being told that we could only arrange this once on the ship, we were then told at the ship desk that this is no longer available.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The sun can be strong at the Beach

Date:April 8, 2016
Location:Forest Grove, Oregon
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were glad we had the shade! This is a great way to make sure you do not get BURNED! These clamshells book quickly -- best to prebook before you go on the cruise. A good value -- at the most beautiful beach in the Caribbean!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Clamshell Sunshade Rental

Date:April 6, 2016
Location:Ione, California
Cruise Date Year:2016
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
There's very little shade on the beach so the clamshell was worth the price
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Location location lication

Date:March 29, 2016
Location:Illinois
Cruise Date Year:2016
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
We have been on many HAL cruises and rented many clamshells in the past. Usually clamshells are located far from the water without the ability to move it. It took over 1/2 hour to get someone to help and when they finally came it seemed like they were not happy to be there because we were further down the beach. The food was mediocre at best and over the last 2 years it has been going down hill with lack of choices. We loved the changes that were made when returning to the ship. It was covered and well organized.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

A Disappointment

Date:March 4, 2016
Location:Sacramento, CA
Cruise Date Year:2016
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
The Half Moon Cay beach was a bitter disappointment (in addition to the rest of the cruise, in which HA lost my luggage and refused to render any assistance). The staff didn't show up at Half Moon Cay and our reserved clamshell was taken by someone not entitled to it. There was no one to assist and we were misdirected several times. When we finally found a clamshell (it was a beautiful day) it was almost time to turn around and leave. There was nothing to eat or drink.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Cigar smoke snuffed us out!

Date:January 16, 2016
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We were directed to our clam shell which was comfortable enough for about an hour until a man in front of us in a lounge chair lit an old stogey. The wind brought the smoke right into the clam shell where it stayed even though we fanned and fanned to no avail because the smoke kept coming. Since I have asthma this did not work well for my health so we finally left. Not a good return for our money! HAL should set aside a place for these people and enforce it; that is, if they allow smoking at all on the beach. During this time no staff came by. So if you don't want to be subjected to this, save your money and use a lounge chair where you can move if inconsiderate people invade your space.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice shade if you need it

Date:January 5, 2016
Location:Houston, TX
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We rented two clamshells pre-cruise (since there are a limited number available) for shade and shelter in the event of rain. The clamshells are nice and sturdy but in all honesty we spent very little time under them. The weather was perfect and we spent almost the whole time in the water. There was only our ship in port so the beach was not terribly crowded and there were plenty of clamshells available to rent if you needed one. We rented 2 since there were 3 of us in our party, but looking at the clamshell it would appear that you could fit three chairs inside if needed. If I return I will check the port schedule to see if there are any other Holland America ships in port when we are there, and if not, I would rent the clamshell only at the beach if the need arose..
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful beach, mediocre lunch

Date:December 22, 2015
Location:USA
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The beach was beautiful, although very crowded since two Holland-America ships were there at the same time. It was well worth paying for a clamshell, since otherwise there was very little shade on the beach. However, the clamshells were at the very back of the beach, behind several rows of other beach chairs. The beach bar-b-que was mediocre; certainly not up to the standard of food on the ship. The free water and ice tea well well hidden, so we didn't realize they were available until we had purchased water from the very prominent drink stands.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

CLAM SHELL is worth renting

Date:October 19, 2015
Location:Victoria BC
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband & I had the canvas clam shell put over 2 lounge chairs right at the water's edge, so that we could enjoy being right at the ocean water!
We were very happy to have some shade to relax in for a longer period of time, had we not rented one to use after swimming in that gorgeous ocean at Half Moon Cay. (LL Oct 2015)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Half Moon Cay

Date:April 10, 2015
Location:Oregon
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect way to experience Half Moon Cay.. Well worth the price..
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Clamshells rock

Date:April 9, 2015
Location:Ralston, AB
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
They are a great place to relax, and provide great cover in case of rain. My wife and I recommend these to everyone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2015
Location:New York, NY
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you are someone who likes sun, and doesn't mind getting sun burnt - then you don't need a clamshell! otherwise - get one! They are a great value, and provide really good shade from the sun (which is HOT out in the Caribbean!). Also, try to book this ahead of time (before the cruise starts if you can). We were on a ship that was NOT fully booked (and was the only ship scheduled in HMC that day), but the clamshells were still all sold out by the time the cruise had started. Many folks were asking how we got our clamshell and were disappointed when no more were avail.
Note: the 2 lounge chairs inside the clamshell are exactly the same as the free chairs that are available all over the beach. You are paying for the clamshell SHADE. I will say that I wish the lounge chairs themselves were a little more comfortable! They were made of these plastic (PVC?)-like strips than ran across the chair, not the best and that's why i'm giving this 4 stars. Overall, having the clamshell shade was still worth it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Only way to be on the beach

Date:March 31, 2015
Location:Upstate New York
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Started cruise on Sunday and here on Monday. The clamshell protected us from sunburn and well worth the cost.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Chairs may be free, but shade is not :)

Date:March 30, 2015
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As other reviewers have stated the clam shells are back behind the free lounge chairs. The free lounge chairs, and the lounge chairs in the clamshell are exactly the same.
The value isn't in the chairs, but in the shade. Depending on the day, and the sun, the shade can be invaluable (especially if you had sunburn like I did).
Well worth the small investment.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Do not need

Date:March 27, 2015
Location:British Columbia
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Did not need on day we were there. Your set at the back behind all the chairs and they are free. Used chairs right out front, right on water. It is a absolutely beautiful beach!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A perfect beach experience

Date:March 10, 2015
Location:San Jose, CA
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Renting the clamshell was the perfect thing to do as it provided us with some very necessary shade and a glorious view of the beach. Half Moon Cay is a beautiful island with a beach just like everyone dreams of seeing--gorgeous turquoise water and powdery white sand. The 2 chairs that are provided with the clamshell were comfortable and we had a place to return to after our swims. The island is super clean and has restrooms readily available. A perfect beach day and a lovely way to relax on the first day of the cruise!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for shade from the sun!

Date:March 1, 2015
Location:Grande Prairie, Alberta Canada
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a nice touch on the beach. Gets you out of the sun when you want and is comfortable!! Definitely worth it!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>