Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Half Moon Cay, Bahamas or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)

Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)

Relax under your very own clamshell on the beautiful and aptly named beach at Half Moon Cay—a crescent-shaped stretch of powdery white sand and inviting turquoise water.
Average Customer Rating:
4.52 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(98 Reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (98 reviews)
5 stars
69
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
2
91 out of 98(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Review 1 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Half Moon Cay

Date:April 10, 2015
jenn2015
Location:Oregon
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect way to experience Half Moon Cay.. Well worth the price..
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Clamshells rock

Date:April 9, 2015
RyanG
Location:Ralston, AB
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
They are a great place to relax, and provide great cover in case of rain. My wife and I recommend these to everyone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2015
BBac
Location:New York, NY
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you are someone who likes sun, and doesn't mind getting sun burnt - then you don't need a clamshell! otherwise - get one! They are a great value, and provide really good shade from the sun (which is HOT out in the Caribbean!). Also, try to book this ahead of time (before the cruise starts if you can). We were on a ship that was NOT fully booked (and was the only ship scheduled in HMC that day), but the clamshells were still all sold out by the time the cruise had started. Many folks were asking how we got our clamshell and were disappointed when no more were avail.
Note: the 2 lounge chairs inside the clamshell are exactly the same as the free chairs that are available all over the beach. You are paying for the clamshell SHADE. I will say that I wish the lounge chairs themselves were a little more comfortable! They were made of these plastic (PVC?)-like strips than ran across the chair, not the best and that's why i'm giving this 4 stars. Overall, having the clamshell shade was still worth it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Only way to be on the beach

Date:March 31, 2015
PapaJohn
Location:Upstate New York
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Started cruise on Sunday and here on Monday. The clamshell protected us from sunburn and well worth the cost.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Chairs may be free, but shade is not :)

Date:March 30, 2015
JayH
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As other reviewers have stated the clam shells are back behind the free lounge chairs. The free lounge chairs, and the lounge chairs in the clamshell are exactly the same.
The value isn't in the chairs, but in the shade. Depending on the day, and the sun, the shade can be invaluable (especially if you had sunburn like I did).
Well worth the small investment.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Do not need

Date:March 27, 2015
galpin9
Location:British Columbia
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Did not need on day we were there. Your set at the back behind all the chairs and they are free. Used chairs right out front, right on water. It is a absolutely beautiful beach!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A perfect beach experience

Date:March 10, 2015
Bitsy
Location:San Jose, CA
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Renting the clamshell was the perfect thing to do as it provided us with some very necessary shade and a glorious view of the beach. Half Moon Cay is a beautiful island with a beach just like everyone dreams of seeing--gorgeous turquoise water and powdery white sand. The 2 chairs that are provided with the clamshell were comfortable and we had a place to return to after our swims. The island is super clean and has restrooms readily available. A perfect beach day and a lovely way to relax on the first day of the cruise!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for shade from the sun!

Date:March 1, 2015
Bonyknees
Location:Grande Prairie, Alberta Canada
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a nice touch on the beach. Gets you out of the sun when you want and is comfortable!! Definitely worth it!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

You can get free chair, don't pay for it!

Date:February 27, 2015
abbyroad
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was not happy, i paid for chairs and you can get them free.....
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gotta Have A Clamshell

Date:February 16, 2015
MichaelL
Location:Chicago
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was our 4th trip to Half Moon Cay. Gotta have a clamshell. Provides protection from the sun and privacy (and as we learned on this trip - comes in handy when you get a little rain). There were other first timers on the beach wondering where to get them who moved to the shelter when the rain started. Highly recommend the clam shells one of the best values of the trip.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Clam shell is great value!

Date:January 18, 2015
Vonja
Location:Canada
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Half Moon Cay is lovely and the day on the beach sped by quickly. Having the clam shell was great as it gave us a cool, shady home-base out of the sun. Best value for money spent!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just Amazing, period

Date:January 1, 2015
jiushibumairihuo
Location:State Colege, PA
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was the last stop in our cruise. We just decided to stay on beach to enjoy the sea.
The clamshell gave us more private room and cover.
You can get free beach chairs, but those are without cover, meaning just chairs.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect spot to call "your own"

Date:December 18, 2014
travelbug57
Location:Framingham, MA
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The attendants were quick to show us to our clamshell and wipe down the loungers. It was a perfect spot to enjoy the beach and then leave gear behind while we ventured out for our other excursions. Came back after the awesome BBQ lunch and resumed relaxing on the beach, under the welcome canopy of shade. Definitely worth the $$!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book early! Get there early!

Date:October 26, 2014
Canmorecruise
Location:Canada
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Clamshell locations are limited. To get your ideal spot whether it be in the shade or sunshine, I would advise booking your clamshell early and also getting there early morning for your ideal location. We were lucky and had a light wind and we found a spot in the shade. Some have said, that when there is no wind, the clamshell does not provide much relief from the heat. Clamshells ideally located close the water made going in and out of the sea easy. The beach is fine, white sand, very easy to walk on in the sea. Perfect ending to a perfect holiday.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+11points
22out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Half Moon Cay

Date:August 30, 2014
ALLISON5568
Location:Vero Beach, FL
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was actually my favorite day of our cruise! simple, quiet, beautiful and relaxing! Looking forward to stopping there again on next cruise.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
17out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must Have on Half Moon Cay

Date:August 5, 2014
Forrest
Location:Boca Raton Florida
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have been to Half Moon Cay at least 15+ times and a Clam Shell is essential especially if it is very hot, or if you burn easily. Even though we are from Florida, the clam shell makes a nice base for storing your things ,shoes, sun glasses, kid's, towells etc (you get the point) while your having the Best Time of your Life on this most wonderful tropical private island. Once you've experienced it, you'll agree that Half Moon Cay is by far the best treat on any HAL Carribean cruise.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+17points
23out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tropical beach at it's best!

Date:July 9, 2014
Marcine
Location:Denver, Colorado
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The beach was just beautiful with the ship in the background. The clamshell was our home base and I highly recommend getting one as it does get a little hot and having a bit of shade is nice. If you want a tan or a chance to swim, this is it!
For those who don't go for beaches, there is a bar and restaurant (that looks like a ship wreck (a real ship that has wrecked on the beach) and there is plenty of places to explore. It seemed like a good way to start off our cruise!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+19points
21out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Half Moon Cay

Date:May 23, 2014
Claudette
Location:Vancouver Island, BC
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the most beautiful beach I have EVER been to. The aqua green water, the white sand beach. It was a dream come true for me to be in such a gorgeous place.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVED IT!

Date:May 9, 2014
Leslie61
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second time I've been to Half Mon Cay and it gets better each time. It is absolutely beautiful there and I wish we could have spent a longer day. The clamshell is a great deal if you need some time out from the sun. It is possible to find some shady spots if you drag a beach chair to a space near a tree but it is not as good. You can fit three beach chairs under the clamshell and it is very nice to really have your own spot to claim.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
14out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lovely way to enjoy a tropical island

Date:April 18, 2014
SueMarie
Location:Ontario, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
We rented the Clamshell Sunshade for the day at Half Moon Cay and were very glad we did. The sun in March was quite hot and the clamshell allowed the two of us to relax on the two lounges that are provided and enjoy the beach and view of the water in some shade. We recommend that Holland America tell those who purchase tickets that you need to look for staff in bright yellow shirts to give them your tickets. Then you simply choose a clamshell that has not been taken.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>