Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Half Moon Cay, Bahamas or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)

Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)

Relax under your very own clamshell on the beautiful and aptly named beach at Half Moon Cay—a crescent-shaped stretch of powdery white sand and inviting turquoise water.
Average Customer Rating:
4.548 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(84 Reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (84 reviews)
5 stars
59
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
1
79 out of 84(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Review 1 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book early! Get there early!

Date:October 26, 2014
Canmorecruise
Location:Canada
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Clamshell locations are limited. To get your ideal spot whether it be in the shade or sunshine, I would advise booking your clamshell early and also getting there early morning for your ideal location. We were lucky and had a light wind and we found a spot in the shade. Some have said, that when there is no wind, the clamshell does not provide much relief from the heat. Clamshells ideally located close the water made going in and out of the sea easy. The beach is fine, white sand, very easy to walk on in the sea. Perfect ending to a perfect holiday.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Half Moon Cay

Date:August 30, 2014
ALLISON5568
Location:Vero Beach, FL
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was actually my favorite day of our cruise! simple, quiet, beautiful and relaxing! Looking forward to stopping there again on next cruise.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must Have on Half Moon Cay

Date:August 5, 2014
Forrest
Location:Boca Raton Florida
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have been to Half Moon Cay at least 15+ times and a Clam Shell is essential especially if it is very hot, or if you burn easily. Even though we are from Florida, the clam shell makes a nice base for storing your things ,shoes, sun glasses, kid's, towells etc (you get the point) while your having the Best Time of your Life on this most wonderful tropical private island. Once you've experienced it, you'll agree that Half Moon Cay is by far the best treat on any HAL Carribean cruise.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tropical beach at it's best!

Date:July 9, 2014
Marcine
Location:Denver, Colorado
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The beach was just beautiful with the ship in the background. The clamshell was our home base and I highly recommend getting one as it does get a little hot and having a bit of shade is nice. If you want a tan or a chance to swim, this is it!
For those who don't go for beaches, there is a bar and restaurant (that looks like a ship wreck (a real ship that has wrecked on the beach) and there is plenty of places to explore. It seemed like a good way to start off our cruise!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Half Moon Cay

Date:May 23, 2014
Claudette
Location:Vancouver Island, BC
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the most beautiful beach I have EVER been to. The aqua green water, the white sand beach. It was a dream come true for me to be in such a gorgeous place.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVED IT!

Date:May 9, 2014
Leslie61
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second time I've been to Half Mon Cay and it gets better each time. It is absolutely beautiful there and I wish we could have spent a longer day. The clamshell is a great deal if you need some time out from the sun. It is possible to find some shady spots if you drag a beach chair to a space near a tree but it is not as good. You can fit three beach chairs under the clamshell and it is very nice to really have your own spot to claim.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lovely way to enjoy a tropical island

Date:April 18, 2014
SueMarie
Location:Ontario, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
We rented the Clamshell Sunshade for the day at Half Moon Cay and were very glad we did. The sun in March was quite hot and the clamshell allowed the two of us to relax on the two lounges that are provided and enjoy the beach and view of the water in some shade. We recommend that Holland America tell those who purchase tickets that you need to look for staff in bright yellow shirts to give them your tickets. Then you simply choose a clamshell that has not been taken.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Clamshell Sunshade Rental

Date:March 20, 2014
Woolly
Location:Falls Church, VA
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There was less of a built-up area than I had expected -- just a couple of shops, a bar, the luncheon area and restrooms. The area was very pleasant, however, clean and well-maintained. The clamshell was nice and I liked having a "home base". Good value.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must for shade

Date:March 3, 2014
LindaJean
Location:Astoria, OR
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was great to have this shade and anyone who likes the beach but also wants a little shade pay the small price and get it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Book early

Date:March 1, 2014
Deborah
Location:California
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
These clamshells are wonderful, providing wonderful shade and privacy. Just book them as quickly as possible because they go very fast, especially if there's another chip in port at the same time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Shade for the Day

Date:February 14, 2014
fishingcruiser
Location:Illinois
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was well worth the expense to have a home base for the day on the island. They are limited in number so reserve early- probably before the cruise begins as they sold out the day we were there. Half Moon Cay is absolutely beautiful for both the beach and the water. There is not a lot of shade on the beach so the clamshell does give you some shade.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Necessary. There is no shade on the beach.

Date:January 31, 2014
SouthSeaLady
Location:Williamsburg, VA
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are only a handful of these available, and it will make or break whether you want to stay on the beach. There is no natural shade, so you are stuck if you don't book one of these early.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Clamshell shade

Date:January 30, 2014
Chippie
Location:Pennsylvania
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We were the only ship in port and arrived early so there was no problem getting the clamshell. We were under the impression that a clamshell would be the only means to be out of the sun. However, there were several locations on the beach where one could find a break from the sun. We really didn't need the clamshell, but yet the value was reasonable.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Clamshell Rental

Date:January 18, 2014
KimD
Location:NJ
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Do this ASAP. We needed two and a month ahead they were already sold out.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must for the beach!

Date:January 8, 2014
FreezingInIllinois
Location:Illinois
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was great to have some shade. We were at Half Moon Cay on a warm sunny day.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disorganized and on a slant

Date:January 6, 2014
inmy30s
Location:Victoria, BC Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Was on the first tender. Don't think everyone had woken up yet as everyone was on "island" speed. It was almost like they'd never done this before. Hello wake up. There was one person for all of us and nobody really to tell you where to go exactly.
Some people tried to set up their own and then were told that those were for disabled guests. Then a second person started setting some up which helped but then a third started and let some guests just use the shells set aside for those with disabilities. They were closer to the boat and actually on flat beach. A lot of the shells are right at the back of the beach which makes sense as you don't want to block everyone's view but my chairs were balanced on coral and on such an incline it wasn't comfortable to sit.
I did an excursion, lunch and then a walk on the beach so prob didn't need the clamshell. Wish I'd walked down the beach further to lay in one of the hammocks. If you need shade then go for the shell.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Nice!

Date:December 4, 2013
2OregonGirls
Location:Oregon
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved the sunshade, was easy to locate someone to help. Nice place to sit out of the sun. Only problem we had was when we left to do your excursion someone took over our shell. Attendant said just move their stuff out and take it back but one of our fellow shade dwellers was leaving and gave us theirs. Would rent one again. Great value
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good storage spot!

Date:September 9, 2013
cheshirekitten
Location:Kelowna BC Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter and I booked clamshells for both of our visits to Half Moon Cay during our cruise and it was a great idea but both times we finished up using them for maybe about 10 minutes of the time we were there as we were mostly in the ocean, looking around, doing excursions or eating at the barbecue! However, it was a good place to leave our bags and to get out of the sun for a break.
This was one of my favorite places of the whole trip - truly a tropical paradise!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pretty Much a Necessity Because of the Sun

Date:May 3, 2013
Mark4432
Location:Northern California
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
On a relative basis, since many things on the ship are over-priced (to keep the cruise prices low per the letter I got back from the president of the line on this), this is the best deal on the cruise. The clamshell is roughly a quarter of a spherical shell that sits on the ground and covers the most part of two lounge chairs. You can just pull the chairs out into the sun if you want.
If you do not pick up your shell early, then you will get one much further down the beach. You will have to walk down until you find a staff member to give you your shell, in spite of the instructions on your ticket that say go the first rental shack. This is not a "problem", just be aware of it.
Tenders are required at this Cay, but they are tenders permanently stationed at the Cay. They are double-deckers that hold maybe 80 to 100 passengers, so the half-hour wait that they advertise is the time it takes to fill up the tender, not the travel time, which is only six or so minutes. The upper level is open to the sun.
After swimming, I looked for a fresh-water shower and could not find one. I asked a staff member, and they said I could use the outdoor shower at the one fancy beach-house rental that was vacant. So there is no provision for a fresh water shower if you go in the salt water. I grew up in Hawaii, and just about every mediocre public beach has a rudimentary fresh water shower as a courtesy. I was simply astounded that this place, created to service people who have paid all kinds of money to cruise with Holland America and its sister lines, was lacking in such a basic necessity.
Two people that I saw had medical problems, possibly due to either dehydration, overheating, or some combination. The lifeguard I talked to (who by the way did not have a radio or any other communication device) said he has to constantly rescue people, but all for over-consuming alcohol. We brought plenty of water ourselves, and I would recommend it to others. There are no water fountains - you have to go find some place on the Cay that sells beverages.
The medical emergency on our tender was a woman in her 70's who was on the verge of losing consciousness. Rather than immediately casting off and getting her back to the doctor on the ship, the Holland America staff spent maybe 25 minutes racing back and forth and talking wildly on radios, eventually bringing on medical kits and oxygen. But they never let this poor lady get out of a sitting position, the first thing you do in treating someone who is having a fainting problem. She needed blood pressure, not oxygen. My advice - do not have a medical emergency on this cruise. The guy sitting across from me was a trained EMT I found out later, and he told me do not get involved - the Good Samaritan laws do not apply outside the U.S.
The water is indeed pretty (although the St. Vincent water was probably prettier), and the beach and bottom in the swimming area sandy, and the time we were there it was waveless, so you could go in the water regardless of your water capabilities. Out of the 1300 or so people on our cruise, I was the only one actually swimming (not floating, wading, etc.), so the water is not busy.
The prices to rent aquatic equipment (kayaks, sunfish, etc.) were very high by Hawaii standards. The rules for reviews say that I cannot quote actual prices. I saw only one paddleboat rented for one hour the whole time we were there. So you won't have to worry about renting something if you decide to do it at the last minute, unless the line changes their prices, or you are (un)lucky enough to get on the Powerball Reunion cruise.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+40points
50out of 60found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A bit of sun protection

Date:May 1, 2013
Margaretti
Location:San Diego
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If was $ well spent for chaises out of the sun. The Westerdam was the only ship in port that day, so there was no rush to get to shore...however, the longer you wait to 'claim' a shell, the further down the beach you are. Many people grumbled about how far they were 'forced' to walk to find an empty one. There is/was an attendant [or two] trying to assist everyone, but it looked like they were getting overwhelmed by people trying to get their attention. We really enjoyed ours, especially when the sun made its way through the clouds and the heat arrived. It was a small walk to the water, but not a big deal. Our day was over just about the time the sun shifted and you lost the shell protection. All in all, I'd recommend them and will get another when I return in the future.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>