Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Half Moon Cay, Bahamas or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Shore Excursions

Customer Reviews for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)

Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)

Relax under your very own clamshell on the beautiful and aptly named beach at Half Moon Cay—a crescent-shaped stretch of powdery white sand and inviting turquoise water.
Average Customer Rating:
4.563 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (87 reviews)
5 stars
62
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
1
82 out of 87(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Review 1 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Clam shell is great value!

Date:January 18, 2015
Vonja
Location:Canada
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Half Moon Cay is lovely and the day on the beach sped by quickly. Having the clam shell was great as it gave us a cool, shady home-base out of the sun. Best value for money spent!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just Amazing, period

Date:January 1, 2015
jiushibumairihuo
Location:State Colege, PA
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was the last stop in our cruise. We just decided to stay on beach to enjoy the sea.
The clamshell gave us more private room and cover.
You can get free beach chairs, but those are without cover, meaning just chairs.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect spot to call "your own"

Date:December 18, 2014
travelbug57
Location:Framingham, MA
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The attendants were quick to show us to our clamshell and wipe down the loungers. It was a perfect spot to enjoy the beach and then leave gear behind while we ventured out for our other excursions. Came back after the awesome BBQ lunch and resumed relaxing on the beach, under the welcome canopy of shade. Definitely worth the $$!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book early! Get there early!

Date:October 26, 2014
Canmorecruise
Location:Canada
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Clamshell locations are limited. To get your ideal spot whether it be in the shade or sunshine, I would advise booking your clamshell early and also getting there early morning for your ideal location. We were lucky and had a light wind and we found a spot in the shade. Some have said, that when there is no wind, the clamshell does not provide much relief from the heat. Clamshells ideally located close the water made going in and out of the sea easy. The beach is fine, white sand, very easy to walk on in the sea. Perfect ending to a perfect holiday.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+13points
20out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Half Moon Cay

Date:August 30, 2014
ALLISON5568
Location:Vero Beach, FL
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was actually my favorite day of our cruise! simple, quiet, beautiful and relaxing! Looking forward to stopping there again on next cruise.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
16out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must Have on Half Moon Cay

Date:August 5, 2014
Forrest
Location:Boca Raton Florida
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have been to Half Moon Cay at least 15+ times and a Clam Shell is essential especially if it is very hot, or if you burn easily. Even though we are from Florida, the clam shell makes a nice base for storing your things ,shoes, sun glasses, kid's, towells etc (you get the point) while your having the Best Time of your Life on this most wonderful tropical private island. Once you've experienced it, you'll agree that Half Moon Cay is by far the best treat on any HAL Carribean cruise.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+17points
23out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tropical beach at it's best!

Date:July 9, 2014
Marcine
Location:Denver, Colorado
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The beach was just beautiful with the ship in the background. The clamshell was our home base and I highly recommend getting one as it does get a little hot and having a bit of shade is nice. If you want a tan or a chance to swim, this is it!
For those who don't go for beaches, there is a bar and restaurant (that looks like a ship wreck (a real ship that has wrecked on the beach) and there is plenty of places to explore. It seemed like a good way to start off our cruise!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+19points
21out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Half Moon Cay

Date:May 23, 2014
Claudette
Location:Vancouver Island, BC
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the most beautiful beach I have EVER been to. The aqua green water, the white sand beach. It was a dream come true for me to be in such a gorgeous place.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVED IT!

Date:May 9, 2014
Leslie61
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second time I've been to Half Mon Cay and it gets better each time. It is absolutely beautiful there and I wish we could have spent a longer day. The clamshell is a great deal if you need some time out from the sun. It is possible to find some shady spots if you drag a beach chair to a space near a tree but it is not as good. You can fit three beach chairs under the clamshell and it is very nice to really have your own spot to claim.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
12out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lovely way to enjoy a tropical island

Date:April 18, 2014
SueMarie
Location:Ontario, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
We rented the Clamshell Sunshade for the day at Half Moon Cay and were very glad we did. The sun in March was quite hot and the clamshell allowed the two of us to relax on the two lounges that are provided and enjoy the beach and view of the water in some shade. We recommend that Holland America tell those who purchase tickets that you need to look for staff in bright yellow shirts to give them your tickets. Then you simply choose a clamshell that has not been taken.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Clamshell Sunshade Rental

Date:March 20, 2014
Woolly
Location:Falls Church, VA
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There was less of a built-up area than I had expected -- just a couple of shops, a bar, the luncheon area and restrooms. The area was very pleasant, however, clean and well-maintained. The clamshell was nice and I liked having a "home base". Good value.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must for shade

Date:March 3, 2014
LindaJean
Location:Astoria, OR
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was great to have this shade and anyone who likes the beach but also wants a little shade pay the small price and get it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Book early

Date:March 1, 2014
Deborah
Location:California
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
These clamshells are wonderful, providing wonderful shade and privacy. Just book them as quickly as possible because they go very fast, especially if there's another chip in port at the same time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Shade for the Day

Date:February 14, 2014
fishingcruiser
Location:Illinois
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was well worth the expense to have a home base for the day on the island. They are limited in number so reserve early- probably before the cruise begins as they sold out the day we were there. Half Moon Cay is absolutely beautiful for both the beach and the water. There is not a lot of shade on the beach so the clamshell does give you some shade.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Necessary. There is no shade on the beach.

Date:January 31, 2014
SouthSeaLady
Location:Williamsburg, VA
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are only a handful of these available, and it will make or break whether you want to stay on the beach. There is no natural shade, so you are stuck if you don't book one of these early.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Clamshell shade

Date:January 30, 2014
Chippie
Location:Pennsylvania
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We were the only ship in port and arrived early so there was no problem getting the clamshell. We were under the impression that a clamshell would be the only means to be out of the sun. However, there were several locations on the beach where one could find a break from the sun. We really didn't need the clamshell, but yet the value was reasonable.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Clamshell Rental

Date:January 18, 2014
KimD
Location:NJ
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Do this ASAP. We needed two and a month ahead they were already sold out.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must for the beach!

Date:January 8, 2014
FreezingInIllinois
Location:Illinois
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was great to have some shade. We were at Half Moon Cay on a warm sunny day.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disorganized and on a slant

Date:January 6, 2014
inmy30s
Location:Victoria, BC Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Was on the first tender. Don't think everyone had woken up yet as everyone was on "island" speed. It was almost like they'd never done this before. Hello wake up. There was one person for all of us and nobody really to tell you where to go exactly.
Some people tried to set up their own and then were told that those were for disabled guests. Then a second person started setting some up which helped but then a third started and let some guests just use the shells set aside for those with disabilities. They were closer to the boat and actually on flat beach. A lot of the shells are right at the back of the beach which makes sense as you don't want to block everyone's view but my chairs were balanced on coral and on such an incline it wasn't comfortable to sit.
I did an excursion, lunch and then a walk on the beach so prob didn't need the clamshell. Wish I'd walked down the beach further to lay in one of the hammocks. If you need shade then go for the shell.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Clamshell Sunshade Rental (Includes 2 Chairs)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Nice!

Date:December 4, 2013
2OregonGirls
Location:Oregon
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved the sunshade, was easy to locate someone to help. Nice place to sit out of the sun. Only problem we had was when we left to do your excursion someone took over our shell. Attendant said just move their stuff out and take it back but one of our fellow shade dwellers was leaving and gave us theirs. Would rent one again. Great value
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>