Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Cadiz (Seville), Spain or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Stunning Seville

Stunning Seville

A scenic drive through Andalusia’s cork plantations brings you to Seville—Spain’s fourth-largest city. Your walking tour begins with an inside visit at Seville’s cathedral—the Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Sea. Next, you will spend time in the magnificent Alcazar, a monument to the Moorish occupation of Spain, surrounded by glorious gardens. Following an in-depth walking tour around the old Jewish Quarter, lunch is served buffet-style at a local restaurant. In the afternoon, a panoramic drive will show you the new and cosmopolitan part of Seville. The Torre del Oro and La Giralda Tower are seen on this part of the tour.Notes:The Alcazar is the official residence of the King of Spain when he is in Seville and it is subject to closure at any time, in which case Casa Pilatos will be substituted. Travel time to Seville is approximately 1½ hours each way. The cathedral is closed on Sundays; you will view it from the outside and a visit to Casa Pilatos will be substituted.
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
10 out of 13(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stunning Seville
Review 1 for Stunning Seville
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lots to see in Seville!

Date:October 4, 2014
tommer
Location:Oklahoma
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although the drive did not seem to be that scenic, the city certainly was! The Cathedral of Seville is massive and the architecture is amazing to see. Alcazar is a Moorish palace, similar to the Alhambra in decorative design just on a smaller scale and not up on a hill, but just a wonderous and enjoyable to see. We also stopped at Plaza de Espana, not mentioned in the excursion description and it was another great sight. Lunch was a buffet, okay but nothing out of the ordinary. We did a lot in the time allowed for the excursion without it all being on the bus so it was definitely worthwhile.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stunning Seville
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Can you hear me now???

Date:May 2, 2014
vancscribbler
Location:Vancouver Canada
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice scenery en route and in Seville ...but almost totally useless tour if you really want to learn about what you are seeing. The guide was knowledgeable (from the tidbits I heard) but with large bus group, often began his explanations before most of us had caught up to him; also such a soft voice could barely hear him unless standing beside him; not to mention (but let's!) noise from all the other tourist groups nearby (esp inside cathedral etc.) and HUGE amounts of traffic and construction noise almost everywhere. This tour BADLY NEEDS headsets audio to hear guide.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stunning Seville
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Truly a stunning city!

Date:April 28, 2014
CADS
Location:Grapevine, TX
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of my favorite tours. Seville is a beautiful mix of times, architecture and history. Our tour guide was terrific. Especially enjoyed Alcazar and the Jewish Quarter.. Lunch was a local buffet and was quite good A tour well worth the time and money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stunning Seville
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful city of Seville

Date:January 2, 2014
Albertagrandma
Location:Alberta, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We had been to Cadiz before so decided to do the pricier tour of Seville. We are so glad we did. I was a bit leary about all of the walking, but it is an excellent tour with not many stairs and easy walkways.. If you can manage to walk around for 3 hours you will have no problem. It is a slow pace but non stop. Take water and a snack though as lunch was later in the afternoon. We were there on a Sunday so didn't see inside the Cathedral but it is such a beautiful city that it didn't matter as there was so much else to see, including the Alcazar. Our guide was excellent and we had no trouble hearing him as he talked about the history of the places. Lunch was a very nice buffet and was welcomed by all as it was about 2:30 or so. Our last stop was the Spanish Square that was done for the 1992 exhibition and it was magnificent. We had about 20 minutes there to walk around and appreciate. We got many great photos , had a great time, learned a lot and were so glad we went.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stunning Seville
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Stunning Seville

Date:December 1, 2013
Dolphin13
Location:Fort Myers, Florida
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Stunning Seville was the best excursion we have ever taken after ten sailings with Holland America and many excursions. Our guide was excellent giving us all the information about the area. We walked around the Old French Quarter for about 20 minutes giving us time to shop. The Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Sea and the Alcazar were magnificent followed by an excellent buffet lunch at a lovely hotel. Our last stop was the Torre del Oro and Giralda Tower and a place not to be missed. Anyone visiting Spain should definitely take the excursion to Seville.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stunning Seville
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great things to see, agenda needs to be improved

Date:September 27, 2013
Seatheworld
Location:Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We loved seeing the Alcazar and Seville. The Alcazar is definitely worth visiting, and the cathedral was beautiful. Although it is a long drive, it was worth it. Seville is a beautiful city, and not to be missed!
The drawback with this particular excursion was the tour was not properly scheduled/organized. This could easily be fixed.
As per the agenda, it was an early start and lunch was scheduled for the end of the tour. That meant going from a breakfast at about 7 am to a lunch scheduled at 3pm (about 8 hours!) with lots of walking and touring in between. Then, although we arrived at the hotel (with many other tour buses from many cruise lines) at 3 pm, it took at least 20 minutes to wait in the buffet line before you actually got your lunch. The hotel had two huge banquet style rooms filled with bus passengers. Each of these rooms basically had one buffet line, hence the long wait. Had there been multiple stations it might have been better...but who knows? It was very busy and very poorly organized.
HAL needs to extricate itself from this situation. There are several possibilities 1) adjusting the schedule (although that may not help as it will be affected by what other cruise lines are doing); or 2) picking a different venue for lunch than the other cruise lines are using; or 3) not including lunch and instead giving people an hour at around lunchtime to find a cafe to grab a bite or wander a bit on their own, before resuming the tour. This would give people the opportunity to sample local cuisine/ tapas at a local restaurant, or wander around experiencing the local flavours of Seville....before resuming the tour itself.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stunning Seville
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Stunning Seville

Date:May 30, 2013
Elena
Location:Los Angeles, Ca
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
That's right! Stunning Seville. Can't describe the beauty and the art in this magnificent city. All three – the Alcazar, the Seville Cathedral, and the Archivo de Indias – are UNESCO World Heritage sites. All three were built in the Mudejar style. Still in very good condition.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stunning Seville
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Stunning Seville

Date:September 28, 2012
BARCELONAPETE
Location:NEW YORK
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A TRULY STUNNING EXCURSION. ALTHOUGH THE BUS RIDE WAS LONG OUR GUIDE DID A WONDERFUL JOB EXPLAINING EVERYTHING THAT WE SAW.
OUR WALKING TOURS WERE WONDERFUL AS WE HAD THE VERY BEST GUIDE THAT I EVER ENCOUNTERED IN ALL MY YEARS OF TRAVELING.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+14points
18out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stunning Seville
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2011
Yathrik
Location:Langley BC, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
En route to Savilla we saw lots of Olive plantation and did not see any "cork plantation" as advertised! Any way this was a great excursion. The Guide was great. We enjoyed the drive, walk, sumptuous lunch followed by visit the Cathedral and more walking tour! Time well spent.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stunning Seville
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SEVILLE IS NOT TO BE MISSED!

Date:September 18, 2011
BTK34759
Location:Orlando
Cruise Date Year:2010
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had a wonderful day touring the Cathedral and the Alcazar. Our local tour guide was well spoken, considerate of making sure everyone could hear her before she started to explain the history of what we were about to see. She was very adept at keeping the group together, and then allowing free time for wandering and photos. Driving thru Seville is a feast for the eyes... the architecture of the buildings, the local women dressed for the fair, bridal couples posing for photos in a local park, the lovely horse and carriages clip clopping along the thoroughfares, street performers entertaining the throngs of people...just wonderful memories of a lovely city...topped off by a delicious late lunch of local specialties served in a lovely dining room of a local hotel.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Stunning Seville
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

great city-bad tour

Date:June 4, 2011
nola
Location:memphis, tn
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
have taken many HA sponsored tours-did not enjoy this one primarily because of the guide we had (Carlos). he started off fine, walking us into seville, allowing bathroom break-but then didn't wait for group to gather around him to start talking and explaining a site, and did not talk loudly enough for group to hear, or use headsets-so much of commentary not heard or understood by much of group. walked far ahead of group-straggled out for about 2 blocks behind him, never waited-pointed out sights, but group not all there to see or learn what it was. arrived at cathedral just before mass starting, so only had 8-10 minutes inside (no guide), started to line at alcazar, but was too long so walked us about 3-4 blocks over for break and to wait for bus-too early for meal, so blocks back toalcazar line, still too long, so walk 3 -4 blocks other direction to meet bus to meal-had requested gluten free meal available on tour, but no meal was available, and guide's nonchalant attitude was "eat the fruit and vegetables, no?"-no other help offered. glad my daughter had some gluten free meal bars with her! overall meal not great but as expected with large number of bus tours present. after meal, back to alcazar- rest of tour same-what we saw of city was lovely, would like to return someday with better guide to learn more about it. this was the most frustrating tour i have ever been on-and wasn't cheap!
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Stunning Seville
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Seville in April

Date:May 9, 2011
AuntG
Location:Ontario Canada
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Seville is a beautiful city. There are many orange trees on the streets and it is very green. The Cathedral is amazing, the high altar glitters with gold. The Alcazar is very interesting but is the smaller version of the Alhambra in Granada. The buffet lunch is delicious and plentiful, wine is also served. One drawback, though, is with a full busload of tourists, the voice of the guide can hardly be heard. There should be audio headsets.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Stunning Seville
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Seville is indeed stunning!

Date:November 15, 2010
Carol
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a wonderful tour! Our guide spoke excellent English, although a little fast for me to catch everything. The Alcazar was closed so we visited a Casa de Pilatus - fascinating. The visit to the Cathedral alone worth the trip. Beautiful drives & walks through the city. Lunch buffet style in a tourist-type hotel was delicious, though a LOT of food.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.