Holland America Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sky Walk in the Forest

Sky Walk in the Forest

Visit the Sky Walk in the Forest, consisting of trails and three cable bridges, to see birds and animals living in the treetops. More than 120 species of birds have been identified here, as well as kinkajou, agoutis and coatis. The 1½ hour walk downhill is moderate-to-strenuous and affords breathtaking views of the coastline. Trails may be muddy sometimes as it rains frequently. Having experienced the thrill of the bridges and trails, fresh fruit and water will replenish some of the energy left behind in the forest. Make the most of some free time to browse for a gift or two at a shopping village located within the premises. A 45-minute drive on a straight and flat road brings you back to the pier. Time and weather permitting, you’ll stop briefly to observe some of the world's largest crocodiles from a nearby bridge at the Tarcoles River.Notes:Minimum age is 8 years. Bring binoculars; wear light clothing and hiking shoes. Not suitable for wheelchairs. Wildlife sightings are likely but are not guaranteed.
Average Customer Rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
5 out of 7(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sky Walk in the Forest
Review 1 for Sky Walk in the Forest
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

You gotta be kidding.

Date:March 28, 2014
Johnnie
Location:Indiana, US
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
An incredible waste of time and money. No birds, no animals, no attraction . The bridges might as well have been strung in a park in New Hampshire. This is trying way too hard to construct something from absolutely nothing. Stay on the boat.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sky Walk in the Forest
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Into the woods

Date:November 6, 2013
Diamonds4ever
Location:Fort Lauderdale, FL
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We booked this excursion expecting an easy, picturesque walk in the woods, which is what we got. What we also got was too many people for one guide (23) especially when the cable bridges we were transversing were clearly marked: "Maximum Capacity - 18 people." Due to the group's size, the poor souls at the rear of the column heard almost none of the guide's remarks. Also, some participants chose to make the hike in open-toed sandals, rather than hiking boots (or at the very least sneakers), as requested in the excursion description. They should NOT have been allowed on the trail, as they were a danger to themselves and others.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sky Walk in the Forest
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Walk in the Woods

Date:March 22, 2013
Lorenzo
Location:Bremeton, WA
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Although our guide, Jeremy, was very, very nice, there just was not much to see, except three or so suspension bridges, a couple of crocodiles viewed from the highway, and some not-so-exotic birds. A highlight were the leaf-cutting ants. We spent an hour & 15 minutes in the nice gift shop, but only an hour on the trail. From what I heard back on the ship was that the Rainforest Canopy Zipline & Aerial Tram Combination was a lot better.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sky Walk in the Forest
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

little disappointing

Date:February 5, 2013
BVandJ
Location:Sweet Home OR
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Beautiful country, moved a little to fast and the group was so large that we couldn't hear our guide over all pretty good but we found ourselves wishing we would have picked another excursion. They won't let me put in 2013 so i marked 2012. I would recommend if there was enough time to see more places in Costa rRca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sky Walk in the Forest
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This excusion was awesome!

Date:December 1, 2012
Percy
Location:Wisconsin
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the outstanding excursion of our entire Panama Canal cruise. The walk through the rain forest was excellent, and because of our guide, Diana, we want to return to Costa Rica. Diana was one of the best guides we've had during our years of cruising. She was extremely knowledgeable and gave us all a very real picture of her beautiful country.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sky Walk in the Forest
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful tour.

Date:October 31, 2011
PeggyF
Location:Missouri
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Surprisingly easy walk downhill although it did not rain so the trails were easily navigated for us. Wear sturdy shoes. Swinging bridges were well maintained although not an easy task for those afraid of heights. We loved the hike and the resort where we stopped for a break was clean and the people were friendly but we were not pushed to buy anything.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sky Walk in the Forest
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Skywalk

Date:March 3, 2011
Albertan
Location:Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very enjoyable tour. Our guide David, a very knowledgeable young man, and a great ambassador for his country, did a very good job of providing information about his country and especially the countryside that was unfolding before us on our bus tour. He kept it light and informative without going overboard (he had a great sense of humour). The first stop at the very pleasant resort was a good opportunity for a break (for those needing to know, the washrooms were very clean), and there was no pressure to purchase anything. The drive up to the cable bridges was taken very slowly and carefully over the gravel road by the driver - who was excellent. Saw lots of bird species ( including a beautiful toucan who more or less 'posed' for us) and a few insects (mostly leaf cutter ants), but be aware that most of the animals and reptiles are nocturnal and naturally very shy, so do not expect to see much wildlife. The cable suspension bridges are well maintained and safe. My wife and I found it an easy walk downhill - as did others much older than us (in their 70s and possibly 80s?) - on this tour. It could be tricky if it was really wet, but if proper footwear is chosen with good grip, there should not be a problem. The trails are moderately steep. We stopped back at the resort for a pleasant walk around the area, again with no pressure to purchase. On the way back to the ship we stopped on a bridge, high above the river, and there below were probably a dozen good sized crocodiles swimming in the river or lying in the red mud waiting for their next meal. The roads in Costa Rica are well maintained, as was our tour bus. Very enjoyable tour for the price, and a good way to see some of the Costa Rica countryside with the thoughts of a longer holiday in this wonderful country. We are not in the travel business, but like to see potential places to re-visit. This would be one of them. Highly recommended.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.