Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Naples, Italy or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for The Ruins of Pompeii

The Ruins of Pompeii

From the pier, it’s a 45-minute ride by motor coach to the remarkable ruins of Pompeii, perfectly preserved since the eruption of Mt Vesuvius in AD 79. On a guided walking tour you will learn about the excavation techniques that have uncovered this city remarkably intact and what the residents were doing at the time of the eruption. You'll gain an insight into the lives of the ancient Romans as you discover baths, theatres, temples, markets and the huge forum. A stop at a local cameo factory is included before your return to the ship and the present-day by motor coach. Notes:Shade is limited; please dress accordingly. Bring a hat and wear sunscreen. Wear comfortable walking shoes. Use of an audio headset (included) will enhance your tour experience.
Average Customer Rating:
4.318 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
19 out of 22(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Ruins of Pompeii
Review 1 for The Ruins of Pompeii
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:December 21, 2013
Kahuna
Location:Texas
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tour was one of the highlights of our trip! The guide was very knowledgeable and did not spend too much time on things we were not interested in. (The stop at the cameo factory was more of an excuse for a restroom break and a chance to get a drink or shop the street vendors. There was no pressure to buy.) Pompeii itself was fascinating. We were amazed at how well preserved some of the buildings were. Don't deprive yourself of this one!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Ruins of Pompeii
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing experience

Date:October 24, 2013
DerbyMaggie
Location:Derbyshire UK
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pompeii is somewhere that everyone has heard of, but is so underestimated. The site is huge and the daily life of its inhabitants was clearly fascinating. Our guide Stephanie was very knowledgeable and her English was good. We were lucky with the weather but the ground was very wet after an earlier downpour, so we were glad we had worn decent footwear to dodge the puddles and uneven surfaces. We were pleased that the trip took place early in the day as the site began to get busy as we were leaving to get back to the ship. So glad we chose this excursion.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Ruins of Pompeii
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointing

Date:August 18, 2013
Blinkbonny
Location:New Zealand
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I found this trip to be disappointing. The guide was far too verbose especially if asked a question with the result that we only were able to see a fraction of the ruins. He seemed to be obsessed with bodily functions of various kinds!!!!! Free time in the cameo factory and shops would have been better spent in the ruins or museum.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Ruins of Pompeii
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing!

Date:August 17, 2013
Anonymous
Location:Sao Paulo, Brazil
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good excursion. Our tour guide Guido was very very good: perfect english and knows so much about the history of the region. The excursion begins with some views of the Vesuvio on our way to the city. Then you get to visit a cameo factory, and it is beautiful to see their works of art. Then you will take about 2 hours visiting Pompeii by foot. If you are traveling on the summer, be prepared for high temperatures and limited shade and breeze. Don't forget to bring water. And enjoy: it is a once in a lifetime experience.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Ruins of Pompeii
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The ruins were amazing!

Date:August 9, 2013
lovethesights
Location:Maple Ridge, B.C.
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:August
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
On the day of our tour we had to drive around Mt.Vesuvius since the highway was closed, but the country side was beautiful as well we got to look down at the seaside village of Salerno from the tour bus. We would have loved to add a visit to Salerno instead of visiting the cameo factory once we got a view of it.
Giovanni, our tour guide, was excellent. We was informative and careful to keep everyone cool. The ruins were interesting and well worth it, although take lots of water and wear a sun hat for extra shade if you visit in the summer.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Ruins of Pompeii
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Impressive ruins

Date:June 26, 2013
ActiveSightSeer
Location:Alabama
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent tour with a knowledgeable guide. The stop at the cameo factory was thankfully brief for our group. Please take the level 3 activity code for this excursion seriously, there is substantial walking, a number of steep inclines, and mostly coblestone roads. The ruins are much better preserved than I would have expected, including color frescos and mosaics. I would like to see this excursion paired with either Herculaneum or maybe Mt. Vesuvius for a full day excursioni.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Ruins of Pompeii
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Amazing Site

Date:June 23, 2013
shewall
Location:Surrey, British Columbia
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
May was a great month to visit Naples, or rather, The Ruins of Pompeii. It was warm but not too hot. We didn't go into Naples itself. The bus to the ruins traveled approximately 45 minutes through uninteresting areas. Our eyes opened wide with amazement when we arrived at the ruins and we very much appreciated our tour guide Guido who gave us much history and a good tour. All in all a great tour.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Ruins of Pompeii
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Nightmare

Date:May 14, 2013
tata
Location:Miami FL
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A very poor experience, the. tour guide did not wait for us at the entrance of the ruins, After waiting for a while to be picked up, we decided to go inside on our own after the attendant at the gate told us we should not go alone because the place was too big and we could get lost. I did not enjoy it, all I wanted was to find the group with the #19 which was our bus #. we looked around for a while and decided to exit, we were afraid the bus would go back to the ship without us. at the end we met with the group outside o thef Cameo Factory, the tour guide never knew we were missing, according to her the whole group was accounted for
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Ruins of Pompeii
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable tour

Date:November 20, 2012
OzCruiser
Location:Sydney Australia
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good introduction to Pompeii. Tour guide good, coach comfortable, pleasant & interesting trip to the Ruins. Our guide made sure we were ahead of the larger tour groups at all times.
The Cameo factory was at the entrance to the ruins, so instead of visiting the factory you could use the time as free time before joining the return coach. Coffee / snacks and souvenir stalls were available. Recommended for morning tour.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Ruins of Pompeii
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Tour

Date:October 14, 2012
MarkW
Location:Columbus, Ohio
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pompeii is great. The tour guide knew his stuff. It was a great overview. The location was very crowded.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Ruins of Pompeii
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pompeii - yes

Date:October 8, 2012
RFGolden
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ruins are far larger than I expected. Our guide, was very knowledgeable and offered constant explanations of what we were seeing. The tour moves fast and those lagging behind for photos could easily get lost. It would have been nice to move at a more leisurely pace, but then that would have taken far more than 2+hours we were there. It's an amazing place to visit. The tour provided a great overview of Pompeii, even though we saw only about 20% of it. Unlike other ports, there is very little in Naples near the ship that's worth seeing. Besides, one is constantly aware of pickpockets.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Ruins of Pompeii
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

ruins of Pompeii

Date:September 29, 2012
Bucketlist
Location:MD
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pompeii is an amazing place that I have visited previously. It is a must see but the guide on this trip was not up to par. He lost part of the group several times because he did not hold his sign high enough on very crowded streets He was unclear on where to meet which resulted in several people missing the bus back to the ship.
The tour of Pompeii was too short and did not cover some of the hi-lites
we had previously visited.
I would recommend you go on your own and rent the headphones that are available there.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+15points
19out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Ruins of Pompeii
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well worth seeing

Date:August 13, 2012
Ruskincountry
Location:Maple Ridge, B.C., Canada
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As a group we thoroughly enjoyed Pompeii, the coach was clean and cool ( a very hot day) , the driver was courteous and our tour guide was very knowledgable and helpful! Pompeii was a lot larger than what we had expected and so well perserved!! Our guide did a fabulous job of explaining the history. We would recommend this tour.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Ruins of Pompeii
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Much larger than I imagined

Date:July 12, 2012
MikeL
Location:Miami, Florida USA
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pompeii is a very interesting site. Our guide was very knowledgeable and enjoyed what he was doing. We each had headphones and a small radio so that we could hear what he was saying. Take plenty of water as it was very hot in late June. Also notice the tremendous poverty visible along the road leaving the port in the City of Naples. The Cameo factory is right there at the entrance to the ruins and not very interesting but is a very short presentation.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for The Ruins of Pompeii
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful view of a lost city

Date:June 17, 2012
gunner
Location:Australia
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bathhouse was unbelievable, every corner we turned revealed another treasure, I cannot believe how close Mt Vesuvius was to Pompeii. My husband was disappointed that the treasures found were not in a museum at Pompeii. I was not happy with the tour guides attitude, when asked for a brochure on the layout of the site that other visitors clearly had his offhand response was "they were back there". end of story. I would happily paid if necessary.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Ruins of Pompeii
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Glad to have Visited in May

Date:June 8, 2012
MaggieW
Location:Arizona
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were excited to finally get a chance to visit Pompeii. However, the drive to Pompeii was a bit disturbing. The litter in the streets of Catania, the widespread grafitti, the people living in plywood lean-tos in a city dump and the number of beggars were somewhat appalling. Prior reviews of the Pompeii excursion were accurate about the amount of walking and the the rugged terrain, but the history and the sights simply cannot be fully appreciated without a visit...the enormity, the grandeur of the original site built and settled by the Greeks, the fascinating changes made by the Romans and Etruscans, and the extent of the preservation. We do admit that we could not have imagined how uncomfortable the tour might be in the heat of the summer. Our temperatures were around 77 degrees with no shade, and much hotter could be brutal.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 17 for The Ruins of Pompeii
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ruins of Pompeii

Date:May 30, 2012
teach
Location:Seattle, Washington, USA
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very interesting tour - only problem was hearing guide. If you were not close to her could miss some of the commentary because of the crowds. Would have preferred more time in Pompeii rather than stop at the cameo factory. Be aware it is easy to twist an ankle on the uneven cobblestones!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for The Ruins of Pompeii
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

amazing look into the past

Date:May 5, 2012
balletskier
Location:Connecticut
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a great tour to get a sense of what life was like in the ancient past. The walking is not for the timid--very uneven stone pathways and streets with some small hills. We were the first cruise of the season to be there, and the ruins were packed with people. Our guide had to outyell another guide giving a tour in German. That being said, it was definitely worth the trip.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Ruins of Pompeii
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just Imagine If you were there!!

Date:December 12, 2011
Teddi
Location:Maine & Florida
Cruise Date Year:2009
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The amount of detail which has been restored is just unbelievable. You can see and feel the agony of the people who have been perserved. It was very hot when we were there, but most educational.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for The Ruins of Pompeii
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bets

Date:September 26, 2010
Bets
Location:Corona, CA
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this tour, the ruins are much larger and cover more area than I thought they would. It was very interesting to learn more of the culture and lifestyle of the people who lived here.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
17out of 27found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>