Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Bridgetown, Barbados or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Best of Barbados

Best of Barbados

Step aboard an air-conditioned coach for a scenic drive through the rolling hills of the Barbadian countryside to Gun Hill Signal Station. This location provides a magnificent and captivating view of the island. Its historical use was to sight ships approaching Barbados and signal to warn of the approaching vessel. Built in 1818, the signal station was beautifully restored and landscaped by the Barbados National Trust and now houses a collection of military memorabilia. An officer at the signal station carved the statue of the lion on the hillside below out of a single piece of coral in 1868. Continue on to Orchid World, which sits on six acres of land, some 800 feet above sea level in the central parish of St George. A meandering path winds its way between beautiful outcrops of coral, rock gardens, cool shady gullies and ponds. Hummingbirds and the soothing sound of running water add to the natural beauty of the surroundings. The orchids themselves are quite spectacular, with thousands growing in shaded houses and outside on freestanding palisades. Many visitors are fascinated by the sight of orchid plants growing in mid-air with their roots completely free of any soil. Wonderful photo opportunities abound for the professional and amateur photographer. Next you’ll visit Sunbury House, which dates back to 1650. The original house was destroyed by fire in 1995, and was gracefully restored and re-opened in 1996. It possesses one of the country's superior collections of antiques. The cellars, originally used for storing yams and other root vegetables grown on the plantation, now house a unique collection of antique carriages—the largest collection in the Caribbean—as well as many items used in the domestic life of the plantation. It also houses a very old collection of optical machinery and eye-testing equipment, some of the first to reach the West Indies (including the first lens grinding plant). Here, you will learn how to make Bajan Rum Punch and a local delicacy—cod fish cakes. The demonstration will leave plenty of samples to go around. In the extensively landscaped grounds, you’ll find more fine examples of authentic antique carts and machinery—used in the last century to cultivate the land. The Sunbury Plantation House, located in the tranquil St Philip countryside, is a living monument to a bygone era. It has been carefully restored and lovingly cherished by its owners for the enjoyment of generations to come.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
10 out of 12(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Best of Barbados
Review 1 for Best of Barbados
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Hope this is not the best of Barbados

Date:March 27, 2015
galpin9
Location:British Columbia
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Disappointed with this tour, if you want to see orchids and old furniture this is for you. Didnot even come close to any ocean or beach views. Only good thing was all the rum at Sunbury house.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Best of Barbados
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great introduction to Barbardos

Date:February 21, 2015
IndyCruiser
Location:Indianapolis, IN USA
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was our first time to the island and we always like to have some type of tour that gives us a good overview of the place and people. This tour completely delivered. Our tour went in the reverse order from what is in the official description. We got on board a very comfortable, modern, air-conditioned bus for the drive to the plantation. We drove for about 30 minutes and our guide pointed out all the sights along the way and told us about the history of the island and what it's like to live there. The plantation is beautiful and well preserved. If you like antiques and history, you will love this part of the tour. The grounds of the plantation are also quite beautiful. Following a guided tour of the house, we met under a beautiful fig tree for a demonstration and sampling of local drinks and delicacies. The rum was quite strong!!! The people were very enthusiastic and friendly-great way to learn more about the local culture. There is a small gift shop and bathrooms at the plantation. After a beautiful drive through the countryside, the second stop was Orchid World. The gardens and flowers are absolutely beautiful and there are some great photo opportunities, both of the gardens and the scenery in the distance. At the end of the garden tour, there are free drinks on a lovely shaded veranda, plus bathrooms and a gift shop. The final stop was at the Signal Station. A great little historical site with beautiful landscaping and amazing views. Great panoramic photo opportunities. We loved this tour-learned a lot about Barbados, saw a lot of the island and had a great time. Our only regret is we would have enjoyed even more time at the second and third stops to really soak up the beautiful surroundings. Otherwise, a great intro to Barbados.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Best of Barbados
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just what they said it would be!

Date:February 14, 2015
Oldguy
Location:Lenexa, Ks
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was a great excursion. The gun hill tour gave a scenic view of the island as well as a reminder of the times of slavery. The second stop was Orchid World. I have not seen as many beautiful flowers in my whole life. If you don't know how orchids grow you need to see this place. Its not just for ladies. I think men would be surprised at the way they are displayed.
The last stop was Sunbury House. If you are interested in seeing what things looked like for the rich on the 1650's you should see this. It was filled with antiques from various periods. There was way more to see than time allotted for this part of the tour. The rum sample presentation was fun and the rum was gooood!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Best of Barbados
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Barbados is hospitality!

Date:February 13, 2015
Collins
Location:Lenoir, North Carolina USA
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tour gave me opportunity to look at Barbados from a historical aspect, rich in detail. The trip to Sunbury Plantation was beautiful, (house full of priceless antiques); historical, (wonderful art depicting colonial Barbados); informative, hospitable and delightful. The Sunbury "mixology" girls who demonstrated making fish cakes and rum punch were a highlight of the tour - spontaneous, hospitable and fun! I suggested our guide become minister of tourism for Barbados, as she was completely professional and thoroughly tuned-in. Orchid World is beautiful and Gun Hill a good overview of history. Could not have enjoyed more, making Barbados a bucket list destination in itself. Great tour guide/wonderful experience!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Best of Barbados
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best of Barbados - a well chosen name for the tour

Date:December 21, 2014
Fredfromnipissing
Location:Canada
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A wonderful choice for a tour of Barbados. Not too long, but it gives a flavour of the island and keeps your attention the whole time. Out tour guide was great. Staff at Sunbury House put on a great show and made the day.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Best of Barbados
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the BEST

Date:May 25, 2014
IrvGar
Location:upstate NY
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tour guide could NOT have been any better. She was a world of information and couldn't do enough for you as well as leave you to yourself to enjoy. The places that we stopped on the tour were great. There was Sooo much to see and learn. What surprised us the most was the quality of life and especially the educational rate of the people. A graduation rate almost as close to the purity of the original Ivory soap. What a difference it makes when parents care. We will be sure to include this stop in a future trip so as to enjoy and learn more.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Best of Barbados
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tour Lives Up To Its Name

Date:February 9, 2013
Fizzgigg
Location:Las Vegas, Nevada
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tour was truly the Best of Barbados. Rodney, our tour guide, was very thorough in describing the neighborhoods, businesses, island history and highlights of life in Barbados. The tours of the Orchid Farm and Sunbury House plantation were terrific. The rum demo in the patio area of Sunbury House was a nice treat, It was so relaxing to sample rum drinks, cod/plantains while the rain was falling around you, Our only disappointment was not being able to shop in town because the stores were closed-it was New Year's day. But, trust me, it was a small disappointment--the tour was that good. Even though we had rain intermittenly throughout the day, it was still a great tour! Thank you Rodney!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Best of Barbados
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Overall very good

Date:January 26, 2013
TravelDan
Location:Actually Jan 2013,
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The part that made this excursion so positive was, believe it or not, the plantation. It was an extensive tour and we saw everything from spices to exotic fruits and an extremely lush landscape with a spectacular floral display. Been to Barbados a few times, this is the only thing i'd recommend other than an independent beach day.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Best of Barbados
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best of Barbados

Date:February 13, 2012
BobbieL
Location:Washington State
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had an excellent tour guide who was very interesting in the plants and orchids in the lovely botanical gardens. She had a good sense of humor and was also very adept at providing lots of interesting historical and current information about Barbados. We were surprised to see that Barbados is a rather flat (not volcanic) island. However the view from St John's church of the Atlantic coast was excellent and we very much enjoyed visiting the church and grave sites. The Sunbury plantation visit was also very interesting and we were surprised by the number of antigues on display there. All in all we felt we had a very good introduction to Barbados.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
13out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Best of Barbados
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Rather a Taste of Barbados...

Date:January 31, 2012
Holidaygirl
Location:Norfolk, UK
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unfortunately on this tour our guide was more interested in the number of Chefettes on the island, than sharing any historical or cultural information with us. Having sped past Gun Hill with no opportunity to take a photo, we continued on whilst she pointed out crops or counted down from 14, as we spotted another of the famous Barbadian fast food outlets! We led ourselves around Orchid World and were left to our own devices at St John's Parish church. Fortunately the guide at Sunbury Plantation house provided information there. This experience resulted in a lacklustre and disappointing introduction to Barbados, which is a shame as since we've returned, we've seen on TV just how beautiful and interesting the island really is...Our comments were passed to the excursion desk on our return with a suggestion that it would probably be better to call the tour a Taste of Barbados, as it comprised of a bus tour that was minimally narrated and self lead visits to quite basic tourist spots?
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Best of Barbados
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cultural Highlights

Date:January 17, 2012
Prof
Location:Sherwood Park Alberta
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The British colonial heritage is richly evident in this well-paced overview of the island: highlights include a stroll through a brilliantly coloured orchard garden with views to the coast, a tour of a reconstituted plantation house full of the evidence of past lives, and a parish church which gleams with dark wood.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Best of Barbados
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best Of Barbados

Date:November 29, 2010
msshawtay
Location:Oaklnd, CA
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughtly enjoyed this tour thanks to both our tour guide "ANNETTE" and driver "DAVID". She was very knowledgeable and he was one of the best drivers I've experienced. The locations we visited during this excursion were educational and beautiful. Orchid farm, museum and the church, all beautiful. Would do this excursion again.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.