Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Barcelona, Spain or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Gaudi's Barcelona

Gaudi's Barcelona

For a general introduction to the history of Barcelona, your coach travels through the Barceloneta fishing quarter, up Colon Avenue, and past the Columbus monument. You will enter the upper Eixample area where Gaudi’s iconic Sagrada Familia Church is located. Take photos of this marvelous structure, unique in both artistic and architectural form. Outside and inside, your guide will show you the church—the most famous of all Gaudí's creations. Next stop will be Passeig de Gracia—Barcelona’s widest avenue -where your guide will give you an explanation about La Manzana de la Discordia, so named because it features three different interpretations of Modernist architecture: Antoni Gaudí's Casa Batlló, Lluís Domènech i Montaner's Casa Lleó Morera and Josep Puig i Cadafalch's Casa Amatller. To conclude, a brief stop will be made in the Gothic Quarter to admire the exterior of Palau de la Musica Catalana, one of the most unique concert venues in the world and a of the jewel of Catalan Art Nouveau.Notes: This option is available to guests who are returning to the ship.
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gaudi's Barcelona
Review 1 for Gaudi's Barcelona
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!!

Date:March 9, 2014
Rochelle
Location:Folsom, CA
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our tour guide was great - he explained the sites we were seeing as we traveled to the Sagrada. The cathedral is AMAZING - we departed the bus a few blocks from the cathedral and walked to it, as you get closer and see the building it is truly a site. We spent time taking pictures of the outside of the building before entering. We were split into two groups to help move us through the very crowded interior - great explanations about the various components of the inside. After completing the tour we had free time to wander on our own. TIP - if you explore on your own and walk back to the bus...keep your eyes open because the bus may not return to the designated location. I almost missed the bus (along with 3 others, one was actually left there). We traveled to an avenue with various buildings from Gaudi along with other architects - what a great experience. If you love building architecture this is the tour for you!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gaudi's Barcelona
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gaudi to perfection

Date:October 18, 2013
cyrus
Location:Santa Rosa, CA
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have been to Barcelona several times and have seen it with Spanish friends, but we saw a lot more (in depth) this time. It is really a wonderful tour. Although it was a little hurried in Guell Park, it was OK. I never realized Gaudi did so many different things! Although I have seen La Sagrada Familia in different stages throughout the years, I have never been inside. Oh, my goodness! How extraordinary! Believe me, it is the most unique church I have ever seen in my life, but gorgeous. You do not want to miss it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gaudi's Barcelona
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Barcelona and Unforgettable Gaudi

Date:September 14, 2013
Emilyfran
Location:Eugene, Oregon
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:August
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
My favorite building so far has been Gaudi's church the Sagrada Familia. It was breathtaking!!!. Our tour guide was informative and friendly. She pointed out features of the church that made it even more rewarding. We drove by his other buildings and had time to stroll his park. I had studied Gaudi before coming and still had my breath taken away when I entered his church. My husband is handicapped so he did a shorter stroll at the park and still had a great time. This excursion was at the end of our trip so we were little tired but plan on returning to Barcelona as soon as we can to spend more time in this great city.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gaudi's Barcelona
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing, fantastic

Date:May 13, 2013
Snuffy
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Sagrada Familia, Gaudi's Cathedral, was undescribably beautiful, even more so inside than outside!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gaudi's Barcelona
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 5, 2012
Albertagrandma
Location:Alberta, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Saw Park Guell- lots of walking and lots of steps. Walked two blocks to the church and around church so on your feet most of the tour. It was interesting to see the Famila Sagreda Church but I think there were far more beautiful churches in England and Europe even though not so large as this one will be when finished in 2026. Good value for the money and drive through city was good.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gaudi's Barcelona
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2012
angtenn
Location:Tennessee
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Best introduction for first time visit to Barcelona. Impressed by the architect's designs and modern thinking. The details about the Cathedral's construction, materials and plan were mind boggling to one who enjoys seeing different styles of building and design and our guide was so knowledgeable. This tour was well worth the money
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gaudi's Barcelona
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Do Not Miss This Tour

Date:June 22, 2012
JimM
Location:Illinois
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everyone should see this church and have a tour guide describe all of the elements that make up the design both of the outside and the inside. The Guell Park is equally as impressive. Gaudi was both a master architect and a visionary.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gaudi's Barcelona
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Tour does not follow the description

Date:October 16, 2011
catgirl
Location:Colorado, USA
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We received a little flyer that had the description as written above. Unfortunately our tour was in reverse. We wasted about 40-45 minutes unloading and loading the bus for pictures at the Casa Mila - very interesting architecture, but could have taken the pictures from the bus window. Then went to Parc Guell, again very interesting, but spent too long and walked too much there. Finally when we did arrive at La Sagrada Familia, it was a mob scene inside & out. Our guide herded us to a souvenir shop across the street from the church and spent about 30" buying the tickets. The church itself is fantastic - has to be seen to be believed, but we sure would have rather gone there first as the tour description stated, before the huge crowds arrived. And, the bigger problem was that our guide was not at all proficient in English, which she admitted, usually took Italian or French tourists, so we didn't have very good interpretations of the structure. Also, there were no earphones provided, so only the few people in our tour who could get right next to the guide were able to hear her at all. Our friends on the cruise took the HOP-ON, HOP-OFF bus to the cathedral, had no problem getting tickets & entering, rented the earphones & spent longer in the church and about 1/4 of the price that we did. Sure wish we would have done the same. The only reason we didn't rate this tour a "1 star" was that we did get to see the fantastic artwork that Gaudi created.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gaudi's Barcelona
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Gaudi Barcelona

Date:September 4, 2011
maths314
Location:New York
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:August
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The information as we rode through the city to Park Guel was good and the park was very interesting. The Sagrada Familia was fantastic. The tour information was fine but the graetest value was easy entrance into the bacilica. The interior of the church is stunning, and I found it much more impressive than the 2 completed facads which are the most advertised areas of the attraction.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gaudi's Barcelona
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gaudi Tour

Date:November 30, 2010
CraigP
Location:Washington, DC
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tour of Gaudi architecture in Barcelona was absolutely facinating. The cathedral was most interesting.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
11out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gaudi's Barcelona
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gaudi the Architect

Date:October 17, 2010
Kookaburra
Location:Australia
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For those who enjoy architecture and art's interface, this is the tour of choice. Be prepared for crowds! A little walking involved in Parco Guell, up and down steps (not for wheelchair bound people). Souvenir shop across the road stocks multi-lingual publications, and great postcards.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.