Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Livorno (Florence/Pisa), Italy or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for A Taste of Tuscany: Lucca, Villa Lucchese & Farmhouse

A Taste of Tuscany: Lucca, Villa Lucchese & Farmhouse

A 45-minute drive will bring you to the walled city of Lucca for a walking tour to the beautiful Cathedral of San Martino,the Piazza Anfiteatro, the Church of San Frediano, Guinigi's Tower and the outside of the Church of San Michele. Browse on your own during some free time, then meet back up in the Piazzale Verdi to leave Lucca by coach. Stopping at a typical farmhouse, where estate-grown olive oil is produced, enjoy a Tuscan lunch. Afterwards, location permitting, visit the wine cellars or the olive grove under the guidance of the owner. From there, it’s just 15 minutes by coach to Villa Torrigiani—one of the most important and beautiful houses in the Lucchese territory, with beautiful fountains and trees. Step inside the villa; then, you will have time to stroll in the garden on your own.Notes:Most shops are closed on statutory holidays, on Sundays and on Monday mornings. Use of an audio headset (included) will enhance your tour experience.
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 out of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Taste of Tuscany: Lucca, Villa Lucchese & Farmhouse
Review 1 for A Taste of Tuscany: Lucca, Villa Lucchese & Farmhouse
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Taste of Tuscany

Date:July 4, 2014
Bkasmar
Location:South Windsor, Ct
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a very nice tour. On the bus trip we viewed beautiful Tuscan scenery, from a distance the Tower of Pisa. Lucca is a walled city. We enjoyed walking the city. Unfortunately it rained. However, there were numerous umbrella vendors that came to the rescue. The highlight of the trip was the lunch at the farmhouse. The owner and the staff were very awesome. We feasted on local wines, salad, a great pasta dish, and the main dish which was thinly sliced pork. The Villa visit was ok. The guide that led the tour was a member of the family. We could not take pictures inside.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for A Taste of Tuscany: Lucca, Villa Lucchese & Farmhouse
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Excellent Italian Experience

Date:June 27, 2014
fcarmstr
Location:Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The drive to the walled city of Lucca was wonderful. The Italian countryside is so scenic with rolling hills and lots of orchards and vineyards. We were also able to see the leaning tower of Pizza off in the distance.We were pleased with our guide but she didn't seem as enthused about her job as the ones on our other excursions were but overall acceptable. When we got to Lucca we found out that the walking tour was about 2 hours long and as it was a hot day we decided just to explore Lucca ourselves and the guide gave us the time and where to meet which worked out well as we just meandered at our own pace. This is a very interesting city with streets going every which way and some very narrow and you have to watch for bikes and motorbikes whizzing by at times.
The meal at the farmhouse was so awesome, not to be missed and the host who is the farm owner was very very nice. We bought some wine and olive oil there before we left.
The Villa was amazing but you couldn't take pictures inside as it is privately owned.
This excursion should be on the top of everyones list.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for A Taste of Tuscany: Lucca, Villa Lucchese & Farmhouse
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

OMG. Lucca and the farmhouse, amazing.

Date:December 26, 2013
homegirl822
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:August
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lucca is the greatest little town. It was our second time there and we completely enjoyed it. The farmhouse was by far the highlight of the day. We could have just spent the day there relaxing and enjoying being in a tuscan home and countryside. The Villa was not worth the visit. Tour operators should give you more time at the farmhouse and eliminate the villa. By far, one of my best tours yet!!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for A Taste of Tuscany: Lucca, Villa Lucchese & Farmhouse
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best of the trip, don't miss

Date:September 14, 2013
Emilyfran
Location:Eugene, Oregon
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:August
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
This was the best of our cruise. Lucca is a town that you need to savor and revisit. The walls enclosing this quaint Italian town with its churches and wonderful shops and buildings was fantastic. Then we took a scenic drive to a hilltop farm with the best lunch and friendly staff. The wine was delicious and you could purchase some but there was no pressure. My husband is handicapped and had no problems keeping up. We are both vegetarian and loved the lunch. Then finally the beautiful villa with wonderful gardens was a good ending. We chose this trip to see the countryside and the trip delivered and more. I would book again and highly recommend it to others.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for A Taste of Tuscany: Lucca, Villa Lucchese & Farmhouse
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Taste of Tuscany:Lucca, Villa Lucchese,Farmhouse

Date:July 1, 2013
happycruisers
Location:Richmond Va
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We enjoyed everything about this tour. The guides were very knowledgeable, considerate and friendly. The lunch exceeded our expectations and Lucca was outstanding. This was among our favorite excursions.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for A Taste of Tuscany: Lucca, Villa Lucchese & Farmhouse
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful alternative to a quick trip to Florence

Date:May 21, 2013
TheMaestro
Location:Texas
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had been to Florence several times and more than that, it was a Monday, when all the Florence museums and best sites are closed. (Only the shops and some Churches are open.) We chose this trip because the various tourist review sites said that Lucca was great. I agree. The tour picked up a specialist guide for the city when we arrived and the walking tour inside the walls and narrow streets was wonderful. We had enough time to shop on our own and spend some time in the museum and birth place of Puccini, "the greatest composer of Italian opera after Verdi". We like opera and spent some time in this small museum which had original scores, set designs and costumes of his early productions. We then had a delightful tour by bus, through Tuscany and stopped for a great lunch at a working olive and wine farm. It was low key and very tasty. There was "endless" wine being served at lunch. It was so good I bought three bottles (9 euro each) to take back to the ship. The tour ended with a stop at the Villa Lucchese. This was a fine example of a country home of the Nobles in the 18th century. It is in near orginal condition with the actual furniture and artwork used by the family over the past few centuries. Our guides gave us a lot of information into the historical perspective of the locals' culture. This was well worth the price.....
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for A Taste of Tuscany: Lucca, Villa Lucchese & Farmhouse
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Congenial guide and superb food experience

Date:November 13, 2011
Lana
Location:Minnesota, USA
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We wanted to avoid a "big city" or "cattle car" experience, so we opted for a low key tour to the Tuscan village of Lucca, followed by a delightful 4 course lunch at an olive oil producing farmstead. The afternoon ended with a tour of the beautiful Villa Lucchese. Our driver negotiated narrow roads with the greatest of ease. Our guide used transportation time to give us his insider's insight into the historical perspective of the locals' culture and geography.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+21points
23out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 8 for A Taste of Tuscany: Lucca, Villa Lucchese & Farmhouse
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Taste of Tuscany: Lucca, Villa Luchesse and Farm

Date:November 6, 2011
Stargazer
Location:Charlotte, NC
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful way to see Tuscany. It was my favorite excursion of my entire trip. Lucca is a magical place and is everything I expected it to be. We had a great guide and a really lovely morning tour. The afternoon at the farmhouse and the excellent lunch we had made it complete. Everyone had fun and enjoyed the day. I hope to go back again. This is a great excursion.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+17points
21out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 9 for A Taste of Tuscany: Lucca, Villa Lucchese & Farmhouse
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A visit to Lucca

Date:October 23, 2011
Happytraveler1
Location:Michigan
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife and I enjoyed a day at Lucca, the farm house lunch and villa visit. We had been to Pisa and Florence, so Lucca seem to be next to visit. We chose to walk around Lucca on our own, whick gave us plently of time to shop, have a coffee and take pictures. The farm house lunch was very good and the villa visit was very interesting. It was a very sunny day, and the tour guide was excellent.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for A Taste of Tuscany: Lucca, Villa Lucchese & Farmhouse
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This is a waste of time and money.

Date:November 17, 2010
underwhelmed
Location:Portland, OR
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A "taste" of Tuscany, the double meaning of which our tour director condescendingly thought I didn't understand, tasted terrible. The only worthwhile part was our free time in Lucca, where, in retrospect we would have been delighted to spend the entire day. The "lunch" and "farmhouse" were decidely unimpressive, and were actually just an effort to get people to buy wine. Villa Torrigiani was not worth a trip, a fourth or fifth tier lesser noble house. The price for this unimpressive day was very steep. I would not recommend it.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+22points
27out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 11 for A Taste of Tuscany: Lucca, Villa Lucchese & Farmhouse
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Tuscan Gem

Date:November 17, 2010
Cliver
Location:Grey Highlands, Ontarion Canada
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I both thoroughly enjoyed this excursion. Lucca is a cute little old city with many unusual churches and neat shops. The Tuscan farmhouse and lunch was fantastic. The food and wine were plentiful and the hosts gracious. While you could purchase their wine and olive oil, there was no pressure. Villa Lucchese was unbelievable. Our guide was excellent, and made sure that we were all together. She had much knowledge of the area to impart.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.