Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop San Juan, Puerto Rico or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for A Stroll through Old San Juan

A Stroll through Old San Juan

Savor the distinctive Old-World flavor of San Juan with a short bus ride to San Felipe del Morro Fortress, a local treasure and a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Visit Ballajá Barracks and the Museum of the Americas—great examples of San Juan’s Spanish heritage—complete with exhibitions of popular and folk art of Latin America and Indian civilizations. Walk past Quincentennial Square and San José Church to visit the Dominican Convent. Your stroll will take you down Cristo Street and past Caleta de las Monjasto La Rogativa Monument, the Cristo Chapel and San Juan Bautista Cathedral. Enjoy the beautiful view out to San Juan Bay, La Fortaleza and San Juan Gate.
Average Customer Rating:
3.978 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
5
36 out of 46(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Stroll through Old San Juan
Review 1 for A Stroll through Old San Juan
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely Wonderful!

Date:February 13, 2011
LoVilla
Location:South Florda
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ramon, our guide, gave us the best 3-hours of our lives. At 77, this man is a dynamo both as a walker and historian. We learned so much about the island's history and culture, to say the least. Terrific value.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+28points
42out of 56found this review helpful.
Review 2 for A Stroll through Old San Juan
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

You get to see a lot of old San Juan

Date:January 24, 2015
Indyanna
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bus ride up the hill is a real boon. However, it's a LOT of walking and stair climbing after that. Our guide has lived in San Juan for many years and really enjoyed showing off his city; he was full of historical and cultural knowledge. We are not all that fit and was glad that the main thrust of the tour was walking downhill. We did opt out of the very steep stairway to the lower part of El Morro. One does need to pay attention to ones footing due to cobblestones and uneven sidewalks. We were almost back to the ship when the tour ended - just a few blocks' walk away.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for A Stroll through Old San Juan
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not Worth the Money

Date:January 24, 2015
Tarheel
Location:North Carolina
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Our tour guide command of the English language was poor. There was a festival at the time of the tour so we had to walk to Morro Fortress as the bus couldn't travel on the crowded streets. On the way up to the fortress some of the other sites listed were in use by the vendors because of the festival, the crowds were large, the tour guides amplifier didn't work so you couldn't hear the limited descriptions of the sites she was suppose to show the group. For future tours they shouldn't be offered when there are festivals scheduled.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for A Stroll through Old San Juan
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Extremely interesting stroll through old town!

Date:January 21, 2015
Manos
Location:Dallas
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was indeed a very good choice if you are interested in visiting old San Juan! A motor coach took us to the castle and from there our stroll began! Our guide was a lovely older Puerto Rican lady who was extremely energetic, knowledgable and polite and easily understood! She gave us all the info we needed for the castle and from there we visited the museum which was close by. The best part was the stroll through the streets of old town which is a site not to be missed! We actually walked by ourselves back to the ship, visited several souvenir shops on the way and still had time to spare! This excursion obviously requires a considerable amount of walking but it's well worth it!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for A Stroll through Old San Juan
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Old City

Date:May 14, 2014
Arkie
Location:Fairview,Tx
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thoroughly enjoyed the old fort San Felipe del Morro and the stroll through Old San Juan. Steve did an excellent job in narrating this excursion. He was very excited and very knowledgeable--walking backward most of the time so that he could face us while speaking to us! The fort is awesome and the old city is beautiful with a very interesting history!
I highly recommend this excursion.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for A Stroll through Old San Juan
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Walking tour of the fort

Date:May 14, 2014
Mizzy
Location:St. Petersburg, Florida
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent time in the old fort----you can wander around for several hours and still not see it all. If you have the Golden Age Passport your entry fee is covered. The fort is walking distance from the ship and the town free trolly can be used to travel all around and get you to the other end of the fort area. Time well spent.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
18out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 7 for A Stroll through Old San Juan
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Entertaining

Date:April 15, 2014
Walkman
Location:Panama City Beach, Florida
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good tour, and definitely worth the money. The only problem is with the walking, very extensive. Scenery is great.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for A Stroll through Old San Juan
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Urban Climb - not a Stroll

Date:April 8, 2014
LizCruise
Location:Memphis, TN
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Parts of this tour are very interesting but it is too intense for anyone with any kind of mobility problems. It should not be called a Stroll because a lot of fast walking is needed to keep up. I think it should be called an Urban Hike or Climb because there is such a distance to walk and there are so many steps to climb. This was listed as a two-person activity when we booked it but I see it has been updated to three which is much more appropriate. Three out of our group of four couldn't finish.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for A Stroll through Old San Juan
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Stroll Through Old San Juan

Date:April 8, 2014
snooks
Location:Northern California
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We had a local I think Hernandez the name, could not understand barely a word he said, it was all about him, it was so bad i felt i almost didn't want to come to Puerto Rico again, he wasted 3 hours of a short day. Fort was enjoyable but that was self led. All 3 of us were of the same concensus. Horrible. The other man doing tour at same time was lively and you could understand him.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for A Stroll through Old San Juan
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great knowledgeable guide

Date:February 26, 2014
Guinevere
Location:St. Louis, MO
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We enjoyed this walking tour. It was nice to have a bus ride for most of the uphill portion so that most of the walking was downhill. The guide knew her information and watched to be sure we were all able to hear her. I just wish we didn't have to walk the long walkway to the old fort. My feet were sore by the end of the tour but the pace was good.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for A Stroll through Old San Juan
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Don't forget sunscreen!!

Date:December 28, 2013
Albertagrandma
Location:Alberta, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
A very short bus ride to bottom of hill to the fort saves some walking but it is not really very far as you need to walk back to the ship. Informative tour of the fort and church but a bit pricey for the information received. It was an easy walk but very, very hot. On your walk back be sure to stop at the butterfly store. It was worth the trip and is along the way but a block off the main street.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for A Stroll through Old San Juan
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lovely stroll

Date:December 27, 2013
Nomad
Location:Canmore, Alberta
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Beautiful old city. Guide was very knowable and fairly easy to understand. Only problem why do people who can't walk well go on a stroll?
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for A Stroll through Old San Juan
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tour of Old San Juan

Date:November 18, 2013
WGros
Location:Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you enjoy visiting historical places this is a good tour. But with a lot of walking and standing. The San Felipe del Morro fortress was the highlight and I wish we could have spent more time there to wander around. The Museum was ok but could have skipped it and instead rather gone to the Ponce del Leon home which was pointed out a few blocks from our route.
I believe that a really good tour route would be to start at Morro and walk along the wall to Castillo San Cristobal and then back to the ship or to the Old Town on our own.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for A Stroll through Old San Juan
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Take the Free Shuttle

Date:November 10, 2013
moabdeb
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was really looking forward to this tour. I love walking through old towns and hearing the history and seeing the interesting architecture. We waited a long time in line to get boarded onto various buses. We drove around and were let of at a square. From there we walked to the museum. I wanted a tour of Old San Juan-not a museum tour. We spent too much time there. And the museum is not about Puerto Rico the the Americas-central and south America. Then we walked to the fort-which was interesting. After the fort we walked down the hill, saw the OUTSIDE of a couple churches and was told the tour was over and we had to walk back to our ship. This tour is rated at 2 people-moderate exertion. I was fine but a majority of people in my group complained about the tour taking to long, they had to walk to far back to the ship.....
I found out while on this trip there is a free shuttle that will basically take you to the same places. If you use a walker, or a wheelchair this may not be the trip for you.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for A Stroll through Old San Juan
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poor Value

Date:April 16, 2013
Harrybvt
Location:Vermont
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
While Ramon did a good job and we enjoyed seeing the museum and fort we feel the cost was excessive.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for A Stroll through Old San Juan
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent way to see the city!!

Date:April 14, 2013
CACJM
Location:Troy, MI
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We wanted to see everything we could see while in San Juan. This tour was great. Our guide was Alexis, and did a wonderful job. It was a lot of walking - so they took up to the start of the tour at the top of the hill via bus. We didn't know it was going to happen. But, once we got to the top of the hill - we were so thankful. Our tour rano ver the expected time, so a few people left the group. But, most hung on and really enjoyed it. Plenty of time for shopping, lunch and more touring in the afternoon.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
8out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 17 for A Stroll through Old San Juan
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Stroll Old San Juan

Date:March 30, 2013
JayG
Location:Plainview N.Y.
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this was one of the best tours of the trip. Margarita was our guide and was extremely knowledgeable about Old San Juan. She brought history to life and gave a wonderful tour. I would highly recommend this to anyone who is interested in history and the culture of the people.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for A Stroll through Old San Juan
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Lots of great sites-more walking than expected

Date:March 25, 2013
Char
Location:Pittsburgh
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This excursion should have at least the three person logo next to it. It was a lot of walking and most of the older people on this excursion had to back out halfway through. Our tour guide knew a lot about the history of San Juan, which was great, but he went on and on about it and most of us became bored and just wanted to move on. If he just mentioned the highlights, it would've went much better. The excursion took longer than expected because of this. If you can't walk at least a couple miles, don't take this excursion. If you like walking a lot and can handle it, then it is great and there is a lot of history to be learned.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for A Stroll through Old San Juan
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sold on San Juan

Date:March 19, 2013
Keydet
Location:Midlothian, VA
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would highly recommend this walking tour to anyone who wanted to get to know the history of San Juan and see the remarkable beauty of this wonderful port city.While there is alot of walking there were elderly folks who did very well and actually thrived on the tour.Our tour guide was aware of some of the ages of the people(young and old) and very sensitive not to go beyond their limits while keeping the tour moving and extremely interesting.Helping the tour was the beauty of the day and the personality of our female tour guide who had a distinctive hispanic accent which to us made it even more enjoyable.She was informative, solicited questions and was upbeat and positive with a great smile. Everyone from young children,teens, young adults to the elderly universally enjoyed this tour.At a very reasonable price I highly recommend this tour--great scenery, great history and a great introduction to Old San Juan.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for A Stroll through Old San Juan
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great tour guide, great tour

Date:March 14, 2013
serennitychuck
Location:Palm Springs, FL
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
First of all, some reviews talk about walking up to the fort. Our tour took us by bus to the entrance to the fort and we walked from there, mostly down hill after the fort.
I have toured the old Spanish fort in St Augustine FL and expected something similar. Wrong! This one is much larger and much more elaborate.
Next came the Museum of Folk Art of the Americas. Our ship was l ate docking so we arrived at closing time but the museum staff were courteous enough to greet and tour us.
The rest of the tour was a casual walk through old town back to the ship. Old houses, churches, etc.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>