Holland America Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Canopy Adventure

Canopy Adventure

Enjoy a truly thrilling ecological experience that offers you the unique opportunity to glide through the treetops on a network of cables suspended high above the jungle trails in Puerto Vallarta’s tropical forest. On this spectacular eco-adventure tour, you will experience what can only be described as a breathtaking view of one of the most beautiful and complex biological communities on earth. Just 60 minutes from Puerto Vallarta, in the heart of the tropical forest of the Sierra Madre Mountains, lies a private eco-reserve—a biological paradise where you will discover a stunning profusion of Mexico’s tropical flora and fauna. With the assistance of an experienced guide, you can sail from tree to tree and platform to platform on a zip line network of pulleys and horizontal cables mounted between 30 and 90 feet above the ground of the tropical forest. This exciting adventure consists of 14 observation platforms, 11 horizontal traverses, a Tarzan swing, two hanging bridges and two thrilling vertical descents. Participants are under the constant supervision of qualified personnel who have received more than 200 hours of formal training in canopy tour operations and safety techniques. They use only top-quality equipment that is regularly and rigorously inspected and maintained.
Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 out of 24(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Canopy Adventure
Review 1 for Canopy Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Closest thing to flying you'll ever do

Date:January 24, 2014
Guidena
Location:Ovilla, TX
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband wanted to do this, so I cautiously joined him. I have Multiple Sclerosis which results in muscle weakness. The entire process was great and very exhilarating. The team which led us through the process inspired confidence which allowed me to put my trust in them.
About half way through, I realized, there was more up-hill walking than I was able to continue. The on-site team quickly understood my issue and radioed for an ATV to pick me up.
So glad I was able to "fly". It was a truly wonderful experience. So glad the on-site team were professional and had a "Plan B", for people with limiting factors.
This was our favorite excursions.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Canopy Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just Do It!

Date:March 28, 2013
Lorenzo
Location:Bremeton, WA
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great and safe fun. I am 69 and my wife is 67, and we both enjoyed this experience! Don't worry: even thought you are in Mexico, they are very professional and the equipment is in good shape. I did not do the ladder and rope walk, but in retrospect, I wish I did. The rappeling was easier than we thought it would be.
Need: Sould be in reasonably good shape because there is some hiking involved. Probably should wear pants or shorts that go down close to the knees, but even shorter shorts will work.
Don't need: Sunglasses, camera (they don't allow), swimsuit, or binoculars. Probably don't need insect repellent. Bring a bag to put your stuff into before starting the zip lining. They will put that bag into a larger one.
I would stronlgly recommend to the company that they invest in a small bus for the hour's trip to and from the site. They use a WWII style truck on which you sit on both sides of the back. Although there is a canvas cover, it is open in the front and sides. There a bunch of speed bumps that will constantly jar your body (so if you have significant neck or back problems, then this might not be the trip for you). After returning, my ears were ringing from the high-pitced whinning of the engine and the wind noise. I suggest they replace the truck with a bus, then use the 4-wheel truck for the very last part of the trip on the dirt road leading to the excursion site.
Don't confuse this excursion with the Outdoor Adventury which does involve waterfalls, etc.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Canopy Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thoroughly enjoyed

Date:March 3, 2013
pcs1ca
Location:Southern California
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Staff was great, and placed a lot of emphasis on safety and fun. Several members of our party were nervous about this activity and all left with big smiles on their faces. The one area for improvement is the processing of photographs at the end of the event. They do not allow cameras. They take lots of pictures, but the process for reviewing and purchasing pictures needs improvement. I would absolutely do this again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Canopy Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely fabulous

Date:November 21, 2012
hazelm
Location:California resident born in Scotland
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
This was a totally amazing experience! The staff were SO well trained and I felt totally secure at all times. I was completely happy to operate at height in the jungle and if anyone had told me ahead of time that I would happily rappel down 90 feet I would have laughed at them. The trip was way above my expectations and worth every last cent. The photo service is terrific and excellent value. I have photos that I could never have taken and I will be dining out on them for years. I recommend this !00%!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Canopy Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2012
magoo
Location:Australia
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do not miss this tour. The teams priority is safety then enjoyment. This is definately 10 out of 10.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Canopy Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic

Date:April 7, 2012
TomF
Location:San Diego
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great excursion.Best zip line I have every seen. New additions they are working on will make it even better (if possible). Very physical, especially the rope bridges and the rope laddeer. Excellant safety features. Very knowledgeable staff
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Canopy Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Bucket List Adventure

Date:March 12, 2012
Grammie8
Location:Indiana
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was AWESOME!! Great bunch of young people who were our guildes. Felt totally safe with all of them. Great once in a lifetime adventure.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Canopy Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Fun, like monkeys in the trees

Date:January 10, 2012
Rob750
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son and I enjoyed this excursion a great deal. The guides could not have been nicer or more helpful. They were outstanding and made us feel safe. After buying the pictures I realized we did not have that many great photographs but they get the pictures when they can and not all shots are worth having. The facility was top notch. The drive to and from the area seemed long (over an hour) If you are in the van, sit in front if you get car sick. We loved this excursion and would do it or another zipline excursion again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Canopy Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We would do it again!

Date:January 10, 2012
Ellbelle
Location:Modesto, CA
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband (64), myself (51), teenage daughter and her boyfriend really enjoyed this excursion. We (parents) are not super fit but could do most of the platforms. You never really notice how high you are since the guides keep things moving quickly. Some areas were difficult, including a 30-40' ladder, so we opted to take the VIP trail for the lesser fit. We felt we did not miss anything by skipping this section as well as another in walking over the longer suspension bridge.
Safety was #1 with the tour guides, you were never untethered from a rope or tree. Even the rapelling felt safe and was easier than the actual ziplining.
The photographer was nice to have along and took some great shots of us. The kids couldn't decide on what pictures they wanted (pricey) but when I turned my back my husband was handing over a 100 dollar bill to buy the entire disc. Now I'm glad he did, I'm planningo n having four of the rappeling pics (copyright waived on disc) developed.
We would do this excursion again!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Canopy Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We had a blast!

Date:November 25, 2011
Jambojer
Location:Phoenix , Arizona
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was so much fun. Zipping through the trees, high above the ground. The guides were very attentive, informative, safe and fun! Their photographer Genesis, took AMAZING photos of us and we bought a CD with all of our pics. We have shared our pictures and memories with family and friends since returning home. This was a fun, thrill-seeking opportunity to explore the forests near Puerto Vallarta in a safe and exciting way. We saw giant butterflies and heard wild parrots in the trees. The guides: Hugo, Cesar, Gera, David, and Armando were excellent!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Canopy Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting!

Date:April 24, 2011
lovetotravel
Location:San Diego
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have done a few zip-line excursions in the past and this one tops them all. The employees were very funny, which helps reduce your anxiety. They were extremely safe and continually guided us throughout our whole experience. Our youngest is eight and of course the most fear-free and our daughter is almost 13. It was a great family outing and I highly recommend it! I wish I could remember all of the guides names so I could give them credit for a job well done!
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Canopy Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

had a blast

Date:April 14, 2011
laretta
Location:Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to everyone. There were all ages that went swinging thru the trees. Our guides at the Canopy Adventure were the best. I never once felt unsafe. I have some fear of heights but this went rather well. The bridges were a little scary to me because they are suspended by ropes, but the Zip Line was great. you just have to listen to your guides and "break" when they tell you to, otherwise the tree trunks become a little too close. I would do this again. And the tarzen swing and the "repelling" was pretty cool too.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Canopy Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

canopy adventure

Date:April 2, 2011
anitanurse
Location:Portland,OR
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is great fun. The staff made me feel very safe. They do a great job. I would not recommend for anyone with heart troubles or breathing problem. It is a very rigorous course with a lot of steep climbs. Great fun if you are in relatively good shape.( I was not) I would do it again if I get myself in better shape. My girls loved it (19&25).
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Canopy Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun 4 Everyone

Date:March 14, 2011
faults
Location:Packwood, WA
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was in a family group of 7 people. We had 3 adults, 4 kids from 7-12.
All of us had loads of fun. The staff was fun, informed, and full of energy. Their committment to safety for this type of venture, in my opinion is unmatched. I would reccomend this trip to anyone looking for a fun adventure.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Canopy Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exhillarating!

Date:February 21, 2011
Nancy
Location:Northern Idaho
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A rush is right! wow, Doubt I will want to do it again but really glad I can say I tried it. Am a bit out of shape and had to work hard but always felt VERY safe and thought equipment was well maintained. Age is not a factor, as I am 60 and one person in our group was 77!! Suspension bridge was a bit much for me but other than that.........WOW!
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Canopy Adventure
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A lot of fun!

Date:February 20, 2011
Sharkwil
Location:Incline Village, NV
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband & I decided to try zip lining for the first time. Out of the 3 ports of call, the one in Puerto Vallarta sounded the most fun and scenic. It was quite a drive in an old open air truck, but that was part of the fun! On the way back we were in a nice air conditioned van. Once we arrived we were greeted by several energetic guides and got outfitted with bandanas, helments, and all the gear after a short demonstration and explanation of the event. We did more zip lines than I imagined we'd do as well as 2 tree repels and a couple of wiggly crazy bridges! Even though they said there were no mosquitoes, my husband got quite a few bites. Since I had read previous reviews warning you to put on repellant, I went ahead and put some on "just incase" and did not get one bite. So suggest to anyone taking this tour to put repellant on regardless of the time of year and what the guides tell you. It's unfortunate that they do not offer cheaper photos, as once you are done they let you view the pictures taken by their photographer on a laptop, and purchase the entire CD for $30...not worth it to us. Also, the snacks were sparse, some Tostitos and salsa, and some apples. Sodas, beer, and quesadillas were available for purchase.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Canopy Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most exciting adventure of my life....what a rush!

Date:February 8, 2011
Teahmaria
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter, friend, and myself did this adrenaline packed adventure I highly recommend. This Zip is all it says it is and more. I have a fear of heights but wanted to do this with my daughter who has no fear. I felt completely safe at all times. We were the E Team with Maria, Junior, Alex and Daniel...great team, great people. I can't wait to come back and do it again!! Thanks E Team for the highlight of our trip...hooked on zipping!!
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Canopy Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Canopy Adventure

Date:February 6, 2011
Rick
Location:Sanger, TX
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had a wonderful time on the canopy adventure. Everything from start to finish was well organized. The zip line crew were very knowledgable and friendly. Safety was number one priority and was not a concern. Excellent time and wonderful pictures. Would HIGHLY recommend. It is a work out though, not for the out of shape.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Canopy Adventure
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Whoo Whoo!!!

Date:February 2, 2011
funfromphx
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The guides were amazing. They were fun, patient, and always mindful of safety. Flying through the jungle was exhilarating, although some of the hiking and the suspended bridges were a bit of a challange. It would have been nice to take our own photos but understand why cameras weren't allowed for safety reasons. I did think the pictures that the tour offered were a little pricey. All in all, I would recommend this tour.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Canopy Adventure
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What An Adventure!

Date:January 25, 2011
AZBeth
Location:Phoenix, Arizona
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My party and I had a wonderful time on this zip line. They crew were very organized, and safety was always their first concern. The country was beautiful, and our overall experience was fantastic. Thanks to the crew for such a great time!
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>