Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Costa Maya, Mexico or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Chacchoben Mayan Ruins

Chacchoben Mayan Ruins

Visit Chacchoben—the Place of Red Corn—in the company of experts in Mayan history. Explore the ancient ruins learning about the temples and other structures only recently partly uncovered in the rain forest. You will have time to climb the Gran Basamento taking you above tree level. Here archaeologists found ceremonial offerings dating to around 1000 BC. Your guide will also explain about the wildlife and medicinal plants that are used by the modern-day descendants of the ancient Mayan people. Your tour includes bilingual guides, air-conditioned transfers and refreshments.Notes:Involves considerable walking over uneven terrain. Stair climbing is required to reach the different levels. Bring insect repellent. The drive to the ruin is one-hour each way. A US$5 - $8 tax on the use of video cameras is calculated based on the exchange rate of the day. Minimum age is 2 years.
Average Customer Rating:
4.595 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
40 out of 42(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Chacchoben Mayan Ruins
Review 1 for Chacchoben Mayan Ruins
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mayan Ruins Adventure

Date:April 4, 2015
Nancy1006
Location:Palm Bay, Florida
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Chacchoben Mayan Ruins are a fairly newly discovered set of ruins. Our guide Sergio was very helpful in explaining the life of the Mayans. Paths are uneven so watch where your are walking. There is another section of the ruins which I did not climb up to see. If you decide to climb these steps (which my husband did) you will see some pyramids and other structures.
You will also see as you walk farther on what was considered to be the general living quarters.
Trip is well worth the price!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Chacchoben Mayan Ruins
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mayan history made fun

Date:March 31, 2015
nupright
Location:Saint Petersburg, FL
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tour was great. We got a history lesson on the comfortable drive to the ruins. The ruins at Chacchoben are very well maintained and there are lots of things to see. I liked that there is still a lot of the ruins to be unearthed. This will make going on this tour again in the future still entertaining to see what progress has been made. I definitely plan on going again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Chacchoben Mayan Ruins
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best excursion of the cruise

Date:February 17, 2015
deltaman
Location:vancouver, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
An extraordinary day. All the very positive comments on this site are valid. Guide was well informed and articulate,
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Chacchoben Mayan Ruins
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great experience of Central American history

Date:February 7, 2015
arkjazz
Location:North Chelmsford, MA
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I enjoyed the excursion to see the Myan ruins at Chacchoben, not only because of a wonderful guide, but because of the great historical aspect of the Myan culture. To know that some of these ruins dated back to approx. 600 AD is significant because it is right here in our Americas. The bus trip was fine, the driver did a great job, and the tour was so enhanced by the knowledgeable guide. We had seen the Myan culture exhibit at Boston Science museum which increased our interest in the Myan culture. A worthwhile excursion for us.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Chacchoben Mayan Ruins
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You must take this Excursion! The best ever!!!!!

Date:January 6, 2015
oregonman2
Location:Forest Grove, Oregon
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was well worth the cruise. Wonder time exploring this Mayan Site. I have been to numerous ancient sites around the world, and this was wonderful. A wonderful tour guide and great pictures. It was a nice smooth ride to the site.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Chacchoben Mayan Ruins
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Our Favorite Shore Excursion on this Cruise

Date:January 5, 2015
alws
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were anxious to visit some Mayan ruins while visiting the Caribbean and are so glad this is the excursion we chose. We rode in an air conditioned bus that was almost new; we spent our travel time (about an hour, one way) in comfort. Our tour guide, Diana, made the experience perfect!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Chacchoben Mayan Ruins
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best of the cruise excursions

Date:December 24, 2014
cassie
Location:Burlington, North Carolina
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Our guide, Daniel, was excellent. You could tell he enjoyed what he did. He was a descendant Mayan and kept us amused and informed en route to the ruins and on the way back. One could not have asked for a better guide. Lots of good information and a excursion not to miss.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Chacchoben Mayan Ruins
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting

Date:December 23, 2014
Chandac
Location:Indio, CA
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We've been to quite a few Mayan ruins prior to this excursion but they were many years ago so it was interesting to find out what they have learned about the Mayans. It was an extra climb up some steep steps to get to a covered area where you can see a partial fresco which was interesting. Not much to see on the bus ride to the ruins. It was nice that they staggered the groups so we weren't on top of each other.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Chacchoben Mayan Ruins
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2014
jrk17
Location:PA
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tour guide was very informative. The ruins were interesting. We could have used a little more time,but did not feel rushed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Chacchoben Mayan Ruins
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fascinating and excellent value

Date:January 17, 2014
ew2103
Location:Dearborn, MI
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our guide Daniel (a full-blooded Mayan; he proudly told us so) was superb. Unlike some guides, he gave interesting information on the way back to port -- not just going to and on the tour. We viewed numerous fascinating ruins and gained an understanding of the marvelously accurate Mayan calendar -- more accurate than the one we use routinely! One hour each way in comfortable large air-conditioned bus over smooth roads. Excellent shop at ruins to buy nice souvenirs.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Chacchoben Mayan Ruins
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Real sense of layout of Mayan community

Date:January 10, 2014
Cruiser999
Location:Ontario
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Excellent, well worth the trip. The restoration work they have done on the temples is extensive. You get a sense of how the original site was laid out, as well as how the jungle encroached on the structures over time.
The guides (both local and the tour) were helpful and informed. Louis was our tour guide and Vicki was our local guide. They provided background on the structures and were able to explain how the site excavation has evolved.
This was my first Mayan ruin tour, but I believe it is more 'rustic' than other more popular sites. However, it is certainly accessible to all but the most mobility challenged areas and it is not well visited, at this point.
To those who are concerned about the bus journey/scenery, the hour there and back passed quite quickly, and Louis provided an informed commentary about the area. The Yucatan is a wilderness, and very poorly drained, so it does not tend to support an enormous jungle canopy. I've seen some parts of the US midwest, UK and Ireland that are just as barren, but that still hold interesting features.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Chacchoben Mayan Ruins
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Facinating!

Date:April 20, 2013
patpot
Location:Edmonton, AB, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our guide, Luis, was very knowledgeable about Mayan ruins and spent the hour drive to Chacchoben sharing facts and showing us pictures, maps and drawings of the area. I reccommend that you take plenty of water with you, the day we were there was VERY hot. There is a small bazaar set up as soon as you get off the bus, buy before you walk to the ruins as there was no time on the way back. The ruins themselves are facinating and Luis continued to provide a lot of information. We even got to climb up some of them! I learned a lot in a fun way.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Chacchoben Mayan Ruins
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Quite a sight to see!

Date:April 16, 2013
Feathersong
Location:Connecticut
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bus was comfortable and air conditioned. Though the scenery was very lacking, our guide was informative and entertaining throughout the drive to the ruins.
At the ruins, our guide did an excellent job of giving us some time to wander around a structure or area and photograph it, and then gather us together to give us information on what we were seeing before moving on to the next site.
The main sites were three pyramids/temples and then there was an area where the houses had been, which is mostly just steps and foundations. There were lower parts of the pyramids that you were able to climb on. Ropes let you know how far up you can go.
To see two of the pyramids, you need to climb up some very high and uneven steps. There are two sets of steps. One is much steeper and has a lot more steps (about 30 steps total) than the other. Naturally, I recommend taking the second, shorter set of steps (about 18 steps). They were still a bit of a challenge for me and my short legs, but not insurmountable, and the sight awaiting you at the top is definitely worth the climb! Hint: hang onto the wall on the side of the stairs, especially when going back down!
We had plenty of time to explore the ruins and take photos, though we didn't have much time left to check out what the locals had for sale there. Back on the bus, we were given a cool beverage (soda or water).
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Chacchoben Mayan Ruins
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great experience

Date:April 7, 2013
Piledriver
Location:South Carolina
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We visited the ruins at Tulum at a previous stop so we had the opportunity to compare sites. We preferred this one. It is not as large but we thought the structures we more impressive. The cost was less so it was a good value as well. The guide was excellent. Very informative and a great representative of her country. The comercial/shopping area at the port is also impressive but after the tour we had limited time there. Nice tour stop.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Chacchoben Mayan Ruins
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

worth your while

Date:March 20, 2013
mayanmaiden
Location:ohio
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hope you get Luis as tour guide as his experience and knowledge really helped make this a great tour. He had photographs that he took
personally when this site was first discovered and used them to compare what it is today. Was definitely a worthwhile excursion.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Chacchoben Mayan Ruins
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Glad we did this

Date:March 10, 2013
Betsy
Location:Mpls, MN
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had been to the other site near Costa Maya - which has more to see, is more spread out, and takes up the whole day. This was only an hour ride, during which our tour guide was fun & informative. The bus was spotless and VERY comfortable. It was hot and humid that day, and one of our companions has bad knees so walking is a chore, but she did fine, kept up with the group and only missed climbing to the plateau on the temple. The rest of our group was very glad to see and explore, and we felt is was well worth the time and dollars. For a more limited experience of Mayan Ruins - this is excellent.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Chacchoben Mayan Ruins
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Time travel

Date:March 5, 2013
mkor
Location:Philadelphia
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
we enjoyed this excusion a lot. Our tour guide was excellent giving us background information on the Maya and the Mayan temples. the ruins are awesome!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Chacchoben Mayan Ruins
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Chaccoben Ruins ....

Date:January 29, 2013
coral
Location:England
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overpriced and very little to see once there.....the climb will take less than 5 mins!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-6points
2out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Chacchoben Mayan Ruins
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Far too long in the oppresive heat and humidity

Date:January 2, 2013
Bun49
Location:Largo, FL
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unless you really need to see a few Mayan ruins, don't bother with this one. The guide was good, but the 1hr bus ride to the ruins in a rather inadequately air conditioned bus was just the beginning of 4 hrs of misery. We arrived at the sight and were met with the usual local traders and the bathroom. The bathroom was awful and had no soap. The ship is scrupulous with hand washing, but there was nothing there. The temperature was about 85% with a humidity factor of 100% and even the younger members of the party were starting to drag. Couldn't wait to get off the crummy bus and back on the ship. This trip should be taken at a much earlier time in the morning,
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+4points
10out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Chacchoben Mayan Ruins
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly enjoyable

Date:December 30, 2012
happytraveler35
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The whole tour was enjoyable. The coach was clean and comfortable, the tour guide was knowledgeable and fun to listen to. The ruins where interesting and they where not difficult to explore. Would recommend highly.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>