Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Venice, Italy or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Murano & Burano

Murano & Burano

Today you will visit two of the Venetian Lagoon’s 40 islands—Murano and Burano. In 1291, when furnaces were banned from Venice as a fire precaution, the manufacturers of exquisite glassware were transferred to Murano. Glassware was one of the few Venetian exports so the secrets of this skillful craft were tightly guarded. Glassmaking was considered a privileged occupation, and glass artisans were allowed to marry into the nobility. Today, the Murano products of blown-glass mirrors, chandeliers, goblets and intricate works of art are renowned worldwide. There’s time to visit one of the many workshops and to shop. Burano is next—brightly painted houses decorate this small and cheerful fishing village that is best known for its lace making. Admire these beautiful works that require hours of labor, and maybe even purchase some, if you like.
Average Customer Rating:
3.333 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
0
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
0
6 out of 9(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Murano & Burano
Review 1 for Murano & Burano
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good introduction to Murano/Burano

Date:February 28, 2014
sunfun
Location:TN
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
More expensive but easier to book through HA than find your own water taxi to Murano/Burano if you've never been to Venice and if you have limited time in Venice. However, the time in Murano was too brief for shopping. Only visit one shop with no time for additional shopping. Burano is beautiful with colorful houses -- a terrific photo.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Murano & Burano
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Long Boat Ride

Date:September 28, 2013
Jimmy399
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not worth thr time. You can see glass blowing and a factory oulet for the Murano Factory if you do the Venice Sightseeing Tour.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Murano & Burano
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

so so

Date:September 14, 2013
First1
Location:canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:August
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The first part of the tour was really great!...We loved the glass making factory. Awesome!
The second part was not too much to our liking. We are not into lace and things...so we ditched the tour and did our own thing until it was time to meet up with the group.
The tour itself was interesting.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Murano & Burano
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fascinating trip

Date:August 18, 2013
Blinkbonny
Location:New Zealand
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A lovely day out in two very interesting islands. However, the products are extremely expensive and some of the so-called Burano lace is made in China!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Murano & Burano
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

A disappointing tour

Date:November 7, 2011
Brownie
Location:Australia
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We did this tour on a "ship turnaround day" After exiting the ship, we stood on a freezing dock for over half an hour while passengers heading for the airport later on organised their hand luggage. There were too many people to fit inside the waterbus that took us to our destination! Because we were running late, we did not have enough time on Murano to do any shopping or to have a good look around the island. We had a bit more time on Murano, but overall the tour was disappointing.
I feel that guests staying on for the 2nd cruise be offered a separate excursion to these two islands. We would have happily paid more for a longer tour, perhaps including lunch on Murano.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Murano & Burano
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting trip but overpriced products

Date:October 27, 2011
TheTimeTravellers
Location:UK
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The trip begins with a boat ride and an interesting commentary to reach the first stop, Murano. The glass-making demo was interesting but we were then taken to view beautiful but very expensive pieces in an upstairs gallery. Downstairs further items are on sale but are still relatively expensive compared to other items on sale elsewhere in Venice.
Second stop was Burano with a short demonstration of lace-making followed by exhortations to buy various products. Be very careful, we discovered some of the cheaper items (scarves) in the shop were made in China (and some of them had evidently had the label removed!) The town with the multi-coloured houses was very pretty and we'd have liked more time to look around.
In summary? Worth doing the trip for the commentary and orientation but shop around for purchases - there are plenty of cheaper stores in the Rialto area of Venice. If we return to Venice we'll take a public boat and explore these areas more on our own.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Murano & Burano
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Burano is wonderful, Murano ok, overpriced

Date:August 2, 2011
Anastasia
Location:Atlantic Canada
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The tour overall was nice, but we felt overpriced, for what you receive. I had done all of the research on how to do the trip on my own using the Alilaguna boats, which would have only been a few Euros each. However, since my husband and I were worried about the timing of doing the tour on our own the day of departure, we opted to use the ships excursion.
I agree with the reviewer who said less time at Murano would be better. Burano was breathtaking, and there wasn't enough time to enjoy this beautiful quaint island. We will definitely go back and do it on our own at another time. I was really disappointed that Murano was really just a sales pitch to buy very expensive (but lovely) glass. The glass blowing demonstration was very interesting, but you can see this in Venice, and you don't have to endure the (somewhat cheesy) sales pitch.
The boat ride out to the islands is very nice, and informative.
If you are interested in doing this, consider doing your own thing using public transportation, that way you can spend as much time on Burano as you like.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Murano & Burano
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Bring on Burano...

Date:June 2, 2011
Genevieveforfun
Location:Canada
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Burano was a place I wanted to visit for some time. When people say it is a photographer's paradise, they are not wrong. I could happily spend a full day taking pictures of the brightly coloured houses reflected in the waterways. That said, we didn't have a day there. My gripe about this excursion is that we only had an hour or so at the most beautiful/interesting place. Morano is fine, but it was much more of an expensive glass sales pitch than anything else. Less Morano, more Burano, please, HAL.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Murano & Burano
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2011
Dala
Location:Birmingham, Alabama
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This customer did not provide a text review.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.