Holland America Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Granada & the Alhambra

Granada & the Alhambra

On a 2½-hour drive to Granada, your guide will introduce you to local traditions and history. Granada itself is a beautiful city, but nothing in all of Spain compares to the wealth of architectural art to be found in the city's Muslim-Hispano complex—the 14th-century Alhambra. This breathtaking example of Muslim architecture is surrounded by walls and towers, and inside you will find palaces, military buildings, a fortress and an administrative center. Explore this remarkable structure whose detailed mosaics, prism-style cupolas and stone-cast latticework offer a surprising grace and sophistication. The nearby Generalife gardens surround the summer residence of the Moorish kings. Lunch is included. Notes:Travel time to Granada is approximately 2½ hours each way, with a brief restroom stop en route. The Alhambra is not accessible to wheelchairs or walkers.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 out of 9(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Granada & the Alhambra
Review 1 for Granada & the Alhambra
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fabulous Alhambra - Guide difficult to understand

Date:November 23, 2013
Hoya
Location:Maryland
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating and recommendation is based on the destination: to see Alhambra on a cruise stop, a tour is essential. Having said that, the guide was not up to the task; serious problems with understanding him and difficulty at times with his pace through the complex. We did buy an excellent guide book in English and it has helped us understand what we already saw. For example, if the guide had addressed the mosaic tiles in articulate English, we would have been able to look at them while we were there with far more understanding of their construction. The same is true of the water system with the large cistern that provides the essential water pressure for the beautiful fountains and pools. Strongly recommend attention to this aspect of an otherwise wonderful tour. This is a strenuous walking tour; wear comfortable shoes and take extra camera batteries.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Granada & the Alhambra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Alhambra -- Queen of Granada

Date:June 1, 2013
JoyceEJ
Location:Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The drive through the Spanish countryside was fascinating as the guide talked us through the vegetation and agriculture -- mostly olive trees. At the Alhambra, a second guide was waiting, so the walking tour of the site was a manageable size.
First, we toured the gardens. In May many plants, shrubs and trees were in full bloom. The roses were magnificent from yellow to red to mauve.
Then, we entered the Alhambra itself. It was as spectacular as I imagined it. Each room seemed to have it's own tile theme -- colorful, bright and exotic. The guide's dialog was helpful, clear and accurate.
At the end of the walking tour, we stopped at a local restaurant for lunch. The buffet was plentiful and each table had a bottle of red wine -- again, complimentary.
We even had a few minutes to go shopping if we wanted. The ride back on the bus seemed even shorter -- but perhaps that's because most of us dozed off.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Granada & the Alhambra
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Just ok

Date:April 21, 2013
Worldtravelers
Location:US
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very long day on a warm/hot bus. Guide difficult to understand with heavy accent. Food not good. Probably not worth the expensive charge for thud tour.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Granada & the Alhambra
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Worth the Drive

Date:March 2, 2013
Bally
Location:UK
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yes it was a long drive but with our knowledgeable guide the time soon passed.
The architecture of the Alhambra is breathtaking, and as we arrived there early and in January we took stunning photos without the crowds. There is considerable walking which was fine for us but perhaps we could have been warned about the likely temperature as it was extremely cold on the plateau.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Granada & the Alhambra
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Amazing architecture and lovely countryside

Date:November 13, 2011
casinger46
Location:Northern California
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Alhambra was one of the two destinations that prompted me to book this particular cruise, and I wasn't disappointed. We had an excellent guide and the Alhambra complex, though quite crowded, was an amazing experience. The ride through the countryside to Granada was quite pleasant. The lunch buffet at a local hotel was excellent but the waiters practically threw us out of our tables when we were almost finished eating, to seat the next group of tourists, I suppose! Otherwise, a truly fine day. NOTE: This is a VERY STRENUOUS walking tour!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Granada & the Alhambra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Luck of the Draw

Date:January 18, 2011
barymac
Location:Southwest Florida
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My day at La Alhambra was perfect. The weather was beautiful and I was lucky enough to get on the first bus from the ship. We were amongst the first groups to tour and that makes all the difference. The entire process is predicated on getting there early. Our guide on the bus was knowledgeable and our guide at La Alhambra was the most passionate and enthusiastic person one could imagine.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Granada & the Alhambra
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

the Alhambra is a must see

Date:December 8, 2010
Dchip
Location:LaGrange, Georgia, USA
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The bus drive is long and the ticketing process at the site is a lengthy joke and the tour guides are at best mediocre.
That said the Alhambra is a treasure to behold. We seriously taxed our digital camera, with all the pictures we took. We did feel rushed through the site, possibly due to all the time wasted getting our tickets. Trust the advisory, this is tour requires walking on rough terrain and steps, it not folks with serious physical limitations.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Granada & the Alhambra
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Boring drive and a sprint through the Alhambra.

Date:November 17, 2010
underwhelmed
Location:Portland, OR
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This trip does not survive a cost/benefit analysis. The cost (other than dollar cost) is a very long and very dull bus ride for a total of 4.5 hours. Then, once you take out the hour for the jam-packed lunch in a local tour hotel, you are left with a bit more than 90 minutes in the Alhambra itself. No enough of a benefit to justify the cost. Furthermore, 90 minutes is not enough if you are an able-bodied person, much less for a handicapped traveller, on crutches. This sprint through the Alhambra is really exasperating, particularly the last leg through the gardens, which is all uphill. And so much depends on your luck of the draw with your guide. In the end, this excursion does not do the World Heritage Alhambra justice.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+13points
18out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Granada & the Alhambra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Granada and the Alhambra

Date:September 24, 2010
MLCliff
Location:Miami Springs, Florida
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth the price and long drive to see the beautiful sights. The Alhambra palaces and grounds were fascinating. Alhambra is very well organized and you are assigned a professional guide that explains the history, architecture, and a wealth of information about what you are seeing. This is a walk intensive tour and should not be taken by anyone with limited mobility.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.