Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Willemstad (Curacao), Antilles or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Willemstad Trolley Train

Willemstad Trolley Train

Transfer by taxi across the Queen Juliana Suspension Bridge, 200 feet above Willemstad. In the Punda section of town, you will board the trolley train for a memorable 50-minute outing that takes you past the Queen Emma pontoon bridge and the floating market, where Venezuelan merchants sell fish and vegetables from their boats. Next, see Scharloo, a former residential neighborhood lined with picturesque homes built in the 1800s. A highlight of your Scharloo overview is a stop at the recently renovated Bolo di Bruid, known as the ‘wedding cake house’—it is the city’s most photographed building. Leaving Scharloo, enter Pietermaai Cathedral—the largest and most impressive on the island. You will also view Queen Wilhelmina Park, which serves as the setting for frequent cultural events, and the Waterfort Arches, an imposing fortress that was the site of the Willhem III Barracks. Finally, you will visit Fort Amsterdam. Built in 1635 to guard the entrance to the harbor from enemy ships, the fort is one of many structures that lend a sense of history and atmosphere to the city, which is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Concluding your trolley experience, guests who wish to stay in town to shop or explore on their own are welcome to do so, but must return to the ship on their own. Notes:You may enter the cathedral if it is open. Dress in casual clothing. Wear a hat, sunglasses and sunscreen, as well as comfortable walking shoes. Feel free to remain on the trolley at any of the stops.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
3
7 out of 14(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Willemstad Trolley Train
Review 1 for Willemstad Trolley Train
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Nothing Much To See

Date:January 31, 2014
DebC
Location:Wisconsin
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We were underwhelmed by this trolley tour. It was nicer than riding around on a closed bus, but I believe they could make it more interesting by a better tour guide.
I would not book this again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Willemstad Trolley Train
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not worth the money

Date:January 28, 2014
Travelfav
Location:Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
this tour is not worth your time or money, you can see most of it on your own walking around town
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Willemstad Trolley Train
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun & informative - great photo op

Date:October 30, 2013
KyColonel
Location:Kentucky
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Relaxing, enjoyable and informative shore excursion - great photo opportunity and a good value.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Willemstad Trolley Train
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Boring

Date:February 11, 2013
Toybus
Location:Milwaukee
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
There is no need to take this tour. It shows you very little and you can walk faster than this trolly goes.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Willemstad Trolley Train
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

see commercial area

Date:February 10, 2013
nctraveler
Location:North Carolina
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This tour is a short loop of the commercial area in a small trolley. We got a good feeling of the area. Our guide was not that friendly. We were glad that we took the tour. Take appropriate dress for weather as you are in a very open vehicle, except for a roof. The walk back to the ship, over the pontoon bridge, is probably quicker than the ride, though we were docked at a commercial dock.
Cruise was in Jan/2013.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Willemstad Trolley Train
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Willemstad Trolley Train

Date:December 31, 2012
10191956
Location:Ontario canada
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor value for your money! The sites could have been seen on foot with a walking tour brochure. Tour guide was pleasant but info provided sounded like a recording.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Willemstad Trolley Train
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wonderful Way To Photograph Willemstad

Date:August 14, 2012
Mariner
Location:Lake Tapawingo, Missouri U.S.A.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After a short busride from the ship you are dropped off for the trolley ride. Then you board an open vehicle that takes you through the colorful historic areas including the boat venders from Venezuela at a liesurely pace. At the end of the trolley ride you have ample time for strolling around and exploriing the main area of the city before walking back to the ship. In crossing the swinging bridge to get to the ship it opened which caused us to be stranded just long enough for a boat to go by and then closed so we could continue to the other side. If you take pictures or videos of your travels this is a great tour for photography. The local people are friendly and never once were we bothered by any street vendors. We are going back on a November of 2012 cruise and taking the trolley again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+26points
28out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Willemstad Trolley Train
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Trolley Ride was so,so, The city sits is great

Date:May 1, 2012
jebsjb
Location:San Diego ca.
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We liked the sights ,but did not like riding backwards on the trolley. liked the Platoon Bridge.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Willemstad Trolley Train
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It is what it is

Date:April 2, 2012
Busylady
Location:Bonaire GA
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have been to Curacao several times so we just did this to have something to do. I agree with the other reviews that there has to be a better way to get the folks to the trolley. We stayed in town so we walked back to the ship. Our guide was very informative. If you are a first time visitor there are much better things to do.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Willemstad Trolley Train
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Curacao Trolley

Date:February 1, 2012
FrequentCruiser
Location:Vancouver B.C.
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
-A gentle low stress tour of downtown with a good guide who gave good information in clear English. 5*
-The trolley train itself was comfortable albeit slow 4*
-The cab ride to get to the trolley was poor. We were jammed in and the driver would not say a word as he rushed thru traffic. There has to be a better way to get there! As a resullt, we chose to walk back. 1*
-Overall, we have given a generour 4 stars.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Willemstad Trolley Train
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2011
lina
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not worth the money. If you go for it don't ride backwards. The guide did not say right or left so if you could not see her you had no idea of what she was talking about.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Willemstad Trolley Train
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2011
Beachlover
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
The taxi ride takes approximately 20 minutes each way for a total of 40 minutes. That means 45-50 minutes on the trolley, most of that time sitting in traffic. The taxi went by the same homes and restaurants as the trolley, but the taxi driver gave no commentary. Without the traffic it would probably be a 15 minute ride on the trolley. If you are unfortunate enough to have to sit facing the back of the trolley, you see very little and never what the guide is describing. A total waste of time and money. It would have been better to find a cab driver willing to give a tour of the city.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Willemstad Trolley Train
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 23, 2011
Sailfan
Location:Kingston, NY
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gives a good overview Willemstad. Tour guide was excellent, had a good handle of the history of the island.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Willemstad Trolley Train
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

BWD56

Date:November 19, 2010
BWD56
Location:MI
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was horrible. A "tram"?? Really? Some engine covered with a locomotive lookin' body? Wow couldn't be any worse. Seeing the oldest synagogue? As we drive down one street the guide says "If you look between these 2 buildings, you'll see the roof and parts of the walls of the oldest synagoue in the America's. What we paid for, we could have easily walked. There were about 20 people on the tram. I can honestly say 4 of them went to sleep during the tour. Shame on HAL.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+34points
45out of 56found this review helpful.