Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Oranjestad, Aruba or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Atlantis Submarine Underwater Adventure & Shipwreck Exploration

Atlantis Submarine Underwater Adventure & Shipwreck Exploration

Your adventure begins with a short transfer to the submarine on the shuttle vessel SubSeeker. Board the Atlantis submarine just off the southeast coast of Aruba for a thrilling dive to either the mysteriously sunken airplane, or the retired Danish sailboat Morgenster. You will also have a chance to get an up-close view of exotic marine life while diving to depths of 130 feet. You’ll be amazed by colorful schools of tropical fish, huge sponge gardens, and the mystic beauties of the coral fields. The educational and entertaining narration by experienced, professional, and licensed crew will highlight this unique experience that takes place in air-conditioned comfort. The submarine is US Coast Guard-approved and Green Globe-certified.Notes:Guests must be able to access the sub via a ladder with 11 steps. Minimum height is 3 feet. Minimum age is 4 years.
Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 out of 26(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Atlantis Submarine Underwater Adventure & Shipwreck Exploration
Review 1 for Atlantis Submarine Underwater Adventure & Shipwreck Exploration
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better than expected

Date:May 17, 2014
Roadster
Location:Glendale, AZ
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife suffers from mild claustrophobia. I was concerned about her going in a submarine. But, there was plenty of room & lots of fresh, cool air inside the sub. And the view of the tropical fish through the portal was fantastic. The crew did an excellent job of ensuring that everyone had a good view, was kept informed, and had an enjoyable experience.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Atlantis Submarine Underwater Adventure & Shipwreck Exploration
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Atlantis Submarine Underwater Adventure & Shipwrec

Date:March 20, 2014
Woolly
Location:Falls Church, VA
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In hindsight, I would not have signed up for this shore excursion and the Sea and See on Curacao, since what I saw was very similar. On Aruba I would have chosen the Colors of Aruba excursion. This excursion was very pleasant and well run. We went down to 140 feet. Yes, it was cozy, but since I don't have claustrophobia, it didn't bother me. You have your own porthole to look out on one side of the boat. There are two per bench. If you're not doing an underwater vessel on Curacao, go ahead and do this one. We did get back to the ship later than advertised. I didn't do any shopping on the pier beforehand because I didn't want to take the purchases with me. I should have, because I was really rushed to get back on board to change into long pants and pick up a sweater for the Sunset Cruise.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Atlantis Submarine Underwater Adventure & Shipwreck Exploration
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Experience

Date:March 14, 2014
edor
Location:Tucson, AZ
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
highly recommend this excursion; great views from sub; well worth the money
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Atlantis Submarine Underwater Adventure & Shipwreck Exploration
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun tour under the sea

Date:March 11, 2014
Cmego
Location:Fort McMurray, Alberta
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got to go on a short ride to the submarine where we got to board and actually submerge (i have been in subs before but they never went fully under). All seats were good as we viewed things from both directions. I liked that they put a chart by the windows so you could name the fish that you saw. The underwater wrecks were cool to see and we saw some colorful things. The pilot took us down to the bottom where we actually touched down (about 133 feet). Our guide seemed knowledgeable but I had a hard time understanding him over the PA and I was sitting next to him! It was a fun time, tho, and I would recommend it to anyone who likes this kind of tour.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Atlantis Submarine Underwater Adventure & Shipwreck Exploration
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Atlantis Submarine

Date:February 15, 2014
SilverGram
Location:Kansas City, MO
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a fun day and very educational. Our crew, Bryan, Gio, and Ehon were great guides. We sat up close to the driver of the submarine and got to go sit by him abd see from his perspective. I am recommending this to my other friends.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Atlantis Submarine Underwater Adventure & Shipwreck Exploration
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Who could turn down a submarine ride?

Date:February 7, 2014
Lucille
Location:Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We took this excursion in January 2014. It included a ferry ride for about 10 to 15 minutes to get us to the submarine. It was fun to watch the submarine emerge from the water before we boarded and submerge again with the next lot of tourists. The view of fish, coral and shipwrecks below was interesting too. The water seemed quite murky, and the coral not as impressive as that I had seen about ten years ago from a glass-sided "submarine boat" on Curacao. However, this might have been the result of damaging storms. We were very satisfied with what we saw.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Atlantis Submarine Underwater Adventure & Shipwreck Exploration
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Excursion

Date:February 7, 2014
KyColonel
Location:Kentucky
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We took this excursion in early-February 2014. This was a very enjoyable and memorable experience. We were extremely impressed with our guides - they were cheerful, informative and helpful. The excursion exceeded our expectations, and we will do it again if/when we visit Aruba in the future.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Atlantis Submarine Underwater Adventure & Shipwreck Exploration
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Adventure

Date:January 21, 2014
LCBK
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This trip was really fun. They picked us up on a boat and took us to the submarine. The boat-ride out to the sub was interesting in itself. Nice views of the Aruba coastline. We watched the sub surface and prepared to board. The staff on the boat gave us all the safety instructions and had the transfer onto the sub extremely organized. The guide on the sub tour was very informative and driver made sure that both sides of the sub had great views of the reefs, fish and ship-wrecks. It was great. We were running late, and they made sure that we got back to the ship on time!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Atlantis Submarine Underwater Adventure & Shipwreck Exploration
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pleasantly surprised by this awesome experience

Date:July 5, 2013
BlackHawk
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have snorkeled alot and seen amazing things, but I hadn't had the opportunity to see anything below 30 ft from the surface. (Husband had done some scuba, but I had chickened out after going thru the short course at a resort.) Deciding that this might be my only opportunity to do so, I signed up with no real expectations of seeing much of anything. I was pleasantly surprised at how clear the water was and how much we saw at all the different levels, as we made our way down to 135 ft below the surface and past the shipwreck. So many different colors and sizes of fish, coral, etc. They go by each area in both directions, so that both sides of the submarine get a good view of everything. My husband hadn't seen nearly as many things on his 2 resort dives and was also very impressed with the experience. The operators are professional, well organized and the guides on both the boat over to the submarine and in the submarine were well informed. Would do this again if given the chance. Well worth the money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Atlantis Submarine Underwater Adventure & Shipwreck Exploration
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome would do it again in a heart beat

Date:April 3, 2013
loadyolady
Location:St Albert
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
We were on this excursion with our 9 year old grandson. We all thoroughly enjoyed the dive. There was lots of corral, fish, a moray eel under the sunken ship and even a turtle to see. They turn the sub around so that both sides of it get a chance to veiw everything. There are still things to see. We even sat down on the ocean floor.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Atlantis Submarine Underwater Adventure & Shipwreck Exploration
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Little Adventure

Date:March 22, 2013
Lorenzo
Location:Bremeton, WA
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just viewing the technology was fascinating in this real-life submarine. Although the seating was snug, it was comfortable enough for a good experience and good viewing. The water was clear enough, even though there were Force 7 surface winds. Just do it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Atlantis Submarine Underwater Adventure & Shipwreck Exploration
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Submarine-wow

Date:March 3, 2013
Norbert
Location:Virginia
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What an adventure aboard this deep-diving sub. It was a real thrill to look out of the spaciouis port holes and be so close to the fish, the reefs, the wrecks, and the water. I thought it would be more claustrophic in the sub, but the air-conditioning and large viewing areas kept things very comfortable. The ride over in a modified motor craft was a bit warmish due to the greenhouse effect of it being covered in glass, but overall, not too bad. Where else are you going to be over a hundred feet down?
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Atlantis Submarine Underwater Adventure & Shipwreck Exploration
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Atlantis Submarine

Date:February 24, 2013
Alabama
Location:Huntsville, AL
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent experience. The pilot was very professional but friendly. The guide was very knowledgeable and interesting. Saw lots of marine life and wrecks. Pictures have interested everyone we have shown.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Atlantis Submarine Underwater Adventure & Shipwreck Exploration
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great way to dive without getting wet!

Date:February 9, 2013
Shipfun
Location:Rocky Mount, NC
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little skeptical of going on this excursion due to mild claustrophobia, but I had no problem at all. The cabin is well ventilated with nice sized windows to view the underwater world without getting wet! I do not scuba dive and found this to be a great option to that. We enjoyed viewing some beautiful fish and a couple of shipwrecked boats. Pretty amazing to be able to go down 130 feet with ear pain or getting wet!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Atlantis Submarine Underwater Adventure & Shipwreck Exploration
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Value for non-divers

Date:January 26, 2013
TM001
Location:USA
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you've never scuba dived and had the pleasure of seeing the underwater world up close, then this might be for you. I did not find the sub to be too crowded, each seat has a nice size port hole. They do a great job of keeping the sub close to the reef, so you do get to see a lot (one side at a time#. It's still amazing, what one can see 130 feet below the surface. #note January 2013..)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Atlantis Submarine Underwater Adventure & Shipwreck Exploration
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

150' down

Date:January 21, 2013
Chrisann
Location:Kingston, On
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I have been to Aruba many times and so decided to book the Atlantis sub. The safety talk and ride out to the sub was great. We boarded the sub from a boat and the crew took great pains to make sure everyone climbed down the ladder safely. Some older people were on the tour and had canes. They were well looked after.
The sub itself was wonderful. We viewed 100's of very colourful fish. Saw 3 shipwrecks. The sub went down 150' and it was simply fantastic.
If you don't like to scuba or snorkel I would highly recommend this tour. Great for all ages.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Atlantis Submarine Underwater Adventure & Shipwreck Exploration
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not for the Claustrophobic

Date:January 20, 2013
Sherrybug
Location:Landrum, SC
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am not claustrophobic, but even I had moments where I felt entrapped. Another reviewer described it as "friendly" because you are so crammed in and that is the truth. There was no room to move, just to look out the porthole. Seeing the fish was pretty neat, but the sunken ship was a bit of a disappointment. In the end, it was way overpriced for the experience. If you can snorkel or scuba dive, I would suggest that instead. I went on this excursion in Jan 2013, but the dates would not allow me to choose the current year.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Atlantis Submarine Underwater Adventure & Shipwreck Exploration
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What an experience

Date:January 8, 2013
Daveh603
Location:Mississippi Gulf Coast
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a must for anyone. Our submarine operator took us down to 145 feet, we saw three wrecks, tons of fish, and lots of coral. The only disappointment was the lack of color in most of the coral, which was sad because it is an indication of a "sick sea". The crew was very informative and courteous. Fantastic tour.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Atlantis Submarine Underwater Adventure & Shipwreck Exploration
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful experience

Date:December 30, 2012
Cruisepen
Location:Montreal, Quebec
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great experience and totally thrilling. How often do you get to dive underwater in a real submarine. Comfortable, professionally done, informative.... need I say more! Lots of marine life to see, even a turtle eating. Crew were careful about doing 2 passes so each side of the vessel got a view of the reefs and shipwrecks. The transport vessel to the sub and the sub itself were made in Canada. I am even more of a proud Canadian now!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Atlantis Submarine Underwater Adventure & Shipwreck Exploration
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Atlantis Submarine

Date:May 1, 2012
Lonewolf
Location:Welland, Ontario, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was a really neat experience and we had the chance to see some beautiful reefs and sunken ships. The sub was completely full and we were shoulder to shoulder with the other passengers so that was not so nice, however the windows were large enough that there was no problem taking plenty of photos. Only one side of the sub was facing the reef at a time so only half of the passengers were able to see anything. Then the sub would turn around so the other half could see. This wasn't as nice since we were looking out at nothing but water half the time but I still enjoyed it immensely.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>