Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Half Moon Cay, Bahamas or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Snorkel by Boat

Snorkel by Boat

Travel by boat to a site off the coast of Half Moon Cay to snorkel from the boat in limpid waters that teem with gloriously colored fish and coral.
Average Customer Rating:
4.304 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
19 out of 23(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Snorkel by Boat
Review 1 for Snorkel by Boat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow!- even in rough waters

Date:April 15, 2014
Sandra17
Location:Edmonton, Alberta.
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The water was too rough for our Treasure Island snorkel so we took this trip instead. We were strongly warned that we can get out of the boat if you are worried about being seasick or are fearful. The ride out was like bouncy whitewater rafting on the way out and smooth coming back. It was fun! Compared to the Grand Turk and St. Thomas snorkel, this location had far more fish, a greater variety, and more colourful. Yes, the water was rough but the staff was in the water and staying near us. He reminded us if we got too far out. We stayed in the water for about 40 min. If this trip was so great, I can't wait to do the Treasure Island next time!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Snorkel by Boat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:December 4, 2013
2OregonGirls
Location:Oregon
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful excursion! Crew members were very helpful and nice. This was our first time snorkeling. They make it very easy. The weather was outstanding. The fish beautiful, the water crystal clear. Half Moon Cay was by far the best snorkeling experience we had on this 7 day cruise. Can't wait to come back and do it again!.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Snorkel by Boat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this

Date:April 30, 2013
LindaJ
Location:Ontario
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the first time I had snorkeled and I loved it. Lots of fish, great coral reefs. The guys were so helpful and friendly. Would totally do this again!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Snorkel by Boat
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good if water calm

Date:January 31, 2013
JLHandCAT
Location:Colorado
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This would be a fun snorkeling adventure if the water was calm and there were no white caps. Better judgement on the part of the boat captain and crew is important. The water was so rough there were white caps. There should probably be some instruction prior to getting everyone in the water regarding entering and keeping masks tight to face even if everyone claims to be experienced snorkelers. The second person to get in lost mask and had to be pulled in by the crew and spend the rest of the time on the boat so apparently needed a little instruction. The crew were very good once we were in the water. Our friend got fatigued from the rough water conditions and one of the very helpful crew towed her back to the boat. The 3 reefs available were easily within distance of the boat but the water made it difficult to enjoy and there were very few fish to see.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+12points
17out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Snorkel by Boat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Snokel by boat

Date:December 25, 2012
1ChattyChick
Location:California
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed this snokel trip very much have taken several other snokel trips and this one was the best. The location was wonderful that they took us to and felt very safe as there was crew members in the water with you at all times. The water was clear and plenty of coral and fish to see.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
18out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Snorkel by Boat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sail out to reefs and plenty of fish

Date:November 22, 2012
xsteves
Location:CA
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The boat goes around the point to the right of the main beach and you snorkel over several reefs with a nice variety of fish. The crew is very helpful and get in the water to guide you to the reefs and attrract the fish.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
11out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Snorkel by Boat
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Snorkel by boat

Date:October 27, 2012
nechako
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We got part way into the boat ride when the boat broke down, very disapointing
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Snorkel by Boat
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not Really Worthwhile

Date:October 20, 2012
HWSF
Location:San Francisco, CA
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
There was an extremely swift current when we did this at 1pm in mid-October so an enormous amount of swimming effort was required to stay near the boat. Although the reef was kind of nice (not like Hawaii or Cozumel, though) there were very few fish. There were lots more fish on the Half Moon Key beach near the private cabana and that area is free and easy to access. The boat crew were great, the weather was great, the trip was quick but I wouldn't recommend this excursion and I certainly wouldn't do it again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Snorkel by Boat
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

nice, even in February!

Date:February 28, 2012
cincisoccermom
Location:Ohio
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A bit concerned about snorkeling that far north in February, we booked this excursion. The water at the beach was chilly enough that it was painful getting in, but where we snorkeled the water was much more temperate. The site was nice--quite a few fish, nice corals, very clear water, and the crew was spectacular. 2 of them were in the water with us in case of trouble, the captain stayed on the boat and kept his eye on us. I swam back to the boat, since I happened to be close by, to adjust my mask and he was quickly at my side to make sure I was okay. great experience.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Snorkel by Boat
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Day

Date:February 20, 2012
WyomingDave
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
The weather was great, the water was even better. Very clear water and quite a few fish. Would for sure suggest an underwater camera. We went on other snorkeling excursions on our trip and the water here was by far the clearest.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Snorkel by Boat
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Easy snorkel, good value, slightly underwhelming

Date:January 24, 2012
StayLonger
Location:Seattle, WA
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The snorkeling is fairly easy and not too long a trip by boat. There were 3 reefs where the boat anchored with a largish number, but not a profusion, of colorful fish. The coral was in 3 areas isolated from each other by sandy bottom and was not very colorful. But the 45 minutes of snorkeling is worth the low price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Snorkel by Boat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good for a Beginner

Date:December 26, 2011
RichardW
Location:St Paul MN
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This excursion was well handled and delivered what was promised. My wife is a novice snorkeler, and the trip gave her confidence to keep practicing. The boat went to a decent reef area and let everyone swim in a fairly large zone. I watched and it was obvious they were keeping a careful eye on the people, with one crew member staying on a ring at a the end of a long line until everyone had come back on board. Getting in and out of the boat required some exertion, especially on the day we went when the water was choppy, but it wasn't too hard if you took your time with the ladder.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Snorkel by Boat
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Due to weather-cancel event and refund patrons

Date:December 4, 2011
kcav
Location:Seattle, WA
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
11/25/11: This event should have been cancelled - the winds were high, the sea was rough; after entering the water one of the patrons had a panic attach, probably in part, due to the rough seas; with the right weather conditions the event would have been enjoyable but a cancellation decision should have been made by management and refunds given to patrons. Thank you.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Snorkel by Boat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent snorkel tour

Date:April 18, 2011
NovaCruisers
Location:Northwest Harbour, Nova Scotia, Canada
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We cruised on the Zuiderdam in March 2011 and although we didn't book the tour at first when we arrived at Half Moon Cay we decided to see if we could on the tour as there wasn't much snorkeling off the beach. The reservation was made at the desk on the island and we joined the tour. It was really rough seas and the Capt. on the tour boat gave us the opportunity to not go and not be charged unless you were a strong swimmer and so about 1/2 of the group excited. We were glad we stayed as it was wonderful snorkeling on all three of the reefs and the staff were great, very safety conscious and helpful. We had our own gear but the gear on the tour was in good shape. I can imagine it would be fantastic on a calmer day as there were a great variety of fish and some really large ones. It was a great tour and we have wonderful underwater pictures to prove it!
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Snorkel by Boat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved the snorkeling

Date:April 18, 2011
Mamacol
Location:Rockford, IL
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My family had been looking for a good snorkeling experience throughout our cruise and finally found one here at Half Moon Cay. The crew of the boat were helpful, but the fish were just gorgeous. And even though I had some less-experienced snorkelers, everyone had a great time. Just wished for more time in the water.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Snorkel by Boat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

3 reefs

Date:February 13, 2011
Shadow
Location:Canada
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our boat took us to 3 reefs and we spent 45 minutes snorkeling. lots of fish -the guides were in the water with us to show us the best places to go or to help if we had any problems.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Snorkel by Boat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful

Date:February 6, 2011
LikeHAL
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reef is good. Some spots on the reef better than others, but all good. Best spots on the reef are farther from the boat tie-up point, as the guide pointed out. Excellent variety of colorful fish. Guides very nice.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Snorkel by Boat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Excursion

Date:January 31, 2011
Loreto
Location:Victorville, California
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my 3rd visit to Half Moon Cay and I have taken this excursion in the past. The Maasdam was the only ship that day, and due to rough weather the previous day our stay was cut short by 1 hour. Perhaps people cancelled this excursion, missing out on a fantastic experience. I took the 1 P.M. tour. There was only one other participant. The crew was very friendly and upbeat, as it turned out to be a beautiful day. The ride out to the snorkeling site was exhilarating, and the turquoise water was calm and crystal clear...perfect! The boat anchored by the reef and the crew got in the water with us. The coral formations were colorful and there were amazing fish everywhere. The crew pointed things out, even a Barracuda! I have snorkeled in many places, and this was as good as it gets! Back on the boat we were offered a beverage as we headed back to the harbor. The ride along the coast was beautiful. The last tender back to the ship was waiting for us. It was the perfect end to a great day. You used to be able to snorkel from the beach at HMC (still can), but they roped off what was a good snorkeling area and made it a children's play area. The best way to snorkel is from the boat.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Snorkel by Boat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun trip

Date:December 26, 2010
Aggie76
Location:TX
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice short excursion. Great fish and coral. Made the most of limited time in port.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Snorkel by Boat
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everything provided and time was just right

Date:December 22, 2010
jeanpool
Location:Chicago
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This customer did not provide a text review.
Cruise Date Year:2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>