Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop St. Thomas, U.S.V.I. or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Castaway Girl Ship Wreck Cove Sail & Snorkel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Holland America.

Castaway Girl Ship Wreck Cove Sail & Snorkel

The highlight of your day will be experiencing the thrill of sailing on the fabulous catamaran Castaway Girl to Ship Wreck Cove at Buck Island. The Castaway Girl is fast and stable, with spacious sun decks and a large, comfortable cockpit for those who prefer the shade. Sail in the warm Caribbean breeze and spend 1½ hours snorkeling and exploring beautiful coral reefs filled with tropical fish, sea animals and turtles. The wartime shipwreck Catanza C lies 25 feet below the surface and is home to a wide variety of sea life. The friendly, experienced crew and instructors will provide assistance as they snorkel with you, pointing out the sights below. Enjoy tropical fruit punch drinks, snacks, sodas and great music on your relaxing homeward sail.
Average Customer Rating:
4.265 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
32 out of 34(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Castaway Girl Ship Wreck Cove Sail & Snorkel
Review 1 for Castaway Girl Ship Wreck Cove Sail & Snorkel
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

the staff was the best

Date:December 22, 2010
elmo
Location:manassas, va
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
our weather was bad, so it did negatively affect our day. But the staff on Castaway Girl was great and did everything they could to make our experience the best it could be under the circumstances. The boat was very nice, the snorkeling was ok. The girl who directed the snorkeling was well informed and informative. She was a real asset to the overall experience. The crew was friendly and outgoing and made the trip as pleasant as I think it could have been. And I appreciated the free drinks they provided on the trip home. It was nice to get something FREE on one of these excursions. Overall, it turned out to be a very pleasant experience and one i am glad I pursued.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Castaway Girl Ship Wreck Cove Sail & Snorkel
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

well organized.informative, & fun

Date:April 4, 2014
honeydj
Location:Surrey, B.C.
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
The vessel was well maintained. The staff was very professional, without being stuffy. The snorkeling was great. Our guide taught us some new things, and was enthusiastic about what we were seeing.
This was an excellent & worthwhile excursion.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Castaway Girl Ship Wreck Cove Sail & Snorkel
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a fun time!

Date:February 25, 2014
nonicknameofrme
Location:North Carolina
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Captain Chris and his crew were enthusiastic, knowledgeable and most importantly, emphasized safety. Heather was very helpful in explaining what to do and not do when snorkeling. She led us around the area so we could see a shipwreck as well as some local fish. One person saw an octopus. We motored out to the dive site and sailed back into the harbor. The rum punch on the way back to harbor was plentiful for the adults, with soft drinks at-the-ready for the children on board. It's an experience we'd do again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Castaway Girl Ship Wreck Cove Sail & Snorkel
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great sailboat, crew and destination.

Date:January 22, 2014
Sailingfan
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As long time sailors and experienced snorkelers we were pleasantly surprised by the experience. Whilst this is not Fiji or the Great Barrier Reef the dive site is enjoyable. Our in the water guide found a turtle and octopus for the guests. The tropical fish were moderately abundant, but the reef is just average. Really enjoyed the snorkel to the wreck. On the return trip we had a fine downwind sail and were entertained by the first rate crew. Even had an historical narrative about the harbor. Great value and a fine excursion
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Castaway Girl Ship Wreck Cove Sail & Snorkel
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful trip

Date:December 27, 2013
Nomad
Location:Canmore, Alberta
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Extremely friendly crew. Good snorkelling. Clean and well maintained boat.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Castaway Girl Ship Wreck Cove Sail & Snorkel
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Crew

Date:November 22, 2013
Kamamo
Location:Salt Lake City, Utah
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was by far one of the best & most fun crew ever.
Captain & crew were fun & knowledgeable
I would recommend them in a heartbeat.
Snorkeling was great. Shipwreck was cool. They even
Took us around the bend to swim with sea turtles
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Castaway Girl Ship Wreck Cove Sail & Snorkel
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2013
Nellis
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reef was dead. Shipwreck was the only thing to see. Castaway crew was great but there is little to no sea life to be seen.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Castaway Girl Ship Wreck Cove Sail & Snorkel
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Castaway Crowding!

Date:March 23, 2013
Thomas
Location:Fort Lauderdale, FL
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The trip out to the cove where you snorkel is about 30-35min away from where the boat docks and the ride out was nice and relaxing. The snorkeling was a NIGHTMARE! there were over 200 people and 10 boats in that one cove all trying to snorkel, scuba dive, snoba, etc. The crew provided 2 tour guides on opposite sides of the cove and very pretty informative and you do get to see the shipwreck (which was cool) but due to the amount of people this was a very annoying expericence. People were crashing into one another and it was not enjoyable at all. I would not recommend you do this excursion. The crew was very nice on the way back to the dock, provided complimentary drinks and made a lot of jokes. They also give you a good class on how to snorkel before you go into the water.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Castaway Girl Ship Wreck Cove Sail & Snorkel
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Fun crew, not much sea life

Date:March 9, 2013
Trixie
Location:San Francisco, CA
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Loved the sail and the crew & there was definitely a festive atmosphere, but there wasn't much sea life. It was a popular spot so it was crowded. There were also scuba groups there and if I were a diver, I would definitely not recommend this location because our guide could free dive to the bottom, it was that shallow. But this isn't about scuba. Our guide brought up sea life from under the rocks and taught us about them, and that was nice. A good excursion if you want something to do, but don't expect it to look like Finding Nemo.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Castaway Girl Ship Wreck Cove Sail & Snorkel
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful day on a beautiful catamaran

Date:March 8, 2013
ChesapeakeGal
Location:Chesapeake, Virginia
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent excursion! The catamaran was wonderful and I enjoyed the snorkeling. Our guide did a good job of showing us the different sea creatures as well as the ship wreck. It's a great place to snorkel with lots of different fish. The catamaran crew was attentive and helpful but not overbearing.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Castaway Girl Ship Wreck Cove Sail & Snorkel
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

See Sea Creatures

Date:March 7, 2013
dukeofbelleville
Location:Belleville, Ontario
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Feb 25/13, our anniversary was a memorable visit to Gibbs Cay for the Stingray encounter and snorkelling. A great, knowledgeable crew (forgot their names but the time was 12:15 pm). Interacting with the rays of all sizes, was so amazing. Gentle creatures with an undeserved bad reputation. It was priceless to see the expressions on the faces of everyone, especially the kids.
A shout out to the great crew, for their humour and patience with everyone on board, young and old !
I recommend this to everyone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Castaway Girl Ship Wreck Cove Sail & Snorkel
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It was a great trip for me and my son!

Date:February 25, 2013
Mmicky
Location:Seattle, WA
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It wasn't the greatest outbound ride due to weather, but the crew made it very fun and entertaining! They were very friendly and humorous! We got snacks and free drinks on the way back! It was one of the best excusion that I ever had in my many years of traveling!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Castaway Girl Ship Wreck Cove Sail & Snorkel
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent value and very fun!

Date:February 10, 2013
ccdel
Location:Syracuse, NY
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Feb 6, 2013: Well it was a gloomy and rainy morning, but so what, you are in the Caribbean! We went out for a 30 minute catamaran boat ride to the island reef. The guides John, John and Steph were great. They were very concerned about people's health issues and did a good job training us on the snorkel gear. The shipwreck was good, we saw plenty of fish, a sea turtle, sea urchins. One of the Johns went snorkeling with us and explained the history of the shipwreck, dove down and brought up live sea life and explained it (then returned it to its rightful place unharmed). I think we snorkeled for about 45 minutes. Then we got back on the catamaran and on the way back to the ship, we cruised the islands and saw more sea turtles, flying fish and lots of sun! The crew was very free with giving out the rum punch drinks! Excellent if you like rum punch. Everyone seemed to enjoy themselves, I sure did. If the weather is iffy, just wait, it might change.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Castaway Girl Ship Wreck Cove Sail & Snorkel
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good trip for our family

Date:January 7, 2013
CGYfamily
Location:Calgary, AB, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We chose this excursion in advance of our Christmas vacation aboard the Amsterdam this holiday. Our 7 year old had a ball sitting at the front of the catamaran and getting soaked by the waves as we ventured out to Buck Island for the trip. The snorkeling was good but the wreck was a little obscured by low visibility. We even saw a giant turtle during the 45 minutes in the water. There were only two downsides I would say. The first is the note that it says snacks served and it was only pretzels and just a couple at that. Not overly filling after the snorkeling (no we don't want a full buffet but something a little more might be helpful). Second I would say there was a little too much asking for tips at the end. We already are paying quite a bit for the tour and to ask for tips on top, well a bit too over the board. However, the staff was friendly and knowledgeable. We would recommend this for families.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Castaway Girl Ship Wreck Cove Sail & Snorkel
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2012
camerabug
Location:Warsaw, Missouri
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
The crew was knowledgible and entertaining. The best snorkeling was along the bay walls and not over the shipwreck. Enjoyed it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Castaway Girl Ship Wreck Cove Sail & Snorkel
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Fun time but description is not accurate

Date:December 26, 2012
LaCastillo
Location:San Antonio, TX
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My husband and I booked this excursion for Dec. 2012. The catamaran is nice and roomy--plenty of shade or sun. The crew is quite nice and stressed safety. The snorkeling location was nice and the water was great. However, there was no mention at all of any sort of shipwreck and all we saw was sea life. On the way home, the crew did pass out rum punch to whomever wanted some. I did see a bottle of diet soda but the only "snacks" I saw was one tiny bowl of prezels and that was only after someone asked. So, truly there did not seem to be snacks or soda served. Finally, the actual snorkel time is closer to 45 minutes. The roundtrip and snorkeling time added up to 1 1/2 hours but you really only are in the water for about 45 minutes. Otherwise, it was a nice excursion.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Castaway Girl Ship Wreck Cove Sail & Snorkel
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good time had by all!!!

Date:December 4, 2012
sxycarlo
Location:Los Angeles
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This excursion was a lot of fun. The crew were amazing, funny, friendly and very entertaining. I have to admit having some extensive diving and snorkeling experience the sea life was not that impressive. The shipwreck was very cool to see but be prepared to free dive for a closer view. Another down fall is not only was the catamaran was packed with 40 guest but there were probably about 3 to 4 other catamaran and boats for other divers and snorkelers. So the area is busy and be prepared to be swimming on top pf each other. i think it would have been cool to allow more time for the guest to roam freely after the guild shows you the area. the best part was the return home. The crew will load you up on the rum punch. For first timers this is a fun excursion. I would try something different in my next trip to St. Thomas.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Castaway Girl Ship Wreck Cove Sail & Snorkel
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun time

Date:November 30, 2012
Anonymous
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We took this excursion during a Thanksgiving cruise, so we weren't surprised that the catamaran was packed. In fact that was the only negative - during the mandatory safety sailaway from the pier, we had to all crowd in the hot, humid and unfortunately smelly covered area to listen to a safety/rules briefing. But once we got 'on deck' it was pleasant and enjoyable sailing to the cove. The cove was not crowded and after some basic snorkeling lessons we were in the beautiful water. I caught up to a guide that was checking out and explaing the shipwreck. Frankly, it's in too deep of water to enjoy, so I suggest you concentrate on snorkeling close to the rocks their whole length where allowed. You'll see lots of colorful coral close up and teaming with fish and sea urchins. I was lucky to see a hawks beak turtle foraging at the sea bottom. I waited patiently for him to finish, when he came to the surface where I was able to swm along side him for several minutes. It was unbelievable. Also, there was a smaller boat in the cove,unrelated to the excursion. I heard their tour guide calling their passengers over, where a 3 foot barracuda was hanging out under their boat. That was an amazing site also! The sail back was fun, with lots of rum punch and beautiful scenery. However, I don't remember snacks being offered. The weather was postcard perfect, and the water was warm and crystal clear.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Castaway Girl Ship Wreck Cove Sail & Snorkel
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

New Catamaran

Date:November 29, 2012
BridgeBum
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was a new Catamaran and they put the sails up for the return trip to port. Saw one fish no one could identify. Fun and safety conscious crew.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Castaway Girl Ship Wreck Cove Sail & Snorkel
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Dissapointing snorkel

Date:November 23, 2012
HSch
Location:Atlanta, GA
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Went to a different cove on Buck island then we usually go to. Reef and fish was disapointing and no turtles.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>