Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Puerto Limon (San Jose), Costa Rica or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Rain Forest Aerial Tram

Rain Forest Aerial Tram

If walking through a rain forest seems exciting, then brace yourself for the experience of traveling on top of it in the central mountains of Costa Rica. The Rain Forest Aerial Tram is a unique eco-tourism adventure sightseeing experience. It takes visitors on a 70-minute excursion through the canopy of the rain forest allowing you to discover the beauty of the hanging gardens of air plants, animals and birds hidden at the top of diverse tall trees. Home to two-thirds of all rain forest species, the rain forest canopy is a little-known world of tremendous beauty and extraordinary biological diversity. The tramway runs through a private reserve that borders Braulio Carrillo National Park. This contributes to the protection of one of the richest canopy communities in the world. The canopy is full of both known and unknown plant species. See canopy life and discover new things in the natural history world. The lower, outbound leg of the tram ride will skim over hilltops and introduce you to the sub-canopy—a dark world of overburdened limbs dripping with mosses, ferns and orchids. Lianas and vines drape over branches and traverse forest spaces where they are commonly used as paths by many animals. The return leg reveals an even more dramatic portion of the trip as the cars glide on a journey through and above the canopy. Before returning to the pier you will enjoy a tasty Costa Rican lunch.Notes:Lunch is included. Wear light clothing, rain gear, a hat, sunscreen and insect repellent. It is a two-hour drive each way to the Rain Forest Aerial Tram.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
31 out of 34(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rain Forest Aerial Tram
Review 1 for Rain Forest Aerial Tram
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lots to See

Date:March 28, 2014
ds42
Location:Vero Beach, FL
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The day was perfect. Great weather with lots of variety on things to see. Throughout the day, the guides were very knowledgeable. The two hour bus ride to the rain forest allowed us to see many different styles of housing, schools, fields of pineapples, bananas and other crops. One would not want to miss this part of the journey. Once at the rain forest the 45 minute walk was on level ground and the variety of plants and how they survive was very interesting. A special treat on the aerial tram was one of our fellow travelers knew a lot about the plants and trees. Between her and the guide, we gained a wonderful education. We did see an ant eater and a couple of birds, but do not go with the idea of seeing much wildlife. The excitement of this experience is the exposure to so many plants and learning about their inter-dependence.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rain Forest Aerial Tram
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Leisure tour

Date:March 28, 2014
KarenFL
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bus ride to a Rain Forest past banana plantations. Upon arrival, a nature walk, then a tram ride, a buffet lunch and then back to the ship. Travel time was 4 hours, time at the site was 2.5 hours. Great guide, very knowledgeable. Authentic Costa Rican lunch.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rain Forest Aerial Tram
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Calm day in the rainforest

Date:January 14, 2014
gaudi1234
Location:Montreal, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very relaxing tour through the canopy of the rainforest. Do not expect to see animals on the tram: you will hear birds, we saw butterflies and you will appreciate the exotic and diverse flora. We got to see a snake, a sloth and a monkey outside the tram area.
The lunch provided is excellent.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rain Forest Aerial Tram
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Costa Rica Aerial Tram through rain forest

Date:April 18, 2013
Scarlett
Location:NC
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a fabulous excursion. Our guide, Max, was extremely knowledgeable about not only the rain forest, but also Costa Rica. While on the bus ride, Max provided lots of information on Costa Rica which I certainly did not know. The tram ride was beautiful. The plants are huge in the rain forest. We heard lots of birds, but didn't actually see any, except for a hummingbird that flew right through our tram. The scenery on the way to and from the rain forest was beautiful. Lots of pineapple and banana groves.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rain Forest Aerial Tram
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWESOME

Date:April 3, 2013
loadyolady
Location:St Albert
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were on this excursion with our Grandson. The bus ride to the tram was very informative thanks to Eddie our tour guide. The walk at the Tram was cool, we saw and learned lots about the vegetation and even saw 4 posionous snakes. The tram ride even though we did not see any wild life was well worth it. We saw the Blue Morph butterfly as well as other ones. The tram guide was very informative and answered all our questions. We also saw some 3 toed sloths in the trees on our way to the tram and on the way back and they stopped so we could take pictures.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rain Forest Aerial Tram
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Truly a Rain Forest!

Date:March 15, 2013
Lclin
Location:Virginia
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After a very long bus ride, we were glad to get to the rain forest. As the name says, it drizzled and rained much of the time, but it didn't dampen the experience. Be sure to take rain gear, since it rains almost every day. The tram gave a wonderful view of the lower and higher parts of the rain forest. We saw lots of vegetation everywhere, but almost no wildlife - a few butterflies, a sloth, a snake high in a tree and some bullet ants. That was disappointing. We were expecting lots of birds and other animals. The lunch was by far the best we've had on an excursion. We had almost no time in the gift shop. That was very disappointing. We're sorry we didn't have time to see any of the Pacific beaches on the other side of Costa Rica. This trip took the whole shore time, so we didn't get to see anything else in Costa Rica.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rain Forest Aerial Tram
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2013
kindsche
Location:Ann Arbor, MI
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had a great guide and bus driver. We saw lots of wildlife, but not in the rainforest itself; we saw some three toed sloths near the road and a tapir and other animals near the park station. Very beautiful, good food, lots of fun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rain Forest Aerial Tram
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

A LOT of greenery and not much else

Date:March 10, 2013
Marberiz
Location:Chicago
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It was a 2 hour bus ride to the attraction. There was a 45 minute walk, then the aerial tram ride. We saw: some leaf-cutter ants, a sloth, one white orchid, and, a LOT of trees. We had an OK lunch. Then a 2 hour ride back to the ship. The three of us didn't feel it was worth the time or money. Maybe you'll have a better experience!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rain Forest Aerial Tram
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Travel in the lush rain forest

Date:March 3, 2013
Norbert
Location:Virginia
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you enjoy getting close to nature and seeing mainly the plants for an interesting perspective, you will enjoy traveling through the rain forest in this tram ride (basically, a modified ski lift). The guides are very informative, the ride is slow and very steady, and the environs are breath-takingly beautiful. The ride is followed by a slow walk along a paved trail that even those of us with some walking limitations found to be manageable. The lunch was one of the best we ever had on a tour, and the serving and seating areas were clean and inviting. Bathrooms were readily available, and my wife says they were in very good condition. The bus ride there was in a modern, airconditioned and comfortable vehicle.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rain Forest Aerial Tram
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It was Ok

Date:February 15, 2013
Jacque
Location:Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
It was a long day. The 2 hour drive to the rain forest was interesting but a little too long spent in the forest - being that the likelihood of seeing any animals is rare. The lunch was ok but not the type of food we like - other than the fruit. Not enough time to eat and go to the gift shop before heading home.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rain Forest Aerial Tram
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We loved it!

Date:January 31, 2013
TRNMGR
Location:Atlanta, GA
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
My husband and I went on this excursion in January, 2013. This tour begins with a 2+ hour bus ride from the port to the rain forest (I think there are multiple rain forests one can visit in Costa Rice). This tour involved a l-o-o-n-g bus ride, a nature walk and the aerial tram. Eddie was our guide, and he was interesting, knowledgeable and spoke English pretty well. We learned about Costa Rican culture, banana plantations, pineapple plantations, and the rain forest, of course. Anselmo was our guide for the nature walk. While his English was not as good as Eddie's, he was very smart, and we enjoyed the nature walk. When they tell you DO NOT TOUCH anything, they aren't kidding, BTW. Also, DO NOT STRAY from the tour.
We were delayed getting to the rain forest by a protest that blocked the highway, so our nature walk and our lunch time were cut a bit short. That was OK, because what we really wanted was the tram ride, which did not disappoint. We saw beautiful butterflies, some sloths in trees, birds, and lots of plants and trees. The weather was beautiful, which is unusual in Costa Rica, where it rains 300 days a year.
If you have a disability that makes you unable to walk any distance or stand for any length of time, skip this excursion. If you cannot climb into a ski gondola, skip this tour. If you're afraid of heights, skip this tour. I'm just pointing this out because we had people in our group who arrived and then were upset because they were expected to walk, or stand, or get into a gondola. For heaven's sake, did they READ the description?
If you can get around fine, this was an interesting and informative tour, and we thoroughly enjoyed it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Rain Forest Aerial Tram
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nature but

Date:January 26, 2013
TM001
Location:USA
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you are expecting to see a lot of wildlife, this is not for you. But if you want to see a true rainforest and enjoy the quiet of being "alone" this works. We were there during the dry season (Jan - Mar), I'm not sure how much I would have have enjoyed this, if it was raining, the trams are covered so their would be some protection. Since it was not raining, taking pictures was easy, lots of plants. Guide was very knowledgeable. Only issue was we were originally told, one guide per 6 people, but half of their guides were sick, so everyone had to double up.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Rain Forest Aerial Tram
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

beautiful but exhausting

Date:December 1, 2012
Glor
Location:Illinois
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
aerial tram was excellent but the exhibit buildings we were in did not have anywhere to sit down, even though there would have been plenty of room for a bench here and there. Excellent tour guide & motor coach driver. Easy to understand & made the hour drive short (pretty bumpy though). If you can't make the short walking trail, there is a spot where the tram unloads that you can rest while the others walk the trail.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Rain Forest Aerial Tram
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Aerial Tram

Date:April 27, 2012
Vicki1
Location:Seattle, WA
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved this excursion. Tour happened in a 7 passenger "bucket". A naturalist went along with us to explain what we were looking at from 70 ft. up. Saw unusal insects, bright colored butterflies, Howler Monkey, sloth, and lush tropical forest plants were beautiful. A very memorable experience.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Rain Forest Aerial Tram
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wanted to go again!

Date:February 28, 2012
cincisoccermom
Location:Ohio
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the tram ride was delightful. Very peaceful but exciting and quite beautiful. (On the return leg, the tram retraces its path, but higher into the canopy.) The walking portion of the tour was just as interesting and worthwhile. Lunch was very tasty and satisfying. I'd happily return if I go back to Costa Rica! [also note: friends who did the zipline found it exciting, but said that they weren't able to enjoy the rainforest till they were on the ground, on foot, so they missed much of the beauty of the place.]
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Rain Forest Aerial Tram
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THE BEST TOUR EVER

Date:February 20, 2012
lynnie
Location:QUEENS NY
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BEST WAY TO SEE BREATH FRESH AIR,NO BUGS,GREAT FOOD & COFFEE RELAXING TOUR DO NOT MISS IT.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Rain Forest Aerial Tram
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Rain Forest Aerial Tram

Date:February 16, 2012
PanamaTraveler
Location:Wilmington, DE
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Overall the excursion was good, but there was little time left after the tram ride to eat the lunch provided for us and no time to visit the gift shop after eating. We were told to return to the bus with almost no time to finish our meal.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-7points
4out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Rain Forest Aerial Tram
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Rainforest Aerial Tram in Costa Rica

Date:January 15, 2012
LynnMarie
Location:Mt. Prospect, IL
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again our tour guide Brett guided us in the right direction. I am deathly afraid of heights however I have been in a gondola (enclosed) many years ago and that was freighting and I walked in a cloud forest in Costa Rica which involved climbing an open stair case which I was having a panic attack until I reached the platform, this was not scarey. As a matter of fact it was very relaxing and I enjoyed every minute. Even though the highest point was 120 feet above ground it didn't feel like it and I felt very safe.
Our guide Chevz was very knowledgeable and pleasant to talk to. We saw many beautiful butterflies, heard birds but couldn't see them. Saw a sloth while on the walking tour which also was very informative.
The lunch was excellent. Authentic Costa Rica food with fresh fruit to die for!
Really enjoyed the experience and glad my daughter and I went. I would recommend going on this tour.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Rain Forest Aerial Tram
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

See the rainforest upclose

Date:January 5, 2012
LoveCruising
Location:Minnesota
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was quite an adventure for us. At the rainforest venue, one of the roads had been washed out by heavy rains and there was a fun alternative to get us to the tram (we got to walk across the forest on a swinging bridge). We didn't see any wildlife because of the heavy rain. Good rain gear and the tram cage has a roof keep us from getting wet. It is great that the tram cage is small - knowledgeable guide and 6 people in the cage. The lunch afterward was very nice. It does take about 1.5 hours to get from the port to the rainforest site, but we had a very knowledgeable guide who gave us good history and cultural info about Costa Rica. We did research the rainforest tram on the web before we signed up for it - we were well prepared to enjoy this adventure.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Rain Forest Aerial Tram
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

MAX OUR GUIDE MADE THIS TOUR

Date:December 27, 2011
Richard
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Max was our guide. Not sure of his education level but I suspect it is a PHD in Environmental Science. On the ride to the tram we got a history of Costa Rica. After arriving Max lead us on our tram trip through the rain forest, his knowledge was unbelievable. I knew both the common & Latin name of some of the plants and MAX was spot on with every plant plus he had indepth knowledge of the various birds & animals of the forest. He was very patient & professional.
This was a GREAT excursion !
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>