Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Bridgetown, Barbados or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Barbados Turtle Encounter

Barbados Turtle Encounter

Enjoy a boat ride along the beautiful west coast of Barbados, gliding past pristine palm-fringed beaches, through the crystal-clear azure waters to your destination at Turtle Bay. Experienced guides will equip you with your snorkel gear and offer instruction and some interesting information about the lives and habits of turtles. Then it's time to swim with these friendly creatures. A waterproof camera is a must-have to capture this exceptional experience. After your turtle encounter, you'll stop at a nice beach to relax. Stroll, swim and enjoy a rum punch or cool drink on the beach. Banana boat or doughnut rides and snorkel gear are included.Notes:Wear your swimsuit; bring a towel, sunscreen and a hat. Guests with heart problems, epilepsy, diabetes or asthma are not allowed to participate in snorkeling. Waiver must be signed and medical conditions disclosed. Wildlife sightings are likely but are not guaranteed. Minimum age is 5 years.
Average Customer Rating:
4.591 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
20 out of 22(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbados Turtle Encounter
Review 1 for Barbados Turtle Encounter
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2014
wedge
Location:chicago
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We were on the overflow boat and since it had a keel it could not get to the beach and thus you could swim but not sunbathe as you towel would be all wet from the swim. Also if you can't go early, don't do this as once the turtles are full they don't come around anymore and thus we saw one turtle.
We have done this before and it was wonderful but we were on the main boat and it was early and saw tons of turtles.
Both crews were great, it is just a matter of boat and time of day as to how much you enjoy this trip.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Barbados Turtle Encounter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The perfect mix!

Date:February 11, 2014
Cruisepen
Location:Montreal, Quebec
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cruise was very well done. Clean, professional and informative. Swim and snorkel with the turtles, with great respect for them....then on to a beautiful beach for free water activities...banana boat, etc. crew was attentive and the stairs for entering and exiting the water were superb even for my arthritic knees...wide, safe and not steep!
Well done!
Cruise date Jan. Feb 2014, not showing
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Barbados Turtle Encounter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must see and do for 2014

Date:February 9, 2014
Chiller
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was probably our most favourite excursion this cruise. We set sail on a catamaran with a crew that was professional and helpful in so many ways. We anchored off the beautiful shores of Bridgetown and were ready to jump in the water in search of turtles. It was amazing and yes a waterproof camera is a must bring. After spending about an hour in the water with the turtles, we set sail for a beautiful beach where we enjoyed the banana and donut rides. OMG, I haven't laughed like that in years. As we set sail for our return to the ship, we were provided with beverages of our choice. I will do this excursion again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Barbados Turtle Encounter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice Day

Date:January 24, 2014
UConnMike
Location:Ellington, CT
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tour was everything they promised. I nice swim with turtles, a nice catamaran ride along the shore with a great view of the island, and then a fun time at the beach, with watercraft rides towed by an outboard. Some reviews I see here say that the people snorkeling kicked the turtles and there were too many. That was not our experience. I guess our group paid better attention to the instructions. Turtles swam up right away and we all had a chance to watch and wave at them. Those who braved the water rides at the beach seemed to get the most out of this excursion... and that included us. (we cruised Jan 2014, but the tool below is not updated to enter that yet.)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Barbados Turtle Encounter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Turtle Encounter Well Worth It

Date:January 7, 2014
Gypsy
Location:Seattle, Washington
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The trip was beautiful - on board a catamaran with a lively crew. Got to see a lot of Barbardos coastline and the famous crystal clear water although not enough wind to sail. The boat was a bit crowded - this is a very popular excursion and you should expect 25-35 people to be with you. Our group was an older one but eveyone got to see two adult loggerhead turtles and one "baby" - about the size of a dinner plate. You can see the turtles from the boat or without snorkle gear but if you want the real experience, it's best to be in the water. They do feed the turtles to draw them in, but they are NOT domesticated and it's a thrill to swim with them. Highly recommended - especially if you snorkle. The beach was lovely and the banana boat rides were terrific - also you could swim and juice was provided. Unlimited Rum punch on the way back!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Barbados Turtle Encounter
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Turtles get kicked

Date:January 7, 2014
Appeltaart
Location:Holland
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I agree with the previous reviewer that this excursion is too crowded. We got some instructions on the boat but half of the group apparently didn't listen to it and that resulted in chaos in the water. A lot of people didn't use the right snorkeling technique (floating in the water), I think because there is too much competition to get a good look of the 3 turtles. People sim and move around a lot and I saw the turtles getting kicked by feet a number of times. That was heart breaking to see and not a nice experience. I also mentioned this to the staff and they said they understood my worries but couldn't do anything about it or prevent the turtles from getting kicked.
We did like the banana boat ride and the rum punch afterwards. The swim at the beach was a bit disappointing because you could only swim in a very small area that is marked by ropes.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Barbados Turtle Encounter
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

A Crowded Encounter?

Date:December 12, 2013
zuker
Location:Erie, PA
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
We booked this excursion based on all the good reviews, but I now see that the reviews were almost a year old and something must have changed. We had around 45 people in the water along with other boats in the area. You could not see the crew members who were supposed to be attracting the turtles with food. Someone would yell out, "There's a turtle", and a mass of people would try to swim to the area. I had my face mask knocked of by somebody and took-in quite a lot of sea water. I did manage to see a couple of small turtles but I would hardly call it an "Encounter". The boat ride, beach{no chairs] and banana boat ride were nice and the reason I did give this two stars, but we went primarily for the turtle encounter. If your new to excursions and cruising you might think this was a good time. We have been on dozens and dozens of excursions and I have to say this has been our most disappointing. They do say that sightings are not guaranteed and I can see why. Unless they change their ways of managing the turtle encounter or you are easily satisfied I would not recommend this excursion.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Barbados Turtle Encounter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Special experience to see turtles up close

Date:May 21, 2013
Fiona
Location:New Zealand
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a great experience and a really fun day. It is only a short boat ride to the bay where the turtles are, and surprisingly it is just off a regular beach dotted with hotels, not out in the ocean as I thought it would be. The turtles appeared after the ‘turtle food’ was thrown overboard, and the turtles are not afraid of the people in the water and swim all around you. I also spent some time watching from the boat so I think you get plenty of time there. Then we rode to a small white sand beach where you could have rides on the tubes and banana boats, it was excellent fun. They served rum punch and played music on the boat ride back so it was a great morning. The boat staff were friendly and a great crew.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Barbados Turtle Encounter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Excursion ever

Date:March 9, 2013
FridayFenWolf
Location:Sewickley Pa
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the most fun ever. My husband and I are in our 70's and comfortable in water. You must wear a small life vest which limits swimming but is a safety reg. The Turltes come to feed and swim gracefully under and around you. I took lots of photos. It was magical. Staff is professional. All good
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Barbados Turtle Encounter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Turtle Encounter Was A Blast

Date:February 28, 2013
Heikar
Location:B.C., Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The other reviews accurately describe the trip and it is great. The staff were super, boat was clean and well looked after, the Turtles were very neat to see and touch. You also get a good view of the turtles from the boat if you don't swim or get tired. Drinks and punch readily served on trip back. When you are at the beach, do the Banana boat or tube ride for extra fun. Great time and well worth it!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Barbados Turtle Encounter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Experience!

Date:February 16, 2013
MinnesotaGal
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Turtle Encounter shore excursion was a really wonderful experience and a fun day. Just long enough to leave us time to do some exploring afterwards in downtown Bridgetown, Barbados. After a short boat ride to the turtle area, we donned snorkel gear and waited for the turtles. Once the guys started feeding, the turtles appeared out of nowhere! There were young, smaller ones and really large, older ones. The adults were huge! I must admit I was initimidated as they were swimming above me and below me, but my husband loved it. He was surrounded by turtles. He could touch them and see them up close! He had the underwater camera and got lots of great photos. (They will sell you an underwater camera onboard the boat for $20 - we bought ours at Target in advance for $14.) After a few minutes, I decided I'd be happier back on the boat, looking at the turtles from there. I could see them very well in the clear water. My husband, however, stayed until the last second and truly enjoyed himself. Then we had some beach time at a nice, smaller white-sand beach next to the Sandy Lane resort. Several people were given rides on tubes and banana boats, which they seemed to really enjoy. Non-alcoholic beverages were available on the beach and rum punch was served on the boat ride back. The boat staff that accompanied us were fun and friendly. All in all, this is a great shore excursion and highly recommended.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Barbados Turtle Encounter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved the Barbados Turtle Encounter!

Date:February 5, 2013
Renae5
Location:Walla Walla, WA
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't tell you how much I enjoyed this excursion! I am a 52 year old female and I am not even a swimmer, but it was great fun! I was still able to get into the water and bump into a few turtles (as well as other people on the excursion...sorry!) with my life vest on. What I really loved about this particular excursion was how upbeat the crew was. It was just fun! The music was playing on the boat, snacks and drinks were brought around, there was beautiful scenery to enjoy and turtles to see! I even took a turn on that banana boat ride (again with my life vest) and had a hair-raising experience! I would do this again if I am fortunate enough to return to Barbados. By the way, I did this in January 2013 though it doesn't give me the option to select that year!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Barbados Turtle Encounter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great tour - highly recommend

Date:February 4, 2013
robsonfamily
Location:Vancouver, BC
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 adults, 16 and 12 year old and we all rank this tour 5/5. Definitely will do it again if we are in Barbados. The price is right and the combo of snorkeling, beach time and banana boat rides is perfect. We all had a blast and the rum punch was mighty tasty on the boat ride back to the ship!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Barbados Turtle Encounter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This excursion was a blast!

Date:December 14, 2012
Blueeyez58
Location:Kansas City, Missouri
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This excursion sold out prior to the actual date, so if you're on the fence about whether to book it, don't wait too long. We had a short bus ride to the dock where a boat awaited us, then took about a 20 minute boat ride to the area where the turtles were. The tour guides fed the turtles while we were in the water, so that made the turtles very interested in staying around us. We were supplied with snorkel gear and spent about 30 minutes in the water with these interesting creatures. We were given information about how to handle ourselves around them, so we wouldn't accidentally end up with a toe or finger missing. :-)
After this encounter, we were taken to a beach where we could snorkel, just lay out and get some sun, or ride their "banana" boat or tube that they pulled behind a smaller boat. On the way back to the port, we were supplied with rum punch. Over all--a great day and a great excursion. Highly recommend!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Barbados Turtle Encounter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great fun swimming with turtles

Date:November 20, 2012
xsteves
Location:CA
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first stop we got out and snorkeled (no fins allowed) with a group of turtles. The turtles were all around us and everyone was able to get up close to them. The second stop was Sandy Lane beach and the boat left people off to lie on the beach or ride a banana boat around. The crew was very helpful and friendly.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Barbados Turtle Encounter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Experience

Date:March 30, 2012
Dori
Location:Michigan
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the best excursion of the cruise. The snorkel boat crew was very helpful, friendly, and professional. Swimming with the turtles was amazing. Afterwards we stopped at a beach where we had a chance to take banana boat rides, lie in the sun, and go tubing. After all the water sports we were treated to some mean rum punch...one was enough! I highly recommend this excursion.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Barbados Turtle Encounter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great from beginning to end

Date:March 6, 2012
Sandy4
Location:Los Angeles
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was so much fun. There was a multitude of turtles, encouraged by the crew feeding them. Afterward, we went to the beach where the crew brought out a large rubber "banana" and a large rubber "pillow" on which we were given rides. The beach was in a lovely resort area and the water was great. A perfect excursion.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Barbados Turtle Encounter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Turtle encounter

Date:February 12, 2012
Footsa
Location:Calgary
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great adventure. We had the time of our lives. The turtles were hand fed and happy to be with us. The beach is amazing. The staff was incredible. They treated us like gold. Just do it
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Barbados Turtle Encounter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sea turtles

Date:February 11, 2012
Jane
Location:Moorpark, Ca
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great experience. I thought we would see the turtles from a distance but they were right next to us. I loved every minute.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Barbados Turtle Encounter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More than we expected!

Date:April 12, 2011
Joan
Location:Kentucky
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We signed on to see the turtles; but the tour was so much more.
As we left the harbor we enjoyed the ride and the company on the well equipped boat. On board after we swam with the turtles, we encountered a family of whales on our way to the beach. There the water was warm and clear and there were rides on inflatables pulled by a motorboat . Our crew was helpful and a lot of fun.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>