Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop San Juan, Puerto Rico or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Bio-luminescent Bay Kayak

Bio-luminescent Bay Kayak

Don’t miss this unique opportunity for a memorable and relaxing trip into the enchanting bio-luminescent bay at Laguna Grande of Fajardo. Under the blanket of the night sky and in the company of the historic lighthouse of Fajardo, you’ll kayak through the calm water, literally making it glow as you paddle. The bay is filled with bio-luminescent organisms that light up in a manner similar to glow worms or fireflies when physically agitated. While the organisms themselves are tiny, but when a large number of them light up simultaneously, the effect is like a miniature Milky Way sweeping through the water—truly a beautiful phenomenon. Enjoy refreshments on your return to shore.Notes:Pregnant women or guests with back or neck problems are not allowed to participate. Waiver must be signed and medical conditions disclosed. The professional kayak guide(s) meet you upon arrival in Fajardo. Unguided travel time is approximately 1½ hours each way. Minimum age is six years. All kayaks are doubles—combined weight per kayak must not exceed 400 pounds. Wear your swimsuit under your clothing; bring a towel and insect repellant. Please do not bring electronic items such as cameras, mp3 players, etc. All participants must be able to swim and feel comfortable performing a water activity that requires balance. Tour does not operate on Sundays.
Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
14 out of 16(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bio-luminescent Bay Kayak
Review 1 for Bio-luminescent Bay Kayak
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Adventure after dark

Date:December 13, 2013
DinomiteDuo
Location:Ozark, AR
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We had an excellent guide/bus driver, very personable and funny. Sometimes a little difficult to understand. He pointed out many interesting sites along the rather long bus ride. We stopped where we had a choice of fast food, but I knew from reading other reviews to get something to eat. Glad we did, or I would have been very hungry later. The kayaking after dark was really an adventure. It was very dark in the channel surrounded by mangroves, but the darkness allowed a good viewing of the luminescence in the water. When we were out on the lagoon, we kayaked at our will. Could see a lighthouse working on a nearby hill.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bio-luminescent Bay Kayak
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome and Fun!

Date:May 6, 2013
Dizzy
Location:Alpine, CA
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This excursion was fantastic. We'd never seen anything like this. The guides on the kayaks were knowledgeable, patient and fun. They explained all about how the organisms make the water glow and the best ways to do it. It was great watching a group of adults playing with the water like little kids. Kayaking through the mangroves was also a special treat. Yes, the bus ride to and from the location is a bit long, but our bus driver was telling us all about places we passed and things about Puerto Rico and was very friendly and the ride went quickly. We would advise eating something before you meet for this excursion, or eating at the McDonald's stop on the way there as it is late when you get back on the bus and the refreshments are a bag of chips and a bottle of water. Our kayak guides told us there are only 5 places left in the world that have this luminescent water. This is truly a unique experience. Don't miss out on it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bio-luminescent Bay Kayak
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This will blow your mind

Date:April 10, 2013
GoBlueGirl
Location:Michigan
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bio-luminescent kayak trip was AMAZING! We were in a group of people with mixed levels of kayaking experience.. which was frustrating as we were instructed to stay in a single-file line through the mangroves. The tour guides were excellent at pointing out wildlife along the way (mostly iguanas lounging in the mangroves). Upon reaching the bay near dusk, we were beginning to doubt the bio-luminescence of the water... but we didn't have to wait long before we were proven wrong!
It. Was. Awesome.
The tour guides provided an excellent description of the organisms that create the illumination and the history of other locations in the world that these organisms live.
Once we were able to paddle around to experience the bay on our own-- we found an area that fish were VERY active in... I won't say more-- experience it for yourself.
The trip back out of the mangroves was a bit treacherous as we did it in the complete dark... single file line... but everyone made it out in one piece.
This was worth every penny (although the bus ride to get there was pretty long.) Do it. You won't regret it
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bio-luminescent Bay Kayak
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful!

Date:March 9, 2013
Trixie
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had never kayaked before and my daughter had once. It would have been helpful to have prior experience but our guide, Tony, was great! He got us through the hard part and was so understanding about our lack of kayaking skills (more than the mean people from our cruise). He also explained to the group about the bioluminescent organisms and the environment. The creatures were sparkly, especially through the mangroves. People are correct when they say to go during a new moon. We went during a quarter moon and the organisms weren't as bright; but the mangroves are dark and you could see them clearly there. Definitely recommend!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bio-luminescent Bay Kayak
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Adventure and once in a lifetime event!

Date:February 10, 2013
ccdel
Location:Syracuse, NY
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Feb 6, 2013: Excellent experience: 1.5 hour bus ride to the location with a stop at McDonalds for a 20 minute bathroom break (others ate) had to wait for it to get dark anyway. Then arrived at the ocean bay kayak hub! Yes there were 100s of other kayakers, but this is a unique biological experience that everyone should see! Other groups kept there distance and respected our groups space. We got our safety briefing and entered the water. After we were all assembled, we approached the mangrove lagoon in single file for safety. It was pretty dark going in and it started raining hard (but who cares, we were already wet from kayaking!) Then something was jumping in the water all around us (sounded like the size of small bowling balls being dropped into the water). We were told it was the fish jumping and eating the very Bio-luminescent algae that we were there to see. Once it got "really" dark and we were at the lake, the lake seemed to glow from your paddle or hand in the water like diamonds. WOW! This is cool. Yes it was pitch black and pouring rain, but we had a great group and were all laughing our butts off. Just all enjoying the experience. The water seems to ignite just from anything entering the water! The guide gave a great explanation of the Bio-luminescent algae, then we started back. It was kind of difficult kayaking in the pitch black back through the mangrove lagoon, but we were all careful and there are flashing lights on the kayaks to help us follow each other. Lots of fun and educational.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bio-luminescent Bay Kayak
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding kayak trip

Date:November 29, 2012
BridgeBum
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This excursion was recommended by friends. Staff was very professional and experience was amazing. The fish jumping lit up the water! Only thing that could have made it better would have been to have single kayaks available! Our Driver was very well informed and enthusiastic about her country. Would definitely do this again
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bio-luminescent Bay Kayak
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Bio Kayak

Date:August 8, 2012
CPuffCruiser
Location:California
Cruise Date Year:2010
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had wanted to do this excursion for a couple of years and was excited when an itinerary actually allowed us to go. The staff was very friendly, but everything was very rushed. When we reached the area to begin the kayak adventure there were multiple companies running tours and there were 100's of kayaks. My husband and I have kayaked before, but many of the people of the tour hadn't and were panicking during the paddle through the mangroves in complete darkness. When we ran into another group returning from their trip chaos ensued and a few people tipped over , lost items, and were hit with paddles flailing in the darkness. Too many boats with inexperienced operators in a small, pitch black environment. The bio-luminescent bay was actually pretty cool, I just wish there would have been more time to paddle around in the water instead of retuning to the madness of the mangroves.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bio-luminescent Bay Kayak
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great experience - check the lunar calendar!

Date:May 1, 2012
Cruisin
Location:Raleigh, NC
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great experience! My only suggestion is to go when it is the darkest part of the month. I went on April 3rd and it was close to a full moon. The Kayak group (Yokahu Kayak) was great, but they had to give us tarps to place over our kayaks to see the glow the best.
The tour group stopped about 30 mins away and we had 45 mins to get food (Mc Donald's/KFC). I did not read about this in advance, but another traveler with me did. Traffic was bad, so I think they were trying to get us out of San Juan early.
On a side note, if you take the earlier tour which we did you get to see the mangroves, but it is not totally dark until you head back. Be sure to stop at the churros stand and get fresh churros made to order! Delicious!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bio-luminescent Bay Kayak
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Expected much more from this tour

Date:February 5, 2012
kkoskari
Location:Wyoming
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Maybe it was because the moon was quite full....maybe because the water wasn't very warm (the luminescent micro-organisms do like warm water).....maybe because of the long, cold bus ride.....maybe because my expectations for this were too high...you see, this trip to see the bio luminescent bay was on my bucket list. At any rate, it was quite disappointing. I expected that we would actually be able to see the glow of the bay as we approached it. The truth?--maybe, just maybe, you could see a little glow when you agitated the water with the paddles. Some of the remarks I heard: "Maybe you have to BELIEVE in it, and then you can see it". "This is IT?!? Are you SERIOUS???" Such a letdown....the good parts? The trip through the mangroves in the dark with 15 kayaks in single file, was fun. The guides were enthusiastic. Would I do it again? Maybe.....but I would check the lunar calendar first, and try to go when the water is warmer.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bio-luminescent Bay Kayak
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Magical experience!

Date:February 3, 2012
Quizkid57
Location:Seattle, WA
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a fabulous experience—one of the highlights of our trip. We were glad we took the later time slot, because the night was very dark by the time we arrived at the kayaking site. The guide was very knowledgable and enthusiastic. It helps if you’ve kayaked or canoed before—especially for the person in back who does the steering--but experience is not required. After a short paddle across the bay, we entered a narrow channel through a dense mangrove forest. Immediately we began to see the glowing organisms in the water wherever they were stirred up by our paddles and boats. If you run your hand through the water you make more glowing waves, and when you scoop up the water in your hand you seem to be holding a handful of tiny stars. We paddled through the forest until it opened out into a huge, completely natural lagoon. We gathered around our guide in our kayaks, while he explained the science behind the bioluminescence. The stars above were very bright—we were lucky to have a moonless night. The whole experience was magical.
A few bits of advice for this excursion. Eat a solid meal before you go, even though you’ll be leaving in the late afternoon. The whole excursion is 6 hours long, and the only other chance you’ll have to eat is a very brief stop at a McDonald’s. The drive to the kayaking site involves a 90-minute ride on a Greyhound–style bus. I was glad I took my iPod. You can safely leave your valuables on the bus—the driver guards it while you’re kayaking. Bring insect repellent (though we didn’t notice any mosquitoes when we were there). You may want to wear a bathing suit, though I was glad to have a shirt on top because it was chilly on the dock. You will get totally soaked from the waist down, so bring a full change of clothing, including a warm sweater or jacket for the way back. Have a great time—we did!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bio-luminescent Bay Kayak
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing experience

Date:January 8, 2012
Mlur
Location:Canada
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Transfer was hour and a half each way on air conditioned, comfortable coach. Stopped at McD's for snacks since excursion was over supper hour. Arrived at excursion at dusk. You are kayaking in about four feet of water for most of the trip - very safe. Did the excursion with our kids, 9 and 8 and the kayaking was quite easy and fun for them. The actual kayaking trip was absolutely magical - the mangrove trees are huge...the roots grow into the canal. The bio luminescence all of sudden appears as you are paddling and you start noticing the colours as your paddle hits the water. Kayaked into a larger lagoon area where the bioluminescence was pronounced. Kayak leader Irwin did his "Discovery Channel" talk and was very knowledgeable. He and his crew ended up towing a few people that were a bit helpless in their kayaks - very focused on everyone having a good time. You definitely get wet with the water slopping into the kayak at times so best to go barefoot (there is a place to leave your shoes) or reef sandals. Please also do not wear DEET - very bad for the bioluminescent waters - you will start killing it off. We were fine with surf tshirts over our bathing suits/boardshorts.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bio-luminescent Bay Kayak
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastical!

Date:December 4, 2011
RovinBee
Location:Glendale, Arizona, USA
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This tour through mangrove canopies, out into the moonlit bay was gorgeous and exciting! For us, it was the paddling out to the bay that held the most sights of bigger creatures darting through the water around us in addition to the loveliness of the illuminated organisms.
The bus ride out to the bay is incredibly long and the onboard bathroom is locked so you'll have to ask for a stop if you want. Bring dry bottoms to change into because you will literally be sitting in a puddle inside your kayak and the water is very sticky when it drys.
For the money paid, I'd give up the snacks and bottled water in order to be taken by a water taxi to the bay in order to cut time. We would have loved to change clothes and enjoy a gorgeous dinner in town afterwards.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bio-luminescent Bay Kayak
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Favourite Excursion of Our Cruise

Date:April 9, 2011
FirstCruise
Location:Victoria, BC Canada
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had enough time in this port to walk up to the fort and then stroll back down to the port to get changed to leave for this excursion. There is a CVS pharmacy on the main drag where you can buy some mosquito repellent. We later learned that the deet is not good for the organism so leave your hands, lower arm spray free if you are going to want to put your hand in the water to see the glowing water. The bus trip was very imformative with our tour guide Ricki. Traffic was busy so that's why the drive takes so long to get out to the bay. Quicker on the way back. It was neat to see where people lived and get out of the downtown. We stopped for a washroom break and were able to grab some fast food at two American chains and there is a pharmacy there too. Would have been nice to have some local food but perhaps everyone is not so adventurous. You'll want to wear your swim suit for the kayak trip as you will get a wet bottom. Water shoes or sandals as you step into the ocean to sit on your kayak. My sis wore a tank under her life jacket and the bottom part got wet too. Air was so warm didn't really need a shirt. You cross a bay and then go down a narrow channel with mangrove trees on either side. You have small lights on the front/back of your kayak to see the one in front. Found our pack slow going which was kind of annoying but it is dark and there were newbies on the trip. Half the time I didn't even paddle as one person paddling was enough when you are going so slow. Loved the birds and bugs in the trees freaking out the ladies behind us. It was pretty funny. Once you get to the bay it is def. dark so the stars are nice and bright. The luminescent water was the coolest thing and nice to get away from the other kayaks and stir up the water. We had three guides front/middle/back so we were all looked after and could ask questions along the way. Upon return your snacks is chips and water. There is a bathroom but it is def. rustic and there was not any TP so perhaps bring a pack of kleenex with you if you think you'll need to go. Only two stalls so bit of a line up for all us grils to get out of our suits. Bathroom is run by the town (so no fault of kayak company or Holland America). This was def. our favourite port and excursion on our trip. Two kids came on the trip-one rode with mum and the other with the dad with no problems. Not a huge distance or rough water so think its a great trip for seniors too.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bio-luminescent Bay Kayak
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWESOME!

Date:March 30, 2011
PinkyD
Location:Taneytown, MD
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You have to do this! I've never been in a kayak before and I promise I had no problems. The guys running the excursion are really nice and speak english very well. Paddeling through the mangroves out to the bay can be a little work but it is sooo worth it. Once it got dark enough, our paddles moving started to make the water light up. The kayaks would leave a faint trail of glo. I couldn't keep my hands out of the water! Truly Amazing! Paddeling back through the mangroves can get very dark. The only thing we could see in the very darkest of the mangroves were the little red and green lights that were on the front and back of the kayaks. Not a problem though. Just keep up with the person in front of you. There is a guide in front, in the middle and at the end of your group. The bus that takes you to the beach to get into the kayaks had a scheduled stop at McDonalds for us to get something to eat and drink and use the facilities. There is also a drug store next door some people visited. This was definetly my favorite excursion!!
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bio-luminescent Bay Kayak
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bio

Date:December 30, 2010
Priscilla
Location:Stamford, CT
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Fantastic to see and the kyacking at night was very fun! It was December, but the water was very warm when we tipped over!
Just wish the bus was better quality because we were stuck in it in traffic for a long time. Don't miss this tour!
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bio-luminescent Bay Kayak
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bio Bay Tour once in a lifetime opportunity

Date:August 22, 2010
Birch
Location:Orlando, FL
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We really enjoyed ourselves. The ride out in the daylight gave us a little peek at the real Puerto Rico. Our bus driver would point out places of interest and make jokes.
The real fun was kayaking thru the mangrove forest to get out into the bay as the sun was going down. As we got closer and closer our paddles made the swirling water glow. Being in the bay with the stars above and the glowing in the water was magical. I don't know how else to describe it. You really have to do this tour if you are interested in ecology or the enviroment. I can't recommend it enough. It is a good idea to be familar with how to paddle a sit on kayak, one couple kept knocking into everyone, that was funny. It is a long paddle out to the bay and a long bus ride, but well worth it. Especailly if you have been to San Juan and want something a little different. Also, don't bother bringing your camera, it can't capture the glowing..
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.