Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop St. Thomas, U.S.V.I. or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach

Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach

Enjoy the best of the Virgin Islands on this exclusive half-day sail from St Thomas to the enchanted island of St John on board a custom-designed catamaran. Experience the thrill and excitement of sailing the Caribbean before enjoying lovely, palm-fringed Honeymoon Beach located within the National Park on St John. Your relaxing and fun-filled day begins with a short scenic ride to a quaint marina where you will board the catamaran. At the marina dock, the friendly crew will greet you and acquaint you with the vessel. You will then glide along the eastern end of the island before setting sail to the most pristine of the US Virgin Islands. The brisk sail across Pillsbury Sound brings the catamaran to its special mooring destination where you can swim across to beautiful Honeymoon Beach. Snorkel, beachcomb, or simply relax under the palms. Enjoy freshly baked breads, cheeses, fruits, and a variety of beverages on board. Sparkling wine and other beverages are served after swimming and snorkeling. After your relaxing stay at the beach, delight in the tropical breezes as you make the downwind sail back to St Thomas.Notes:Snorkel gear and instruction included. Snorkel site may vary based on weather and sea conditions. Maximum weight is 300 lbs. Minimum age is 6 years. Wear your swimsuit; bring a towel, sunscreen and a hat. Guests with heart problems, epilepsy, diabetes or asthma are not allowed to participate. Waiver must be signed and medical conditions disclosed.
Average Customer Rating:
4.051 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
3
29 out of 39(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Review 1 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sea turtle, stingray, and an awesome beach!

Date:May 17, 2014
JohnInNebraska
Location:Nebraska
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The "Medallion Collection" red stamp on this excursion had me assuming it was very exclusive and that we would be among just a few on a catamaran. Untrue...there were several dozen passengers, but that's the only negative I can say. The drive from port to dock allowed us to get a taste of St. Thomas, the staff onboard the catamaran was exemplary compared with other shore excursions through even Holland, the boat ride was fun and relaxing, and the snorkeling was excellent. We swam alongside a sea turtle, and others reported seeing a stingray. The coral was very limited. We had too much fun snorkeling to swim to the beach, but our friends described it as nearly as nice as Half Moon Cay...nearly. Have fun!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice trip

Date:February 11, 2014
Cruisepen
Location:Montreal, Quebec
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well done...very nice trip and decent snorkel.
Cruise date Jan. Feb 2014, not showing
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent crew, great way to see the islands!

Date:January 24, 2014
AdventureSeeker
Location:Vancouver, BC
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The crew on the catamaran was one of the best we have ever experienced. The captain was a mid-twenties female, and she was excellent. We made our way over to St. John on motor power, and the trip back we took advantage of the wind and sailed. There is a section mid-way from St. Thomas to St. John where you have to pass through an area of turbulent water. The swells in that area are a ton of fun. We encountered probably 8-10 foot swells and the catamaran handled them with ease, people at the front were getting splashed but the sun was so hot it was welcomed. There is not a large reef area, but the area that is there is very beautiful and had a good selection of fish to look at. On the return trip while sailing the crew makes rounds of the boat ensuring everyone always has a full cup of rum/punch or champagne. The light snacks (bread, cheese, fruit) were tasty. The crew was very knowledgeable of the area and a lot of fun to share the day with.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Champagne snorkel

Date:January 13, 2014
Norbert
Location:Virginia
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the second time we took this excursion and loved it both times. Very helpful and informative crew taking us to beautiful areas in the Caribbean. Lots of nice snorkeling (but not the best reef areas). We motor-sailed back. But what the heck: the sails were up, the sky was blue, the water sparkeling, the drinks were plentiful, the day was mild, and a good time was had by all. I would do this one again next year.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Sailing with the motor running??

Date:November 5, 2013
fidget
Location:Cape Cod
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The crew of this catamaran was very friendly and accomadating. I was not impressed with the Captain-not very friendly unless he was asking for a tip (which was more than once)....I think most people would have tipped without question if he had been more friendly and spoken with the patrons- I certainly hope the crew didn't have to split the tip with him. I also would have enjoyed actual sailing rather than being under motor power going in both directions.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My kind of day!

Date:September 9, 2013
cheshirekitten
Location:Kelowna BC Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the second stop on our cruise and my first snorkel experience after just learning to swim at the age of 66! The crew were upbeat, fun, informative and helpful and even though I was nervous it was a great experience. I only saw a few fish but those who ventured further away saw a lot more. I swam to shore and spent time on the beautiful beach then got a boat ride back to the catamaran when it was time to return.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun time and nice location.

Date:April 25, 2013
Vikingted
Location:Denver, CO
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We sailed with Captain Ryan. He had a fun crew, Joe and Kim. We motored to a mooring just off a nice beach. We were issued good gear to see the local fish and flora. We were given good advise on where to swim to maximize the chance of seeing neat things. We were also told where not to swim to avoid getting too tired to swim back because of the tides. I saw Capt Ryan in his skiff, pulling a very tired swimmer from another boat back to their boat. We had nice snacks and drinks after we were out of the water. Then we had a spirited sail back to port. I thought this was a good value for my vacation buck.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not very good snorkeling

Date:April 23, 2013
Chgoguy44
Location:Chicago
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The crew was adamant about "survival on the tips and generosity of the guest" from the start. The crew did not allow anyone to wear shoes on the boat even swimming shoes, very odd considering other tours had no problem. The snorkeling site had five other boats there so over 150 people saturated a small stretch of reef that scared off most of the sea life. I thought this was not a good value and the snorkeling was poor. The staff made it abundantly clear they were only concerned with their tips and not the experiences of their guest. Add in the Cooks champagne and the pepper jack/cheddar cheese spread with bread, I would not recommend this particular excursion.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lots of fun

Date:March 27, 2013
Suzanne
Location:PA
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We were disappointed not to be able to go to St. Johns because of the current. Went to St. James and the beach there was really no beach at all. Snorkeled from the boat and did see some fish - just not the greatest. However, the crew was terrific - very informative and fun. Had great rum punch and bread and cheese on the way back. Bathroom was a little tricky to get to - but be sure to go on the boat before you return as there are none once you get back. All in all it was a fun experience and one we would do again - hoping for better snorkeling.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Sail and Snorkel

Date:March 20, 2013
Greg
Location:Maryland
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While we were diverted to St James Island (instead of St John) because of ocean surge, this was a great excursion. The crew of Ryan, Joe and Chris were terrific, and they were all entertaining, cordial and competent. The sailing was beautiful and the snorkeling was great. The rum punch was delicious. Remember to wear sun screen!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Sailing OK, Beach -- nonexistent

Date:March 20, 2013
synthesis16
Location:Ohio
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Because there were 7 cruise ships in port, the city of Charlotte Amalie decided to close the main road down to one lane, so it took an hour to get to the area to pick up the sail, which was not the excursion company's fault, but it was a long drive. We started out at 8 a.m.
As has been stated below, it was a barefoot cruise and going to the restroom was unsanitary to say the least.
We did not go to St. John's because of weather (although the weather was beautiful where we were#. We went to something called St. James. My husband snorkels, I do not. I had anticpated walking on the beach. There was no beach to speak of and we were told not to swim there because of fire coral and other nasties. There was no boat to go to the beach. Those of us who did not snorkel, sat on deck for an hour watching the others.
After the snorkeling, there was some cheese and a fruit plate with bread. Based on the write up, I was anticipating mimosas and quiet sailing. I was not looking for a party boat at that hour in the morning, around 10 a.m. by that time. However, we were serenaded with really loud music, very strong rum punch, and some champagne, not at all what seemed to be promised by the write up. I guess I thought it would be more mature. For the price, counting in the tip that was asked for (and definitely expected), I didn't think it was worth it and it was definitely not a trip for children.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

High Point of our Cruise

Date:March 9, 2013
castle
Location:Ottawa, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great experience, exceeding expectations.
The excursion begins with a half-hour ride in an open-air truck, one of many that were on the dock awaiting tour guests. It's a bit long but you do get a chance to experience Charlotte Amalie. We arrived at the boat to an enthusiastic welcome from the crew. You do need to pay attention as there are other tours boarding their boats at the same time. We had to remove our shoes before boarding, so it would help if you had something distinctive to help pick them out at the end of the day.
The trip over to St John was lovely. The crew uses the time to provide a safety briefing and a description of what we were seeing, very amusing at times.
The location for snorkling was very good. There were two other boats there doing the same thing, but there was lots of room for all. Guests have the choice of swimming from the boat or going to the beach by dinghy. The water was clear, and there was lots to see including sting rays and turtles. We saw a barracuda as well.
Once everyone was back in the boat, the champagne, punch and beer came out as well as some salad, bread and cheese. The wind was such that the captain elected to return to St Thomas under sail. That was wonderful, standing out on the deck, wind in the sails, drink in hand, taking in the view.
We could drink as much as we desired, but you have to keep in mind that you have a truck ride ahead of you. Remember to use the facilities on board before getting off the boat!
There were a number of trucks on the dock waiting for returning boats. We had no wait, but you need to make it clear to which ship you are returning, as there are two cruise ship ports.
All in all, an excellent excursion.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Tour Enjoyable, Snorkeling Fair

Date:February 4, 2013
44Cruiser
Location:Kentucky
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We sailed the Ryndam in January 2013, not 2012 (the drop down menu does not offer 2013). The St. John Trunk Bay Beach Tour we booked online was canceled due to not having the required minimum number of participants. Our next choice (the Castaway Ship Wreck Cove Sail and Snorkel tour) met the same fate. So, the Champagne Catamaran tour was our third choice. The crew was very friendly and helpful. The boat was spacious (capacity for 40+ passengers but only 19 on our trip.) The trip out was speedy, while the return trip was slow as champagne and rum punch flowed and snacks were served. As for snorkeling, the crew warned us of currents near parts of the shoreline and explained how to snorkel. Experienced snorkelers entered water 25 feet deep directly from the rear of the catamaran while inexperienced snorkelers were taken ashore in a rubber raft to gradually adjust to their equipment and the snorkeling experience. Unfortunately, no one said most fish are around the coral down shore from where we anchored. Once over the coral you could see more fish, but you had to be careful to not get into the coral. MORAL: Most HAL passengers tend to be relatively inactive senior citizens. Tours requiring moderate activity may be canceled due to lack of interest.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not a pleasant experience

Date:January 27, 2013
TandD
Location:Los Angeles
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Firstly, the ride to get to the catamaran was horrible. It seems like they take you all the way across the island to get to the launch site. There was a lot of traffic and the open type bus was not very comfortable. The ride must have taken about 30 minutes.
Then when you get to the catamaran they make you take your shoes off before getting onboard. So you are barefooted the entire trip. This makes for quite an unsanitary condition when you have to use the toilet facilities located onboard.
Also, they play the music much to loud. I guess they think that the louder they play the music, the more "party atmosphere" they will create. I would just enjoy quiet music, or no music at all.
The snorkeling site was not very good at all. They pointed out where the best snorkeling would be, but they recommeded if you went there then it would be better to get out of the water and walk on the beach to a spot perpendicular to the boat and re-enter the water to snorkel back to the boat (because of the heavy current at the time).
The only good thing was that I did get to see some sea turtles. That was the first time for me and it was very interesting.
After the cruise we had to take that long bus ride back to the ship. If you did not use the toilet facilities on the catamaran before you left to return to the ship, you will have to wait to get back to the ship area to use a restroom.
I would not recommend this excursion.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great. The Captain and crew were wonderful.

Date:January 18, 2013
Link
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did not snorkel, but my husband did. They took those who wanted to,
into and island to swim and enjoy the beautiful surf, sand and sun.
I enjoyed this excursion the most of all, except for Half Moon Cay,
it was great also.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not enough snorkelling time

Date:January 7, 2013
Snorkeller
Location:Missouri
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The area we snorkelled in at St. John was beautiful and we saw lots of fish and a manta ray and sea turtle. However, overall we were disappointed in the excursion because of the limited time snorkelling. It was a fairly long boat ride to get there, which was fine, but we got less than an hour to snorkel before they got us on the boat to return. Then they putzed along very slow and took twice as long to return as to get there so they could sell us t-shirts and get everyone drinking rum punch, presumably to increase the tips. When we got back to shore, the buses weren't there to take us back to the ship and we had to wait quite a while for them. The excursion took an hour more than it was supposed to so we payed $90 for a 5 hour excursion that included less than an hour of snorkelling. Also, the music was played so loud on the return boat ride that it was painful. Disappointing.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

St johns cat

Date:December 22, 2012
Deedee55
Location:Dayton, Ohio
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
This is my second time taking this excursion,enjoyed both times. I also wish there was more time enjoying the trip and less to get there. Why can't the catamaran pick up and drop off at the pier where the ship docks this would save time. The crew was really good at attending to the people who always manage to get wounded, either by the coral or slipping in the cat due to carelessness.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not Much Bang For The Buck

Date:December 10, 2012
Clay
Location:Califonia
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First, let me say that I'm usually a very positive person and it takes a lot for me to rate something poorly.
This ship's tour is really short - 1 to 1/12 hours actual time for being on the boat snorkeling. The rest of the time is spent getting to the place where you get on the catamaran which is far away from where the cruise ship docks. There was lots of traffic and your on this open-air, very uncomfortable bus/taxi breathing in the fumes and it took 45 minutes just to get to the catamaran. Remember, once it gets back you have to endure a wait for that icky open-air bus/taxi to go back to the ship.
While on the catamaran, they do have a narrative telling you about what your seeing, etc. but you can't hear because they only yell and there is no PA system. You have the noise of the vessel and the wind that makes it impossible to hear what's being said so we missed that. Finally, my overall, review = too noisy, too much drinking, too crowded, too much pollution to breath, too little time for the snorkeling and not worth your time and money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not Too Bubbly

Date:November 17, 2012
cruiseman
Location:Madison,WI
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I took the 11:45 excursion. Returned at 4:30. 42 people on the boat plus 3 crew.
Positives:
Nice boat and crew.
Nice boat ride.
Neutrals:
Beer (Presidente pilsner and Miller Lite), Champange (Cooks) and the obligatory rum punch.
Negatives:
Over 1.5 hours riding in an open air shuttle from the cruise port to the catamaran and back, with congested traffic, poor roads, only occasional scenery, and smelly (i.e., diesel fumes) air.
Mediocre snorkeling. Not much to see.
Beach is no big deal.
Cheese consisted of one tray of one small platter of ordinary cheeses. Bread was a small tray of small pieces of bread. The fruit was little pieces of fruit it cut so small that looked large toothpicks. My guess was that since we came from a cruise ship we should have brought our own cheeses, breads, and fruits (I would have if I had any idea of what I was in store for.)
It is basically a nice boat ride. Nice boat rides on St. Thomas can be had for far less money and less of your valuable port time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Champagne Cat

Date:April 29, 2012
Anonymous
Location:Italy and New Mexico
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We both totally agree with the review extensively given by the customer who took the cat for the second time. We strongly agree about the excellent service, the food and drinks (plenty), the great, great spot chosen for snorkeling, time given to do so, instructions and info about where to look for what underwater: yes! the turtles were there and so were the colorful forms of all marine life, including a curious barracuda, whom I respectfully greeted, and then left to his hunting habits.
We'd take the tour again too.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>