Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop St. Thomas, U.S.V.I. or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach

Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach

Enjoy the best of the Virgin Islands on this exclusive half-day sail from St Thomas to the enchanted island of St John on board a custom-designed catamaran. Experience the thrill and excitement of sailing the Caribbean and enjoying lovely, palm-fringed Honeymoon Beach located within the National Park on St John. This relaxing and fun-filled day begins with a short, scenic ride to a quaint marina where you will board the catamaran. The friendly crew will acquaint you with the vessel. Glide along the eastern shore of the island before setting sail to the most pristine of the US Virgin Islands. The brisk sail across Pillsbury Sound brings the catamaran to its special mooring destination at St John, where you can swim across to beautiful Honeymoon Beach. Snorkel, beachcomb, or simply relax under the palms. Enjoy freshly baked breads, cheeses, fruits, and a variety of beverages on board. Sparkling wine and other beverages are served after swimming and snorkeling. After your relaxing stay at the beach, delight in the tropical breezes as you make the downwind sail back to St Thomas.Notes:Snorkel gear and instruction included. Snorkel site may vary based on weather and sea conditions. Maximum weight is 300 lbs. Minimum age is 6 years. Wear your swimsuit; bring a towel, sunscreen and a hat. Guests with heart problems, epilepsy, diabetes or asthma are not allowed to participate. Waiver must be signed and medical conditions disclosed.
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
3
38 out of 49(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Review 1 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Did it before-would do it again!

Date:January 31, 2016
Location:Illinois
Cruise Date Year:2016
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have enjoyed the Champagne Cat twice before - this was my third time. Awesome! Wonderful! I have done many other snorkel excursions - I always compare them to the Champagne Cat. Crew is fantastic,friendly, helpful, genuinely welcoming. Sail to/from St. John is breathtaking. Worst part is the fairly unpleasant open-air bus ride to/from the marina. St. Thomas traffic can be nasty. But this mild inconvenience is worth it. I will do this every time I am in St. Thomas.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach

Date:January 8, 2016
Location:Tucson, Arizona
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought 4 excursions, but my son and myself were unable to go that day becaue neither one of us felt well enough to go. But my daughter-in-law and grandson did go and they raved about it after their return to the ship. They were so glad that they had done this excursion. Sorry, I wasn't able to be with them....sounded like a great day for all!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Trip

Date:December 11, 2015
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We really enjoyed the ride on the catamaran as well as the snorkeling swam up to the beach (Honeymoon Beach) which was just beautiful. On the ride back we were served, fruit, snacks and of course champagne and other beverages :). Great Crew and captain- Loved it!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Fun!

Date:April 12, 2015
Location:Georgia
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second time we have booked this excursion. It was GREAT again. The crew is helpful and funny. The trip to St. John's was relaxing. The beach was beautiful with white sand, the water was clear and not to cold! We did not snorkel but it looked like fun. We were taken to the beach so we were able to enjoy the beach and water. The crew put out the sails on the way back. The ride back was just as relaxing and fun as the trip to the beach. The refreshment were also good.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Fun trip, long bus ride

Date:April 1, 2015
Location:Lakewood, CO
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
You take a long bus ride to the boat, but once you get going the trip was fun. The trip over to St John was relaxing, but once there it was very crowded. The area for snorkeling was really crowded, but there was plenty of time to swim around to see sting rays and fish. There were turtles, but I didn't see them. We were able to sail a little on the way back and the crew made it a lot of fun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Better way to spend time at St Thomas

Date:January 6, 2015
Location:Forest Grove, Oregon
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
There was a 1+ hour drive each way -- open air bus -- no fun. Only about 50 minutes to snorkel. No sailing at all. Even the captain said that folks were constantly upset about the long bus ride to get to the catamaran. This should not be advertised as a "special" excursion". This is the only excursion that we have ever written a negative review about.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best Shore Excursion

Date:December 3, 2014
Location:Ft. Lauderdale
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Captain Josh stated it was his intention to make this the BEST shore excursion we had ever been on and he fulfilled his promise. The crew was organized and upbeat throughout the journey. Never a dull moment. By the time we reached St. John everyone had their gear supplied in the correct size. Stairs descended from the boat for those that did not feel comfortable jumping overboard or you could have a dingy bring you to shore. Snorkel, use a noodle or just lay on the beach, there was something for everyone but what really caught my attention was how safety conscience the crew were at ALL times. I watched as Micky stood on the boat and continually scanned the water for anyone who may need help or Michael who ran the dingy ready to rescue anyone that was tired. I was impressed. I feel comfortable recommending this trip to anyone wanting to try snorkeling for the 1st time and has been wary, because this crew will take care of you. I also watched at the rough seas and noticed the Captain took extra care to avoid "rocking the boat". My only recommendation for this crew would be to match the music to the passengers. While an assortment of music was played and there were times guest were dancing and clapping, there were other times they were not. You will see coral, beautiful fish that Micky can identify, turtles and rays. The T-shirt sale was a hit and photos would have been snatched up if they could figure out how to produce on the boat. I am a scuba diver and I was satisfied with this trip. Thank you Josh, Micky and Michael for a memorable excursion and it was indeed the best.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good times!!!

Date:November 28, 2014
Location:Oregon
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I took this excursion in the middle of November. The crew on the catamaran were quite funny and very good. The weather was picture perfect, the sailing was beautiful and the champagne was flowing on the way back to the dock. Our only critique would be that we wish the snorkeling portion was a little longer. All in all a fun time and would definitely recommend..........especially if there are a lot of ships in port at the same time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great crew

Date:November 28, 2014
Location:washington state
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this was excellant-great ship,super crew and a good snorkeling site-plenty of fish,sea turtle and sting ray.good value for the money-would do it again!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great time!!!

Date:November 2, 2014
Location:Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I just went on this excursion the last week of October. The boat was very clean and the crew were great, funny and experienced. I would recommend this for anyone who wants to have a good time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sea turtle, stingray, and an awesome beach!

Date:May 17, 2014
Location:Nebraska
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The "Medallion Collection" red stamp on this excursion had me assuming it was very exclusive and that we would be among just a few on a catamaran. Untrue...there were several dozen passengers, but that's the only negative I can say. The drive from port to dock allowed us to get a taste of St. Thomas, the staff onboard the catamaran was exemplary compared with other shore excursions through even Holland, the boat ride was fun and relaxing, and the snorkeling was excellent. We swam alongside a sea turtle, and others reported seeing a stingray. The coral was very limited. We had too much fun snorkeling to swim to the beach, but our friends described it as nearly as nice as Half Moon Cay...nearly. Have fun!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice trip

Date:February 11, 2014
Location:Montreal, Quebec
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well done...very nice trip and decent snorkel.
Cruise date Jan. Feb 2014, not showing
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent crew, great way to see the islands!

Date:January 24, 2014
Location:Vancouver, BC
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The crew on the catamaran was one of the best we have ever experienced. The captain was a mid-twenties female, and she was excellent. We made our way over to St. John on motor power, and the trip back we took advantage of the wind and sailed. There is a section mid-way from St. Thomas to St. John where you have to pass through an area of turbulent water. The swells in that area are a ton of fun. We encountered probably 8-10 foot swells and the catamaran handled them with ease, people at the front were getting splashed but the sun was so hot it was welcomed. There is not a large reef area, but the area that is there is very beautiful and had a good selection of fish to look at. On the return trip while sailing the crew makes rounds of the boat ensuring everyone always has a full cup of rum/punch or champagne. The light snacks (bread, cheese, fruit) were tasty. The crew was very knowledgeable of the area and a lot of fun to share the day with.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Champagne snorkel

Date:January 13, 2014
Location:Virginia
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the second time we took this excursion and loved it both times. Very helpful and informative crew taking us to beautiful areas in the Caribbean. Lots of nice snorkeling (but not the best reef areas). We motor-sailed back. But what the heck: the sails were up, the sky was blue, the water sparkeling, the drinks were plentiful, the day was mild, and a good time was had by all. I would do this one again next year.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Sailing with the motor running??

Date:November 5, 2013
Location:Cape Cod
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The crew of this catamaran was very friendly and accomadating. I was not impressed with the Captain-not very friendly unless he was asking for a tip (which was more than once)....I think most people would have tipped without question if he had been more friendly and spoken with the patrons- I certainly hope the crew didn't have to split the tip with him. I also would have enjoyed actual sailing rather than being under motor power going in both directions.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My kind of day!

Date:September 9, 2013
Location:Kelowna BC Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the second stop on our cruise and my first snorkel experience after just learning to swim at the age of 66! The crew were upbeat, fun, informative and helpful and even though I was nervous it was a great experience. I only saw a few fish but those who ventured further away saw a lot more. I swam to shore and spent time on the beautiful beach then got a boat ride back to the catamaran when it was time to return.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun time and nice location.

Date:April 25, 2013
Location:Denver, CO
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We sailed with Captain Ryan. He had a fun crew, Joe and Kim. We motored to a mooring just off a nice beach. We were issued good gear to see the local fish and flora. We were given good advise on where to swim to maximize the chance of seeing neat things. We were also told where not to swim to avoid getting too tired to swim back because of the tides. I saw Capt Ryan in his skiff, pulling a very tired swimmer from another boat back to their boat. We had nice snacks and drinks after we were out of the water. Then we had a spirited sail back to port. I thought this was a good value for my vacation buck.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not very good snorkeling

Date:April 23, 2013
Location:Chicago
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The crew was adamant about "survival on the tips and generosity of the guest" from the start. The crew did not allow anyone to wear shoes on the boat even swimming shoes, very odd considering other tours had no problem. The snorkeling site had five other boats there so over 150 people saturated a small stretch of reef that scared off most of the sea life. I thought this was not a good value and the snorkeling was poor. The staff made it abundantly clear they were only concerned with their tips and not the experiences of their guest. Add in the Cooks champagne and the pepper jack/cheddar cheese spread with bread, I would not recommend this particular excursion.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lots of fun

Date:March 27, 2013
Location:PA
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We were disappointed not to be able to go to St. Johns because of the current. Went to St. James and the beach there was really no beach at all. Snorkeled from the boat and did see some fish - just not the greatest. However, the crew was terrific - very informative and fun. Had great rum punch and bread and cheese on the way back. Bathroom was a little tricky to get to - but be sure to go on the boat before you return as there are none once you get back. All in all it was a fun experience and one we would do again - hoping for better snorkeling.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Beach
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Sail and Snorkel

Date:March 20, 2013
Location:Maryland
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While we were diverted to St James Island (instead of St John) because of ocean surge, this was a great excursion. The crew of Ryan, Joe and Chris were terrific, and they were all entertaining, cordial and competent. The sailing was beautiful and the snorkeling was great. The rum punch was delicious. Remember to wear sun screen!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>