Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Flam, Norway or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for The Flam Railway

The Flam Railway

Flåm is located in the innermost part of the 127-mile-long Sognefjord. Embark the Flåm Railway—a masterpiece of engineering climbing from sea level to 2,800 feet, crossing back and forth over rivers and through 20 tunnels. At the overwhelming Kjosfossen Waterfall, you can leave the train to take some pictures. Leave the train again at Vatnahalsen and walk the approximately 300 feet to the Vatnahalsen Mountain Hotel. Coffee or tea and homemade waffles with sour cream and jam have been prepared for you. Relax and feel free to walk around in the beautiful natural surroundings. After 60 to 90 minutes, you’ll re-board the train for the return ride to Flåm. Please note: Wear warm clothing and sturdy shoes. Due to limited availability of guides in Flåm, only one guide will accompany the train ride. The time at the Vatnahalsen Hotel is determined by the train schedule and will vary. The rail stations are open air and have no facilities. The Flåm train is not exclusive to Holland America Line guests.
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Flam Railway
Review 1 for The Flam Railway
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Train and Pancakes

Date:January 11, 2014
dianet
Location:Atlanta
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The train ride was very nice in the gorgeous restored train, and the views spectacular. The pancakes were also excellent, although I found the cost for pancakes and a train ride to be very high. And that is all this tour was. You do get to skip the long lines when on a tour, and the lines are very long!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Flam Railway
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great excursion

Date:September 6, 2013
Divemaster52
Location:Holland
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great train ride, with beautiful scenery along the way. Nice comfortable and clean train. A lot of the windows can be opened, so you don't have to take your pics through the glass. The waffles and coffee at the stop tasted great.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Flam Railway
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Sit on the right side of the Train.

Date:August 26, 2013
atltravel
Location:Atlanta
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:August
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I felt the cost of this excursion was not worth it. If you cannot sit on the right side, you miss 90% of the views. They are beautiful, but if you are scared of heights, be warned. If you can pre-book this directly with the train, do so. but you will find it hard to book directly with the train upon arrival, in which case you have to book thru the cruise line. the cruise line gets cars 9-13 and guess who gets cars 1-8?
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+14points
17out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Flam Railway
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a Must Do

Date:August 11, 2013
NANUSA
Location:Pennsylvania, USA
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have the opportunity to visit FLAM the railroad is a must. The tour was very well organized. You should not take the tour with the cruise line because if you try it on your own, you will be in long lines and may have a problem returning to the ship on time. We had reserved trains and our groups stayed together. The information given was very interesting. When we arrived at the hotel at the top the views were breathtaking. We went in right away for our waffles, jam, cream, coffee and tea. Afterwards we had time to walk the area around the hotel. We took a walk down one of the trails then came back to the hotel and say around the pool area and enjoyed the views. The views on the train to and fro where just beautiful. This is a must do and if we visit Flam again I would do this tour again. We had lovely weather too.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Flam Railway
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Scenery on a Unique Train Ride

Date:July 9, 2013
Oompahdave
Location:Gales Ferry, CT
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We were glad that we took the Flam Train. The coach was comfortable and we had a good guide who was very informative, The stop at the waterfall was a nice treat, particularly the Troll Goddess danging in the mist of waterfall to "lure humans into the mountain". The waffles at the top were a nice treat.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Flam Railway
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Magnicificant views

Date:July 6, 2013
cynhen
Location:Lynchburg, VA
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Flam train ride was a great train ride. The views of the mountains and waterfalls were amazing. From the village at the bottom of the mountain to the resort at the top, it was like a picture postcard. I could not take enough pictures. The stop at the waterfall was breathtaking. I would recommend this excursion to anyone traveling to Flam, Norway.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Flam Railway
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great train journey

Date:June 16, 2013
nkg1311
Location:London, England.
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We were looking forward to this trip. The scenery was great and we enjoyed the train journey. We did find we had to hang around quite a bit but it wasn't too much of a problem. Also we found the waffles at the hotel a bit disappointing but overall we were glad we chose this excursion as it is worth doing.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Flam Railway
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A journey to the top

Date:September 21, 2012
MikeandPat
Location:New Jersey
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:August
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wondeful scenery. Food at the hotel was great. Plenty of time to roam and take in the views.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Flam Railway
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent ride

Date:June 13, 2011
Ohioans
Location:Ohio
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good way to view the scenery. The views are spectacular, The hotel at Vatnahalsen provided a nice lunch. A good way to spend part of the day in Flam.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Flam Railway
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Some of the most beautiful scenery ever!

Date:March 4, 2011
Harry
Location:Kansas City
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The train takes you high in the mountains to a resturant where you can spend time eating or hiking in the area. Our return train was an hour late due to a fire on board the train, but that just gave me more time to hike in the area. Watch for the maidens at the waterfall & make sure you have your camcorder ready to go!
Cruise Date Year:2007
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for The Flam Railway
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5