Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Flam, Norway or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for The Flam Railway

The Flam Railway

Flåm is located in the innermost part of the 127-mile-long Sognefjord. Embark the Flåm Railway—a masterpiece of engineering climbing from sea level to 2,800 feet, crossing back and forth over rivers and through 20 tunnels. At the overwhelming Kjosfossen Waterfall, you can leave the train to take some pictures. Leave the train again at Vatnahalsen and walk the approximately 300 feet to the Vatnahalsen Mountain Hotel. Coffee or tea and homemade waffles with sour cream and jam have been prepared for you. Relax and feel free to walk around in the beautiful natural surroundings. After 60 to 90 minutes, you’ll re-board the train for the return ride to Flåm. Please note: Wear warm clothing and sturdy shoes. Due to limited availability of guides in Flåm, only one guide will accompany the train ride. The time at the Vatnahalsen Hotel is determined by the train schedule and will vary. The rail stations are open air and have no facilities. The Flåm train is not exclusive to Holland America Line guests.
Average Customer Rating:
4.188 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
12 out of 16(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Flam Railway
Review 1 for The Flam Railway
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poorly organized

Date:September 16, 2014
Braums
Location:Quarryville, PA
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
They have everyone waiting in one large group. The train arrives and everyone converges on the gate. There is a lot of pushing and shoving. Not good for people who are not ambulatory. You go to a spot for waffles and then you have the same aggressive situation to get back on the train. The scenery is beautiful but the crowding ruined it for us.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Flam Railway
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The entire experience was excellent.

Date:September 10, 2014
MikeW
Location:Copperas Cove, TX
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The train had cars reserved for HAL guests, which made it convenient. The stop at the falls on the way back was a treat also. Be ready for the female dancer when the music starts at the falls. Great video op. The meal at the hotel was very good.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Flam Railway
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Expensive but better than waiting in line

Date:August 30, 2014
TravelingDot
Location:Plymouth, MA
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:August
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We did the afternoon train and I thought it was worth it. There are reserved cars for the HAL passengers and everyone gets a seat. Going up you want to sit on the right hand side facing the front but if you can't get a seat there, make sure to get one on the left hand side going down. Most of the views are on that side of the train. The waffles were good and so was the jam. Note: When walking up to the hotel there is a short cut on the left hand side at the end of the station. Didn't find it until we had already walked up the long way and if you have trouble walking or are pushing a wheelchair it is good to know.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Flam Railway
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome scenery.

Date:August 30, 2014
Jimmy399
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Highly recommend the train ride. Views are outstanding. But, the guides add very little, and the train station is two blocks from the ship. The waffles at the top are like cold cardboard. So, just save some money and buy a train ticket yourself. The trains are open to the public.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Flam Railway
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

To expensive

Date:August 17, 2014
PeterSchut
Location:Nieuwerkerk, Netherlands
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:August
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
You can buy a train ticket at the train station, for a far more reasonable price. You miss the guide from the hall. But during our trip the guide was not of any value. The ride itself is magnificent.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Flam Railway
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Train and Pancakes

Date:January 11, 2014
dianet
Location:Atlanta
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The train ride was very nice in the gorgeous restored train, and the views spectacular. The pancakes were also excellent, although I found the cost for pancakes and a train ride to be very high. And that is all this tour was. You do get to skip the long lines when on a tour, and the lines are very long!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Flam Railway
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great excursion

Date:September 6, 2013
Divemaster52
Location:Holland
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great train ride, with beautiful scenery along the way. Nice comfortable and clean train. A lot of the windows can be opened, so you don't have to take your pics through the glass. The waffles and coffee at the stop tasted great.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Flam Railway
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Sit on the right side of the Train.

Date:August 26, 2013
atltravel
Location:Atlanta
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:August
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I felt the cost of this excursion was not worth it. If you cannot sit on the right side, you miss 90% of the views. They are beautiful, but if you are scared of heights, be warned. If you can pre-book this directly with the train, do so. but you will find it hard to book directly with the train upon arrival, in which case you have to book thru the cruise line. the cruise line gets cars 9-13 and guess who gets cars 1-8?
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+14points
17out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Flam Railway
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a Must Do

Date:August 11, 2013
NANUSA
Location:Pennsylvania, USA
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have the opportunity to visit FLAM the railroad is a must. The tour was very well organized. You should not take the tour with the cruise line because if you try it on your own, you will be in long lines and may have a problem returning to the ship on time. We had reserved trains and our groups stayed together. The information given was very interesting. When we arrived at the hotel at the top the views were breathtaking. We went in right away for our waffles, jam, cream, coffee and tea. Afterwards we had time to walk the area around the hotel. We took a walk down one of the trails then came back to the hotel and say around the pool area and enjoyed the views. The views on the train to and fro where just beautiful. This is a must do and if we visit Flam again I would do this tour again. We had lovely weather too.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Flam Railway
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Scenery on a Unique Train Ride

Date:July 9, 2013
Oompahdave
Location:Gales Ferry, CT
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We were glad that we took the Flam Train. The coach was comfortable and we had a good guide who was very informative, The stop at the waterfall was a nice treat, particularly the Troll Goddess danging in the mist of waterfall to "lure humans into the mountain". The waffles at the top were a nice treat.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Flam Railway
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Magnicificant views

Date:July 6, 2013
cynhen
Location:Lynchburg, VA
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Flam train ride was a great train ride. The views of the mountains and waterfalls were amazing. From the village at the bottom of the mountain to the resort at the top, it was like a picture postcard. I could not take enough pictures. The stop at the waterfall was breathtaking. I would recommend this excursion to anyone traveling to Flam, Norway.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Flam Railway
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great train journey

Date:June 16, 2013
nkg1311
Location:London, England.
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We were looking forward to this trip. The scenery was great and we enjoyed the train journey. We did find we had to hang around quite a bit but it wasn't too much of a problem. Also we found the waffles at the hotel a bit disappointing but overall we were glad we chose this excursion as it is worth doing.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Flam Railway
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A journey to the top

Date:September 21, 2012
MikeandPat
Location:New Jersey
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:August
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wondeful scenery. Food at the hotel was great. Plenty of time to roam and take in the views.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Flam Railway
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent ride

Date:June 13, 2011
Ohioans
Location:Ohio
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good way to view the scenery. The views are spectacular, The hotel at Vatnahalsen provided a nice lunch. A good way to spend part of the day in Flam.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 15 for The Flam Railway
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Some of the most beautiful scenery ever!

Date:March 4, 2011
Harry
Location:Kansas City
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The train takes you high in the mountains to a resturant where you can spend time eating or hiking in the area. Our return train was an hour late due to a fire on board the train, but that just gave me more time to hike in the area. Watch for the maidens at the waterfall & make sure you have your camcorder ready to go!
Cruise Date Year:2007
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for The Flam Railway
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5