Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Livorno (Florence/Pisa), Italy or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa

Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa

Journey approximately 1½ hours through the countryside of western Tuscany to Florence. Upon arrival, you'll begin a half-day walking tour that includes Brunelleschi's masterpiece cathedral in pink, green and white marble, and its adjacent bell-tower and baptistery. See the copy of Michelangelo's David in the Piazza della Signoria and visit the Church of Santa Croce. Free time may be allocated for shopping. Next, enjoy lunch at a local Florentine restaurant before the 60-minute freeway drive to Pisa. In Pisa, you will have about 30 minutes of free time at the aptly named Piazza dei Miracoli—site of the Leaning Tower, the cathedral and the baptistery. Across the street is a row of street stalls selling souvenirs and leather bags.Notes:From the drop-off point in Florence there is an approximately 15-minute walk to the historic center of town. The walking portion of the tour involves approximately two miles of extensive walking on cobblestone streets. There is a 30-minute standing visit at the cathedral. Modest attire is required; knees, shoulders and midriffs must be covered. Shorts are not allowed. Wear comfortable walking shoes. Use of an audio headset (included) will enhance your tour experience. An English-speaking escort will accompany the coach for the duration of the tour. Location-specific guides will meet and guide you at each stop. Tour does not operate on statutory holidays.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 out of 22(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Review 1 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Too much sitting around in Florence

Date:August 13, 2014
mommycat
Location:shoreline, wa
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Would have enjoyed going into the big cathedral - instead we spent almost 4 hours in Croce Square where they sell leather and gold and pan handlers were all over. Lunch was not that great. and our Florence guide was knowledgeable about art, but dragged on too long. Many of us wandered away on our own. Pisa was a wonderful sight, but with so many vendors with souvenirs it cheapened the area.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

MORE TIME IN PISA!!!

Date:August 7, 2014
HALCustomer
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Slightly less time in Florence and slightly more time in Pisa, to allow visitors to enter Pisa church and baptistery. Even more time in Pisa would allow visitors to make reservations to climb the leaning tower. It was a disappointment to arrive at Pisa and not have time to enter any buildings. Florence guide was Excellent! with passion for his city. WATCH OUT FOR PICKPOCKETS AND ROMA!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Too little time, too much to see.

Date:June 8, 2014
4centsworth
Location:Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We took this tour with a quick tour of Florence and later Pisa. While this tour was good we found ourselves wanting to see more of Florence and we could have eliminated Pisa since we saw it 30 years ago. Florence is a very nice city with so much history we would have like more free time to look on our own. The lunch that was included in the tour was set in a very interesting building, like a palace. The food was good but it was not to the level where one would write home about it. Next time we would spend more time in Florence.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa- MY ACHING FEET

Date:May 27, 2014
drsusi
Location:Lexington, Ky
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
THis should have be a 4 people rating. They are vervy serious about lots of walking on this and only 2 bathroom breaks. I put on a pedometer and literally walked over 7 miles that day with a cane!!!!!! Too much for me. Lots to see and they did a nice job in showing you everything. I just physically didn't do well. So this is a 5 star if you are physically fit and don't have to frequent bathrooms. Wish we had more time at Pisa. Only had time to take photos and find the bathroom. We had no time to shop at Pisa and only about 45 minutes in Florence. Again so much to cover. This is something you do once and next time you do something else.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent way to see two stunning sights

Date:May 18, 2014
Kathrynsews
Location:Port Sanilac, MI
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This tour was very well planned and managed. Tour guide was excellent, this is a great way to see the highlights of Florence in a short visit. It is really just a taste, but hits the highlights. Nice lunch. Pisa was quite a surprise. Beautiful plaza with the tower and cathedral. It was a long day, but worth it!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Long Day...But Well Worth It!

Date:May 2, 2014
vancscribbler
Location:Vancouver Canada
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have not seen Florence or Pisa before, this is a great way to get them both done in one day. Comfortable bus, good guide ...who managed our group of about 40 people very well. And included a very nice sit down (NOT BUFFET!!) lunch, complete with wine at a Florence restaurant. But be prepared for LOTS of walking ... sometimes at a too rapid pace for some ... but you do get to see quite a lot.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly recommend this tour!

Date:December 7, 2013
Deeay
Location:Sydney, Australia
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter had never been to Florence nor Pisa before so this was a great way to see both towns in a day. We saw all the major highlights, had a wonderful lunch and plenty of time to shop or wander on our own. We enjoyed all the walking tours and the historic sights and got the most wonderful photos in both places. Couldn't have asked for more in a day.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Gem

Date:September 28, 2013
Jimmy399
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The half day walking tour was a little tiring, but definitely worth it. And if if you have not been to Pisa, you do not want to mis the experience.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Lovely Day out

Date:August 23, 2013
Blinkbonny
Location:New Zealand
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bus ride in the lovely countryside is very relaxing. Florence is beautiful and amazing and the lunch is excellent in a spectacular venue. Do look at the ceiling!!! Pisa is also interesting but rather spoiled by all the tourist trash stalls!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Interesting Day!

Date:July 11, 2013
TN757
Location:Tennessee
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our guide did an excellent job of sharing interesting facts about the region as we traveled from the port to Pisa and Florence. She spoke excellent English and was very informative. After visiting Pisa we traveled on to Florence. We walked through the city and met another guide before entering the Church of Santa Croce. We had a delightful lunch at Boghese Palace and had time for shopping before our trip back to port. (Florence is a great place to purchase leather goods).
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for first time visitors

Date:June 26, 2013
ActiveSightSeer
Location:Alabama
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really 4 1/2 stars for me. Florence was gorgeous, I would happily spend more time there visiting landmarks and museums. The lunch was good and provide a comfort stop. Pisa was sort of a let down in that it really is just three buildings to see, and the free time there is shopping, an over-priced trip up the tower, or nothing (most of our group were back at the meeting point well ahead of the appointed time). Glad I saw it, but no need to revisit Pisa.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Terrific Tuscany

Date:May 21, 2013
KansasCruiser
Location:Overland Park, KS
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an excellent tour. Our guide on the bus gave us a lot of interesting background information on Florence and Pisa and the local guide in Florence was very good. Both guides spoke excellent English and were very knowledgeable. The lunch in Florence was wonderful. This was a truly enjoyable day.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Our Italian guide was fantastic!

Date:May 20, 2013
jennyfx81
Location:Seattle, WA
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lunch was delicious and in a beautiful setting. I wish we had had more time in Pisa, that was a bit rushed.
I didn't care much for our guide/gentleman on the bus who accompanied us, he seemed a bit patronizing.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

So, so

Date:May 13, 2013
Snuffy
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tour guide on the bus was very informative and easy to understand, bu tour tour guide in town was not easy to understand, and a lot of unnecessary info. Long tour.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa

Date:October 19, 2012
snap12
Location:Ontario Canada
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:August
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Anne-Marie our tour guide provided informative and interesting facts about the countryside. The idea of providing our names to her so she could check us off was an excellent idea. A local guide was provided who guided us around Florence. The use of headphones so we could hear our guide as we walked around Florence was good - as background noise can be a bit disconcerting and it is hard to hear if you don't have the headphones. Florence is a fascintating place to visit - lots of different architecture to admire and lots of photo opportunities. The lunch provided was excellent and typical Italian fare and after lunch had time for shopping. The trip to Pisa was good - we could have done with more time here as Pisa is a fascinating place. All in all a good tour as this was our first time visiting Florence and Pisa.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

First impression of Italy

Date:August 31, 2012
Jaybird
Location:Indiana
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:August
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Florence is a great place to start! It is beautiful, the history is humbling and the architecture is stunning, we were able to see many of the sights we most wanted to see, and the tour guide was great! Lunch could have been shorter to allow more time for sightseeing or shopping. Overall, a perfect first impression and start to our first visit to Italy!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

long day with lots of sights, excellent lunch

Date:July 10, 2012
evernic
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Our guide Marina was fantastic, very informative, personable and helpful. She gave clear instructions about meeting places and times so when we wandered off, we had no worries about where to be and and when. The lunch was excellent. My only comment is, I would have liked at least 1 more hr. in Pisa.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing What Can Be Fit Into One Day!

Date:June 8, 2012
MaggieW
Location:Arizona
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yes, this is definitely a long day...but we were amazed at how much could be included in one day! We had visited Florence several years ago and consider it one of our favorite European cities. The increase in the size of the crowds does make it a bit more difficult for first-time visitors to see beyond the throngs. Obviously, the best of all possible worlds would be to spend a few days here to be able to get into the museums and view original sculptures and masterpieces, get inside the Duomo and climb to the top, and to spend some time roaming the streets and visiting the famous Ponte Vecchio bridge rather than viewing it from across the Arno. But for individuals who have not been to Florence before and may not get an opportunity to return, this excursion is fabulous! The stop at Pisa was one of those "I want to see this in person" moments...we did get inside the church on our free time. The time spent at Pisa was enough for us.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+17points
22out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

our first experience in firenze and pisa

Date:May 5, 2012
balletskier
Location:Connecticut
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Barbara, our guide, was wonderful. The use of earphones was so very helpful. Wish all the tours had these. Even though it rained on and off, it was still enjoyable. We had time for some shopping in Florence. My husband truly enjoyed Pisa and wished we had more time there. Some in the group disagreed, but my huband had photos of his father from WWII at the top of the Tower and was thrilled to be able to duplicate them with his own image.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice tour

Date:July 19, 2011
pipo2635
Location:Puerto Rico
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice tour. Florence has to many architecture to see and admire. We had time to shopping after lunch. The views of countryside of western Tuscany was fantastic.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>