Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Livorno (Florence/Pisa), Italy or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa

Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa

Journey approximately 1½ hours through the countryside of western Tuscany to Florence.Set out on a half-day walking tour that includes Brunelleschi's masterpiece cathedral in pink, green and white marble, and its adjacent bell-tower and baptistery.See the copy of Michelangelo's David in the Piazza della Signoria and visit the Church of Santa Croce. Free time may be allocated for shopping.Savor lunch at a local Florentine restaurant before the 60-minute freeway drive to Pisa.In Pisa, you will have about 30 minutes of free time at the aptly named Piazza dei Miracoli -- site of the Leaning Tower, the cathedral and the baptistery.Across the street is a row of street stalls selling souvenirs and leather bags.Notes:From the drop-off point in Florence there is an approximately 15-minute walk to the historic center of town. The walking portion of the tour involves approximately two miles of extensive walking on cobblestone streets. There is a 30-minute standing visit at the cathedral. If the lines to the cathedral are expected to be longer than 30 minutes, the guide will provide commentary outside and allow guests to enter on their own if the lines decrease. Modest attire is required; knees, shoulders and midriffs must be covered. Shorts are not allowed. Wear comfortable walking shoes. Use of an audio headset (included) will enhance your tour experience. An English-speaking escort will accompany the coach for the duration of the tour. Location-specific guides will meet and guide you at each stop. Tour does not operate on holidays. On Sundays, Pisa is visited before Florence.
Average Customer Rating:
4.357 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
6
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 out of 28(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Review 1 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Trip to Florence and Pisa

Date:July 20, 2016
Location:Westchester County, NY
Cruise Date Year:2016
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This excursion opened my eyes to the beauty and genius which came out of Florence. So many famous, brilliant people and such beautiful works of art and architecture. Our guide was quite informative and showed us some of the most amazing sites there. I would go back to Florence to spend more time. There was so much to see and do there.
Pisa was a tourist trap, but we had to see it and of course we took those pictures trying to hold up the tower! Corny but fun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Local Florence Guide Moved at a Turtle's Pace

Date:May 1, 2016
Location:No CA
Cruise Date Year:2016
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would have been a wonderfully WALKING-INTENSIVE tour only if our local Florence guide didn't take so doggone long doing her part. Spent 2.25 hrs with her covering only a few blocks and she took way too long to give just the highlights of each point of interest, instead of her constantly repeating herself at each point as if we didn't understand her English, which was fine. Florence is a vibrant, exciting and busy city yet I found myself bored with the local guide's slowness and wandering off nearby to explore other things of interest.
Lunch was great, but no free-time unless one just cut their long lunch short and independently took off and returned to the restaurant to rejoin the group.
Tower of Pisa nice to see [no time to climb if inclined] but a definite tourist venue with tons of people.
Bus guide just mediocre with not much commentary during the coach driving time.
Weather very comfortable during our visit.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A full enjoyable day with amazing sights

Date:March 8, 2016
Location:Alberta, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We started with an hour drive to Florence with lots of interesting info. Then an 1 1/2 walking tour through Florence square . We had some trouble getting the sound to work on the devices but our tour guide kept on the local guide until she got it fixed. Absolutely amazingly beautiful sights in the square. Would have liked a little longer there but we had time to look around. Later we visited the Gold Market jewelry store in the soccer square where we had a little free time. Run by an Australian designer and big discounts for cruise passengers. One of a kind items totally different to what we usually see and at affordable prices (although by no means cheap). Then on to lunch in a restaurant that had been a palace. We had lunch in the bedroom of Napoleon's sister. Very nice and excellent food and service. The 60 steps mentioned are up to the restaurant and all were very wide, very low and carpeted so very easy to access. We went back to the square for a bit more time which we could have done without but then on to some more scenic areas of Florence and off to Pisa. It was about a 10 minute walk to Pisa from the bus and not much time there as mentioned but enough to get some amazing pictures. No time to go in the buildings but the restrooms were pretty quick. Well worth it and just wanted more! A very good choice for us as we had not been to either site.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

no time to enjoy it.

Date:November 20, 2015
Location:canada
Cruise Date Year:2015
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Arrived to early at square, only 2 or 3 store open(recommended by guide)
after, visited cathedral ,walked around taking pictures, till lunch time (i't took 2 hrs), then ,walked back to the bus in 15 minutes (long distance). On Pisa. Long walked again from the bus parking to the site .
Beside that, very informative tour.
But, really not worthy for the money
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Too much seeing outside of great places

Date:March 19, 2015
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It is not the fault of Florence, an historic and beautiful city, that we rate this part of the tour as average. There is just too much walking and standing around rather than getting inside. Think of it as a panoramic bus tour without the bus. We are fit seniors and don't mind the walking but all the standing around and time killed shopping takes away from the marvelous opportunities for sightseeing that Florence has to offer. Oh well, we are glad we went. Seeing Pisa for the first time is quite an experience and delightful diversion. Our guide gave us lots of freedom and we had plenty of time to enjoy the site and use the toilet.
We would have given this tour a better rating had we had better use of time in Florence. It's not the fault of Florence.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best excursion ever!!!

Date:January 1, 2015
Location:Deux Montagnes, Quebec, CANADA
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:August
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Can you imagine Florence and the leaning tower of Pisa in the same day? Absolutely amazing!!! Great knowledgeable guides, ample time to shop, a great lunch and a beautiful day. Tour a bit expensive, but well worth the money. If you spend your money only on one tour: THIS IS THE ONE !!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Too much sitting around in Florence

Date:August 13, 2014
Location:shoreline, wa
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Would have enjoyed going into the big cathedral - instead we spent almost 4 hours in Croce Square where they sell leather and gold and pan handlers were all over. Lunch was not that great. and our Florence guide was knowledgeable about art, but dragged on too long. Many of us wandered away on our own. Pisa was a wonderful sight, but with so many vendors with souvenirs it cheapened the area.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

MORE TIME IN PISA!!!

Date:August 7, 2014
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Slightly less time in Florence and slightly more time in Pisa, to allow visitors to enter Pisa church and baptistery. Even more time in Pisa would allow visitors to make reservations to climb the leaning tower. It was a disappointment to arrive at Pisa and not have time to enter any buildings. Florence guide was Excellent! with passion for his city. WATCH OUT FOR PICKPOCKETS AND ROMA!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Too little time, too much to see.

Date:June 8, 2014
Location:Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We took this tour with a quick tour of Florence and later Pisa. While this tour was good we found ourselves wanting to see more of Florence and we could have eliminated Pisa since we saw it 30 years ago. Florence is a very nice city with so much history we would have like more free time to look on our own. The lunch that was included in the tour was set in a very interesting building, like a palace. The food was good but it was not to the level where one would write home about it. Next time we would spend more time in Florence.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa- MY ACHING FEET

Date:May 27, 2014
Location:Lexington, Ky
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
THis should have be a 4 people rating. They are vervy serious about lots of walking on this and only 2 bathroom breaks. I put on a pedometer and literally walked over 7 miles that day with a cane!!!!!! Too much for me. Lots to see and they did a nice job in showing you everything. I just physically didn't do well. So this is a 5 star if you are physically fit and don't have to frequent bathrooms. Wish we had more time at Pisa. Only had time to take photos and find the bathroom. We had no time to shop at Pisa and only about 45 minutes in Florence. Again so much to cover. This is something you do once and next time you do something else.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent way to see two stunning sights

Date:May 18, 2014
Location:Port Sanilac, MI
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This tour was very well planned and managed. Tour guide was excellent, this is a great way to see the highlights of Florence in a short visit. It is really just a taste, but hits the highlights. Nice lunch. Pisa was quite a surprise. Beautiful plaza with the tower and cathedral. It was a long day, but worth it!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Long Day...But Well Worth It!

Date:May 2, 2014
Location:Vancouver Canada
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have not seen Florence or Pisa before, this is a great way to get them both done in one day. Comfortable bus, good guide ...who managed our group of about 40 people very well. And included a very nice sit down (NOT BUFFET!!) lunch, complete with wine at a Florence restaurant. But be prepared for LOTS of walking ... sometimes at a too rapid pace for some ... but you do get to see quite a lot.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly recommend this tour!

Date:December 7, 2013
Location:Sydney, Australia
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter had never been to Florence nor Pisa before so this was a great way to see both towns in a day. We saw all the major highlights, had a wonderful lunch and plenty of time to shop or wander on our own. We enjoyed all the walking tours and the historic sights and got the most wonderful photos in both places. Couldn't have asked for more in a day.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Gem

Date:September 28, 2013
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The half day walking tour was a little tiring, but definitely worth it. And if if you have not been to Pisa, you do not want to mis the experience.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Lovely Day out

Date:August 23, 2013
Location:New Zealand
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bus ride in the lovely countryside is very relaxing. Florence is beautiful and amazing and the lunch is excellent in a spectacular venue. Do look at the ceiling!!! Pisa is also interesting but rather spoiled by all the tourist trash stalls!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Interesting Day!

Date:July 11, 2013
Location:Tennessee
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our guide did an excellent job of sharing interesting facts about the region as we traveled from the port to Pisa and Florence. She spoke excellent English and was very informative. After visiting Pisa we traveled on to Florence. We walked through the city and met another guide before entering the Church of Santa Croce. We had a delightful lunch at Boghese Palace and had time for shopping before our trip back to port. (Florence is a great place to purchase leather goods).
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for first time visitors

Date:June 26, 2013
Location:Alabama
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really 4 1/2 stars for me. Florence was gorgeous, I would happily spend more time there visiting landmarks and museums. The lunch was good and provide a comfort stop. Pisa was sort of a let down in that it really is just three buildings to see, and the free time there is shopping, an over-priced trip up the tower, or nothing (most of our group were back at the meeting point well ahead of the appointed time). Glad I saw it, but no need to revisit Pisa.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Terrific Tuscany

Date:May 21, 2013
Location:Overland Park, KS
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an excellent tour. Our guide on the bus gave us a lot of interesting background information on Florence and Pisa and the local guide in Florence was very good. Both guides spoke excellent English and were very knowledgeable. The lunch in Florence was wonderful. This was a truly enjoyable day.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Our Italian guide was fantastic!

Date:May 20, 2013
Location:Seattle, WA
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lunch was delicious and in a beautiful setting. I wish we had had more time in Pisa, that was a bit rushed.
I didn't care much for our guide/gentleman on the bus who accompanied us, he seemed a bit patronizing.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tuscan Landmarks: Florence & Pisa
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

So, so

Date:May 13, 2013
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tour guide on the bus was very informative and easy to understand, bu tour tour guide in town was not easy to understand, and a lot of unnecessary info. Long tour.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>