Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Venice, Italy or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Nighttime Gondola Serenade

Nighttime Gondola Serenade

Venice is best admired from the water, and the city provides especially lovely viewing at night, with moonlit reflections glistening on the water. An evening ride by gondola along the magical canals of Venice is an experience to treasure forever. You will transfer by launch from the ship to the gondola-landing pier near St Mark’s Square. After a 15-minute walk you will reach the gondola station. There, board a gondola and you will gently glide, four per gondola, through the canals to the sounds of serenading musicians.Notes:Four persons per gondola. Operates weather, tide and wind conditions permitting. Some walking required (approximately 15 minutes each way); participants will need to cross four bridges.
Average Customer Rating:
3.25 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
0
4 out of 8(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nighttime Gondola Serenade
Review 1 for Nighttime Gondola Serenade
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

DO IT ON YOUR OWN

Date:September 14, 2013
First1
Location:canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:August
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We did this on our own. It was really great! It was cheaper too!
Make sure that you go early enough because the water buses stop running at 10:55...our own fault...we were rushed.
A must do!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nighttime Gondola Serenade
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun in a gondola

Date:June 1, 2013
Dave43
Location:Ottawa Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is definitely a tourist setup but it was fun. We saw a small part of the canals, had a good singer serenading us accompanied by an accordion.
The ride is short (35 minutes) but it was enough. All very pleasant
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nighttime Gondola Serenade
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Night Gondola Ride

Date:May 11, 2013
KansasCruiser
Location:Overland Park, KS
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This excursion was disappointing. We were hoping to see Venice lit up at night. However, the ride started before dark and lasted only 30 minutes. There was not much to see. We felt that it offered too little for the money we spent.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nighttime Gondola Serenade
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Nighttime Gondola Serenade

Date:November 3, 2012
lordav
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would recommend a daytime gondola ride rather than going at night as we could not see too much. The gondolier took us down dark canals where there was construction going on and no lights at all. We wondered why we were there?? Passed a couple of lighted restaurants but that was all. Good music and singers in another gondola. Seemed that the boat ride from the ship to the pier and then the walk to the gondolas was more interesting than the actual gondola ride. Our gondolier did not say boo so he was a bit of a disappointment!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nighttime Gondola Serenade
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Very Expensive

Date:October 19, 2012
snap12
Location:Ontario Canada
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:August
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The tour was pretty much as described. We would have liked to have seen Venice when it was dark. As it was it was still daylight when we got on the gondola and were only on board for about 30 minutes. I know that it is expensive to ride a gondola but longer than 30 minutes would have been better. The only time it got dark was when the ride was over. To get to the gondola we had to walk over 6 bridges (HAL said there were only 4) but there were a lot of seniors who had trouble walking - consequenly we were waiting quite a while for them to catch up.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nighttime Gondola Serenade
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

gondola serenade

Date:October 12, 2012
amitytom
Location:Oregon
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Walk to and from ride longer than the ride. Bit spendy but it is Venice. we happened to luck out and the musicians were in our gondola. The rest had to listen to the echos in the narrow canals where we went. once in the back canals not much to see. just dark buildings.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nighttime Gondola Serenade
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice tour but too short for the price

Date:October 27, 2011
TheTimeTravellers
Location:UK
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The tour was pretty much as described and it was nice to see Venice at night but we would have liked longer in the gondola for the price. We were only "on board" so to speak for about 30 minutes. We know gondola rides aren't cheap hence our rating of the value as "fair".
The tour began with a boat ride from the ship to St Mark's Square followed by a 15 minute walk to the boarding point near the famous Harry's Bar. However when we reached this point the gondolas weren't ready as they were still out with a previous group from another ship!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+11points
16out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nighttime Gondola Serenade
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

UNFORGETTABLE TOUR

Date:September 22, 2010
CRUISEJUNKIES
Location:Corvallis, Oregon USA
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were fortunate to have an opera singer and accordian player in our gondola (they seem to put them in every fifth or sixth one). The singer had an incredible operatic voice, which resonated from the buildings and the water. It was a perfect evening, warm and clear. We were on the water probably 90 minutes, on the side canals, then to the Grand Canal where they had us five gondolas abreast and turned us completely around before we went back the side canals and ended the tour. People were coming onto the bridges to listen as we went by. This is the stuff that makes lifetime memories! You can't visit Venice without a gondola ride, and in the evening with a serenade in Italian, it was absolutely magical! This tour is well worth the money to do at least once!
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+39points
39out of 39found this review helpful.