Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Punta Arenas, Chile or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Torres del Paine National Park

Torres del Paine National Park

This excursion starts with a 30-minute bus ride to the airport, where you’ll board a plane for an approximately 60-minute flight from Punta Arenas to Puerto Natales. Upon landing at Puerto Natales, you will travel two hours by motor coach over the pampas—an enormous expanse of flat grassland that is home to vast numbers of sheep. Only low vegetation grows in this area due to the harsh Patagonian winds. It is a very scenic drive to the famous Torres del Paine National Park, where you will catch your first glimpse of the distinct peaks (torres) from which the area takes its name. Torres del Paine National Park was established in 1959, and is a UNESCO Biosphere Reserve. The park centers around an alpine massif of three imposing granite towers (torres) reaching more than 10,000 feet, together with several lesser horns, or cuernos, formed of black shale, and a variety of glaciers, lakes, and wild rivers. Your drive within the park will offer incredible vistas, including Lago Sarmiento and the intensely blue Laguna Amarga. Across Nordenskjold Lake, you will have a view of the famous jagged spires whose image is synonymous with Chile—a fabulous photo opportunity. Lunch is included at a local restaurant. Head back to Puerto Natales for your flight back to Punta Arenas. A transfer will return you to the ship in the late evening.Notes:It is essential that you wear warm, layered clothing in order to fully enjoy and participate in this excursion. Tour operates weather permitting and there is a chance of poor visibility.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Torres del Paine National Park
Review 1 for Torres del Paine National Park
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Torres Excursion

Date:March 3, 2014
Oldie
Location:Moorestown, NJ
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a superb day trip! Despite the difficulty rating, the only difficult things I could note were the high cost, early hour & long bus ride. Our group of 50 flew over on a chartered jet in 20 min., weather was perfect, lunch was excellent, scenery was absolutely terrific & we returned to the ship in time for dinner. Don't hesitate - go!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Torres del Paine National Park
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nowhere like it.

Date:December 5, 2013
server
Location:Canada
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm surprised that of the 6 reviews, the 5 that took place in or post Jan 2012 , not one of them refers to the fires. The fires occurred, nothing can be done, but it did detract from the overall experience, and it will be years before they regenerate. You are in the middle of nowhere, just the folks you're with and your bus. I would not have been happy if I'd passed on this, despite the great expense.
As one of the other contributors stated, it's pricey, but pay up and go. Our trip only had 19 because there was only 1 plane available, but I was on it
The restaurant where we had lunch had been lucky, the land the other side of the little bridge was scorched.
I cannot remember what time we were back at the Veendam, but there was not much choice in the dining category.
HAL took in a LOT of money from the 19 of us(not allowed to mention numbers), not all profit of course, and all I found was a deserted Lido.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Torres del Paine National Park
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not to be missed!

Date:April 17, 2013
rachelv
Location:Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Other reviewers have competently described the spectacular scenery, wildlife, excellent tour guide, etc. All true. I would just like to provide some input re the physical rating for this trip, in case anyone is put off by it, as I initially was, until I spoke with an HA agent who assured me I would be OK as long as I could climb the steps into the small plane and walk across a boardwalk bridge to the lunch venue. Please be assured, this tour is not physically demanding. If you only go on one shore excursion, and can possibly afford it, this is the one to do. Absolutely incredible day!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Torres del Paine National Park
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Torres del Paine Excusrion from Punta Arenas

Date:April 16, 2013
muzza
Location:Brisbane, Australia
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This tour delivered everything it promised.
I was initially concerned about the high cost, but some extra work had come my way, so I thought ''oh well....''
From the moment we boarded the bus at the ship, it was obvious from our guide Eva's enthusiasm that it would be a top day. From the light aircraft flight to Puerto Natales and our Pilot Riccardo, who flew low over the landscape, to the moment we stepped back on to the Veendam, there was nothing but interest and fascinating commentary from Eva. It wasn't just a travelogue - she told us about her country, good side and bad side, herself and her experience living as a Chilean, a hundred other things about wildlife we saw or did not see. All just fascinating. The majestic Torres del Paine spoke for themselves. The weather was good, not perfect, but it was breathtaking to see the majestic Torres coming and going in the mist and I found I had a smile on my face for the entire time we were in the park.
If I had any criticism, it would be the time available, but short of keeping the Veendam in port for longer (I wished that they could), what could the various component operators have done. The tour delivered all that it could in the time available, but I would have liked a few minutes more here and there throughout the day to savour the experience just that much more. If you are in two minds about the long day or the substantial cost, don't give it a second thought. It is a really great day and you will be so glad you took the opportunity
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Torres del Paine National Park
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Torres del Paine

Date:April 1, 2013
DisneyDarwin
Location:Houston, TX
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is the fullest of full day tours. Our call time was 6:20am, we took a bus to the airport, where 3 planes flew us to the airport closest to Torres. The views from the flight were very good. We transferred to a bus for a 1.5 hour trip to the Torres del Paine park. We really enjoyed the bus ride and saw many birds including condors, foxes, guanacos, a great waterfall, lakes and scenic vistas. At last we arrived at the park and saw the famous peak and rock towers. We had very little mist that day and the views were great. Then we went to a lakeside hotel (another great spot) and had lunch (good, not great). Then you turn around and come back. The guide has to keep you moving because you've got to get back to the ship, although they'll wait on you. We were the last tour to arrive at 5:30pm and the pulled up the gangway behind us. I would do it again, and recommend to others. The only reason I can't give it 4 stars is the price -- no tour excursions is worth that much, even if we did pay it. But, hey, when are you ever going to get this chance again, so pay it and go.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Torres del Paine National Park
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Never to be forgotten

Date:March 28, 2013
Jettyhouse
Location:Albany, Western Australia
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ilovevacation has described this excursion very well. We had the same incredible experiences. As we were gazing at the mountains, we thought they was spectacular . . . until the clouds drifted away and the Torres ghosted into view, like scenery from the Lord of the Rings. Our jaws dropped and cameras ran hot. The whole day was filled with amazing landscapes, animals and birds. The bus driver stopped to point out grey foxes, condors and so many others. It was a day where we really felt that we were immersed in this amazing country . . . and we can't wait to return to Torres del Paine.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Torres del Paine National Park
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AMAZING- Expensive but a once in a lifetime trip

Date:July 19, 2012
ilovevacation
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cannot say enough good things about this excursion. I know people's first reaction when considering it is probably the price and wondering is it really worth it? Yes it is ridiculously expensive, however, it is one of a small handful of HAL excursions that I would want to do again. This trip is spectacular from start to finish. While the description says a 30 minute plane ride, it doesn't mention that it is absolutely gorgeous with the most amazing views the entire time, both ways. I was literally glued to my window in awe of the beauty. When you arrive it says a bus ride to the park, well that is an understatement as well as the bus ride takes you by truly spectacular scenery that could be an entire worthy excursion on its own.
During the day we saw every animal that you go on the trip hoping you will be able to see: guanacos, flamingos, condors, eagles, hawks, swans and a variety of other animals. There were many opportunities for great pictures- I was glued to the window the whole time and the bus was filled with people going look over here, look over there as there was constantly a new sight to see. I highly recommend having your camera battery fully charged and plenty of space on your memory card, because you will need it. You get to see lakes and waterfalls from glacial ice melt that are the prettiest shade of metallic grayish blue- truly gorgeous. Additionally, there was an area that due to the canyons had extreme high wind (signs warned you of it) it was really fun to experience as everyone was blown around with hair sticking straight back and made for funny pictures (you were welcome to stay on the bus if you didn't want to experience it). The clouds lifted perfectly around the Torres del Paine so we were able to get great pictures- we were told the tops are obscured by clouds a lot of the time, but we had perfect viewing. Our guide was very informative, but knew when to be quiet and just let people enjoy trying to take it all in.
For lunch, we stopped at a little restaurant/inn on a gorgeous glacial lake. The food was good (not fantastic, but definitely good) with wine, soft drinks and water included.
While this tour is marked strenuous, and there was some walking, it is definitely not physically demanding if you are in reasonable/normal health/shape. There were opportunities to get out and walk around but it was as much or little as you wanted. You do have to be able to get up and down stairs to get on and off the plane and walk the equivalent of about a block and a half across a flat bridge to the restaurant. There are a couple of bathroom breaks (airport, lunch, and one other) so just be careful about how much you drink! This tour had truly some of the most energetic active people on it and everyone on it was so much fun that it made it even better. Everyone we talked to on that trip and later in the cruise said how much they loved it and how amazing it was.
The entire day was literally breathtaking beauty from start to finish. I know the price is very high, but it is truly an unforgettable once in a lifetime excursion (or twice I hope) that is well worth the money and you won't regret. I would do it again in a heartbeat, and the same cannot be said for any city tour I have ever been on. Spectacular from start to finish!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Torres del Paine National Park
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Breathtaking Combination

Date:March 19, 2012
milesy
Location:Australia
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tour startsand finishes with a short air flight over beautiful country. The national park has wonderful landscapes and lots of different wildlife was seen closeby on the drive. The lunch site was brilliant and the meal interesting and pleasant.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-8points
6out of 20found this review helpful.