Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Kralendijk (Bonaire), Antilles or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Bonaire Highlights

Bonaire Highlights

Bonaire is known for its pink flamingos, nature reserves and superb diving and snorkeling sites. Today’s relaxing drive covers both the scenic and historic highlights. Your route carries you north along the coast, past many of the island’s fine vistas and dive sights. You’ll pass Lake Goto (Goto Meer), the island’s land-locked salt-water lagoon, for a look at the long-legged pink flamingos. Continue your drive across the island, passing by the fresh water well "Dos Pos" and through the village of Rincon—the oldest settlement in the ABC islands. Visit the Cadushy Liqueur Distillery, the world's only distillery that produces cactus liqueur. Here you are invited for a taste of the cactus liqueur and will learn about the distilling process. Drive on to Seru Largu, located atop the mountain, and pause to take in the sweeping views over Kralendijk, Klein Bonaire and the southern part of the island. As you make your way to the southern part of the island, stop for photos of the salt pans—the color contrast between the blue Caribbean, pink salt pans and towering white mounds of dry salt are quite spectacular. Your route also carries you past the white slave huts—small shelters built for the slaves forced to labor in the salt ponds.Notes:Wildlife sightings are likely but are not guaranteed.
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
11 out of 12(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bonaire Highlights
Review 1 for Bonaire Highlights
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent overview

Date:July 16, 2014
halo
Location:Missouri
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The tour was very informative. We learned a lot about the island history, and its people. The distillery was an excellent stop, I recommend trying the liqueur. As always the tour guide makes or breaks a tour. Our guide was not only entertaining, but was extremely informative.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bonaire Highlights
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Informative Tour

Date:May 15, 2014
Arkie
Location:Fairview,Tx
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bonaire is an interesting little island with very limited resources. This is the way to see the island and learn something of the culture. We saw wild donkeys, goats, iguanas, but only a couple of Flamingos- in the distance.
The most interesting thing to me was the salt mining industry and its history. The salt mine slave huts and the history associated with them was very interesting!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bonaire Highlights
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Comfortable Way to See a Lot of Bonaire

Date:April 4, 2014
KenMac
Location:Tampa, Florida
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Guide was very good. Great way to see a lot of Bonaire in short period of time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bonaire Highlights
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good way to see the whole island

Date:December 28, 2013
Barf
Location:Saskatchewan
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Guide was very hard to understand and did not seem to have more than a basic knowledge of his tour.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bonaire Highlights
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Way to See The Whole Island

Date:April 18, 2013
CannonFalls
Location:MN
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
On this tour you see everything! From one end of the island to the other. Tour guide was pretty good - maybe not as knowledgeable as she could be but provided very good information - good, local perspective. Bus was almost cold, but windows did open to take photos and warm it up a little. Route traveled was great and so much to see. Would have liked more photo stops perhaps - we did stop three times though.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bonaire Highlights
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You'll be extra lucky to get Nicole as your guide

Date:March 18, 2013
Kartoom
Location:Greenville, NC
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was our second trip to Bonaire, and this tour and Nicole helped us fall in love with the island. The tour takes you one one gorgeous ride through the countryside. Nicole was knowledgeable enough to explain many things that heightened our enjoyment of the tour. The views from the mountaintop were spectacular. We even managed to see flamingos in Lake Goto. The salt pans are a sight not to be missed. Because of the stop in Rincon the slave huts at the salt pans had much more meaning after Nicole explained what happened.. She even pointed out a black flamingo, you'll have to see her for the details.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bonaire Highlights
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good tour

Date:February 10, 2013
nctraveler
Location:North Carolina
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We had a good tour and saw lots of small wildlife. Ivan was a very good guide. Our vehicle was comfortable with good a/c. We had plenty of time at each stop. We were glad we took the tour and felt like we saw and learned much of the island.
Cruise was in Jan/2013 but system won't take 2013.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bonaire Highlights
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Bonaire Highlights

Date:December 31, 2012
10191956
Location:Ontario canada
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good island tour. Tour guide was pleasant and well informed. Bus was clean, cool and in good working order. Worth the money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bonaire Highlights
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very disappointing

Date:November 28, 2012
Swell
Location:Canada
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This tour did not show anything of interest. If the tour guide received additional training and improved her language skills, she would be better prepared to lead a tour. When two gas stations and a car wash are worth mentioning you can imagine the "highlights" of the tour. it is definitely a waste of time and money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bonaire Highlights
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Guide

Date:April 9, 2012
Dosh
Location:Nebraska
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
An easy drive around the island. A chance to see the islands wildlife and sites. The museum was clean, but not too interesting. Our guide was filled with great information about the island.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bonaire Highlights
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Interesting

Date:March 7, 2012
glitzy
Location:Michigan
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
The guide was very knowledgeable about the island and kept our interest. She was able to relate to all of the passengers. We were on a smaller coach and that help with the rapport. She showed us interesting aspects of the island. She had a goal of showing us 5 animals indigineous to the island and we saw 5.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bonaire Highlights
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

lovely island

Date:February 11, 2012
dorimolady
Location:Southwest, USA
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bonaire is different from the A and C of the ABC islands, less commercial. It's got lovely views and the visit to the salt making oprations was wonderful. The ground is covered with gravel that is actually broken coral. Our guide was from Canada and taught scuba diving. She was quite informative and our driver was a boon.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.