Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Oranjestad, Aruba or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Aruba Sunset Cruise

Aruba Sunset Cruise

A friendly crew picks you up at the cruise harbor in a custom-built catamaran. You’ll sail past Aruba's famous beaches, along the island’s south coast and up the gorgeous west coast, taking in the spectacular Caribbean sunset. Experience the joy of sailing and take advantage of the many perfect picture opportunities as you glide over clear, turquoise waters past famous Palm Beach. The crew will keep you comfortable and entertained during the two-hour trip and will return you to the cruise terminal at the end of your idyllic adventure.
Average Customer Rating:
4.409 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
19 out of 22(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Aruba Sunset Cruise
Review 1 for Aruba Sunset Cruise
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Better than expected.

Date:March 24, 2014
CookieJ
Location:Pennsylvania
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We certainly did enjoy this excursion and the crew lived up to the reviews we read and were extremely helpful and friendly. The food was good - nothing fancy, but the drinks were varied and plentiful. The boat is so smooth in the water so you can feel very safe.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Aruba Sunset Cruise
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A nice evening

Date:March 20, 2014
Woolly
Location:Falls Church, VA
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a pleasant way to spend part of an evening off the ship. The catamaran was comfortable and clean, and the crew was very friendly and jovial. There was recorded music played over the loudspeakers, which was pretty loud, but that's not unusual in public places. I did change into long pants and took a sweater, both of which I was glad to have as it did get a little cool after sunset.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Aruba Sunset Cruise
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice night.

Date:March 8, 2014
Charliebravo852
Location:Buffalo, ny
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fun group, a lot of drinks available. Nice evening on the cat.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Aruba Sunset Cruise
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Restful evening with funny crew

Date:January 31, 2014
SCshowgirl
Location:SC
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The cruise was all it was said to be. Thanks for that. Cruise date was January 2014...2014 doesn't appear on the drop down yet.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Aruba Sunset Cruise
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

beautiful sunset, fun guides

Date:June 16, 2013
sunlovers
Location:york, pa.
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the guides on this excursion were fun and informative at the same time. they have finger foods and of course alcohol if that is your desirewhge. there is a restroom onboard. i only mention this because when we planned our panama canal cruise, a lot of the reviews complianed that there were few or no restrooms?! we did not find that to be true. and the best sunset ever. it was dark of course when we got back to the zuiderdam so we got some great pictures of the ship with all the lights on.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Aruba Sunset Cruise
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Evening

Date:May 10, 2013
annswede
Location:San Francisco, CA
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Charming, relaxing and an evening of fun! Crew is amusing and informative. We enjoyed this excursion!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Aruba Sunset Cruise
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

See Aruba from a Catamaran

Date:February 10, 2013
Baseballmom22
Location:San Diego, California
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading the reviews about this shore excursion I booked it for my husband and I as well as my parents who are 75 and 77. It was absolutely wonderful! The music was great, the appetizers were plentiful... vegetarian spring rolls, chunks of cheese and baby cheese quesidillas. My guess is that it may not be the same with each sailing however this is what we received. They were delicious. Rum punch, local beer and other drinks were also served throughout the excursion. If you wanted non alcoholic beverages they were also available. Everyone had so much fun. Some of the passengers, including my mom, danced to the caribbean music during the last 40 minutes of the 2 hour excursion. My father has Parkinsons and had no problem whatsoever getting on or off the catamaran and he thoroughly enjoyed the trip. It's perfect for all ages and a wonderful way to see the beaches of Aruba. After traveling on many upscale cruise ships I would definately recommend this excursion. Book before you get on the ship as it was sold out once we were on the cruise ship. Cruise date was February 2013 and the weather was spectacular!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Aruba Sunset Cruise
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful and fun

Date:February 9, 2013
Shipfun
Location:Rocky Mount, NC
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The sunset was beautiful....like watching a big red ball drop into the ocean. The guys in charge were lots of fun and enegetic. Good snacks on board too. I should have thought to take a light jacket as it got a little cool after the sunset, but we weren't out terribly long after that anyway.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Aruba Sunset Cruise
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2013
Orville
Location:Ottawa, ON
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jan 2013 (if HAL is asking for feedback at least have the year (2013) available on the drop down menu)
The good: friendly knowledgeable crew, snacks and bar as advertised no issue there.
The bad: They cram every available seat and this includes interior facing a bulkhead which was cramped. Fore the amount paid I think that they could set a more comfortable limit.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Aruba Sunset Cruise
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It was a LOT of fun.

Date:January 29, 2013
Indyanna
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was a little concerned that this might turn out to be an unhappy experience due to the open bar, but, luckily, folks on the catamaran paced themselves and it was a really enjoyable sunset cruise. The crew was very friendly and safety conscious. I'd go again on the cruise in a heartbeat! I took this cruise in early January 2013 but the glitchy HAL computer doesn't offer the current year as a choice. :-(
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Aruba Sunset Cruise
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Crowded but fun.

Date:January 27, 2013
TRNMGR
Location:Atlanta, GA
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
We took the sunset cruise in Aruba on our recent cruise. The cruise is on a catamaran, and they take about 40 people on each catamaran. This makes for a crowded boat, so plan on getting cozy with your fellow cruisers. Beverages are available, as are some hors d'oeuvres. We are not talking about a classy, fancy sailing experience here. It was fun, and we had a nice sunset that night, but if you're thinking romantic, think again. The tour guide was funny and interesting. If you go, wear comfortable clothes and appropriate shoes. Bring your camera to capture the sunset.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Aruba Sunset Cruise
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

No Sunset on Our Sunset Cruise

Date:January 17, 2013
Anonymous
Location:Kansas City
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The bad weather we encountered in Aruba on our January 2013 cruise on the Zuiderdam was not the fault of the cruise line or the catamaran crew. However, in my opinion, it WAS HAL's fault that -- after delaying the excursion in hopes the weather would clear -- they proceeded with it anyway. The sun had set before the catamaran left the dock and the evening was rainy and dark and the water was choppy. The crew tried hard to make things festive but everyone was huddled under the awning and I, for one, was praying for an early return to the dock.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Aruba Sunset Cruise
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sunset in Paradise

Date:September 9, 2012
DoxieMom
Location:Fishers, IN
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was truly an enjoyable excursion. The crew on the catamaran really make this fun! Very relaxing, breezy, good snacks, and great pictures! Highly recommend!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Aruba Sunset Cruise
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightful!!!

Date:March 28, 2012
MaryAnn
Location:Sarasota,FL
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was truly a delightful excursion from beginning to end! We found it very relaxing. The hosts were very polite and were entertaining without being overbearing. There were six in our party and we all agreed that this was a highlight of a wonderful cruise. The refreshments were just right,also.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Aruba Sunset Cruise
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Aruba Sunset Cruise

Date:January 3, 2012
Lukey11
Location:Maryland
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Traveled with my 74-year old mother. There were several other elderly on board. This was one trip that was fairly easily accessable, other than a fairly large step from ramp to boat, but the staff was there to steady the cruisers. Also there were about 4 steps to go down to get to the seating area. Cruise was very enjoyable. While drinks were offered, it is NOT a cruise where music is so loud you can't carry a conversation and all aboard are drunk. It was very relaxing and we enjoyed our time getting to know other travelers while taking in the sunset.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+14points
18out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Aruba Sunset Cruise
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Aruba Sunset Cruise

Date:November 29, 2011
Turtle
Location:Atlanta, GA
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
During our recent cruise to the Panama Canal, we had the pleasure of taking the Aruba Sunset Cruise (we had been put on a waitlist when we first applied on line). My traveling companions and I love sailing and thought that alone would be the highlight especially since we don't drink alcohol. Boy were we surprised and impressed! Clouds began to gather after we sailed away from the ship but they only improved the gorgeous sunset we experienced! The open bar (including soft drinks and water) during the whole cruise may have been a big draw for many , but not us. The freedom of being under sail in wonderful winds was exhilarating! On the return sail to our ship, catered hors d'oeuvres were served . The crew was delightful and the vessel was very clean. The music really made you want to get up and dance. We took lots of photos and have lots of happy memories. I highly recommend this event for any adult..
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Aruba Sunset Cruise
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sunset Cruise

Date:November 27, 2011
Huston
Location:New Jersey
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
My wife, I and 2 friends took this cruise. It was a perfect night. The sunset was great and the hosts were very friendly. I know the price didn't include beer. I went along with that. I prefer beer over hard liguor drinks.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Aruba Sunset Cruise
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2011
printer
Location:Vancouver B.C.
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
enjoyable sunset cruise with refreshments provided free'
pleasant humourist hosts
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-8points
6out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Aruba Sunset Cruise
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Aruba Sunset Cruise

Date:April 13, 2011
dogmomma
Location:Calgary, AB
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Catamaran crew very friendly, knowledgeable. The sunset was beautiful. Food and open bar was great.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Aruba Sunset Cruise
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This excursion was AMAZING!

Date:March 27, 2011
LIFEWJ
Location:Pompano Beach, FL
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not only was the Sunset beautiful, the staff was friendly and professional. Good music, drinks, snacks. I would do this excursion again in a heartbeat!! Good choice Holland!
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>