Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Mahogany Bay, Roatan, Honduras or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Catamaran Sail & Snorkel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Holland America.

Catamaran Sail & Snorkel

Sail the crystal clear waters of the Caribbean aboard an elegant, 70-foot yacht-style catamaran and snorkel over a beautiful living reef. Your adventure begins with a short transfer to the dock. You’ll step aboard the Graziafelice and unwind aboard this lovely catamaran that has sailed around the world several times. She features the finest mahogany and maple wood, a spacious interior, three areas furnished with sofas, a wet bar, two large trampolines suspended between the hulls, and airy sundecks. Listen to a safety briefing as you cast off, then relax under the Caribbean sun as you sail along Roatán’s reef and coastline for approximately an hour. Arriving at the snorkel site, you’ll have about an hour in the water to marvel at the amazing underwater scenery, including spectacular coral formations and beautiful tropical fish. Back on board, you’ll enjoy a beverage and a delicious buffet lunch of rotisserie chicken, pasta salad, island-style rice, cabbage salad and fresh fruit salad. After lunch sail back to the dock and return to your ship either by catamaran or bus.
Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
7 out of 10(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Catamaran Sail & Snorkel
Review 1 for Catamaran Sail & Snorkel
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Snorklers vs the Sea Lice

Date:March 21, 2014
SnorklerJoe
Location:Charlottesville,VA
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The big surprise when we got in the water was the occurrence numerous sweat bee like stings all over our bodies. It especially hurt on the lips. Nothing was visible and the unease was increased by having no idea what was going on. Evidently we were cursed with Sea Lice, which occasionally show up in this area. We toughed it out and kept snorkeling, but I wouldn't call the experience enjoyable. After the swim they had vinegar to spray on us that was supposed to help with the sting. I did not have long term effects, though I heard of at least one who had allergic reactions.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Catamaran Sail & Snorkel
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Jolly Roger Roatan Catamaran and Snorkle

Date:March 14, 2013
irishgirl
Location:Allentown, PA
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The “yacht-style” term may have been appropriate in the past as this boat is beyond its prime but still serviceable and relatively clean. The interior did smell of engine exhaust and diesel fumes and there was an issue with the toilet (addressed quickly and efficiently by the crew) but the inside of the boat was usable and a great place to warm up and get out of the light rain that fell. The food was nothing to write home about but we were hungry after more than an hour in the water and eating a bit took the edge off until we could return to the HAL ship. The boat ride to the snorkel spot was fine; there is little room to comfortably sit on the outside so it was hard on our backs. The crew were friendly and polite and tried to assist where needed. The snorkeling was amazing! And the guides knew just where to lead. The masks were low quality and ill-fitting, but the views under the water made up for the lack of quality everywhere else. If you are in it for the fish, reefs and views, it is an excellent value. If you are only choosing it for something to do, your money is better spent elsewhere.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Catamaran Sail & Snorkel
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Snorkeling

Date:March 8, 2013
PackerFan
Location:Wisconsin
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Excursion claims detailed instruction for 1st timers. NO WAY. We were given a mask, flippers and told to jump in. No instruction other than that. Masks leaked with no instruction on how to clear them. The boat was in poor shape, the toilets did not work, the interior reeked of waste, diesel oil and exhaust. Good it was sunny as there wasn't room for everyone inside and the smells would have made in unbearable. Don't do it. Bright side was the reef did provide some nice views but the rest of the excursion was not worth it. Save your money!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Catamaran Sail & Snorkel
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lots to see!

Date:March 6, 2013
SeekingSunshine
Location:Seattle
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tour does not disappoint! The time on the catamaran under the sun is very relaxing, the staff and service and food is great! But it's what's under the water that is worth every penny. Lots of corral, colorful fish and the guides know exactly where to take you to see interesting things but also keep you safe. Our guide took pictures with people's cameras, fed the fish so they came swarming around! Great time, would definitely go back again!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Catamaran Sail & Snorkel
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Graet Coral & Abundance of Fish

Date:February 11, 2011
75young
Location:Dunedin, FL/ Huntsville,ON
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was close our 100th snorkelling trip in the Caribbean and by far the best. The instructions and safety factors were superb. I was most impressed how they seperated novice snorkerlers from more experience and ensured they had success and fun. Recommend this trip
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Catamaran Sail & Snorkel
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not as good as similar tours in the Caribbean

Date:January 26, 2011
Harry
Location:Kansas City
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Have been on several sail & snorkel tours with HAL. This was the worst. The water had a lot of trash & the snokeling guide led the group over mud when there was decent stuff to see elsewhere. While the tour advertised that there were no free alcoholic drinks, I'd rather have paid more for the tour & had an open bar. The food served was good & all the non alcoholic drinks that you could want. The crew was nice & tried to please. However, I'd save my $ & do something else in Mahogany Bay than this.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Catamaran Sail & Snorkel
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Excursion!

Date:January 20, 2011
Cruiser2011
Location:Indiana
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The boat and crew were wonderful. The food was excellent and the service was outstanding. Would have liked more time snorkeling, but all in all, an excellent time!
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Catamaran Sail & Snorkel
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Snorkel trip

Date:December 29, 2010
Dutch
Location:Georgia, USA
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We took this snorkel cruise as we snorkel quite often and really like the catamarans. We were not dissappointed in this trip. The crew was very friendly and helpful. Snorkeling was great! After snorkeling a very nice lunch was served, beverages were provided. Alcoholic beverages were available at a very reasonable price. All in all a great snorkel excursion.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Catamaran Sail & Snorkel
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Much More than we expected

Date:December 9, 2010
Supervisor42
Location:Alabama
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boarded the Endless Summer boat, different than description but the crew made up the difference. They were very people friendly instead of treating a boatload of tourists as cattle. They catered to each individual's need and spent as much time as needed to get everyone comfortable with their snorkel gear. Putting standard life preservers on the "beginners". Everyone had a great time and I was amazed to see all of the beginners 75 yards from the boat and still going at the end of the dive. Then we were off to a spot for swimming in a beautiful lagoon. Everyone went in and had a blast Again. A great lunch was waiting when they returned. Then we unfurled the sails and headed out to the open sea. The engines were cut and the music was turned on. WE WERE SAILING! I got a good video of the MRS. behind the big wheel piloting the boat. The captain, Chris even stepped out of the picture to make it PRICELESS! The CREW made this one of the best excursions we have been on.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Catamaran Sail & Snorkel
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More than we expected!

Date:December 8, 2010
LabQueen
Location:Gainesville, FL
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We boarded the "Endless Summer" catamaran, which is a different boat than the one described, but still very nice. There was a good mix of people of all ages on this trip. The crew was friendly and most were wearing a certified Life Guard uniform. They were all very helpful to someone who had not snorkeled in 25 years. We went with the beginner group and were literally taken by the hand and shown the beautiful reef and fish.
After the snorkel, we were served a delicious lunch and beverages. What a nice surprise that it was very good and it was a real treat on a sunny, breezy day on the water. Then we raised the sails and took a tour of an inland waterway, going by fishing villages and oceanfront homes. After a while, the captain asked if anyone wanted to go for a swim in the gorgeous sea. This was an added bonus that wasn't in the tour description. Then we headed back to port, leisurely sailing along until almost home, then firing up the engines to bring us in. What a delightful day! We highly recommend this excursion.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.