Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Willemstad (Curacao), Antilles or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Caves & City Highlights

Caves & City Highlights

This tour gives you a chance to experience two highlights of Curaçao—the Hato Caves and the famous city center, which is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. A short drive brings you to the caves—home to beautiful limestone formations, including the famous Madonna statue and a colony of seldom-seen long-nose fruit bats. The caves contain an impressive array of stalagmites and stalactites. Join your guide in recognizing animals or figures in the various stone formations. From here, drive back to the city center, where your walking tour through begins. First, you will pass the floating fruit and vegetable market, where vendors sell their products from traditional Venezuelan schooners. You will also pass the beautifully colored merchant houses on the quayside. These buildings represent Curaçao's lively history of trade and the mansions here are postcard-perfect models for Curaçao vacation pictures. You're on your way to Fort Amsterdam—a beautiful Caribbean palace and home to the governor of the Netherlands Antilles. The last part of your walk will be across the floating bridge that connects the two sides of the city. If the bridge is open due to ship traffic, you will use the ferry. Your guide will escort you back to the ship through the Riffort area, complete with many shops and hotels. Guests who wish to stay in town to shop or explore on their own are welcome to do so, but must return to the ship on their own.Notes:There are 50 steps to get up to the caves.
Average Customer Rating:
3.815 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
0
23 out of 27(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Caves & City Highlights
Review 1 for Caves & City Highlights
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Caves YES, city highlights NO.

Date:April 21, 2014
Miguel
Location:Miami, FL
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Caves and the local guide where great, but there are no city highlights at all.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Caves & City Highlights
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Caves and walking

Date:February 12, 2014
lilypad
Location:Ohio
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The cave is so interesting and the trip to the cave gave us an idea of what the island is like. The first part of the tour was great, but the walking tour left a lot to be desired. We walked through and the guide showed us shops. We were left in downtown to make our own way back to the ship which was a good 30 minute walk uphill. The ship information DID NOT say that we would be left in town though this description does. We had people in our group who could walk around town but could not climb the hill back to the ship. They had to take a taxi at an additional $15. Our guide was less than enthusiastic. Additionally, at the caves, I inquired about a tree with some fruit lying around it. He said well is is a poison tree and if you pick up one of the fruits you will be seriously ill. Really! Should he not have pointed this out to us before the end of the tour. Fortunately, I had not picked up one of the fruits to look at it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Caves & City Highlights
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lovely city

Date:January 7, 2014
Mishy
Location:Australia
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lovely city, buildings and bridges. Great way to see city before exlporing on your own.
We did tour in reverse and started in the city and then went to caves. There is alot of walking on this tour - didn't bother me but some guests found it very difficult (and complained loudly and often) and unfortunately this did effect the city walk part of the tour and my enjoyment of it.
The caves where have hot but interesting to visit.
The guide was informative but did struggle with english at times, but did her best under very difficult circumstances.
Would recommend as a great way to familiarise yourself with the city.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Caves & City Highlights
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Caves great but not so many city hilights

Date:January 6, 2014
inmy30s
Location:Victoria, BC Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Best part of the trip was going to the caves. Yes, there are 50 steps. We took them nice and slow. A lady with a cane was part of our group and did ok. It rained on the way out of the caves so you'd want a hand to hold the railing as since the steps are uneven and slippery.
The caves are hot inside since made of limestone. Was glad they had a few small fans inside. I brought my own paper one to that helped. I'm not friends with humidty :) The bats are quite small and don't come close to you so don't worry you won't freak out. And they eat fruit so you're safe.
The highlight tour was short (floating market, synagogue and the governor's house- that's it). We were there on a Sunday when majority of shops were closed so you were limited where you could shop.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Caves & City Highlights
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:September 7, 2013
Izzy
Location:Stuttgart, Germany
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved this tour and this little island!
The caves are a bit hot, but they try to help you out by going there early in the morning. Got great history information on Curacao in the caves and the city.
I love bats so seeing bats was a definite plus for me :)
The city tour was also excellent.
I had the best grilled red snapper at a little cafe at the end of the tour.
I'd definitely recommend it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Caves & City Highlights
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great tour

Date:June 18, 2013
Beave
Location:Stuttgart, Germany
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good excursion, but there are some steps to climb, so you should be able to climb non-standard size stairs. I didn't have any issues with them but many in our group did. It was a warm day but that didn't slow us down... we had a 20 minute ride out to the caves which was nice and we got to see a bit of the town. The caves were also very interesting to see, the guide was informative, definitely worthwhile. Dress cool as the caves are warm, even hot. Next the bus took us into the city and that was also very interesting. Walked around seeing a few sights and I believe it was a good overview of the city. I would recommend this tour if you want to see the caves and get an initial impression of the city.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Caves & City Highlights
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not for the weak!

Date:April 29, 2013
FreddyB
Location:Texas
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
As a 77 year old, I choose this excursion as it was listed as "easy" seeing the island on an air conditioned bus. Not so! First you go to a cave which has 49 steps. BOO! Then back to town where you are dropped off and told that you are about to take a 60 minute walking tour thru town. BOOOOOOOOOOOO! With the heat and all, I definitely would not label the tour as "easy".
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+5points
11out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Caves & City Highlights
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun experience

Date:April 3, 2013
loadyolady
Location:St Albert
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were on this excursion with our grandson and once we climbed the 49 steps (not bad) we entered the caves. The guide was very informative and explained differents things in the first 2 caves where we were not to take pictures. The third cave the guide pointed out different formations from a pirates head to curtains which was really cool. We were allowed to take pictures. She also shone her flashlight into a very dark cave and we saw all the bats. Caves were well lit and there were good paths. Bus guide was also very informative.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Caves & City Highlights
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Caves were great but the City tour was a bust

Date:March 14, 2013
Anonymous
Location:Canada
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We took this excursion in February, 2013. The tour of the caves was fascinating. The guide really knew the information and ensured that every part of our rather large group heard the information and had a chance to see the highlights.
The walking tour, however, was marred by the guide's poor command of English. It was unclear if she knew her material well and simply didn't have the English to communicate it. We have taken this tour previously with someone who spoke more fluent English and also knew her facts and it was far more enjoyable. This year, we ended up leaving the walking tour long before it reached the end and simply exploring the area on our own.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Caves & City Highlights
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting caves, so so city tour.

Date:January 7, 2013
Gordo
Location:Brampton, Ontario
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was interesting to see how the stalactites and stalagmites had formed over many years. It is worth noting that they are still growing today as you could see drops hanging from many stalactites. We visited in the morning so although it was warm it was not unbearable. The tour guide was very informative and pointed out many interesting areas of interest. Their are 54 steps up to the caves, however there is a hand rail so it is easily climbed. The city tour is something you could do on your own, as the bus drops you off down town and leaves. You walk around town and then back to the ship across the pontoon bridge, or the free ferries if the bridge is open.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Caves & City Highlights
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Spelunkering tourist

Date:December 3, 2012
Hopalong
Location:Toronto
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The cave was bigger than I thought. It was hot inside and very humid. There were a few fans inside that were great to stand in front. The explanation given inside was worth listening to. The town portion was lame. As there were 3 ships in harbour that day the crowds were intense downtown.
Definitely bring a water bottle on this one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Caves & City Highlights
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Waisted too much time waiting for ferry

Date:November 9, 2012
khousesc21
Location:Thornton, CO
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
As with every shore excursion we took, it seems you WAIT an inordinate amount of time! We got to our meeting point on the dock & waited! The pedestrian bridge was open due to a ship coming through so we had to wait for the ferry. The tour guide commented there are usually 2 ferries working but that day only one! We waited 45 mins. to cross over & by then was too late to go shopping. Too bad Willemstad lost out on some tourist dollars!
The tour guide was knowledgeable but if you read any books about Willemstad, you could do the walking tour on your own.
The caves were interesting, but you could not take pictures in the most interesting parts.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Caves & City Highlights
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Overall Enjoyable

Date:September 9, 2012
DoxieMom
Location:Fishers, IN
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The caves were interesting. The climb is up uneven "landscaping style stone steps" but there is a railing. Good overlook pictures from the steps near the top. The caves are a little warm but they do have fans inside. The bats do not come near you but you can see them up in the higher elevations of the cave. We were tired by the time we got to town for the walking narrated tour. At this point you are only a few blocks from the ship, so we broke away from the group and explored on our own. Overall, it was worth the excursion and we were glad we went.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Caves & City Highlights
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

interesting

Date:February 28, 2012
cincisoccermom
Location:Ohio
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the city tour by bus was interesting, as was the cave site. Walking tour afterward was interesting for the history of the area. The area of the walking tour is certainly easily accessible on foot from the ship if you just want to shop there on your own, but it was nice to have the narrative by our guide about the historical areas we walked through.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Caves & City Highlights
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Caves & City Highlights

Date:February 13, 2012
BobbieL
Location:Washington State
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We had an opportunity to see some of the countryside on the way to the cave. The cave itself wasn't that spectacular. We found the walking tour of the city helpful in getting oriented. Wished our ship had docked on the canal at the inner harbor entrance so it would have been easier to go back and forth to the historical part of town. Especially since we were there all evening.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Caves & City Highlights
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

tour discription left out some details

Date:February 5, 2012
CoolCruiser
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Discripiton of this tour did not mention that it was necessary to climb 59 uneven stone steps to reach the cave entrance. Many on this tour had difficulity with the conditions. The ship was docked last in line of three large cruise ships, making the walk from town to ship a twenty-five minuet walk. Bus driver did not want to return those who could not walk the distance to the ship, but eventually did. Did I mention it was pouring rain?
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+9points
14out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Caves & City Highlights
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Caves and City - a good experience

Date:January 5, 2012
LoveCruising
Location:Minnesota
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The caves were very interesting. Being above sea-level and coral, they hold the heat. This is quite different than other caves that you go down into. There are steps to up to the caves but you were cautioned about this in the shore ex brochure and at the site. The city walking tour was informational. It hit several of the main attractions in town. It is an easy walk (flat, sidewalks).
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Caves & City Highlights
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Go for the walking tour, not the cave

Date:December 28, 2011
ArkansasTraveler
Location:Arkansas
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The highlight here was the walking tour of the city, not really the caves. The cave's human history isn't really all that deep: The natives avoided caves, and soon after slaves started escaping to it, the slaveowners boarded it up. But it's a bit different from a typical U.S. cave, since it is built of coral stone, which adds a slightly different appearance that is nice, if not really worth the trip in itself. We were disappointed that we were unable to visit the wall paintings, since we got a later time as the cave was closing. Outside of the cave, though, the guide did a good job talking about the island. We really appreciated the walking tour of the city - there wasn't much walking, though oddly most people skipped out of the walking. She did a nice job, and Willemstad is an interesting city to walk around in. I really wish there were more walking tours available!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Caves & City Highlights
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Caves are hot

Date:November 19, 2011
teach44
Location:Michigan
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We enjoyed the caves and the structures, but did not see the wall paintings. The cave is NOT underground but instead is elevated and therefore much warmer than expected. The drive in the bus also allows you to see more of the island. During the city tour, it was hard to hear our guide, but we did see a good portion of the city as advertised.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Caves & City Highlights
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 15, 2011
Nanagg
Location:Onatario, Canada
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
The caves were very interesting and the history informative. The various formations in the stone were amazing.
Unfortunately we didn't get to see the wall paintings.
The city tour was fun and interesting especially the floating bridge.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>