Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Cartagena, Colombia or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Medieval Cartagena By Horse Carriage

Medieval Cartagena By Horse Carriage

Transfer by coach to Plaza Santa Teresa, where a horse and carriage stand ready to transport you around Cartagena’s beautiful Old Town—a voyage back in time to the days of the conquistadors. You’ll ride along the inviting, narrow cobblestone streets and through squares inside the walled city, admiring the flower-filled balconies that glow in the light spilling from colonial mansions. Stop for 10 minutes to photograph the Fort of San Felipe de Barajas, a 17th-century construction acknowledged to be the most important work of Spanish Military engineering in Latin America. Surrender to the majesty of this historic city, where age-old squares are surrounded by towering colonial, Republican and Spanish-style buildings—it’s easy to picture life 200 years ago in this wealthy, cosmopolitan port. Visit the former city dungeons at Las Bovedas, which have also been used as military barracks, a munitions depot and a jail, but today local artisans display their work there. You’ll have between 15 to 20 minutes for shopping before returning to the ship.Notes:Guests who wish to remain in town for shopping may do so, returning to the ship at their own expense.
Average Customer Rating:
3.55 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
2
17 out of 20(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Medieval Cartagena By Horse Carriage
Review 1 for Medieval Cartagena By Horse Carriage
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Old City at a Fast Trot

Date:November 2, 2014
Carol64
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The other reviews are correct about the poor radio earphones used to listen to your guide in another carriage. We immediately lost contact with ours. Searching around the different channels we could hear a different guide speaking, but that was out of sync with what we were seeing. We were facing backward, but couldn't do much about that because we were loaded in order by our guides. There were over thirty carriages that had to keep moving so we got only quick looks at the sights. The shopping could have been a bit longer, and the rest of our tour was a bus ride through the downtown of modern Cartagena . That was longer than the carriage tour. It was obvious our guide wanted us to like Cartagena and come back sometime. The Old City is lovely and the carriage ride was fun and a good way to avoid the aggressive people on the street selling their wares. This tour was a good one for our first visit to Cartagena.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Medieval Cartagena By Horse Carriage
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Tour Has Potential for Excellence

Date:May 23, 2014
ew2103
Location:Dearborn, MI
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
You ride in a large bus (with interesting sights and commentary) to a street where many horse-drawn carriages await. Each carriage, which has 2 benches, holds 4 comfortably or 6 uncomfortably. Try to sit facing forward, as I did. The guide rides in one carriage, so you are given an earphone to hear what he or she says. Herewith the major problem -- cutoff of sound occurred frequently; I heard about every 3rd or 4th word the guide said -- very frustrating! The sights in Old Town are splendid; you appreciate how the narrow, frequently angled streets would frustrate an invading army (why the Old Town was built so). I really enjoyed the quaint buildings, many with balconies aflame with colorful flowers. You move slowly enough to get a good view but just fast enough that the 131,071 street vendors can't hassle you much. The carriages have canopies, but they were not raised. Still, since the streets are so narrow, we weren't in direct sun much. On return, you visit the former city dungeons, now souvenir shops. Our guide recommended two, which did have good values. One contained a unisex bathroom accommodating ONE person at a time -- STAMPEDE! Then the bus goes back to the pier, stopping at the Fort of San Felipe de Barajas for photographs (but we did not enter the fort. I would rate this tour a 5, not a 3, if only the earphones worked.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Medieval Cartagena By Horse Carriage
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice trip to view city

Date:May 7, 2014
tgcv
Location:Lynden, WA
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This trip gave a nice view of the city. The carriage ride took you through the neighborhoods where you could see the beautiful flowers from the verandas. The stop at the fort wasn't long but good enough to get pictures. We enjoyed the excursion.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Medieval Cartagena By Horse Carriage
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Cartegena by Carriage

Date:March 20, 2014
Bearatone
Location:Lewiston, ID
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The bus ride to and from the old town was interesting and the guide was informative. There is so much history there.
The carriage ride was a little disappointing particularly because the headphones that was supposed to allow us to hear the guide's narration didn't work very well. We only heard bits and pieces. The street vendors, who we expected to see, were distracting and didn't like to take "no" for an answer. But we enjoyed see the architecture of the buildings and peeking into the shops we passed. The day was warm but we were prepared.
We would like to have seen more of the old fort.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Medieval Cartagena By Horse Carriage
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't bother

Date:February 19, 2014
GinaFN
Location:Oregon
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Most of the time was spent in the bus, waiting, or walking into a few shops (in the old dungeons). The horse carriage ride was short and we waited almost an hour to get on it. Four to an open air carriage. The microphone system only worked when the guide was on our carriage so we didn't learn very much. (He had six in all). The overview of the city was nice from the air conditioned bus but this tour is not what was expected. I wish we would have just taken a taxi and walked the city or taken another tour.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Medieval Cartagena By Horse Carriage
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Carriage Ride

Date:November 25, 2013
Tomcat
Location:Crystal Lake, IL
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tour busses take you to a long line of horse drawn carriages. There are four people per carriage, two on each side facing each other. It is best to be facing the front. We were given headphones so that we could listen to to our guide point out the sites. The carriage ride lasted 45 minutes down the cobble stone streets of the old city. We then had 10 minutes to shop at this little bazaar. Off we went to a scenic fort. We were only here for a brief period to take photos. Most of us wanted to enter the fort but I guess there was no time. We also did NOT visit the dungeons at Las Bovedas which was on this tours itinerary! Traffic seemed terrible on this monday. This tour needed at least one more hour. Our guide was great and spoke perfect english.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Medieval Cartagena By Horse Carriage
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Mixed review

Date:November 21, 2013
5168
Location:Western Washington
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mixed review because:
it was WAY too hot to be in a carriage for as long as we were!
the headset that was provided kept cutting out on what our guide was telling us while in the carriage...very annoying so I just removed it...didn't hear anything about what we were seeing except when we were on the bus.
At the Dungeons, our guide directed us into one shop....with his help we negotiated the price of an emerald pendant down to one we could afford....SCORE!!!! -- purchase price $460 USD, appraisal price at home $1950 USD.....that essentially made our day.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Medieval Cartagena By Horse Carriage
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Cartagena By Horse Carriage

Date:November 18, 2013
SuziPrevatte
Location:Satellite Beach, FL
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
My husband and I booked this excursion soon after boarding the ship. When we came inside the walled-in city we were looking forward to the romantic horse drawn carriage touring the city. We were seated in a horse drawn carriage for four. My husband and I were facing backwards, seated on a slotted wooden bench, with a slotted back that had a raised metal decoration. This was the most uncomfortable ride I have ever been on. The other couple on the carriage were facing forward, and were seated in what appeared to be a nicely cushioned seat with padding surrounding them. Our whisperers were not working, so we heard nothing about our surroundings or the city. We tried to report it, to no avail. Our buggy ride was more like a race through the city, instead of the leisurely pace we were expecting. Needless to say our experience with this excursion was not a good one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Medieval Cartagena By Horse Carriage
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cartagena Carriage Ride

Date:November 18, 2013
SailNC
Location:Southport, NC
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
OK, if you are expecting a romantic carriage ride through the city with just the two or four of you, forget it. Your carriage will be one of very many carriages in what I can only describe as a "wagon train". However, Cartagena is beautiful, our guide was great once we could hear him through the ear pieces provided. The police presence was a bit overwhelming, but they did stop the traffic at times so our carriage train could get through. While it wasn't what we expected, it was still worth it and definitely worth doing!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Medieval Cartagena By Horse Carriage
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Overwhelming vendors and can't hear guide

Date:July 6, 2013
BlackHawk
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Disappointing experience. The bus ride thru the very traffic laden city of Cartagena, to the old city within the walls, was long and you weren't able to see much from the bus. The guide and his narrative was interesting. They set you up with a receiver and headset, but it doesn't work in the old part of the city (they do disclose this while you're on the bus), so you have no idea what you are seeing as your horse carriage takes you thru the maze of streets. The worst part is being accosted by very aggressive people on the streets trying to sell you hats, jewelry and whatever junk they happen to be peddling. You would see the same people 3-4 times as they knew the path you would be taking and would cut across and meet you in the next block. The time spent at the prison which has been converted into a mecca of tourist shops selling the same stuff the street vendors were, was longer than necessary. Kinda surprised that Holland America even makes this one of their ports. Having given this an unfavorable review, I'm glad we were on the horse carriage and not out there taking a walking tour. We talked with people on the cruise that did this, and their experience with the vendors was even more negative than ours.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Medieval Cartagena By Horse Carriage
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

horsedrawn carriage ride

Date:June 16, 2013
sunlovers
Location:york, pa.
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this excursion was neat. you have ear buds to hear what the guide is saying. beautiful carriages that seat 4 people. there are locals that come up to try to sell you things, hats( which i did buy one), lace tablecloths, jewelry, etc. if you dont want to buy, tell them firmly and they will leave you alone. that being said, bargain with them, they will come down to a price you want to pay! the scenery was gorgeous. beautiful flowers draping over the balconies. there were about 20 carriages on our tour. the hoofbeats reverberating down the narrow streets was awsome. definately worth the money. time was allowed for shopping. they recommend certain shops. the shops are numbered, and restroom is available.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Medieval Cartagena By Horse Carriage
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great view of the Walled City

Date:April 25, 2013
PopupPrincess
Location:Oregon Coast
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not all tours go to the Walled city so look careful at their description to see if it refers to the walled city. The fort and the dungeons are not the walled city. This tour was terrific. We went to the fort for pics and to the dungeons to shop but most of the time was in a lovely open horse drawn carriage going through the cobbled stone streets of the old walled city. It was hot so moving in the carriage gave you a slight breeze and so glad we did that compared to the folks we saw walking through them. Most of the stores in the walled city are high end places the locals shop although there is some tourist stuff it would not the cheapest place to get things. At the dungeons there was lots of negotiating prices.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Medieval Cartagena By Horse Carriage
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

First Class

Date:April 19, 2013
Jimmy399
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great way to see the old city in the warm, humid weather. Sit back and relax. The horse carriages are in excellent condition, and very roomy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Medieval Cartagena By Horse Carriage
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Too many carriages

Date:April 8, 2013
pete68
Location:New York City N.Y.
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
There was five carriages per bus and more then five buses. Looked like a wagon train going around. Guides had a radio system they rode in third carriage second and fourth heard them, first and fifth did not. My suggestion is ride in the second third or fourth not the first or fifth.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Medieval Cartagena By Horse Carriage
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2013
kindsche
Location:Ann Arbor, MI
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The guide was great, the city beautiful and historic. The shopping was disappointing; get souvenirs elsewhere!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Medieval Cartagena By Horse Carriage
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable Tour

Date:March 15, 2013
ZephyrhillsCruiser
Location:Zephyrhills, FL
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A different and enjoyable tour. Never got boring. Tour guide
was very knowledgeable and informative. Carraiges are large
and comfortable and fit two couples, each. Market stop was just
a few minutes, but most passengers seemed to enjoy it and purchased souvenirs to take home. Old walled city very interesting
with lots of antique charm.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Medieval Cartagena By Horse Carriage
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great way to see the city

Date:April 22, 2012
SmIsler
Location:Calgary
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great way to see the city with a knowledgeable guide providing the right amount of commentary.
A really relaxing tour and we were able to shop for a few items that we wnated to buy rather than being directed to "gems & jewelry" all the time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+21points
25out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Medieval Cartagena By Horse Carriage
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cartagena by horse carriage

Date:February 24, 2012
Tacy
Location:Washington State
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun experience. Get a feel for local culture.. Architecture and history information was great. Saw things that were there before the Pilgrims landed in America. The down side was the shopping stop. The sellers were aggressive,
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Medieval Cartagena By Horse Carriage
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

See it from the carriage then explore on foot

Date:January 23, 2011
Eddie
Location:Geneva, Switzerland
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
One excursion really worth doing to get the best of this wonderful town, it's architecture and history. After the carriage tour we stayed behind and walked around, enjoyed a very good lunch in town and enjoyed every minute of it - took a taxi back to the ship.
The only thing that did not work well was the restroom stop as we were taken to a "market' selling poor quality overpriced trinkets and very doubtful emeralds where there was only one toilet for each gender and over 40 people in the bus... a waste of time.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+39points
42out of 45found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Medieval Cartagena By Horse Carriage
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5